Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "QUEEN ROCK MONTREAL AND LIVE AID"
There's no question Queen's musical legacy lives on more than seventeen years after their last album with Freddy Mercury was released, although they never 'officially' disbanded, and all it takes is hearing The Darkness, Miko, The Killers and Panic At The Disco, to name a few, and you'll recognize the signature Queen sound and how it's influenced new generations of...
Published on Jan. 20 2008 by Paul S. Power

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Queen Rock Montreal & Live Aid 2 DVD
They should say just one dvd. Queen Rock Montreal was and is wonderful. But the dvd LIVE AID does not play at all. This makes the second order where I ordered a two dvd set of Queen and only one dvd played.
Published on June 30 2012 by hannah02


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "QUEEN ROCK MONTREAL AND LIVE AID", Jan. 20 2008
By 
Paul S. Power "Music Reviewer" (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There's no question Queen's musical legacy lives on more than seventeen years after their last album with Freddy Mercury was released, although they never 'officially' disbanded, and all it takes is hearing The Darkness, Miko, The Killers and Panic At The Disco, to name a few, and you'll recognize the signature Queen sound and how it's influenced new generations of musicians. That's why this 2 DVD set is such an important part of rock music history.
Disc 1 features twenty-six songs recorded in Montreal in 1981 and although there was some 'tweaking' of the audio and the whole thing was re-mastered, the end result is fantastic. You get what are probably the band's best performances of "We Will Rock You", "Play The Game", "Keep Yourself Alive", "Bohemian Rhapsody" and "I'm In Love With My Car". Freddy is his typical flamboyant self, part camp-part over the top, especially on "Another One Bites The Dust". At the time, Queen was enjoying what was to be arguably the best year of their career and the raw energy combined with the absolute perfection of this live performance was testament to that fact. This was the moment Queen became musical royalty.
The second DVD starts off with what some fans argue is the band's best live performance ever: at Live Aid. There's no question that the entire bill that day was a once in a lifetime historic event but Queen did indeed manage to steal the show with a fervor and intensity unparalleled by any other act on the same bill. Also, for the die-hard fan, the extras include a priceless behind-the-scenes look at the Live Aid rehearsal, an interview with the band and a few extra surprises included for good measure.
For the sake of popular music history and Queen fans, mere words can't adequately describe how important this DVD set is, you have to see and hear it to appreciate that fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, Sept. 1 2010
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was present at the recording of this show and it is one of the best Queen live performances ever, the Blu-Ray HD video and audio quality is great. The Live Aid part is only in SD but, I got this for the Montreal part anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moose, Oct. 6 2009
By 
Moose (Prince Edward Island) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
what can I say I am a Queen lover have lots on vinyl seen them in TO long time ago the put on awesome shows.I like live at Wembley Stadium better but they are both good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great band, great show, Dec 14 2008
By 
Robert Sutherby (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Queen did know how to rock. No one can take that away from them. This is apparently the first rock concert to be filmed entirely in 35mm? So I've heard. But I have also heard that Freddie didn't make the cameramen's jobs easy at all, LOL.

I watched this concert (mostly) a few months ago on PBS. Of course, they do take the pledge breaks which are about as interesting as watching paint dry, but are a necessary evil for the sake of this great station. Back to the concert: KILLER. Not much more to say. Freddie's soaring vocals, Brian May's intensely creative guitar with huge tones, Roger Deacon's thundering gargantuan drum kit and John Deacon's substantial bass tone all come together in one hugely satisfying package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet memories of one of our greatest singers, Sept. 4 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bittersweet watching this long after Freddie Mercury has passed from this earth. But the voice and the songs, they will live on. And if Queen with Freddie Mercury doesn't get you up and moving and feeling happy I don't know what will. I even remember how everyone wanted to go to this concert in Montreal but we were all too young. Pity, as it appears to probably be one of the best concerts ever put on. And the sheer clarity of the sound makes you realize how muddied and confused much modern music is where noise and vocal violence seems more in tune with what is being delivered as opposed to music and thoughtful lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert. I was never a huge Queen fan ..., Nov. 15 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great Concert.

I was never a huge Queen fan but definitely recognize their greatness now. It would be hard to dispute Mercury as being one of the greatest lead singers of all time.

My only letdown with the Blue Ray disc I got is that the Live Aid footage was not available to play----only the rehersal footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars QUEEN!!!, July 28 2010
I have loved Queen since I first heard them singing Bohemian Rhapsody...I can't remember when I saw them first on TV, but it had to have been in the late 70's, early 80's. I love their showmanship and style of playing. These dvd's are great...so I am going to be looking for more of them:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert!!!, June 16 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed watching this concert...I would recommend it to anyone who likes Queen!!! The sound and picture are excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queen rocks, March 31 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another great quality Blue Ray to add to your collection, Freddie is in top shape for this show in Montreal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Nov. 1 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Being older, I enjoy 70's and 80's rock and being able to watch concert footage from those decades. Amazon always has what I am looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray]
Queen Rock Montreal and Live-Aid [Blu-ray] by Vincent Scarza (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 35.98 CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews