Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars From Buddy
Great live album, in beautiful grey vinyl check it out a real collectors item.Only problem
I had was that the corner of the cover was creased.
Published 11 months ago by Doug

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute pop songs, but......
the Ramones are not the creators of punk rock. Punk music is something the ramones took the credit for, but didnt create. Punk had been going for almost ten years when the ramones came along. The ramones are hardly even a rock band. They are punk pop if anything, but they didnt even create that. I'm fed up of people telling me that the ramones are the defining punk band,...
Published on March 13 2004 by DisturbedMonkey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars From Buddy, Aug. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ramones (Lp) (LP Record)
Great live album, in beautiful grey vinyl check it out a real collectors item.Only problem
I had was that the corner of the cover was creased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars where was i?, June 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
oh god. i was too young and too far away in oblivion, bc, canada when this all happened. and about 8 yrs old. i miss all the good s***. nothing ever as exciting as these guys. they might not have agreed but i'm glad they never hit the "big time". it would have made them something else, maybe even generic....that would be wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE GREATNESS, Dec 7 2003
This review is from: Ramones (Audio CD)
listening to this cd you get the feeling that you are on a subway train going 90 miles an hour.The energy is totally relentless .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, July 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ramones (Lp) (LP Record)
Classic punk rock album. This is a must have for any punk rock fan. Heck, this is a must have for a fan of rock music in general. This pressing looks and sounds fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal and Timeless, Dec 11 2005
By 
Kathleen YO! (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
I don't care if its repetitive and that its only 26 minutes long I love this album. I love how punk music has turned into this whole stylized fashion show of suburban kids parading around in their stylish clothes. What this is is great music who cares what they look like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REAL PUNK!!!!, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
I don't know what the HELL Infedel is talkin about!! The Ramones INVENTED punk!! Avril isn't punk, she is pop (IMO she is crap). The Ramones rule, best damn band ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Listen to the Infidel, June 20 2004
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
The Infidel, I pray to God you were kidding. This music is incredible. Avril Lavigne is not punk, she's pop. blink-182 is not punk, it's pop. Good Charlotte is not punk, it's pop. The Ramones are punk. They invented punk. If it weren't for The Ramones, Avril Lavigne wouldn't be able to call herself punk. But anyways, onto the cd. This cd is incredible. Has some of the best Ramones songs on it, and the one song that when you think of the Ramones you think of, Bliztrkieg Bop. This might be a bit corny, but go get one of your friends and say to them: "Hey Ho! Let's Go!(buy The Ramones)!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 6 Thousand Dollar Album, June 6 2004
By 
Brian Tepper "Brian" (PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
Gentlemen (chuckle), we can rebuild the seventies. We can make the world's first Junk Rock Record. The RAMONES will be that record! It will bet better than it was before: simpler, LOUDER, FASTER. We will use Marshall amps and turn it up to 11. We will abandon guitar solos and over the top jamming, as well as replacing every drum solo and fill with screwed up 4/4 signatures and cymbal crashes. We will boil syrupy 70's schmaltz ballads in the battery acid of our amplifiers and make the record sound like the whole decade is being ground up in a garbage disposal. We will pay tounge-in-your-girlfriend's- cheek homage to horror movies (Chainsaw), child abuse (Beat on the Brat), drug abuse (I Wanna Sniff Some Glue), political abuse (Havana Affair), dope fiend street hustlers (53rd and 3rd), romance (I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend), and the inevitable bust ups (Loudmouth). We will also bookend this plate of punk with the ultimate gameplan (Today Your Love, Tommorow The World), and the epitome of glorious calls to trashing good fun in Blitzkrieg Bop. We will crush everything the 70's has smeared on us or we will scare the record buyer right out of the friggin store..oops, we scared the friggin record buyers right out of the store and developed a rabid cult following instead. Oh well, who needs those pinheads anyway! Count it Dee Dee! "1234." Belt it out in your best Mersey-meets-Queens accent Joey, "Hey ho! Let's go!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PUNK CLASSIC, June 3 2004
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
THE RAMONES WERE ONE OF THE GREATEST PUNK ROCK BANDS ALONG WITH THE CLASH AND SEX PISTOLS AND THIS WAS A GREAT CD FEATURING JUDY IS A PUNK AND BLITZKRIEG BOP.I LOVE THIS ALBUM AND RECOMMEND THIS AWESOME CD TO ALL LOVERS OF ROCK MUSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ramones, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ramones (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely amazing album. Originally clocking in at under thirty minutes with fourteen tracks, it started an era that still holds true today. "Blitzkrieg Bop" truely was the shot heard 'round the world. And "Beat On The Brat", their ode to rich mothers' children, keeps the album rocking all the way through. "Judy Is A Punk" is based off of two Ramones fans, Jackie and Judy, who were always seeming to get into trouble. The Ramones would later do a less successful sequel to the song on the Phil Spector-produced "End Of The Century". Speaking of Spector, "I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend" sounds something right out of the early sixties. It's excellent. The entire album is fantastic, and defines true punk.
Okay, to clear something up. Some people are saying that the Ramones are more pop-punk, and that they did not actually start the era, but artists like The Stooges, New York Dolls, the Velvet Underground, T. Rex, and MC5 did. This is both true and false. Those five artists may have helped start an all-new sound, but the Ramones were more influenced by the likes of the Beach Boys and The Beatles than any of those three. They wanted to play music that was unlike anything else at the time, becasue like many others they were dissatisfied with the current pompous and exaggerated music. When this album was released in 1976, it sparked hundreds of other bands, calling themselves "Punk". The Ramones were the first band to truely be a punk-rock band. Once that was established, The Stooges and those bands becames known as Pre-Punk.
Buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ramones (Vinyl)
Ramones (Vinyl) by The Ramones (LP Record - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews