Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Masterpiece, March 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The absolute best of Whitney Houston, this has all the amazing songs from every decade of her career, all the songs are very well known, you cannot go wrong purchasing this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of her most persuasive performances., Dec 25 2007
By 
flag (Ottawa , Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
"The Ultimate Collection" omits several of her best songs.
The anthemic "Step By Step", the elegant, jazz-tinged "I Learned From The Best" and the searing "Queen Of The Night" are all missing, their places taken by the grandstanding ballads that made Houston a superstar.
Over the years, these have tended to fall into two categories: the schlocky love songs that are as sweet and gooey ("Saving All My Love For You", "I Have Nothing", "Run To You"), and the inane self-empowerment anthems that have recently become "Am Idol" audition staples ("One Moment In Time", "Greatest Love Of All").
Too often, these saccharine songs are a waste of Houston's rich, powerful, opulent voice. Worse still, ballad-mode Houston has a tendency to scorch when she should be simmering: the way she smothers "I Will Always Love You" with melismatic vocal showboating is cold, crass and, ultimately, the very antithesis of soul.
Houston's floor-fillers have aged a little more gracefully, although their clunky, thudding drum sounds tend to be irreversibly eighties. Nevertheless, "I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)" remains buoyant and unshakable; "So Emotional" houses one of Houston's most persuasive vocal performances.
However, Houston only truly justifies her superstar status on two tunes from 1998's "My Love Is Your Love" collection, a largely successful attempt at reinventing the increasingly fusty belter for a contemporary audience. Playing the wronged woman over Rodney Jerkins' percolating R&B rhythms on "It's Not Right But It's Okay", she sounds spectacular, while Wyclef Jean's tender, romantic "My Love Is Your Love" manages to humanise an artist who's often seemed like a robotic octave-conquering machine.
If today's hitmakers can pull off the same trick - rumour has it Houston's currently sharing studio space with Ne-Yo, will.i.am and Akon - that dazzling voice could still realise its true potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Heartfelt Singer that is missed terribly, Aug. 25 2014
By 
BJ (Camlachie, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I had gotten the ultimate collection of Whitley because I thought she was second to none. She was and still is one hell of a human being and a God given talent that was unsurpassed. She always had a spot in my heart and probably always will. Rest in Peace Lovely Lady. Muchly missed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD for sure, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Very good CD. Contains all Whitney Houston's essentials. I do not think that you CAN go wrong with this One.
Awesome price.
Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Houston’s Musical Legacy, April 5 2014
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Ultimate Collection by Whitney Houston showcases many of the classics from the late singer’s career. I remember hearing many of these songs on the radio and seeing some of the music videos on television (her music was played a lot on the radio and television during the 90’s). There are 18 songs on this collection (I personally enjoy So Emotional and I’m Every Woman the most from this collection). Ultimate Collection by Whitney Houston is great for those who are open to listening to late 80’s, 90’s, and early 2000’s pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like it but don't love it., July 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
When Whitney died I thought it would be nice to have her cd to remember her. I like this cd but don't love it but it' s a nice keepsake. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, May 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Whitney Houston, had an incredible voice and now we can only enjoy her music through CD's. great collection of her amazing songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Legacy of Whitney, Oct. 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
You have to be a true fan of Whitney, and really, who isn't. This album (DVD) is a collection of her songs and demonstrates her range of voice and talent. I don't believe there were any songs missing! The album is fast moving and could have included three or four more songs and one would never tire of listening to her. A tremendous loss in the music and film industry. After receiving this album I did some fact finding on Whitney and was amazed at how many "firsts" she was credited with and this album was able to include a cross section of her firsts. Definitely worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Sept. 3 2012
By 
Violeta - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Playing the CD, I can hear the high notes and deep timbre of Ms. Houston's voice. There's no doubt, she's a tough act to follow in terms of her very high voice range. Probably, no one else can top that in my lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good legacy, July 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
That british compilation of her best songs is very good and complete. The only 2 things that can't make me give 5 stars are: first there's a song that never been a hit on this side of Atlantic (One moment in time)and the fact that the version of I'm your baby tonight is a remix that is way far less better than the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Whitney Houston (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews