Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie
Saw this movie in the theater and absolutly loved it. I saw the original and I liked this one alot better. John travolta is funny as a woman
Published 9 months ago by Randeen Dekker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Musical
I ordered for my daughter who was using it for a film study, it was alright, just not something I would watch over again!
Published 3 months ago by Pamela Ritchie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Musical, June 16 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hairspray (Widescreen) (2007) (DVD)
I ordered for my daughter who was using it for a film study, it was alright, just not something I would watch over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Dec 8 2013
By 
Randeen Dekker "gameluver" (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw this movie in the theater and absolutly loved it. I saw the original and I liked this one alot better. John travolta is funny as a woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hairspray (Widescreen) (2007) (DVD)
We gave this as a Christmas present because we loved this movie and wanted others to also enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Get-Together Movie, Nov. 17 2007
This movie is a great family get together kind of movie. It's a movie about a girl named Tracy who is in love with the school hottie named Link (Zack Efron). Once she finds out that he is going out with the popular girl, Amber, at school, she gets in to competition to get her man!
I think that this movie is definetly more appropriate for teenage kids rather than younger siblings but overall it's the kind of movie that I think every family should get to enjoy together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The only thing better than Hairspray..." is this gift set!, Nov. 24 2007
I purchased this gift set today, after trying to find it for the longest time to pre-order, and it definitely lived up to my expectations. Aside from having the 2-disc "Shake and Shimmy" edition of the DVD (packed with awesome featurettes and extras like break-downs of the various dances from the movie, and the sing-along version of the movie!), it also includes the wonderful locker (which is a lot bigger than it looks!) you see in the picture, as well as pages of stickers (2 whole pages of just the alphabet in the wonderful Hairspray multi-coloured font), picture cards you can put inside the locker in the special holder (one for each character, you can change them whenever you like!), and a really awesome tote bag (it's really big and great quality canvas material, with a great picture of the younger cast members on one side, and the very large words "You Can't Stop The Beat" on the other side!). This set is worth the extra money if you love all things Hairspray. The locker comes in one of two colours, "Penny Pink" and "Link Lime," and though both are great, I chose pink and I love it so much. I know if you order the set from Amazon or other online retailers, you don't get to choose the colour, but like I said, both are great!

Overall, this movie itself is worth the price, what with all the amazing songs and dancing, and a script that's about real issues that, though the movie is set in 1962, are still relevant today (race, size, friendship, loyalty, etc...), but when you put a great extras-filled 2-disc DVD inside such a wonderful gift set, you really can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the whole family, Nov. 7 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The year is 1962 and Tracy Turnblad (Nikki Blonsky) is a bubbly, bouncy, chubby girl who's a great dancer. Her dream is to be a regular on the Corny Collins dance party show, like her secret crush Link (Zac Efron) and the most popular girl at school, Amber. Amber's mother (Michelle Pfeiffer) is station manager, however, and she not only rejects Tracy because of her weight, she bans black dancers from the show except for one day a month. With the help of her friends and parents (John Travolta, Christopher Walken), Tracy not only becomes a dancing star on the show, she opens it up to all races.

This is one feel-good movie, with energetic song and dance numbers every few minutes that will absolutely have you smiling and tapping your toes. I soon forgot about Travolta playing Tracy's mother and just enjoyed the performance, which is very good. Nikki Blonsky is adorable and does a spectacular job in her first movie; Pfeiffer is convincing in the unsympathetic role of a bigot. Christopher Walken is a joy to watch as always, totally charismatic and loveable as the eccentric dad. This movie is a lot like Grease but much more wholesome and positive. It's a happy, family film with lots of catchy tunes and talented actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer movie - had me a blast!!, Dec 17 2007
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Those who know me best will know that there's no way I could review a movie with John Travolta (Grease) and Michelle Pfeiffer (Grease 2), without borrowing the theme song.

Essentially a musical with a message, this version takes the original 1988 John Waters film and the Broadway musical, and combines them with a new style and a fresh application of Ultra Clutch hairspray to get out any kinks.

The time is 1962, and segregation still exists in Baltimore, especially at the local TV station managed by Velma von Tussle. Tracy Turnblad is a plus sized teenager of sunshiny disposition and big heart, and her dream is to appear on the popular teen show "The Corny Collins Show" and maybe one day to win the Miss Teenage Hairspray pageant.

(To the tune of "Grease")

She sees no difference between black & white
She's just a teenage girl
With a good appetite
There ain't no danger she can go too far
She just believes right now that she can become a star

Hairspray's the word

They think her dream is just a growing pain
They just don't understand
Though it's so very plain
Her hips are moving
Tracy's so surreal
She starts the fight right now
The segregation appeal

Hairspray's the word.
(is the word, is the word, that you heard)
It's got groove.
It's got meaning.
Hairspray's the time,
It's the cast,
It's the dancing
Hairspray's the way we are feeling.

She took the pressure and she threw away
Discrimination should belong to yesterday
She never knew that she could make it that far
By just believing that
People should be who they are

Hairspray's the word.
(is the word, is the word, is the word....)

Nikki Blonsky completely steals the show from her famous co-stars, and that's not for the want of them trying. Everybody was excellent in this movie, which effectively uses music and dance to send a message against racism and prejudice. An excellent choice, and one I'll definitely be buying on DVD. If you love musicals, you just HAVE to get this one.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Movie, Feb. 2 2011
Got this for my son who loves this movie for some reason. Must be his love of music. John Travolta is great, no too campy. Super story to learn about tolerance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining & fun musical, Oct. 24 2010
A musical that my husband enjoyed as much as me. All the actors and actresses played extremely well off each other. This movie was about the black/white segregation in the 50's in the USA. The movie was well told and yet had a lighter side. John Travolta's character was a surprise, he played the part really well. A lot of big names in this movie, well worth the price and time to watch it. I would recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie of 2007 that's for sure!!, Jan. 1 2008
I saw this movie with a friend and we both fell in love with it. It has all the ingredients that makes up a good movie: good music, good actors, and a good director. I loved this movie so much I had to buy it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hairspray (Widescreen) (2007)
Hairspray (Widescreen) (2007) by DVD (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews