Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet
This is a wonderful little collection of songs and songs sketches. Clocking in at just over a half and hour it hints a the potential for a much more grand, large scale development of this type of music in the future.

Length aside, this is a wonderful album. A treat for pearl jam lovers and haters alike. The music is a new turn for Vedder. Sure it had precidents...
Published on Dec 3 2007 by E. Haensel

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sketches Never Develop into Songs
I'm a long time fan of Pearl Jam, especially of songs such as "Elderly Women Behind the Counter of a Small Town" and "Daughter". For me these songs are evocative of a unique emotional mixture, at once melancholic and transcendent. Vedder is given room in the sountrack of Into Thin Air to work with this emotional palette to create some beautiful sketches. At 33 minutes,...
Published on Sept. 23 2007 by C. Brust


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet, Dec 3 2007
By 
E. Haensel (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful little collection of songs and songs sketches. Clocking in at just over a half and hour it hints a the potential for a much more grand, large scale development of this type of music in the future.

Length aside, this is a wonderful album. A treat for pearl jam lovers and haters alike. The music is a new turn for Vedder. Sure it had precidents in songs like "the strangest tribe" "footsteps" and "off he goes", but the feel and texture of these works are different.

Many of the best pieces of music on this album run just under two minutes, yet they capture a mood, develop beautiful harmonies, and hook the listner in so swiftly that they feel longer. In truth, while I hunger for more of this type of music from vedder, the is a strange grace to the shortness of this album.

A note on the album as a soundtrack: this short little album perfectly resonates with the movie and the book; perfectly resonates with what Chris McCandless felt and thought as far as we can tell. In this way it stands as its own testament to the story, fleshing out the emotional scape where the movie and book dealt with the scene and the facts.

The bonous tracks that are available, political covers updated for the present, are priceless.

A great album, which demonstrates the versatility of Eddie Vedder's talent, and once again shows that he can write popular more mainstream music without losing his touch for creating depth of thought and emotion, or originality of sound and cadence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd!, June 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched this movie and I really loved it! specially sound truck! very good!! I definatelly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edgy, Raw, and Beautiful. 'Into The Wild' is a Rare Experience, April 29 2014
By 
Kyle D (NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild (LP Record)
When asked to record a few tracks for the film, long time friend Sean Penn wasn't expecting what Eddie Vedder sent back. What was originally intended to be a few pieces to fit certain moments in the film, quickly turned into a musical adventure for Vedder, gaining inspiration from Penn and the project. The result was more than a soundtrack; it was an album full of warmth, adventure, simplicity, and emotion. This isn't a Pearl Jam album, it's the furthest thing from it. This is personal and unique.

This release by Music On Vinyl is pressed on high quality 180 gram vinyl, and includes a 28-page book with the songs lyrics and artwork from the film. The book also includes a forward from Sean Penn, describing how the soundtrack became what it is. The album sounds fantastic, each track is crisp and clear. It is easily one of my all-time favorite records, and will continue to be for years to come. This isn't a long album, it's barely more than 30 minutes in total, but if you're looking for a spectacular music experience, you should go 'Into The Wild'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Eddie Vedder is an incredible artist. I love this album!!! I would recommend everyone buy this album and watch the movie it was made for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Natural Connection, Oct. 20 2007
By 
Sebastien Lessard (Richmond, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After listening to the album and now that I'm reading the book. There seems to me a natural connection between the music of Pearl Jam and the some of the ideals in the book. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, Nov. 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Into The Wild (LP Record)
I purchased this LP for my girlfriend who has a love for the movie. When I surprised her with it I could tell I made her day if not week. It shipped fast for standard shipping and arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why contain yourself like any other book on the shelf?, Sept. 21 2007
Eddie Vedder's solo album Into the Wild, which also happens to tie-in with the movie of the same title, is one album that music lovers will not want to miss. Following the conventions that saying less actually says more, Into the Wild evoked emotions that Vedder seems to effortlessly convey to listeners.

Although the album is short, I felt it was only appropriate to do so, in order to have a more lasting impact. I bought this album the day it came out, without even hearing a single song from the album - a risk I was willing to take from my favourite frontman from my favourite band Pearl Jam. This album did not disappoint. You can listen to it from beginning to end, and then on repeat. I have had this cd running its circles non-stop ever since I bought it.

Pick this album up if you're ready for a unique listening experience - "Be it no concern, point of no return, go forward in reverse..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eddie's Back...But where's Pearl Jam?, Sept. 23 2007
By 
D. Chandon "Dems" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like most of the reviews, for this album will state, I love Pearl Jam, and this album will make you wonder what happened to PJ. Anyways, Into the Wild, is a motion picture made by Sean Penn and music by Eddie Vedder. Eddie is back in his usual form with some great, although sometimes short songs, will make any PJ fan salvate and wish for more; basically making this album a great appetizer for a new Pearl Jam album. However, Eddie is still Eddie with or without Mike, Matt, Jeff, or Stone, he's still a brilliant artist/poet and perhaps one of the best musicians of his generation, with a great album that will probably be the best thing that comes out with this Sean Penn movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sketches Never Develop into Songs, Sept. 23 2007
By 
C. Brust (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a long time fan of Pearl Jam, especially of songs such as "Elderly Women Behind the Counter of a Small Town" and "Daughter". For me these songs are evocative of a unique emotional mixture, at once melancholic and transcendent. Vedder is given room in the sountrack of Into Thin Air to work with this emotional palette to create some beautiful sketches. At 33 minutes, however, the album is too short. Vedder needs to flesh out these inspired sketches into songs. The album's only true "song" is also the album's highlight, a cover of Indio's "Hard Sun". Vedder's original material had the potential to surpass the majesty of that song; it is frustrating that this potential is never realized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Wild
Into the Wild by Eddie Vedder (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews