Customer Reviews


323 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double vinyl reissue of the Joshua Tree is a sonic gem!
This is specifically the 2007 double LP reissue on vinyl that I am reviewing here. And my focus is on sound quality as the musical content has been thoroughly covered!
I love this double vinyl reissue and my expectations were surpassed for it. Not sure who did the pressing but my copy is beautifully pressed with excellent sound. From what I can tell reading...
Published 15 months ago by Johnnie Neptune

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK...
This album is okay... but Bono seems to fall into that trap that many rock vocalists fall into... he grunts and groans every word. It gets a little tiresome after a while.
Published on Sept. 7 2003 by garfieldguy


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double vinyl reissue of the Joshua Tree is a sonic gem!, April 23 2013
By 
Johnnie Neptune (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is specifically the 2007 double LP reissue on vinyl that I am reviewing here. And my focus is on sound quality as the musical content has been thoroughly covered!
I love this double vinyl reissue and my expectations were surpassed for it. Not sure who did the pressing but my copy is beautifully pressed with excellent sound. From what I can tell reading online, this is the digitally mastered source used in the cd issue. As a vinyl fan, I find the sound very pleasing, very clear and still very `organic' sounding. Even if the source is digital, to my ears, vinyl provides a better soundstage than cd in this case.
As a double lp presentation at the normal 33 1/3 rpm. speed, the tracks are set up as follows:
Disc 1:
Side 1 - Original tracks 1-3
Side 2 - Original tracks 4 and 5
Disc 2:
Side 1 - Original tracks 6-8
Side 2 - Original tracks 9-11
This leaves lots of vinyl groove space for maximum sound reproduction. I wasn't sure from the cover if it would be 33 1/3 or 45 rpm. but it is the former. Yes, this means getting up more often to change sides but I was surprised to find this advantageous, not only in sound quality but it made me pay more attention to what I have previously considered the `lesser' tracks on this record - #6 - 11. They are the ones that perhaps benefit most from this presentation as there are some terrific production touches that I have missed before and now standout on this crystalline vinyl sound. Until know, I have not appreciated the left turn taken in mood with the final 2 songs `Exit' and `Mothers of the Disappeared'. There is a ghostly atmosphere provided by the Eno/Lanois production that is revealed better than ever here.
Also worthy of mention, `Bullet the Blue Sky' has never this good to me. The drums are rock solid while the Edge's guitar slithers menacingly between the speakers to capture the harrowing feel of this song like never before.
I got tired of the Joshua Tree after listening to it so much when it first came out, much like Rumours by Fleetwood Mac (which has also been reissued on great sounding new vinyl in 2011). However, with the new and improved vinyl sound of this reissue, I am reconnecting with it on a new level of appreciation.
Anyone wanting to know if this reissue is worth it, I would emphatically say `Yes'. I don't have an original UK pressing to compare it to so searching the audio forums may help if you want that comparison. However, this is definitely a sonic gem for me and you will be especially in for a treat if you have only owned it on cd before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy Deliver, great Price, very happy Thank you!! CDavies -- Vancouver, BC., Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Rm) (Audio CD)
Speedy Deliver, great Price, good selection, very happy Thank you!! CDavies -- Vancouver, BC. PS Leafs suck, but so do the Canucks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Sept. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Rm) (Audio CD)
The energy that comes through from this still has me singing along. It stands the test of time. Excellent sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Audio CD)
"The Joshua Tree was the album U2 HAD to make, the only one they COULD make"
Those are the words of Eamon Dunphy, author of "Unforgettable Fire - The Definitive Biography of U2", on U2's process of making a new record in 1986 and early 1987. That might sound like an over-dramatization for a rock record, but once you've heard the record, that thought goes out the window. This record, U2's exploration of America, is one of the quintessential rock records ever recorded. It is, varying with opinion, U2's masterpiece of masterpieces. Since this album was recorded back when it was still 'ok' to talk about records in the context of 'sides', I will say that every song on the first 'side' of this record is a classic. 'Where The Streets Have No Name' with an intro that ranks with the best of all time, 'I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For' with a theme of longing that anyone can relate to, 'With Or Without You'(my favorite U2 track), one of the most popular breakup songs ever, 'Bullet The Blue Sky' with its hypnotic talk/chant at the end at Edge's furious and passionate solos, and 'Running To Stand Still' with its atmosphere of deep pain being held in. The second 'side' was comprised of lesser-known but no less mesmerizing songs: 'Red Hill Mining Town', 'In God's Country', 'Trip Through Your Wires', 'One Tree Hill', which was written for roadie Greg Carroll, who died in a motercycle wreck running an errand for U2, the dark and moody 'Exit', and the mournful and haunting ballad closer, 'Mothers Of The Disappeared'.
This record catapaulted U2 in a realm of superstardom seldom seen by any band. They were not expecting it and they were taken by surprise a bit. I own this record on vinyl, cassette, and CD, and I even have the 'Classic Albums' DVD for it. This album has that quality about it, that sets it apart from from all other albums that don't pocess it. What quality is that? This was the first U2 record I ever heard, and I remember listening to it for the first time at age 13, and thinking to myself, before the album was even half over, 'hey, whoa, this band is one of the best ever'. That's the quality. Just like when you listen to 'Revolver' or 'Abbey Road' or any record of that quality, before it is even finished, you know the band is one of the best ever. I was completely blown away. It is a draining experience, one that will leave you exhausted when the album reaches its conclusion.
Spiritually, emotionally, lyrically, musically, commercially, U2 reached their peak with this record, and it was a peak they would remain on for a while to come, starting with the "Joshua Tree Tour", their biggest tour to date at the time. And not only did U2 reach their peak, but it is also important to note that on this record, Bono reached his peak as a singer. For U2's whole career up to this point, he had progressively improved as a singer with each outing. On this record he made the leap from being a very good rock singer to being one of the great rock singers of all time. I submit he is still the best, most emotional, most evocative rock singer of his time.
And though that tour would eventually lead to U2 being sick and tired of their current form, and to the brink of a breakdown, that was still a good two and a half years away. At this point U2 were excited to be as popular and relevant as they would ever be, which, incidentally gave them the leverage to pull stunts like the now legendary liquor-shop-roof-quasi-show during which the 'Where The Streets Have No Name' video was shot. U2 had arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential if you're a huge U2 fan!, May 5 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
1. The remastered version of The Joshua Tree sounds way better (and louder) than previous editions on CD.

2. The Bonus CD: it's great to have ALL the remastered b-sides from the Joshua Tree singles on one CD (The Best of U2 1980-1990 only featured a selection of these tracks) + some of the outtakes, although obviously unfinished, give an idea of various directions the band could have taken with this album. A special mention goes to "Rise Up", which sounds almost exactly like Edge's and Sinéad O'Connor's "Heroïne" from '86. Also included are both versions of "Silver and Gold", one by U2 and the other by Bono with Keith Richards and Ron Wood of the Rolling Stones.

3. The DVD contains a full concert from the beginning of the Joshua Tree tour. Where the Rattle and Hum film used footage from later in the tour, when the band was not only getting better at playing the new songs, but had also already cut some of them out of the set list, here they were still road testing most of the songs from the album. Even the hit songs were not classics yet, so U2 doesn't even bother to play "Where the Streets Have no Name", which is something they probably couldn't get away with today. They also weren't performing as many covers as they would later in the tour, which leaves more room in the setlist for songs from the first four albums.Also included is a documentary featuring footage from the first leg of the American tour, including photo shoots with Anton Corbijn, the band performing country songs in small clubs and even shopping for cowboy boots. Interesting to watch because U2 were so much less self conscious than when filming Rattle and Hum. This footage shows U2's less serious side, which makes this DVD an essential complement to Rattle and Hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, May 18 2004
By 
Cody Patton (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Audio CD)
U2's 1987 Masterpiece is simply that. Great songs written and performed with real passion and talent. U2 are one-of-a-kind! If you don't have this or haven't heard it before, do yourself a huge favor before it's too late because any music fan won't want to miss this great band and incredible album. One of the few bands that can make an entire album of good songs rather than a few hit singles. A must own for every U2/music fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joshua Tree by U2, Dec 18 2011
This review is from: Joshua tree (Audio CD)
Beautiful album; sad and hopeful at the same time. Had it many years ago as a true blue U2 fan; do I like their newer stuff? No.....however I will always like something of what they do. Very emotionally powerful and connect with people on a basic emotional level. Very spiritual as well; last of the really spiritual works they did. Worth a purchase and a listen many years later. Haven't loaded it on my ipod yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album of my lifetime, Dec 14 2010
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Rm) (Audio CD)
After the long, tedious, and musically stunned for the last ten or even twenty years of pure crap, U2 was the mirage which ends up renourishing everyone's parched yelp of G13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful and Defining, May 12 2010
By 
Dave_42 "Dave_42" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Audio CD)
After its release, Bono was quoted as saying "The Joshua Tree is the best record we've made to date, but it will not be our best record by a long shot." People may argue about whether or not it is their best record, or even was at the time, but I think it would be difficult to support the second half of the statement. "The Joshua Tree" was released on the 9th of March, 1987 and was a critical success, and a sales success as well as it reached number 1 on the charts in over 20 countries. It was U2's fifth studio album, and with it the group explored different genres, and in particular blues, than they had in their previous albums. At the same time, the album also builds on their previous release, "The Unforgettable Fire", both in sound and with their decision to stick with Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois as producers.

The album opens with the brilliant "Where the Streets Have No Name", the third single from the album, and a piece which sets the tone and the style for the entire album. The second track is "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" which was also the second single from the album which brings forward the religious aspect of the album, both in lyric and in gospel influence. "With or Without You" is next, and it was the first single from the album. A song dealing with internal conflicting feelings and desires. "Bullet the Blue Sky" brings in a different sound, and yet works well with the rest of the album, this is the first political song from the album.

"Running To Stand Still" brings some blues into the album, with its acoustic interaction between guitar and piano. The lyric refers to the heroin epidemic in Dublin during the 80's. "Red Hill Mining Town" is next, a song which had been planned to be a single, but when they had difficulty with the video they released "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" instead. That problem aside, this track would have been a good single. "In God's Country" is the shortest piece on the album, and probably the highest energy one as well. It was released as the fourth single for the album in the U.S. and Canada.

"Trip Through Your Wires" is next, a piece with a different feel than most of the rest of the album, with Bono playing Harmonica, and a lyric which plays with good vs. evil and the path which our desires lead us down. "One Tree Hill" was released as a single in New Zealand and became number one there. The song was written about Greg Carroll, to whom the entire album is dedicated. Greg was Bono's assistant, and died in a motorcycle accident during the period when the album was being recorded. "Exit" is another interesting piece, which appears to be dealing with suicide or perhaps murder, as it starts soft and builds to a heart-racing crescendo, and then jumps between the two contrasts. The album closes with "Mothers of the Disappeared", a final political statement about the civil war in El Salvador and the people who "disappeared".

"The Joshua Tree" took U2 from an internationally known and respected group, to the status of one of the greatest groups in existence. They broadened their sound by exploring different genres, yet maintained their own identity. It may or may not be your favorite U2 album, but it is one of those albums which is known by even the most casual fan, and it is one of the defining albums of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic cd, March 6 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Rm) (Audio CD)
If you only have one U2 CD in your collection this is the one to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joshua Tree (Rm)
Joshua Tree (Rm) by U2 (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews