Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big achievement
In revisiting her hits, Anne has made no attempt to recreate the original recordings. Nor has she attempted to do tricks. She simply sings the songs as she sees them today, which is not always how she saw them yesterday.
The duets are for the most part true duets, with the two singers in the studio together, and artistically that makes such a difference...
Published on Dec 4 2007 by Jim Andrews

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is good but not thrilling.
Anne Murray has re-recorded her best-known songs as duets with an all-female group of collaborators including Canadians Shania Twain, Nelly Furtado, k.d. Lang, Jann Arden, Isabelle Boulay, her own daughter Dawn Langstroth and the ubiquitous Selline Dion.
The roster of guests is really impressive and includes also Emmylou Harris, Carole King, Martina McBride, Shelby...
Published on Jan. 14 2008 by flag


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is good but not thrilling., Jan. 14 2008
By 
flag (Ottawa , Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
Anne Murray has re-recorded her best-known songs as duets with an all-female group of collaborators including Canadians Shania Twain, Nelly Furtado, k.d. Lang, Jann Arden, Isabelle Boulay, her own daughter Dawn Langstroth and the ubiquitous Selline Dion.
The roster of guests is really impressive and includes also Emmylou Harris, Carole King, Martina McBride, Shelby Lynne, Amy Grant, Celtic Woman, Indigo Girls and the late Dusty Springfirld.
It was Anne who suggested the all-female idea to help whittle down the artists involved.
She was particularly thrilled that her daughter and son Will also sang background vocals with her on "You Won't See Me", a duet with Shelby Lynne, marking the first time all three family members have been in the studio together.
"I Just Fall in Love Again" with the late Dusty Springfield is a real historical curiosity, in addition to being a lovely song.
Dusty cut it on her 1979 album Living Without Your Love, on which she seemed to have been abandoned by her record label.
Anne cut the song on her album "New Kind of Feeling" and it made the top of the country chart in 1979.
For this current production, she duets with Springfield's original vocal, and the result is good.
While Anne's voice may not have the power and range of her prime it is still an excellent instrument and a joy to listen to.
It's an all-girl sleepover produced by music guru Phil Ramone (Johnny Cash, The Beastie Boys, Neil Diamond).
All of Murray's hits (including "Snowbird," "You Needed Me" and "Danny's Song") are here, newly recorded with a support group of her friends.
I cannot claim to have been familiar with all the songs and the artists who appear on this album but having heard their performances I will be trying out some of their other work.
All of the songs will be familiar to Anne's fans and many appear on the numerous compilation albums of his work. These are the songs that she has sung for years. She has never compromised as a singer always singing the songs she wanted to in her own style rather than being a slave to passing fashions in popular music.
This has meant that her popularity has varied over the years but gives her work an integrity and strength that each new generation rediscovers.
All in all, it's a good album.
It is not too surprising, since you recognize instantly the commercial nature of it and the marketing idea behind the formulaic project.
My highligts are : "Somebody's Always Saying Goodbye" with Jann Arden, and "A Love Song" with k.d. lang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big achievement, Dec 4 2007
By 
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
In revisiting her hits, Anne has made no attempt to recreate the original recordings. Nor has she attempted to do tricks. She simply sings the songs as she sees them today, which is not always how she saw them yesterday.
The duets are for the most part true duets, with the two singers in the studio together, and artistically that makes such a difference. Everything here is fascinating. I particularly love "Cotton Jenny," with Anne doing the song as written and Olivia Newton-John noodling in and out of the melody. Anne and k.d. lang, Anne and Jann Arden and Anne and Dawn--well those voices just blend sumptuously. Think what Anne and Karen Carpenter would have sounded like together. "Another Pot O' Tea" provides a highlight but, listen, EVERYTHING on the album is a highlight! Beautifully arranged, beautifully recorded. It will be a big, big seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LEGEND IS BACK..MAYBE FOR THE LAST TIME, Nov. 9 2007
By 
Claude Bourggeois (Moncton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
Wow! What a surprise that Anne decided to do another album after toying with the idea that "I'll be seeing you" would be her last. At 62, and after 40 years in the biz, Anne's voice still shines. Highlites are " You Needed Me" with Shania Twain. Their voices blend surprisingly well together and both give a stellar performance. "Another Pot O' tea" with Emmylou Harris is a dreamy, touching tribute to an Irish grandmother, and their voices are just heavenly together. Nelly Furtado rings in a strong performance on "Daydream Believer" which has a fun, uptempo beat. "You won't See Me" with Shelby Lynn is a must-what a catchy beat and strong vocal from both. Jann Arden is always excellent, and their take on "Somebody's always Sayin' goodbye" is also a standout. Céline & Anne belt it out live on "When I fall in Love" and Amy Grant has a cute take on "Could I have this Dance", with beautiful vocals. The two real showstoppers though are "A Little Good News" with updated lyrics (replacing "Bryant Gumble" with "Dianne Sawyer" and Ireland with Gaza) where Indigo girls and Anne do justice to Anne's original with a twist. The last number is quite possibly the best. "Si jamais je te revois" with Québécoise diva Isabelle Boulay builds up until a choir joins in at the end. That song packs a powerful punch. Anne we love you-please don't ever retire! PS-I almost forgot, her posthumous duet with her late friend Dusty Springfield is simply haunting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some of her greatest hits revisited, Nov. 9 2007
By 
Mike Dubois (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
Some of the best Anne Murray songs re-recorded with the help of well known female artists. The entire album can be listened to on Anne's website, from start to end, and I must say, this album is a must. No bad remakes or different takes on her songs. The musical instruments and arrangements are just like the original songs she recorded all those years ago. She stays true to her formula that made her a success. Songs like Nobody Love me Like You do, sung with Anne's daughter are great. She sounds just like her mom in the early days. Other highlights on this album are the songs in which Martina McBride, Sarah Brigthman, Amy Grant & Celine Dion take part. The true gem of this album though, is the duet with Shania Twain, for the song You Needed Me. These 2 ladies are the true Canadian songbirds, and they're organic voices were made for this song. This alone is worth buying the album. This is definitely a nice visit back to old classics with more modern sounding quality & sound. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's done us proud., Nov. 13 2007
By 
Saverio Mancina (Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
To my heart and mind, there are two singers who represent Canada - Gordon Lightfoot and Anne Murray. While Lightfoot has written and performed songs that capture the Canadian personality, Anne has presented herself on the world stage as a proud Canadian and built a significant career her way, which included remaining in Canada.

There are songs so tied to Anne's voice that I was wondering how a duet format could ever enhance. Takes a lot of courage to reinterpret songs like "You Needed Me", "Danny's Song" and "A Love Song" but Anne bravely steps into her proven territory and shares the spotlight with today's top female vocalists.

The most successful pairings, in my opinion? k.d. lang on "A Love Song" is worthy of serious radio time. This song is now a classic reborn. Shania Twain's contribution on "You Needed Me" lends a heart-breaking tone to this beautiful song. Olivia Newton-John on "Cotton Jenny" allows the twangy, country feel of the song to show its face. Anne's daughter Dawn offers the most gentle vocals of all on "Nobody Loves Me Like You Do".

Some of the other pairings are curiousities. Carole King's vocals on the song she wrote "Time Don't Run Out on Me" really do not help the song regain any relevance. Nelly Furtado on "Daydream Believer" sounds as if she's wondering how she ended up in this situaton.

But we can't ignore the fact that these guest vocalists assembled to record with a singer they admire, and a career they respect. And for this reason, Anne has done us proud, very proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, Nov. 29 2007
By 
Stace "Stacey" (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
I am so proud of this CD. I cannot wait for it to hit the USA.
I have had to get copies for so many of my family and friends after they listened online. I hope the radio stations are playing it in Canada and people are requesting it...I think in the USA A Little Good News is going to hit it big again.....The voices all blend so well....Hope to hear a follow up with the guys...Her and Buble' what a combo that would be...
Got to see Anne sing with Nelly live at the Gilda's Club Benefit on Monday..It was awesome....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Swan Song, Jan. 2 2008
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
This recording is really great. I have been a fan of Anne Murray for a long time and of course have heard these songs many times but this cd is different. The songs are fresh in the hands of some of the best singers around. I was especially happy to hear Song for the Myra so beautiful and yet so seldom played or seen on greatest hits compilations. Good decision Anne! Happy retirement golfing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better With Every Listen & US Has To Wait Until 1/15, Nov. 14 2007
By 
W. Budris (Rosedale, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
Thank goodness for the AnneMurrayDuets.com website, where you can sample all the tracks complete. The 30 second snipets on a rival Canada competitor were not enough. Though I've ordered one from Canada, the USA will get this gem on 1/15/08, and it makes a nice Birthday gift for my 50th.

I was not aware that Anne's previous album of "I'll Be Seeing You" was intended to be her last. I took it as continuing her "Croonin'" style albums and tackling another era with great success. Her video about the new Duets album on the mentioned website has Anne stating that "I'll Be Seeing You" (in all its formats and titles) was the LAST, but DUETS came along. The project worked its way from duets with various singers to only ladies. I think it is better this way, and a chance for possibly a Duets II down the road with the guys. The videos of Anne recording with these great artists looks like everyone is having a ball.

My curiosity for this set was the electronically created duet of "I Just Fall In Love Again" with the last great Dusty Springfield. Knowing of Anne's admiration of Dusty's work, what a great way to bring a song full circle. Since Anne, Dusty, and even Karen Carpenter released the song within a scope of a year, would've been something if all three ladies could have been featured. Still, this new version with Dusty is superb. My second curiosity was "Snowbird" with Sarah Brightman. I know Sarah would not be operatic and use her pop voice. If I wasn't expecting Sarah, I would have thought it was someone else, for in my ears, Sarah sounds like Olivia Newton-John (who appears with Anne on "Cotton Jenny"). Maybe it's just me. Still a nice rendition. The surprise was "Another Pot O Tea", which is a personal album track favorite. Though I'm not big on Emmylou Harris, their voices blend gorgeously and this track is a true standout. My only bummer is no "new" duet with Celine Dion. Though "When I Fall In Love" does come from "An Intimate Evening", and the track was not on the CD, but on the DVD/VHS only. I hoped for a different song, or even a re-record.

This new collection does have a power to it, and if successful, I'm sure we will see a Duets II, similar to what Frank Sinatra issued before his passing. If Anne goes with "the Guys" as partners, there are plenty more of her songs that would work as duets, or even go with the concept of one of Anne's hits/tracks against one of the male partner's hits/tracks. I think everyone wants to see another Glen Campbell partnering for old times sake, plus some of the other greats out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much more than just a money-making scheme, May 3 2010
By 
Louis (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
Over the course of her lengthy and prolific career, Anne Murray has carved herself a unique niche in music history. Not exactly a pure country artist, not exactly a pop singer, certainly not a rock singer, she has constantly straddled the common areas of those musical genres with great success. Her voice is distinctive and expressive, and she has managed to take good care of it; as evidenced by this album, her voice is deeper than it was in younger days but it has lost none of its flexibility and expressivity. This is all the more obvious given the fact that "Friends & Legends - Duets" finds her paired with a wide array of female performers. Perhaps reflecting the diversity that always underscored Murray's music, these performers range from the ones that you'd expect to duet with her (Olivia Newton-John, Carole King, kd lang, Emmylou Harris) to those you wouldn't (Nelly Furtado, Sarah Birghtman, Indigo Girls, Shania Twain). This concept is very appealing, since there are not many duet albums featuring only female performers. The songs recorded here have been picked through Murray's consistent repertoire and there are many highlights on the album, such as "Snowbird", "Nobody loves me like you do", "Danny's song", "A little good news", "Love song", "Daydream believer" and "You needed me". In spite of the diversity of musical genres and guests, the album has a smooth and warm flow to it; you don't get the feeling that these duets have simply been patched together just for the sake of an easy sell. Although « Friends & Legends - Duets » was obviously meant as a crowd pleaser, it's certainly an effective one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If this is to be Anne Murray's final release,, Nov. 19 2007
This review is from: Duets: Friends & Legends (Audio CD)
then I am satisfied that she chose to revisit the hits of her career, and included a circle of very fine voices in music in doing so.

I am impressed by nearly all the pairings, and the duet with her daughter Dawn Langstroth is wonderful. What a voice! But then, I suppose that should come as no surprise.

My favourites of the seventeen tracks are: Another Pot O Tea (with Emmylou Harris) / Danny's Song (with Martina McBride) / I Just Fall In Love Again (with Dusty Springfield) / Nobody Loves Me Like You Do (with Dawn Langstroth) / Si Jamai Je Te Revois (with Isabelle Boulay) / and Somebody's Always Saying Goodbye (with Jann Arden).

It may be 37 years since Snowbird launched her career in Canada, but she still has the chops for pulling off a project like this with her trademark professionalism and style.

Thank you, Anne!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duets: Friends & Legends
Duets: Friends & Legends by Anne Murray (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews