Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Entertainment
I only give this set of 3 seasons, 4 stars, because season 3 has been very disappointing. There must have been some bad acid going around Hollywood in 1974, because the writers, directors & production team really sucked! Season 1 is the best. Season 2 was pretty good although it too had a few poor episodes. Season 3 is the reason there was no season 4. At this point, to...
Published on Oct. 12 2010 by Reid Tucker

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wifes liking.
In the days that it was popular, it was ok, but of course, the main character is not of Asian decent, which to me kind of takes away interest. But, entertaining it is.
Published on Jan. 9 2011 by Ted.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Entertainment, Oct. 12 2010
By 
Reid Tucker (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
I only give this set of 3 seasons, 4 stars, because season 3 has been very disappointing. There must have been some bad acid going around Hollywood in 1974, because the writers, directors & production team really sucked! Season 1 is the best. Season 2 was pretty good although it too had a few poor episodes. Season 3 is the reason there was no season 4. At this point, to be honest, I have only watched half of season 3, but I am in no hurry to watch the balance as almost every episode so far has been ridiculous.

Well I just finished watching the last episode. The second half of season 3 was better than the first half, in my opinion. However, on discs 3 & 4, the episodes Barbary House, Flight to Orion, The Brothers Caine and Full Circle, should have been the final episodes, but they are not. After Caine has found & re-united with his brother and extended family, there are 3 more episodes, one of which makes a reference to Caine's search for his brother, which is very strange. I now question the accuracy of the episode air dates. During one episode in season 3, during a flashback to his youth at the temple, Caine and his Master discuss Caine's blood brother, but Caine didn't even know he had a brother until he came to America. Very stupid script in that case. A special feature on disc 4 is really good - David Carradine makes a trip to China, with some friends, and visits a Shaolin temple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series Well Acted, Sept. 14 2014
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
As with TV Series it was great and as the seasons developed it began to change momentum and the writing was not so hot at the end.

The concept for the TV Series was an original idea by Bruce Lee who expected to play the role but the "studio bosses'" at the
time did not want an "Asian/Oriental" as a lead character thus replacing him. That is when Bruce Lee decided to move to
Hong Kong and start a fantastic movie career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu Fantastic, March 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
loved this as a kid and love it now, it brought back so many great memories and the quality of the DVD is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very well done and with a positive message, Oct. 5 2010
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
rather than getting into the debate over the issue of Bruce Lee vs David Carradine,i will just try to add my thoughts on the merits of the show itself.firstly,i think it's quite well done for it's time(1972).i didn't find it slow.it moves along at a decent enough pace.the action scenes (and by that,i mean the martial arts scenes) aren't overdone,or hokey.the acting is actually very good.Carradine is convincing.his speech pattern fits very well for his character,and he has a calmness and charisma about him.plus the show has a positive message.Kaine only fight when he has to and all life is sacred.each episode contains flashbacks showing the younger Kaine learning other important life lessons,as well.for me,"Kung Fu" is a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, July 13 2010
By 
Alan M. Barry (Hornsby, NSW, AU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
This was one of the best presented series I have ever purchased. Color, clarity, sound, all top line. For those of us that recall the series, as I did, you will be as thrilled as I was with every episode. The kids will love it if they will set through the first episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars she loved, Aug. 22 2014
By 
Kathleen (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
bought this as a gift for someone, she loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic, March 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
I watched this show when it came out and I thoroughly enjoyed the underlying morality of the stories. To rewatch this series, including a couple of episodes I missed, has been enjoyable and rewarding. It certainly beats the offerings currenty on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly, Jan. 17 2012
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
The product came properly packaged and in excellent condition. The DVD's were the same boxed set shown online and were exactly what I was looking for. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars old but good, Jan. 14 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
I have always enjoy this series and was glad to get this for myself this Christmas. Though the acting and camera work and directing isn't up to today's standards, nevertheless it brought back memories and my continued love for the simplicity of the martial arts and the many different styles. I am looking forward to viewing season 2 and 3 for it is there it gets better in all aspects. But I am glad I bought my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The that started it all., June 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu: The Complete Collection (DVD)
Well the subject line is a little strong. The TV show didn't start the martial arts craze, Bruce Lee and other Asian movie stars had long been popular movie and TV legends before the Kung Fu series ever started. However, I think the north american TV series helped develop interest here in north america.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kung Fu: The Complete Collection
Kung Fu: The Complete Collection by Various (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 135.00 CDN$ 89.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews