Customer Reviews


457 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (127)
3 star:
 (60)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!!!!
I love amazon, super fast shipping and quality product is really good.movie is a really good i do recomend, this is one of the best movie ever
Published 19 months ago by Intocable

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Three Hour Commercial
Having just watched this movie for the first time, I have to admit that it was more entertaining than I had been led to believe. It is, of course, not a unique theme (what is nowadays?) in that it the story of a modern, successful corporate cog who is suddenly and unexpectedly forced to deal with a situation that requires him to learn anew how to survive. During the...
Published on Jan. 6 2004 by K Scheffler


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!!!!, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cast Away [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love amazon, super fast shipping and quality product is really good.movie is a really good i do recomend, this is one of the best movie ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanks is superb, Feb. 29 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Cast Away (2000)
Drama, 143 minutes
Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Starring Tom Hanks

Tom Hanks was probably the biggest box office draw for around 10 years, starting with Philadelphia in 1993. Like Meryl Streep, his performances haven't always won the awards they deserved. We expect excellence from Hanks and Streep, and it's never easy to add an Oscar after you have already won twice. Cast Away sees Hanks give one of his best performances, and that's saying a lot.

The opening part of the film introduces us to the life of Chuck Noland (Hanks). He works for FedEx and is obsessed with time. Everything has to happen according to schedule or he considers himself a failure. Noland is in love with Kelly Frears (Helen Hunt), but his life is too busy for him to make her his main priority. They have to exchange Christmas gifts in the car on their way to the airport because he doesn't make time for anything more significant. This is a common theme in the lives of too many people. We rush around, earning as much money as we can, barely slowing down long enough to spend time with the people we love. You don't miss it until it's gone.

Noland's plane crashes and he's the sole survivor. He manages to swim ashore and finds himself alone on an island. This isn't a new idea, but the execution is excellent. Noland is used to a comfortable life and has to learn how to survive in his new surroundings. Where will he live? What will he eat? Will he need to protect himself? What if he's ill or in pain? How will he remain sane? How will he escape and make his way back to civilization?

I enjoy Cast Away because it's such a peaceful movie. All we hear are natural sounds while Noland is trapped on the island. There isn't even any musical score during this extended sequence. It helps us realize what it is like to be completely alone. How would we adapt and survive? Would we have the mental strength to seek escape? It's an examination of how human beings think, and that always appeals to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like most great wines, it ages well..., Aug. 3 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tom Hanks and Robert Zemeckis renew (at the time, that is)...

After Forrest Gump, it took 8 long years before the duo teamed up again for something quite different but which would be just as powerful and poignant.

In the hands of lesser directors and actors, the film would have crumbled under such high pressure: an actor alone on a deserted island with next to no dialogue, and a script that could undo it all if not handled perfectly.

To both ends, Cast Away is a brilliant success. Hanks proves most capable to endorse anything thrown at him and Zemeckis handles the material with grace without becoming ever too graphic or too exploitive. A tough act to balance, Cast Away has its mixture of comedy, drama, suspense and many heartbreaking scenes.

The film may already be 12 years old, but slightly dated effects do not drown its ever important message.

The second disc is worth a watch for all its special features do not appear on the blu-ray and it doesn't look like it ever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unwooden Hollywood, June 22 2004
By 
Greeting comrads. Whats all can be said. read Yugijouohs' stunning review here in this Amazon customer review section, and you can believe me, he be harsher than I would have been if i talk , but that's repeating, he has said all there is to say! But I'll toss my 2 lira - Helen Hunt is the cats pajamas for ME personally--as opposed to me impersonally haha eddu make funny--and if had known she was not going to appear in Cast Away, I would not have even gone to see it.As mia santa momma said , flattery is no pizza,...but I will smash that rule here. WHENEVER Ms. Hunt is on picture, the movie is EYECATCHING! Again, see Yugijouohs review for more "depth" , I only write to urge you, the last TWENTY minutes of this movie recall the label on minestrone soup cans when i was a boy- Mm Mm GOOD! Probably the best use of digital storage in this crazy filmmaking world. Happily, this is my first positive review on Amazon, and this kind of filmmaking must "be a shining city on the hill" like Ronald Reagan speech! I say, Stay away from bad foreign film, go see Hollywood..(you may learn english)! To say 1 negative thing, the scenery shots ARE boring & Hanks seems a very disengenous man. To believe this movie was hardly "test screened", I love that this type of movie ending is not what world "wants"(?) At most you cant turn your DVD off when Mr Hanks is rescued,the movie would get malto bazillioniano stars I give in the review. This is my best advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tom Tanks, May 12 2004
Castaway was gravely lacking whether it was a true story or not. I hope it was true because that would at least validate the reason why somebody would put an anti-climactic and obvious-to-the-point-of-silliness story like that on a screen. The only enjoyable parts were where he lost something: Wilson the volleyball and his only companion of four years; blood, in the ocean accident where he tries to row a deflated lifesaver tube towards a light in the distance and breaks his leg open on the coral; his flashlight burning out; his soul-mate re-marrying and starting a new family; etc. It was enjoyable because I wanted him to suffer further. I think sympathetic feelings should only be lent to greatness, like Stalin or the Hindenburg exploding into flames, not to some shlub lost at sea who survives against great odds and endures to what? Saving his life only to give into the convention of letting things be as they are? Of course if there is resistance one shouldn't push and pull, but it seemed the only thing holding him back were the qualms and strictions of leaving well enough alone. Too bad this didn't register in his brain on that island and save the two hours and twenty plus minutes of film. Although there were some amusing parts there was never really any suspense as the viewer knows without any advance warning that he would survive his ordeal no matter the severity or peril he faced. Two stars begrudginly because it was 50 times better than Wendigo and I like to be consistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a testament to the strength of the human spirit, April 16 2004
By 
"yankeeoregon" (Hillsboro,Oregon) - See all my reviews
The key to understanding (and enjoying) this film lies in understanding one's self; sound a bit too new-agey? Well, consider this: many people have let themselves forget that movies used to be more than "naked-people-in-car-chases"; they used to teach you something, make you realize something you already knew, or rekindle the hope we have in humanity. Sadly, it seems as though this movie was watched by those who have forgotten these things (and then wrote a review;) Yes, this is not a "fun, feel good" type of film, yet these are often the most important films of all; one feels as though they are actually undergoing the ordeal with Chuck Noland (Hanks), feeling the despair, loneliness and fear right there along side him; but thanks to some seriously underrated writing, we also feel his sense of renewal at the end, when he realizes that nothing happens by accident; this element of spirituality, though never directly addressed in the film is what gives it the ability to transcend the screen and reach out to all who have ever felt profound loss and solitude. Sometimes the lessons we learn in life don't come in prettily wrapped packages; watching this movie (and learning the lessons it has to offer) may not always be a comfortable, felicitous experience, but definitely worth every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Man Out Of Time, March 21 2004
By A Customer
It's hard to think of a movie in which the hero ponders a metaphorical crossroads in his life while standing at a literal crossroads. Insipid or inspired? The problem with Robert Zemeckis's visually and viscerally eye-punching Robinson Crusoe ins that you can't say for sure. Could the movie really be as thematically trite as an insprirational office poster? Or is it an admirably stripped- down examination of the ancestral essence of being human?
Chuck Noland (Tom Hanks) doesn't worry about such big questions. He's airlifted into Moscow and other emerging capital hot-spots when local operations are absolutely, positivly running from that tireless hunter: time. (It's alerrgorical! Get it?) Summoned on Christmas to make an emergency run, Chuck leaves his fiencee Kelly (Helen Hunt) with the promise that he'll return New Year's Eve. Cue from a "Perfect Storm": Chuck and the FedEx jet crew lose radio contact and crash into the Pacific Ocean in a truly harrowing, you-are-there disaster sequence. This is no film for the squeamish, particularly after Chuck and a few FedEx packages wash up on an unnamed, utterly uninhabited island (Fiji's Monukiri and Mana, actually).
Almost everything, from what Chuck's forced to eat to his horror at consequences of a desert-island toothache, is accompanied by all the blood and guts left over from SAVING PRIVATE RYAN.
Add in Chuck's deteriorating hold on sanity---evinced by the inspired conceit of his relationship with a volleyball on which he has drawn a face---and you have a long middle section of bravura filmaking.
But once Chuck get home, the film turns anticlimatic and emotionally nil, and there's a startling lack of chemistry between Hanks and an unimpressive Hunt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is Gilligan's Island with a Hanks/Remeckis touch..., March 1 2004
By 
Andy (Scotland,U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cast Away (VHS Tape)
From director,Robert Zemeckis comes Cast Away
This is Gilligan's Island with a Hanks/Remeckis touch.
(Tom Hanks,Helan Hunt,Nick Searcy,Chris Noth & Wilson)
Written by William J.Broyles Jr.
Chuck Noland gets stranded on a remote island,where he learns he has to survive,& keep hoping for someone to rescue him.This is a beautiful piece of film.The script isn't great,but the entire movie is great!
Tom Hanks is absolutley outstanding as Chuck,with a great cast.
There has been a huge amount of criticism from this film,& I am here to get rid of those bad reviews. There is very little dialogue on the island,but the visuals are excellent.
Alan Silvestri,the composer,did a wonderful job on the soundtrack,fair enough he only composed 10 minutes of music.
In my own opinion of viewing this movie,I thoroughly enjoyed it.It was truely an excellent piece of work. Tom Hanks & Robert Zemeckis did well on directing this movie.There were some great quotes in this movie also some hidden secrets.
"Coconut milk is a natural laxative. That's something Gilligan never told us." (C.Noland *see no land*)
5 out of 5 for:
Acting & Characters-Tom Hanks-Chuck Noland Helan Hunt-Kelly Frears
Music & Visual Effects (Alan Silvestri)
Writing & Directing (William J Broyles Jr. & Robert Zemeckis)
Location & Publicity-the beautiful island that Cast Away is set
Memorable Quotations & Classic Moments-The final scenes on the island
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The keyboard Wm Golding, Jan. 12 2004
By 
MaxVonWoodow "gjyaroch" (Sioux Falls,, South Dakota United States) - See all my reviews
I can't count the exact number of days that I sat here thinking, "Why would any one mail a keyboard to William Golding, the master of all Cast Away type novels, the author of Lord of the Flies and Pincher Martin?". Finally I decided to open the package and start it up. "Prints out on index cards", the box states, "Made in China". The grandpappy of all Cast Away scenarios was Gulliver's Travels, but the similarity ends shortly in the modern Cast Away. Kon Tiki was Thor Heyerdahl's search to find the specific Pacific origins of Polynesian culture. There are no Polynesians in Cast Away, but there is a raft. Blue Lagoon was a film similar to this but set in the 1800's, and the characters had someone to talk to. Gilligan's Island involved a group of Cast Away types and was successful for years, yet too amusing to believe, except for Thurston Howell the Third. In Golding's novel Lord of the Flies, a group of children grows up lost on an island, and become very primitive before mankind finds them. Pincher Martin is the movie and novel of Golding's that Cast Away resembles most. In fact Cast Away could have been a technicolor remake of that saga, but maybe Tom Hanks couldn't do the British accent required for Christopher Hadley Martin, lost sailor, in the north Atlantic, in World War Two. There are no fancy conscience wrenching flash backs in Cast Away, as in Pincher Martin, but the original plane crash should not be missed by those who love the sense that the movie screen is going to swallow you up and destroy you along with the movie's hero. The one saving grace of Cast Away not being a Golding remake is that the film states the problem of being stranded alone in the beautiful south Pacific with a low budget approach that lets the horror of Edgar Allen Poe lean into the front row and say, "You, dear audience, have room now, without all the intellectual posturing of a brain bending novel in front of you, to personally join our hapless victim of modern disaster and the failure of proficiency in transit, an airplane crash." Here you are, seeing what countless short stories and novels have used as a trite easy plot, but Cast Away isn't going to preach to you. This film is also here to say, "Even you can afford to learn what this extreme loser is learning, survive, and like it, because what you don't see here is the hell that awaits the ultimate loser, the wicked and the damned." Quote within a quote? Sure why not? There's no one else out here to talk to. Except some trees, a lost keyboard, a volleyball, myself, deep inside, where I had better keep me before I really go nuts and admit to telepathic powers that could signal travelling cannibals to the island, my kingdom, our kingdom, the land of myself, and Gulliver, and Gilligan, but he's not here, just some old spooks, and mister flashlight, and Wilson Volleyball. Don't mind the spooks, you might sense but don't see here either. There's an old pirate, a lost balloonist, a couple of navy deserters, a native in a grass skirt, really old and just standing there watching me trying to escape. "You'll escape", they're saying, "Don't photograph us. The after life contains a message out here. There is no escape ultimately. Just try to relax." I wonder how they communicate those thoughts without laughing out loud. They might not even be talking to me. I had better grab my volleyball and surf raft and get back to what modern life calls civilisation. Now that's what I call escape. Let's all do this again, until we get it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Three Hour Commercial, Jan. 6 2004
By 
K Scheffler (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cast Away (VHS Tape)
Having just watched this movie for the first time, I have to admit that it was more entertaining than I had been led to believe. It is, of course, not a unique theme (what is nowadays?) in that it the story of a modern, successful corporate cog who is suddenly and unexpectedly forced to deal with a situation that requires him to learn anew how to survive. During the course of which, he naturally is forced to reassess his own worldview as he no longer exists in an environment over which he has control. I found the symbolism in this movie to be quite significant and relevant. But overall the movie was not as profound and authentic as it could have been. In fact, even with my limited knowledge of the subject, it is quite clear that the island could not have sustained any human life over the course of four years. Interestingly enough, although license was taken in terms of the feasability of Chuch's survival on an isolated ecosystem, the producers had no problem in casting him as the employee of an actual courier company. We could well have gotten the point of this movie had they devised a superficial company, which makes the movie in essence a three hour commercial.
(In regards to the previous review concerning the package. I believe that he returned it to the person who had SENT it, hence the angel-wings on the box--the symbolism of which is obvious enough.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cast Away [Blu-ray]
Cast Away [Blu-ray] by Blu-Ray (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 11.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews