Customer Reviews


623 Reviews
5 star:
 (427)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (96)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
336 of 386 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 463 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great but marred by green tint, too many discs and forced trailers., Dec 5 2011
By 
Pedram Saleh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been waiting for this since the extended editions first came out on DVD. I held off on getting a DVD set or the Blu-Ray Theatrical editions because I knew this would be the definitive set to get. Needless to say I'm a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, it's not BAD per se; it just could have been better.

It's great that FOTR got a new transfer for this release (compared to the theatrical editions), but in getting that new transfer the infamous green tint issue popped up. I know some people say that it's supposed to be like this because Peter Jackson said that the new transfer looks really good and how he intended for it to look - but he said that at the time that the transfer went out for an HDTV broadcast. That statement was made well before this Blu-Ray set came out, so he couldn't have seen what they did to the Blu-Ray. If you compare screenshots with the DVD versions, you can see that the colours are pretty off in this tinted version, especially inside the Hobbit dwellings where it causes everything to appear unnaturally yellow and other colours to be dulled out. The colours on the DVD version are much more vibrant. The detail on the BR version is much better, sure, but the colours really mar what could have been a great release. The colour shift back to "normal" is noticeable when you go from the first movie to the second.

Secondly, one could say that it's really cool that this set includes so many discs of extras, but that actually shows the relative laziness of the studio, because the extras come on DVD discs and unnecessarily bulk up the set. Even if the extras are in SD, we're buying a Blu-Ray set so they could have fit those 9 DVDs of extras onto one or two Blu-Ray discs and saved some space and plastic. It's great to have so many extras, just not great to keep having to switch discs in and out when the technology is there not to have to do so.

Lastly, the Canadian version is an Alliance release and has forced trailers that the American version doesn't have.

All in all, I don't regret buying this set and it's be best available version of the LOTR trilogy, but it's not the definitive set that the fans could have had. It's unlikely the studios are going to do anything about it though, since plenty of people still bought it and lined the execs' pockets with their hard earned cash, so we'll just have to live with it for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Dec 24 2010
By 
Brian Ashe "Fantast" (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a lover of fantasy since childhood, I first read the Lord of the Rings novels in 1968, and many times since. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, though derived from Norse, Icelandic, and Anglo-Saxon legends/sagas, is the basis for the current popular literature of fantasy. The first set of movies set in New Zealand were marvelous. But there were several things missing. The Two Towers was disjointed. The section with the Ents was a bit short. The Return of the King underplayed the secondary romance with Faramir and the Rohan princess. This extended series sets it right. (Most of it. I do miss Tom Bombadill.)

The extended Lord of the Rings is truly astounding. This is and will be for a long time, the definitive movie of a definitive novel, the underpinning of all modern fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Send a message to Hollywood, March 18 2010
There is NO reason to withhold the Extended editions, other than corporate greed. I am pleased that Amazon shoppers are slamming this release (of a 5 star film). If people stick to their guns and withhold, it will send the message to Hollywood to stop messing around with us. As it is, they are looking for us to purchase a Blu-Ray that most of us already own on DVD. But that isn't good enough... they want us to buy it twice.
Other studios offer upgrade discounts. This studio double dips.
Unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dubious video transfer, March 28 2010
By 
G. Pangakis (Joliette, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those still interested in this package, I refer you to a recent review on [...]. It appears that the video transfer of the first movie is sub-par, compared to 'Two Towers' and 'Return of the King'... I just canceled my preorder based on this. While petty to some, I consider it inexcusable that this should happen on a blu ray release of this caliber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended version is worth the money!, Nov. 28 2004
By A Customer
Those who are asking "what is in extended version and why should i bother watch it?" should be happy to know that I will answer the question.
The extended version, which consists of 4 cds for each movie (so 4 cds times 3 stories = 12 cd), basically has every single explanations you need to know. From extended scenes to documentaries to commentaries, it has everything.
First, the extended version: Many of you those who were dissapointed in the movies because Jackson took out some of the parts from the book will be happy to know that he did actually firm those parts, but later deleted them. The extended scenes will add about 30 min to 1 hour of never before scene footage. Although they are relevant to the story, Jackson had to remove them because the movies were too long. The extended scenes will either make you say: I never knew that OR Oh! thats who that happened!. The scenes will really extend the already long movie but it is satisfying to watch them.
Second, the bonus cd's include: Documentaries, Commentaries, Gallery (which has concept arts and such), history and more! Although you probably wont watch all of them because there are SO many stuff to watch, you will find many of them very interesting.
Honestly, I think $100 for 12 cd's are quite cheap, considering there are SO many stuff inside the collection. This is a collection all fans of LOTR should have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Low Quality, Cash-grab Release, April 7 2010
By 
By now, everyone is aware that this release of The Lord of The Rings Trilogy contains only the theatrical versions of the movies. That, in and of itself, might be disappointing to those who prefer the Extended Editions, but it is no reason to pan this release. No, the real reason to pan this release is because of the low quality of the video transfer, the complete lack of ANY high definition special features and the utter disdain that has been shown towards the fans of this great trilogy.

Let's put aside the fact that Blu-ray makes it easy to include both the theatrical and extended versions on a single disc using seemless branching. Let's put aside the fact that fans would gladly pay a little extra to have the full compliment of special features in high definition. Let's put aside the obvious cash-grab mentality of this sub par release that is sure to see a "double dip" with the release of the Extended Editions right around the time that The Hobbit hits theatres. Let's set ALL of that aside and focus only on the quality of this particular release:

The video quality sucks!

Rather than give us a pristine, high definition version of the movies, what we have here is a horribly edge-enhanced, film-grain-removed travesty of a video transfer. The picture is soft; not because of the age of the film, but because the video transfer engineers have decided to remove all of the original film grain and thus, completely soften the image. In a failed attempt to make the image look sharper again, they have resorted to disgusting amounts of edge-enhancement that make these movies look like an amateur production that was thrown together on some kid's Mac.

This is a horrible, horrible release. It is completely undeserving of your money. And, in all honesty, if you buy this rubbish, you are only encouraging studios to release sub-par, cash-grab versions of your favourite films!

Do not let the studios get away with this crap! Demand better. And show them, by NOT buying the trash, that you demand better and will not be tricked into wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Extended Edition? Not BUYING!, March 13 2010
By 
M. Fazeli - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I share the sentiment of other reviewers here. This is not an extended edition copy, so why should I pay the studio twice to get the film I actually want? This feels like a cash grab and doesn't serve the fan base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Support Studio Greed, March 27 2010
By 
Fulvio (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Please boycott this release and do not buy. This double-dipping by studios has got to stop and it will only stop if people talk with their wallets.

WAIT FOR THE EXTENDED EDITIONS LATER THIS YEAR AND DO NOT SUPPORT STUDIO GREED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We've waited how long and still no Extended Edition?, March 21 2010
By 
This is more of a warning to potential buyers then anything. This release DOES NOT contain the extended editions of the films. Fans have waited how long for this release on Blu Ray yet New Line just hasn't had the time to release the Extended Versions of the film? This is nothing but a double dip to the fans that made the LOTR such a success in the first place. Peter Jackson was quoted as saying the EE's would be released this year not at a later date when the Hobbit was released to theaters i.e. 2012. Fans should show New Line they are not going to put up with releases that serve nothing but the purpose of taking the money of those that support them time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extended Editions Please, March 19 2010
By 
Parappa (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
No way am I settling for the theatrical versions. The extended cuts are the only real version of The Lord of the Rings, and to hold out on releasing them like this is a sham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 463 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews