Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third "re-purchase" as Blu-Ray, from existing DVD version
If you have the DVD version I wouldn't recommend purchasing this box set as there is little benefit. Even with a high end 5.1 HD sound system and picture, I found the difference from the DVD to be less intensive compared to other such examples I have "re-purchased" as Blu-Ray while already having the DVD version (i.e. Serenity, JFK, Underworld)
Published on July 5 2013 by Troy Lohnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 468 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Dec 24 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a lover of fantasy since childhood, I first read the Lord of the Rings novels in 1968, and many times since. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, though derived from Norse, Icelandic, and Anglo-Saxon legends/sagas, is the basis for the current popular literature of fantasy. The first set of movies set in New Zealand were marvelous. But there were several things missing. The Two Towers was disjointed. The section with the Ents was a bit short. The Return of the King underplayed the secondary romance with Faramir and the Rohan princess. This extended series sets it right. (Most of it. I do miss Tom Bombadill.)

The extended Lord of the Rings is truly astounding. This is and will be for a long time, the definitive movie of a definitive novel, the underpinning of all modern fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not perfect, Aug. 10 2011
By 
C. Labouisse - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The extended versions have already been published in DVD The Lord of the Rings: Special Extended Edition Trilogy (12 Discs) (Widescreen) this is a Blu Ray version of this package.

THE improvement of the Blu Ray version is the inclusion of HD versions of the movies. Image and sound are great although there is a buzz regarding the new color timing of the Fellowship. No changes on the bonuses which are in SD but no big deal IMHO.

Packaging is far from being on par with the DVD edition but it is OK. The biggest annoyance is the inclusion of FIVE trailers that you have to skip individually since the direct access to the menu is forbidden. That sucks badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (almost) Perfect!, Nov. 2 2011
I have the DVD extended edition, and surely this will not disappoint! I have yet to watch it I'd say everything about this edition is PERFECT: the box is beautifully designed (magnetic enclosure), and the printed manual for each movie look like they are straight from the artbook.

The ONLY things that mars this beautiful collection is the fact that the printed titles on the packaging is 1/4" off from the textured, raised font. Good thing the markings on the ring matches perfectly, or else it will be quite disappointing and deserves a return.

The digital copies that comes with it is a nice bonus = Road trip here I come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars french language, Nov. 30 2011
By 
Ahmadian "alex1264" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I need to know what are the language tracks for the movies... , but I need the movies to have french language tracks... , please said me if this bluray containe french language or only subtitle, beacause i wish commande it from france
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dubious video transfer, March 28 2010
By 
G. Pangakis (Joliette, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those still interested in this package, I refer you to a recent review on [...]. It appears that the video transfer of the first movie is sub-par, compared to 'Two Towers' and 'Return of the King'... I just canceled my preorder based on this. While petty to some, I consider it inexcusable that this should happen on a blu ray release of this caliber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!!!!!!, Nov. 17 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This pack is just incredible. Every Lord of the rings fan must own this edition!!! There's just so much bonuses and the extended
editions are very good, very good extra scenes and the quality of the image is just crazy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended version is worth the money!, Nov. 28 2004
By A Customer
Those who are asking "what is in extended version and why should i bother watch it?" should be happy to know that I will answer the question.
The extended version, which consists of 4 cds for each movie (so 4 cds times 3 stories = 12 cd), basically has every single explanations you need to know. From extended scenes to documentaries to commentaries, it has everything.
First, the extended version: Many of you those who were dissapointed in the movies because Jackson took out some of the parts from the book will be happy to know that he did actually firm those parts, but later deleted them. The extended scenes will add about 30 min to 1 hour of never before scene footage. Although they are relevant to the story, Jackson had to remove them because the movies were too long. The extended scenes will either make you say: I never knew that OR Oh! thats who that happened!. The scenes will really extend the already long movie but it is satisfying to watch them.
Second, the bonus cd's include: Documentaries, Commentaries, Gallery (which has concept arts and such), history and more! Although you probably wont watch all of them because there are SO many stuff to watch, you will find many of them very interesting.
Honestly, I think $100 for 12 cd's are quite cheap, considering there are SO many stuff inside the collection. This is a collection all fans of LOTR should have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movies of the best fiction books ever!, Sept. 21 2014
By 
Terry Proveau (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice collection. Extended editions are great and the story unfolds better that the theater releases. The most popular, best selling fictional books in the English language, ever! Peter Jackson does a great job putting the story onto the silver screen. Of course there are a few changes and omissions but over all a great job! The extra material in this collection is incredible so far and it will probably take me a few more years to get through it all, as I have watched about a third of it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE PACKAGING!, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So I gave this product 2 starts not because of the movies but rather because of the packaging. I purchased the box set for 40 something dollars and I expected at least the packaging to be somewhat durable. It is almost the same durability as a childs construction paper. This box set [actual packaging] will tear within a week or two especially if you have kids who plan on watching the movies. other then that the blu rays are great. call me a perfectionist but I work hard for my money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Send a message to Hollywood, March 18 2010
There is NO reason to withhold the Extended editions, other than corporate greed. I am pleased that Amazon shoppers are slamming this release (of a 5 star film). If people stick to their guns and withhold, it will send the message to Hollywood to stop messing around with us. As it is, they are looking for us to purchase a Blu-Ray that most of us already own on DVD. But that isn't good enough... they want us to buy it twice.
Other studios offer upgrade discounts. This studio double dips.
Unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 468 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews