Customer Reviews


613 Reviews
5 star:
 (424)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (94)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
338 of 389 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 462 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Send a message to Hollywood, March 18 2010
There is NO reason to withhold the Extended editions, other than corporate greed. I am pleased that Amazon shoppers are slamming this release (of a 5 star film). If people stick to their guns and withhold, it will send the message to Hollywood to stop messing around with us. As it is, they are looking for us to purchase a Blu-Ray that most of us already own on DVD. But that isn't good enough... they want us to buy it twice.
Other studios offer upgrade discounts. This studio double dips.
Unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dubious video transfer, March 28 2010
By 
G. Pangakis (Joliette, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those still interested in this package, I refer you to a recent review on [...]. It appears that the video transfer of the first movie is sub-par, compared to 'Two Towers' and 'Return of the King'... I just canceled my preorder based on this. While petty to some, I consider it inexcusable that this should happen on a blu ray release of this caliber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended version is worth the money!, Nov. 28 2004
By A Customer
Those who are asking "what is in extended version and why should i bother watch it?" should be happy to know that I will answer the question.
The extended version, which consists of 4 cds for each movie (so 4 cds times 3 stories = 12 cd), basically has every single explanations you need to know. From extended scenes to documentaries to commentaries, it has everything.
First, the extended version: Many of you those who were dissapointed in the movies because Jackson took out some of the parts from the book will be happy to know that he did actually firm those parts, but later deleted them. The extended scenes will add about 30 min to 1 hour of never before scene footage. Although they are relevant to the story, Jackson had to remove them because the movies were too long. The extended scenes will either make you say: I never knew that OR Oh! thats who that happened!. The scenes will really extend the already long movie but it is satisfying to watch them.
Second, the bonus cd's include: Documentaries, Commentaries, Gallery (which has concept arts and such), history and more! Although you probably wont watch all of them because there are SO many stuff to watch, you will find many of them very interesting.
Honestly, I think $100 for 12 cd's are quite cheap, considering there are SO many stuff inside the collection. This is a collection all fans of LOTR should have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Low Quality, Cash-grab Release, April 7 2010
By 
By now, everyone is aware that this release of The Lord of The Rings Trilogy contains only the theatrical versions of the movies. That, in and of itself, might be disappointing to those who prefer the Extended Editions, but it is no reason to pan this release. No, the real reason to pan this release is because of the low quality of the video transfer, the complete lack of ANY high definition special features and the utter disdain that has been shown towards the fans of this great trilogy.

Let's put aside the fact that Blu-ray makes it easy to include both the theatrical and extended versions on a single disc using seemless branching. Let's put aside the fact that fans would gladly pay a little extra to have the full compliment of special features in high definition. Let's put aside the obvious cash-grab mentality of this sub par release that is sure to see a "double dip" with the release of the Extended Editions right around the time that The Hobbit hits theatres. Let's set ALL of that aside and focus only on the quality of this particular release:

The video quality sucks!

Rather than give us a pristine, high definition version of the movies, what we have here is a horribly edge-enhanced, film-grain-removed travesty of a video transfer. The picture is soft; not because of the age of the film, but because the video transfer engineers have decided to remove all of the original film grain and thus, completely soften the image. In a failed attempt to make the image look sharper again, they have resorted to disgusting amounts of edge-enhancement that make these movies look like an amateur production that was thrown together on some kid's Mac.

This is a horrible, horrible release. It is completely undeserving of your money. And, in all honesty, if you buy this rubbish, you are only encouraging studios to release sub-par, cash-grab versions of your favourite films!

Do not let the studios get away with this crap! Demand better. And show them, by NOT buying the trash, that you demand better and will not be tricked into wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movies of the best fiction books ever!, Sept. 21 2014
By 
Terry Proveau (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice collection. Extended editions are great and the story unfolds better that the theater releases. The most popular, best selling fictional books in the English language, ever! Peter Jackson does a great job putting the story onto the silver screen. Of course there are a few changes and omissions but over all a great job! The extra material in this collection is incredible so far and it will probably take me a few more years to get through it all, as I have watched about a third of it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Extended Edition? Not BUYING!, March 13 2010
By 
M. Fazeli - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I share the sentiment of other reviewers here. This is not an extended edition copy, so why should I pay the studio twice to get the film I actually want? This feels like a cash grab and doesn't serve the fan base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Support Studio Greed, March 27 2010
By 
Fulvio (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Please boycott this release and do not buy. This double-dipping by studios has got to stop and it will only stop if people talk with their wallets.

WAIT FOR THE EXTENDED EDITIONS LATER THIS YEAR AND DO NOT SUPPORT STUDIO GREED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We've waited how long and still no Extended Edition?, March 21 2010
By 
This is more of a warning to potential buyers then anything. This release DOES NOT contain the extended editions of the films. Fans have waited how long for this release on Blu Ray yet New Line just hasn't had the time to release the Extended Versions of the film? This is nothing but a double dip to the fans that made the LOTR such a success in the first place. Peter Jackson was quoted as saying the EE's would be released this year not at a later date when the Hobbit was released to theaters i.e. 2012. Fans should show New Line they are not going to put up with releases that serve nothing but the purpose of taking the money of those that support them time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extended Editions Please, March 19 2010
By 
Parappa (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
No way am I settling for the theatrical versions. The extended cuts are the only real version of The Lord of the Rings, and to hold out on releasing them like this is a sham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off, March 27 2010
Do not buy. Wait for extended edition, show the studios that consumers are not dumb enough to fall for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 462 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews