Customer Reviews


544 Reviews
5 star:
 (364)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (91)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
332 of 380 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This does not contain the Extended Versions of the films!
Be warned that this BD release is the original theatrical versions of the film, not the extended editions! The studio pulled exactly the same stunt for the DVD releases of the LOTR trilogy and declined to release both the theatrical and extended versions of the film at the same time to provide fans with a choice. This can only be viewed as attempt to sell the movie...
Published on Feb. 7 2010 by Watchmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 455 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We've waited how long and still no Extended Edition?, March 21 2010
By 
This is more of a warning to potential buyers then anything. This release DOES NOT contain the extended editions of the films. Fans have waited how long for this release on Blu Ray yet New Line just hasn't had the time to release the Extended Versions of the film? This is nothing but a double dip to the fans that made the LOTR such a success in the first place. Peter Jackson was quoted as saying the EE's would be released this year not at a later date when the Hobbit was released to theaters i.e. 2012. Fans should show New Line they are not going to put up with releases that serve nothing but the purpose of taking the money of those that support them time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended version is worth the money!, Nov. 28 2004
By A Customer
Those who are asking "what is in extended version and why should i bother watch it?" should be happy to know that I will answer the question.
The extended version, which consists of 4 cds for each movie (so 4 cds times 3 stories = 12 cd), basically has every single explanations you need to know. From extended scenes to documentaries to commentaries, it has everything.
First, the extended version: Many of you those who were dissapointed in the movies because Jackson took out some of the parts from the book will be happy to know that he did actually firm those parts, but later deleted them. The extended scenes will add about 30 min to 1 hour of never before scene footage. Although they are relevant to the story, Jackson had to remove them because the movies were too long. The extended scenes will either make you say: I never knew that OR Oh! thats who that happened!. The scenes will really extend the already long movie but it is satisfying to watch them.
Second, the bonus cd's include: Documentaries, Commentaries, Gallery (which has concept arts and such), history and more! Although you probably wont watch all of them because there are SO many stuff to watch, you will find many of them very interesting.
Honestly, I think $100 for 12 cd's are quite cheap, considering there are SO many stuff inside the collection. This is a collection all fans of LOTR should have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epoustouflant, Nov. 2 2011
ce coffret est vraiment époustouflant sois dans l'audio que dans la video...un travail remarquable et chose a remarquer la bande sonore en français est en DTS MASTER AUDIO 6.1....c'est une premiere et je remerci la compagnie pour ça...que dire de plus....c'est un most.....Steve Lavoie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE PACKAGING!, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So I gave this product 2 starts not because of the movies but rather because of the packaging. I purchased the box set for 40 something dollars and I expected at least the packaging to be somewhat durable. It is almost the same durability as a childs construction paper. This box set [actual packaging] will tear within a week or two especially if you have kids who plan on watching the movies. other then that the blu rays are great. call me a perfectionist but I work hard for my money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, Dec 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The lord of the rings is a great trilogy. It's not like if I haven't seen it before but this is a great addition to my blu-ray collection. The box got amazing artwork and the map of the middle earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this version of the trilogy because I liked the aesthetics of it. It did not disappoint, I love how each DVD case looks like an old weathered book. Very happy with the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 3-film package satisfied our curiosity of the whole long story of the LOR. It's worth buying this collection. My kids love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies brand new in the package, Dec 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great value, had a really difficult time finding the set, now we are set to enjoy all of the movies together. Really good value..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome but digital copy expired, Oct. 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the series and this collection was well worth it. However, a word to customers that this collection does have an expiry date with regards to the digital copy which has since past months ago - not mentioned in the description. Not a big deal for some, others like the option. Still a good value if your a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and Amaziballs, April 27 2012
By 
koolz03 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
LOVED all three extended editions of this brilliant saga on blu-ray! I enjoyed every second of mind-blowing, epic and emotional storytelling even after all these years. I had never seen the extended editions before so this was a fantastic treat. Picture quality and sound quality gets two thumbs up! A must have for any blu-ray collector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 455 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b80e1c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews