Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy: Extended Edition (blu ray)...another prized possession, almost perfect
VIDEO:

The Fellowship Of The Ring (Extended Edition)(blu ray):

The AVC/1080p picture is housed on two BD-50 discs (Part 1: 105 minutes; Part 2: 123 minutes). I personally appreciate what Warner Brothers/New Line is doing, in order to minimize compression defects. Changing disc also gives people a chance to visit the washroom. The previous theatrical...
Published on July 1 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Third "re-purchase" as Blu-Ray, from existing DVD version
If you have the DVD version I wouldn't recommend purchasing this box set as there is little benefit. Even with a high end 5.1 HD sound system and picture, I found the difference from the DVD to be less intensive compared to other such examples I have "re-purchased" as Blu-Ray while already having the DVD version (i.e. Serenity, JFK, Underworld)
Published 24 months ago by Troy Lohnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 467 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended version is worth the money!, Nov. 28 2004
By A Customer
Those who are asking "what is in extended version and why should i bother watch it?" should be happy to know that I will answer the question.
The extended version, which consists of 4 cds for each movie (so 4 cds times 3 stories = 12 cd), basically has every single explanations you need to know. From extended scenes to documentaries to commentaries, it has everything.
First, the extended version: Many of you those who were dissapointed in the movies because Jackson took out some of the parts from the book will be happy to know that he did actually firm those parts, but later deleted them. The extended scenes will add about 30 min to 1 hour of never before scene footage. Although they are relevant to the story, Jackson had to remove them because the movies were too long. The extended scenes will either make you say: I never knew that OR Oh! thats who that happened!. The scenes will really extend the already long movie but it is satisfying to watch them.
Second, the bonus cd's include: Documentaries, Commentaries, Gallery (which has concept arts and such), history and more! Although you probably wont watch all of them because there are SO many stuff to watch, you will find many of them very interesting.
Honestly, I think $100 for 12 cd's are quite cheap, considering there are SO many stuff inside the collection. This is a collection all fans of LOTR should have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movies of the best fiction books ever!, Sept. 21 2014
By 
Terry Proveau (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice collection. Extended editions are great and the story unfolds better that the theater releases. The most popular, best selling fictional books in the English language, ever! Peter Jackson does a great job putting the story onto the silver screen. Of course there are a few changes and omissions but over all a great job! The extra material in this collection is incredible so far and it will probably take me a few more years to get through it all, as I have watched about a third of it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Send a message to Hollywood, March 18 2010
There is NO reason to withhold the Extended editions, other than corporate greed. I am pleased that Amazon shoppers are slamming this release (of a 5 star film). If people stick to their guns and withhold, it will send the message to Hollywood to stop messing around with us. As it is, they are looking for us to purchase a Blu-Ray that most of us already own on DVD. But that isn't good enough... they want us to buy it twice.
Other studios offer upgrade discounts. This studio double dips.
Unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Support Studio Greed, March 27 2010
By 
Fulvio (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Please boycott this release and do not buy. This double-dipping by studios has got to stop and it will only stop if people talk with their wallets.

WAIT FOR THE EXTENDED EDITIONS LATER THIS YEAR AND DO NOT SUPPORT STUDIO GREED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We've waited how long and still no Extended Edition?, March 21 2010
By 
This is more of a warning to potential buyers then anything. This release DOES NOT contain the extended editions of the films. Fans have waited how long for this release on Blu Ray yet New Line just hasn't had the time to release the Extended Versions of the film? This is nothing but a double dip to the fans that made the LOTR such a success in the first place. Peter Jackson was quoted as saying the EE's would be released this year not at a later date when the Hobbit was released to theaters i.e. 2012. Fans should show New Line they are not going to put up with releases that serve nothing but the purpose of taking the money of those that support them time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely dissapointing!, March 17 2010
I completely agree with the other '1 star' posts - don't buy this. Wait for the Extended Edition. This is a blatant attempt to mislead consumers. It's one thing to release both versions at different times just after the movies have gone through the theatres. But to try this as part of a format change when both versions have been out on DVD for years shows complete disregard for consumers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I guess the Money factor outweighs the pre-rewiews to this ripoff., March 6 2010
By 
Peter Browne (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite the Negative publicity over the Studio releasing a STANDARD version of the LOR in Blu-ray instead of the Extended Version, some greedy little whanabe has decided `Why Not give it a Go, after all, there's money to be made!' Hope it goes down in flames, and to get rid of the excess inventory, they have to sell off the STANDARD Blu-ray version at $9.95!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extended Editions Please, March 19 2010
By 
Parappa (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
No way am I settling for the theatrical versions. The extended cuts are the only real version of The Lord of the Rings, and to hold out on releasing them like this is a sham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip Off, March 27 2010
Do not buy. Wait for extended edition, show the studios that consumers are not dumb enough to fall for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising!, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes this is the Lord of the Rings Extended Trilogy, but I'd you are looking for the box set that folds open like a book, that is not what you will get. This particular box set is a flimsy cardboard sleeve that houses the three blurays. You will need to order from Amazon.com if you are looking for that box set. The only reason I give this a 2 star rating is for the Blu Ray's themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 467 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews