Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent's worst nightmare come true,
With this album, Dr.Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, MC Ren and DJ Yella brought to the mainstream the soon-to-be-pariah known as Gangsta Rap, with its foul-mouthed depictions of violence, drugs, and sexism. The production pairs hard-hitting, thunder-like beats and snare kicks with uptempo funk and soul, as Cube, Dre, Eazy and Ren spit rhymes, that, even today, are offensive,...
Published on Jan. 28 2008 by Patrick W. Gribbon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Influential, but hardly original.
There's no denying the effect that this album has had on American culture. It's essentially the penultimate reason why the stupid teenagers next door, and millions like them, fancy themselves hardcore "gangstas". But jeez-louise, N.W.A. were hardly the first gangsta rappers.
Schoolly-D was, as early as 1984. Go to school, children! His seminal "P.S.K...
Published on Jan. 24 2003 by H. Brumfield


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent's worst nightmare come true,, Jan. 28 2008
By 
Patrick W. Gribbon (Ottawa, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
With this album, Dr.Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, MC Ren and DJ Yella brought to the mainstream the soon-to-be-pariah known as Gangsta Rap, with its foul-mouthed depictions of violence, drugs, and sexism. The production pairs hard-hitting, thunder-like beats and snare kicks with uptempo funk and soul, as Cube, Dre, Eazy and Ren spit rhymes, that, even today, are offensive, insensitive, hate-ridden, exiting, entertaining, witty, and often amusing.

While songs deal with colorful subjects such as shooting at police, drugs, and punching someone in the mouth simply because you don't like them, the music retains a party-friendly, festive vibe, which is a stark contrast to the belligerent lyrics. With or without the lyrical bloodshed, Compton is still as playful and fun as a Run DMC record or even the Beastie Boys' Licensed to Ill. While comparatively benign in terms of subject matter, they were both large touchstones for Compton's sound - it sounds like a party record first and foremost. This irony is much like John Denver writing a gentle, heartfelt ballad about breaking his guitar over your head, and stabbing you repeatedly with what's left of it - lest he not blow your head off with his gat. Brutal. Hilarious.

Perhaps more ironic is that the group was not only about offending people (though it probably was a big part of the agenda), but simply telling life how they saw it. Along with the obvious "F Tha Police", a cry against police brutality, "Express Yourself," a tribute to honesty, and "Dopeman," which documents the perils of drug dealing, the album is a streetwise documentation of the harsh ghetto environment in which the rappers were raised, "the strength of street knowledge" if you will.

This album is up to the brim with classic material - the knockout left-right-left ("and you're toothless!") of the first three songs (can you really think of a better way to start off an album?), the sharp flows of "Something Like That" and "Compton's In The House", and "If It Ain't Ruff." Ice Cube is the album's star; his performance here drips with fury and hunger, though they're all in top form here and work with great chemistry to one another. As if you need to be told, one of the best albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pinnacle of Gangsta Rap, June 8 2004
By 
S. Koropeckyj "Romi Panchir" (The Bright Side of the Moon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
If you want Gangsta rap look no further than this masterpiece. The songs are violent, hateful, masogonistic, entrenching stereotypes,a nd every other thing that could be potentially viewed as a negative charecteristic. Everything that is bad is featured on this album, however for some reason this album does not either offend or disgust me the least bit. On this album are the obvious clasics: F*ck the Police, Gangsta Gangsta, Straight outta Compton, and a few others. These songs alone are the reason why this album is worth the few bucks that you shall pay for it. Furthermore the new version has a few extra tracks including the ultra masogonistic a B*tch is a B*tch, which however is a classic song and is also a display of some twisted truth.
Furthermore everything on this album is presented honestly and openly. Though it is obvious that Ice Cube doesn't kill Cops for no reason daily, the song does display honesty in the sense that it shows the problems of frusturations faced by people everyday.
High Recommened; Buy It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Info on NWA, May 4 2004
By 
Marcus Chapman "S.T.A.R. author" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
Nearly anyone who knows anything about hip-hop should already be familiar with this album, but here are a few things you may not know. NWA didn't start with "Straight Outta Compton" or with the album "NWA and the Posse". NWA were the kings of the maxi-single. Maxi-singles were 12 inch records with more than the normal 2 songs. Their first one was the Eazy-E maxi-single with "Boyz in tha Hood", "Fat Girl" and "LA is the Place" in 1987. Then came the "Panic Zone", "Dope Man", "8 Ball" maxi, credited to NWA. The picture on that cover was used for the "NWA and the Posse" album, which for some reason, contained the radio version of "8 Ball" instead of the street version. Next came another Eazy-E maxi with "Eazy Duz It", "Ruthless Villian", "Radio", and "Compton's N Tha House", which was only issued on the cassette version as a bonus track. This maxi introduced MC Ren, who stepped in while Ice Cube was away at college. Cube returned for the next NWA maxi with "Gangsta Gangsta", "Something Like That", "Quiet on tha Set", and "Something 2 Dance 2". After all of these maxi-singles, they released the Eazy-E album "Eazy Duz It", followed by the NWA album "Straight Outta Compton". The sixth person on the "Compton" album cover is not The DOC as some have stated, it's Arabian Prince. He was featured on "Something 2 Dance 2", but apparently left the group during the course of recording the album. Since "Something 2 Dance 2" is arguably the weakest song on the album, and is the only song he recorded with the group, it was not a great loss. The bonus tracks on this remastered cd come from the maxi-single released after the album. These were the groups final recordings with Ice Cube. A year later they returned with their final maxi-single "100 Miles and Runnin" which contained the title cut, "Just Don't Bite It", "Sa Prize (Part 2)","Real Ni---z", and "Kamurshol"-a plug for their next forthcoming album released the following year. Those songs are bonus tracks on the remastered version of "Ni---z 4 Life", which musically speaking at least, is better than "Straight Outta Compton" so cop that one too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You don't get any more GANGSTA than this!!!!, April 14 2004
By 
Wayne Maye (Petersburg,VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
N.W.A. made their mark in hip hop, perhaps like NO OTHER group on the West Coast has or ever will again. This album is one of the greatest albums of all time, just for the sheer historical value surrounding it(they received letters from the F.B.I., they said things on this record that NO ONE thought of saying at the time, etc).Dr.Dre, Eazy-E, Ice Cube, MC Ren, and DJ Yella were THE crew in the west. This AWESOME album showed their collective strength as a forced to be reckoned with. There will NEVER be another group this tough again. Here's the review:
Album Highlights: Straight Outta Compton, F**k Tha Police, Gangsta,Gangsta, Dopeman(Remix), 8Ball, Quiet On Tha Set, and Parental Discretion Iz Advised.
Production: Thumbs up, the first of many Dr.Dre gems.
Lyrics and Subject Matter: Thumbs up, largely on the strength of Ice Cube.
Originality: Thumbs up, no one else was coming like this in 1988, from the east OR west.
The Last Word: What a BLOCKBUSTER album this is. The intensity shown on this record will NEVER be matched again, by ANYONE. N.W.A. defied the odds and released one TREMENDOUS album that'll stand the test of time. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You are about to witness the strength of street knowledge, March 29 2004
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
This album really put the Ruthless in Eazy-E's Ruthless Records. This is a pure gangsta, hardcore, ruthless album from a true rap supergroup. From five pioneers of raps: Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, MC Ren and DJ Yella. It is a solid flawless album. This album is probably the most vulgar, profain true rap album EVER. It was outspoken like 'It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back' and louder than heavy metal. This album from start to finish is a pure dose of rap straight from the streets. Rap about the stuff that happens in the streets. It is true and nothing is overexaggerated. It is basic but extremely powerful. The best/most influential songs from this albums are "Fu<k tha Police" "Gangsta Gangsta" "Express Yourself" and "Parental Discretion Iz Advised"
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this album to ANY true rap fan UNLESS you are easily offened. This album with the amazing lyrics from Ice Cube, the powerful high-pitched whining of Eazy-E, the raw straight to the point rhymes of MC Ren, the productions and lyrics from DJ Yella and the hardcore g-funk producer Dr. Dre together form NWA. The most notorious group of all time with a tremendous, groundbreaking album. BUY THIS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You are about to witness the strength of street knowledge, March 29 2004
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
This album really put the Ruthless in Eazy-E's Ruthless Records. This is a pure gangsta, hardcore, ruthless album from a true rap supergroup. From five pioneers of raps: Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Ice Cube, MC Ren and DJ Yella. It is a solid flawless album. This album is probably the most vulgar, profain true rap album EVER. It was outspoken like 'It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back' and louder than heavy metal. This album from start to finish is a pure dose of rap straight from the streets. Rap about the stuff that happens in the streets. It is true and nothing is overexaggerated. It is basic but extremely powerful. The best/most influential songs from this albums are "Fu<k tha Police" "Gangsta Gangsta" "Express Yourself" and "Parental Discretion Iz Advised"
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this album to ANY true rap fan UNLESS you are easily offened. This album with the amazing lyrics from Ice Cube, the powerful high-pitched whining of Eazy-E, the raw straight to the point rhymes of MC Ren, the productions and lyrics from DJ Yella and the hardcore g-funk producer Dr. Dre together form NWA. The most notorious group of all time with a tremendous, groundbreaking album. BUT THIS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most influential hip hop album of all time, Nov. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
Notice I didn't say it was the greatest hip hop album of all time; I can name 15 off of the top of my head that blow this away. But more influential than this? I can't name one; can you? This one album is responsibile for launching more careers in any musicial genre, and that includes groups like the Beatles, Ramones and Rolling Stones. When Dr. Dre announces that "you are about to witness the strength of street knowledge', you know you are about to hear something special. From the opening title track, it goes to arguably the most controversial song ever written, F*** Tha Police,written about police misconduct and brutality, and us in the urban community know full well what they are talking about. While some people may have written this off as an attempt to sell records and get attention, it was a precursor to the Rodney King beatings and L.A riots that followed a couple of years later. The album is raw, challenging and uncompromisingly full of F-words and harsh rebellion, so it was an instant favorite among suburban white males. Though you can get your fill of curses on songs like 8 Ball, Gangsta, Gangsta and Compton's In The House, it was recorded in the '80's, so the old school influence is still there with Express Yourself, If It Ain't Ruff , Quiet On Tha Set and Something To Dance To. My favorite songs are I Ain't The 1 and Dopeman, where Ice Cube gets to shine alone. Perhaps the most remarkable thing about this album is that it came out in 1988, the most pure year of hip hop ever; it came out alongside classics from Public Enemy, Run D.M.C, EPMD, BDP, Big Daddy Kane, Slick Rick and a slew of others. It is original, timeless, classic, or in the words of Dr. Dre, "Damn that s*** was dope"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, I like this!, March 19 2003
By 
Mattowarrior "Mattowarrior" (Madison, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
I downloaded a few songs from the net off this album out of pure curiousity. I have Dr Dre's the Chronic and had one (later) Nwa album a long time ago, but some of it was for humorous purposes only. Well, after hearing this album let's just say, I am hooked. The songs in question are the first four from the album, and I haven't liked a rap album this much since Public Enemy or Ice T. You see, I am very naive when it comes to rap, I know that I am primarily a metal head, but this album may do well to change some of my perspective on the rap genre. First of all, the beats are great, sort of in between the "Bomb Squad" and Dre's later "G funk" production. The ryhmes really kick a** as well, despite the protestations of them not being genuine. This album is a timeless rap album, the comparison to "Never Mind The Bollocks" is pretty dead on, because like John Lydon, Ice Cube seems to be the most intelligent of these guys. Dre is also great but it is funny hearing him saying he "Doesn't smoke weed" when he later did the album "the Chronic". Bottom line: Rap can be just as extreme and full of integrity as any other form of music, this album gets me pumped up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Influential, but hardly original., Jan. 24 2003
By 
H. Brumfield (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
There's no denying the effect that this album has had on American culture. It's essentially the penultimate reason why the stupid teenagers next door, and millions like them, fancy themselves hardcore "gangstas". But jeez-louise, N.W.A. were hardly the first gangsta rappers.
Schoolly-D was, as early as 1984. Go to school, children! His seminal "P.S.K. What Does it Mean?", an ode to the Philly gang the Parkside Killers, set the tone and style for everything that followed it. And Ice-T ("6 in the Mornin'"), King Tee ("If You're Ever in Compton (Ya Better Bring a Gun)"), and Just-Ice ("Hip-hop Gangster"), were all putting down a paradoxically cartoonish street realism over beats while Dr. Dre was still churning out cheesy R&B ballads ("Turn Out the Lights") as part of the horrible World Class Wreckin' Cru, with a finger-wave in his hair.
I like this album for the most part, but I guess I just hate to see undue credit passed its way. Though I will say this: I shoulda bought stock in Old English 800 a loooong time ago...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning..., Dec 22 2002
This review is from: Straight Outta Compton (Audio CD)
"Straight Outta Compton" was the first rap album that really blew me away. Growing up as a white kid in the suburbs (and being part of N.W.A's core audience, as it turned out), I was familiar with rap music as a singles format (Kurtis Blow, Grandmaster Flash, Whodini, etc.)--mainly through friends and acquaintances at school who listened to it...and who sometimes even made their own demos!
Anyhoo, listening to this album on tape in my room with my headphones on--so my mom couldn't hear all the cursing--I was really impressed at the explosiveness of the music and especially, N.W.A's attitude. It had a street credibility and rebellious spirit that was sorely lacking in the cheesy hair bands of the time. (Remember Winger, anyone?)
Looking back, I was simply too young and too green to comprehend the realities of the American inner city: the drugs, the poverty, the crime, the hopelessness. I just thought it was cool that these guys were cursing. I had no idea that anyone (especially the FBI) would actually think this was more than music (as the murders of 2Pac and Biggie so sadly proved).
As music, "Straight Outta Compton" has aged since its release. While Dr. Dre and DJ Yella certainly were innovators at the time, the beats owe a lot to Run-D.M.C. and sound a little dated. The attitude, fortunately, has not aged a bit.
The first three songs are where the bread and butter lie. The title track is as brutal an intro as you're gonna find anywhere in popular music. "F--k Tha Police" is a timeless classic whose harsh message about police brutality has unfortunately not diminished with time. "Gangsta Gangsta" is a brilliantly descriptive narrative of street life. These songs are some of the best American music ever recorded. Period.
The rest of "Straight Outta Compton" is a tad checkered (which is why I only gave it 4 stars). Out of the remaining 10 tracks: one is solid enough to compare with the first three ("Dopeman");
Three are songs I love because they display N.W.A's caustic --and often hilarious--sense of humor ("Parental Discretion Iz Advised"; "8 Ball"; "I Ain't tha 1"...kudos to Ice Cube and Eazy-E on those ones);
One ("Express Yourself") is an inferior recording and has a subsequent remix that is better. Look for it on the 1996 N.W.A release "Greatest Hits";
One is an adequate presentation of why MC Ren is called "the George Harrison of N.W.A" ("If It Ain't Ruff");
Three are boring ("Somethin' Like That"; "Compton's N tha House"; "Quiet on tha Set");
And one is simply perplexing ("Something 2 Dance 2"). Can *YOU* imagine N.W.A dancing? I can't!
Anyway, the meat and potatos of "Straight Outta Compton" are the first three songs. Except for Public Enemy, you won't find more hard-hitting social commentary anywhere--even if it is of a nihilistic manner. You also won't find any track here that explores some of the other downsides of the street life (i.e., losing loved ones to violence, court dates, incarceration, etc.), but you also won't find many other performers in popular music with the guts to tackle these issues either.
"Straight Outta Compton" is rude, nasty, thuggish, profane, violent, and utterly compelling. It is the only N.W.A CD you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews