Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warner took over Paramount's loss.
A few weeks back, the only way you could buy Zodiac on blu-ray was by laying down an easy $70 for Paramount's 2009 out of print edition. Now, thanks to Warner, the film's back on shelves with a much lower price tag. Co-productions sometimes work great and this is the case here. Do not fear of finding a different cover than before, Warner only re-printed the exact same set...
Published 19 months ago by Simon Bergeron

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I am the Zodiac
Lately I've been on a bit of a serial killer spree, checking out movies about/based on real-life serial killers and the times they were active.

So I was fully expecting to be blown away by "Zodiac," David Fincher's account of the Zodiac Killer (whom I had never heard of before). But Fincher's talents are drowned in a sea of minutial facts here, leading...
Published 6 months ago by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warner took over Paramount's loss., Feb. 9 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A few weeks back, the only way you could buy Zodiac on blu-ray was by laying down an easy $70 for Paramount's 2009 out of print edition. Now, thanks to Warner, the film's back on shelves with a much lower price tag. Co-productions sometimes work great and this is the case here. Do not fear of finding a different cover than before, Warner only re-printed the exact same set and the only real difference is a sticker on the plastic sleeve over the bar code.

The film itself is a masterpiece. It's a superb analysis of obsession in just about every character the picture finds, times passing by and much more themes than can be listed. Jake Gylenhaal is a wonderful actor cast as the Zodiac-obsessed cartoonist Robert Graysmith, surrounded by top-talents of Robert Downey Jr., Mark Rufallo, Brian Cox, Chloë Sevigny and more. The film itself takes its time to explore the true events and Fincher's eye for detail (visual AND narrative) makes for a very eerie film. So much so that I suspect even the actual survivors may have a hard time watching it. After Seven, The Game and Fight Club, you can finally add Zodiac on your blu-ray shelf without killing your wallet first.

In terms of audio and video qualities, the main soundtrack seems a bit dull, the only real flat point on this edition. Background action sometimes overwhelms the characters speaking, which is the main problem here. As far as video presentation is concerned, it was flawless even for a 2007 film. The colors, textures and many details are spotless, even though I'm far from a professional, it suited my tastes from frame 1 to final credits.

Special features, here we go: Warner thought it good to include ALL of the second disc again, which is another good idea. You will find two commentary tracks on disc 1, but disc 2 contains the meat of the supplements:

- Zodiac Deciphered: making the film (approx. 55 minutes) HD
- Visual FX of Zodiac (approx. 15 minutes) HD
- Previsualization
- This is the Zodiac Speaking: documentary on the actual events (102 minutes) HD
- His name was Arthur Leigh Allen (approx. 42 minutes) HD
- Theatrical Trailer (2'33'') HD
All features showing HD means it's in high definition.

It would be hard to ask for more complete or better special features and this edition doesn't disappoint in any regards.

For such a bargain price, Zodiac is now a film you can add with confidence to your library. No longer out of print, you can stop looking for over-priced items on eBay or on Amazon and thank Warner for their very intelligent move. I didn't regret it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the Zodiac Speaking..., June 27 2013
By 
keefsey - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been looking for this movie for quite a while and I was glad to see it so cheap on Amazon.

Includes commentary tracks as well if that is your thing!

Great cast including Jake Gyllenhaal, Mark Ruffalo, Robert Downey Jr. and John Carroll Lynch.

Based on the book by Robert Graysmith, who detailed the timeline and events of the killer known as the Zodiac who was a serial killer in the San Francisco area in the 1970's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Zodiac" shows that there is more than one way to lose your life to a killer, Aug. 2 2007
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ultimately, the fatal flaw in "Zodiac" is that the film fails to maintain the courage of its convictions. Given the impulse towards narrative completeness it is difficult to make a movie about a serial killer that has never been caught, and the tagline for this 2007 film comes up with an ideal solution with the whole idea that "There's more than one way to lose your life to a killer." That appellation applies to a trio of characters in director David Fincher's film. Inspector David Toschi (Mark Ruffalo) is the lead detective on the case and Paul Avery (Robert Downey Jr.) is covering the murders for the San Francisco "Chronicle," and they are going to devote years to the pursuit of the killer. Then there is Robert Graysmith (Jake Gyllenhaal), a cartoonist for the paper who becomes obsessed, first with the cryptograms the Zodiac sends to the "Chronicle" and then with figuring out the killer's identity.

The trailer for "Zodiac" makes it clear that Graysmith is the main character in the film, and the screenplay is based on the book that Graysmith wrote about the case. But he really does not emerge as such until the second half of the film, by which time Avery has moved on to a different paper and Toschi has put the case on the back burner, mainly because Zodiac has stopped killing. Or perhaps he has only stopped boasting about it to the press and the police. Graysmith cannot let go and continues to investigate on his own until he thinks that he knows who done it. Since the suppositions are Graysmith's, the movie bends to his perspective. Without them, the film cannot pretend to come to any conclusions. However, this runs counter to the tagline that suggests we should view Graysmith's obsession as a bad thing. "Zodiac" tries to walk a thin line and have it both ways but in the end it cannot help but take Greysmith's views as its own.

At first I was thinking "Zodiac" was comparable to "All the President's Men" in that the focus is on police procedure and investigative journalism, and you do not actually get to a resolution except in terms of the teletype or the end scrawl. Then I could see how in many ways the Zodiac can be viewed as the American Jack the Ripper, not in terms of the viciousness of his murder but rather because the case will never be solved, so speculation as to the murderer's identity is all we have and we get to run rampant with it. Both cases have website where you can debate who are or are not the victims and see the messages that the killers sent to torment the police. So there is also a sense in which "Zodiac" is attempting to answer the unanswerable question, much like "From Hell," albeit with much more in terms of concrete support (or at least absent evidence to the contrary).

The performances by the three principle performers forgives a lot of the faults here. Downey is one of the most mesmerizing actors around today, so it is hard to keep your eye on anyone else when he is on screen. Ruffalo turns in an effectively restrained performance, providing a lot of subtle shadings within the limited range he has hit upon for this role. Gyllenhaal is the one whose character has the greatest arc from start to finish as his obsession with finding the identity of the Zodiac unhinges his life and as much as finding the killer he needs somebody, whether it be Toschi, Avery, or his wife (Chloë Sevigny) to tell him he is right. Or maybe it could be something as simple as finally getting to look into the eyes of the Zodiac himself.

Next year the director's cut of "Zodiac" will come out on DVD, and I suppose I will check it out. But I am inclined to doubt that adding to the film will make it better because all it can really do is expand the various elements and not add additional ones. There was never sufficient proof to warrant the arrest of Graysmith's prime suspect and the film's suggestion that fate allowed time to run out speaks back to the intrinsic need for narrative completeness more than hard facts (although the movie gets points for the character of Toschi sticking to the need for proof that will stand up in court despite the circumstantial evidence that Graysmith amasses by the end of the film). Still, this version of "Zodiac" is well worth watching, even if it proves to be unsatisfying on various levels. The "true" story being told does not allow otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two decades in the life, Aug. 18 2007
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
I watched a film today, oh boy

About a quiet man who wrote a book

And though the book did rather well

No one had time for laughs

They saw the photographs

Of people shot dead in their cars

They didn't know at first the killer's name

A group of letters soon appeared

He said he'd killed them all

Nobody was really sure if he was just leading them on

I saw a film today, oh boy
About a killer named the Zodiac
And though the film was rather sad
Well I just had to look
Having missed the book
It really was quite long

(to the tune of "A Day in the Life" by the Beatles)

First of all, this movie is more like a crime documentary, focusing mainly on the tedious and labor intensive background work that went into the investigation of the murders that took place in the San Francisco Bay area in the sixties. From the title, you already know that the killer is the infamous (and so far unidentified) Zodiac, and because the case is still unsolved, the ending is understandably vague.

The next thing you should know is that it's a long movie that takes you step by step through the case from the shooting of Darlene Ferrin and Mike Mageau to the publication of Robert Graysmith's first book of the same name.

It very effectively chronicles the personal and career upheavals of the main characters, especially the fixation of Graysmith (Sensitive guy Jake Gyllenhaal who's no stranger to obsessive roles), the dedication of Inspector David Toschi (a rumpled looking Mark Ruffalo) and the unpredictability of crime reporter Paul Avery (Robert Downey Jnr. doing what he does best).

At some points you can almost hear Graysmith's torment - "I wish I knew how to quit you Zodiac killer" - and at these moments you'll wish for Lilly Rush and the Cold Case team to come in and solve it once and for all. Recommended for people into true crime stories, but for obvious reasons you won't learn much more about Zodiac that you already know.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not outstanding,but still pretty good(3.5/5), Aug. 2 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
okay,right off the bat,you should know that this movie is 157 minutes long.but hopefully that won't have too much of a bearing on whether you like the movie.it is compelling viewing,just enough to maintain interest.i think they could have cut a few scenes,but that's just me.if you're not familiar with the Zodiac,he's a killer who terrorized the San Francisco Bay area in the late 60's to mid 70's.this movie chronicles those murders and the investigation that resulted.i would not call this movie exciting,in fact,it's quite low key.the acting is not bad,but i don't think there are any stand out performances.even though the movie is very deliberate in it's pacing,i wasn't bored once.if you go into this movie knowing it is very low key and very dramatic,with action that is subdued,you shouldn't be disappointed.if you're expecting an action movie,this may not be for you.anyway,i don't think this is an outstanding movie,but it is still pretty good.i give "Zodiac" a 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm so glad they released this film again, as it was taken off print for a while. One the best film of the 2000's gets a very nice blu ray treatment! Kudos to Amazon for the fast shipping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zodiac Director's Cut Blu ray, Aug. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wanted to get this movie for some time now as the reviews were consistently good.
When the price came down to a reasonable level I bought it.
Just recently watched it and enjoyed it very much.
The acting was good and the story stayed close enough to what really happened.
As people know the Zodiac was never brought to trial but one suspect who died in the early nineties was show cased in the movie.
I like the way in the closing credits where it tells what happened to the characters in real life.
That's a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie. I was intrigued by the story and ..., July 19 2014
Excellent movie. I was intrigued by the story and how it would relate to the findings in the Black Dahlia Avenger II which closes the door on who committed the crimes that swept the nation over many decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I am the Zodiac, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Lately I've been on a bit of a serial killer spree, checking out movies about/based on real-life serial killers and the times they were active.

So I was fully expecting to be blown away by "Zodiac," David Fincher's account of the Zodiac Killer (whom I had never heard of before). But Fincher's talents are drowned in a sea of minutial facts here, leading to an interesting but not very compelling narrative about a cartoonist who becomes obsessed with catching a serial killer. It doesn't help that most of the best actors are wasted.

In 1969, San Francisco Chronicle began receiving encrypted letters from a serial killer who called himself Zodiac, taking credit for past murders and mentioning his plans for future kills. Robert Graysmith (Jake Gyllenhaal) is only a political cartoonist, but his knack for puzzles allows him to figure out the code that Zodiac is using. Despite not being taken seriously by his fellows, crime writer Paul Avery (Robert Downey, Jr.) begins to listen to his theories.

After three more killings, police detective Dave Toschi (Mark Ruffalo) is put on the case, and Zodiac begins threatening Avery, and even calls a celebrity lawyer on the radio. Then... he vanishes without a trace. But Graysmith remains obsessed with Zodiac's identity -- and when the killings and phantom calls begin again some years later, he contacts Toschi in hopes of finally identifying the serial killer.

David Fincher is an absolutely brilliant director, and he's clearly trying to do his best with this movie. But his talents seem to be squandered in this story, partly because it seems to rely so much on facts and a sense of realism. He is to be admired for sticking mostly to Graysmith's facts rather than wildly sensationalizing them... but that means that the movie has long stretches of quibbling over puzzles and inconsequential clues.

Realistic, yes. Fascinating... no. Honestly, the most intriguing parts of the movie are the parts that DON'T involve Graysmith -- the radio conversations, the murders, and Toschi's efforts to solve the case. It's made all the more intriguing because Fincher has Zodiac voiced by three different actors, spreading doubt through your mind about whether there is just one person or more than one.

But whenever the story swings back to Graysmith, any tension seems to just quietly leak out of the film. And since the movie's events take place over several years, the tension comes in very small bursts, spread very far apart, which only end up leading to an anticlimax of epic proportions.

Part of that is because Graysmith is just not a very interesting character -- for the first two-thirds of the movie, Jake Gyllenhaal does little except look doe-eyed and stare intently at papers. He seems like a cipher for the audience's participation. Marc Ruffalo and Robert Downey Jr. both do excellent jobs with their roles, although Downey is reduced to doing little except stomping around and drinking.

The normally brilliant Fincher seems to be on autopilot for much of "Zodiac," which has some glorious actors but a lead character who sucks the energy out of the film. Factually interesting, but kind of a drag to sit through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dramatisation on the subject, Dec 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Probably the best, if not THE best, movie about the Zodiac killer. Mysterious & intriguing. They did several films on the subject that are not to neglect, but I really think this one has its own particular way to present it, using the journalistic approached, an option never really explored in the pass in my opinion. Even if we mostly know how the story ends; worths giving it a try sincerely.

Sly from Lost on 42nd St
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zodiac: The Director's Cut
Zodiac: The Director's Cut by David Fincher (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 69.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews