Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!
I love this movie!! So funny, a classic. My only complaint is that the paper case the movie came in was torn and wrinkled - probably a problem with packaging.
But yeah. Great movie. the special features were great too!!
Published on Feb. 12 2009 by Laura Manias

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When Harry met Sally.
Un très bon divertissement.
Des prises de vues excellentes.
Scènes d'actions amusantes et très bonne.
Agréable à regarder.
Un bon DVD a avoir dans sa collection.
Published 12 months ago by Denys D


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, Feb. 12 2009
By 
Laura Manias (London, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally (DVD)
I love this movie!! So funny, a classic. My only complaint is that the paper case the movie came in was torn and wrinkled - probably a problem with packaging.
But yeah. Great movie. the special features were great too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, Aug. 26 2008
When I first saw this movie I was speachless... today... still speachless. The chemistry between Harry & Sally is simply irresistable! Great movie about men & women relashionships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You made a woman 'meow?'", March 16 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
4.5 stars. Rob Reiner continues his winning streak with this romantic battle of the sexes. His previous two films garnered critical praise and also a loyal following of admiring fans. Check out this list of films he directed before this box-office hit: "Spinal Tap" 1984, "The Sure Thing" 1985, "Stand By Me" 1986, "The Princess Bride" 1987, then this film in 1989. He switched gears in 1990 to direct the unnerving "Misery," starring Kathy Bates, then finally the wave of commercial success ended after the 1992 film, "A Few Good Men." After that, however, his work is hit-and-miss. So, with this film he can be seen at the top of his game, his enthusiasm echoed in the performances of his actors. Speaking of acting, I'd like to point out that Billy Crystal can't act. At the very least, he has an extremely limited range of emotion. Case in point: the scene in this film where the four lead actors are arguing about a wagon-wheel coffee table. Billy Crystal does what the late Walter Pidgeon used to do, and it fooled many a viewer into thinking he could act. Instead of showing emotional range through subtelty or genuine expression he would simply raise the volume of his voice. I'll speak LOUDER to show I'm angry! I have to admit that, with the right material, Billy Crystal can be very funny. He is a comedian, not an actor. Meg Ryan, on the other hand, has a much broader range of emotional capability. Not to mention, she is at her most charming here, arguably the peak of her popularity. At the time, she was a serious rival for Julia Roberts as America's sweetheart. This film is a reminder of just how attractive she was. Her intelligence, beauty, and brilliant comic acting is a highlight of this film. I dare anyone not to laugh at her scene in the city diner when she gives her performance of a fake orgasm in full voice. Not only is the scene incredibly sexy and funny, but it ends with one of the most memorable punch-lines in cinematic history. I can't finish this review without mentioning the screenwriter, Nora Ephron. Her work here is a tour-de-force of wit and an authentic clash between men and women; how they sometimes gel, while other times they bump heads. Frequently, they do both at the same time. Her script was nominated for the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay, and in hindsight probably should have won. "Dead Poets Society" walked home with the award. Except for Billy Crystal's limited emotional range, this film would have received a 5-star rating from me. However, he is passable in the more comedic scenes, while Meg Ryan absolutely glows here. The script is sharp, the direction is solid, and the end result is one of memorable comedy. This is an excellent edition to any DVD library. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When Harry met Sally., April 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un très bon divertissement.
Des prises de vues excellentes.
Scènes d'actions amusantes et très bonne.
Agréable à regarder.
Un bon DVD a avoir dans sa collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful addition to any film library!, April 8 2013
By 
Maxisback (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A terrific film that I highly recommend to all film buffs. Even though it was made several years ago, it stands the test of time. Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan are wonderful to watch over and over again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laugh, I cry!! Simply Awesome in every way!!!, July 22 2004
This review is from: When Harry Met Sally (Videotape)
I must have watched this movie 100 times...it is a bit of a tradition for me...I watch When Harry met Sally and sleepless in Seattle always somewhere between Christmas and new years!!
The story is wonderful, Billy Crystal is hilarious!! Meg is just so cute she makes me want to be her!!
I love this so much I have worn out my VHS copy and have moved on to the DVD version!!
Buy it...You will love it too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unforgettable romantic comedy . The best of eighties!, June 25 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Billy Cristal and Meg Ryan are in their peak craft. They made a punch comedy with the challenging question: May two friends of different sex to be great friends without falling in love?
This is a the premise who will allow to Reiner and this cast to make a delightful and sugestive film.
Obviously you will find traces of some films of Woody Allen , but this picture in particular breathes in the purest sense of the world. This is a love story with many laughable and smart situations that (jokes apart), will let you thinking.
Believe me if I say that since Two for the road (Stanley Donen) and Forty carats (Milton Katselas) I'd never seen a film so original and so well made. The orgasm sequence is now a classic!.A film that blends the charisma and the beauty of Meg and the hyper fast mind of Cristal, never can fail. Don't you?
Acquire this one. It's a cult movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'I'll Have What She's Having', March 13 2004
I think every girl would! This has to be one of the greatest romantic comedy movies ever - if you haven't seen it please watch it. I will hold my hands up, and admit, the first time I watched it, I found it immensely boring, overly long, and the couples talking about the relationships interspersed throughout the movie generally annoyed me. (They will make sense at the end)
There are a lot of good points in this movie, for both guys and gals to know. So it's not just a chick flick, guys will get an insight into girls minds (yes, we do fake it occasionally) and girls will get an insight into guys mind (they want to sleep with every girl they see). So maybe that's a bit sexist. Tell me something that isn't.
On the second watching, I found myself really enjoying this movie. I find myself identifying with Sally - I am actually one of those annoying people who checks there is letters in the envelopes, and that the envelopes are stamped before putting them in the postbox! Embarrassingly enough, I do that. Plus the film is so romantic. No doubt some stone hearts won't even be able to shed a tear out there when the finale is all happy.
I hope one day there is a special edition of this out someday. (There is currently a 10th Anniversary Special Edition out of Sleepless In Seattle) But there are some good extras on this anyway - audio commentary by director Rob Reiner, 7 minutes of never-before-seen footage, making-of documentary featuring interviews with Rob Reiner, Nora Ephron, Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal and a boring (am I the only person who can't stand him?) music video by Harry Connick Jr.
Of course, everyone knows this movie for the infamous fake orgasm scene, which Meg Ryan performs quite brilliantly. All I can say is I wish it were that easy! Meg is probably sick to the back teeth of hearing about that scene, and wishing she'd never done it, cos that's the scene everyone automatically knows!
Meg Ryan recently I've found has got fed up of her goody two shoes image, and has left the rom-coms behind. She's recently been seen looking very suspicious of having surgery on her normally skinny lips. And Billy Crystal just looks old.
This film is a pure classic. It has a lot of extremely quotable lines, and makes you go all gooey inside. A must have for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest, Feb. 24 2004
By 
This truly is one of the greatest films of all time. The script is magnificent, the characters are brilliantly played, and the chemistry is awesome between every single character. It's not often that a movie, classed as a romantic comedy, is so thought-provoking and hits the nail right on the head when it comes down to the relationships between men and women- whether married, dating or just friends.
Can men and women ever be friends? That's what Harry and Sally debate. He says no way (unless they are both involved in relationships, to which Harry goes on about in an airport) She says of course. Two people have never been so perfect for each other, but they ignore this because she doesn't want to fall for Harry the Cynic and even though he believes men and women can never be friends, he truly wants to believe that they can actually be just friends-- no sex intended.
Anyone who has a question about their relationship can refer to this movie. It's funny, quick witted, and the revelations the characters come up with about relationships are completely true.
This is simply a pefect movie. It avoids the BS that alot of other movies don't and stays away from the cliches that are all too familiar in romantic comedies. SEE THIS MOVIE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great all time romance movies, Jan. 19 2004
By A Customer
This has always been one of my favorite films, which for a guy is tough to admit. The writing and dialogue are superb, and the story is universal: boy meets girl, girl hates boy, they become friends and then fall in love. The backdrop of NYC, at it's finest, adds to the flavor of the movie, and Crystal and Ryan disply true "chemistry". The bonus features of the DVD are limited, yet enjoyable. The deleted scenes were deleted for good reason, but seeing director Rob Reiner and writer Norah Ephron discuss the origins of the film is entertaining. A Harry Connick, JR. video is also included.
I've seen this movie countless times on TV, but the DVD is worth having for the richness of sound, and of course, without any editing. If you're looking for a movie to view with that special someone, When Harry Met Sally is a can't miss winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42d6060)

This product

When Harry Met Sally (Bilingual Collector's Edition)
CDN$ 16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews