Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$13.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 1, 2009
Pushing Daisies is an absolutely sweet show that leaves the viewer with a smile after every episode. This refreshingly magical show is part murder mystery, part romance, part comedy and part fairy tale. The show centers around a pie maker named Ned who possesses the ability to bring the dead back to life, with just one touch, one more touch from Ned and they remain dead forever. However, the pie maker's gift comes with a catch, if he does not touch someone he has brought back to life again, before a minute has past, another person will die in their place. Ned uses his gift along side a local PI named Emerson Cod to solve murders. Things, however, become complicated when Ned decides to break the rules for his long lost childhood sweetheart, a girl named Chuck.
With an absolutely wonderful cast and episodes that never disappoint, I would defiantly recommend Pushing Daisies to anyone who wants to watch a show simply to feel good and all those who remember being a kid with fondness and don't mind a little dark humor mixed in.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2009
VERY funny show. It also doesn't hurt that Anna Friel is very beautiful.

Audio/video quality is great. Closed captioning is available. Season 1 has 9 episodes and season 2 has 13.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
Pushing Daisies is exactly the kind of quirky amazing show that gets cancelled too soon and doesn't get half the attention it deserves. Yes, it's a love story, about a girl named Chuck and a boy named Ned who uses his power of raising the dead to bring back Chuck (his childhood sweetheart) when she dies. Due to the balancing of his 'gift' this means he can never again touch her without disasterously killing her again, this time for good. This removes sex from the equation and gives us the gift of an old fashioned, sweet love story.

Yet Pushing Daisies is so much more than just romance. It's mystery, intrigue, crime, fantasy and comedy all rolled into one perfect, zany pop coloured package. It's utterly unexpected and incredibly welcome. Amazing actors populate the show, bringing each of their characters to life. Just when you think shy Ned (the delicious Lee Pace) is your favourite, knitting detective Emerson Codd broadly strides into the scene and steals the show! You fall in love with sweet Chuck, only to find yourself equally adoring of neurotic Olive Snook (again played expertly by Broadway sensation Kristin Chenowith). That's to say nothing of Chuck's eccentric aunts who will steal your heart from the very beginning.

This show is as beautiful as it is entertaining, the cinematography and costumes keeping pace with the amazing storylines. It manages to avoid that 'monster of the week' feel, with each episode following the other in a way that's ultimately connected and intriguing.

If this show doesn't make you smile there's a chance you don't have a heart.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 2009
Pushing Daisies is an incredible show that was cancelled far too soon in it's run.

I have just read confirmation that season two of Pushing Daisies will be released on July 21st, 2009. It will be the complete season and will include the last three episodes that have never been aired.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
This was an amazing opening for a series. Yes it was just nine episodes long, but that was because of a writer's strike and unavoidable. The writing, the sets and costume design, the characters and pacing and editing and everything else involved was on point and breathtakingly perfect. I couldn't imagine another series hitting all the points that this one hit, and I was sadden to see it was cancelled after just 13 more episodes after this one. I've watched this season at least 3 times, if not more. It's just everything I never knew I wanted in a TV show. It's genius.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2009
Pushing Daisies is truly unique. It's eccentric, but for the right reasons. It's not full of violence, full of sex or full of political statements. It's just full of charm.

I don't understand why it wasn't more popular than this. The dialogues are funny and original, the sets are amazing and colourful and each episodes are both touching and entertaining. This is the kind of show you must watch when you feel down. This show just might be the cure for depression! Maybe not, but it's pretty close.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
A wonderful series that lasted only two seasons... much too short IMO. All the characters are great but I think my favourite is Chi McBride. He brings in just a zing of sarcasm to offset the leading characters' over-the-top happiness in their innocent (it must remain that way) romance. Double entendre's, word plays, happy bright colours and retro styling fill these episodes.
Just incredible!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2008
Simply perfect. Sweet, clever and just a little out there. The story of a man who can bring back the dead with a touch and then dead again with another, forever. The acting is phenomenal, the stories quirky and smart and the visuals stunning. This show is beautiful and made for Blu-ray.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
Great show, I'd recommend for sure. The only real problem I had was with shipping. The plastic came damaged on the inside. The discs were fine, but this is always something to be aware of when ordering something online.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2011
I was very happy with my copy of Pushing Daisies. It was exactly what I wanted, I had seen the show once or twice and thought it was so good. I was also very happy with the shipping time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pushing Daisies: The Complete Second Season
Pushing Daisies: The Complete Second Season by Anna Friel (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 13.00

Wonderfalls: The Complete Series (Bilingual)
Wonderfalls: The Complete Series (Bilingual) by Caroline Dhavernas (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 28.48