Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Bill Murray's best movie
This movie has several layers, not all of which were apparent to me at first viewing.

On a surface level, it's an outstanding romantic comedy, where Bill Murray's cynical character has to live the same day over and over. It's time travel back to the same day. It's all done very humorously. Yet as you peel away the layers, and look deeper there is a profound...
Published 22 months ago by L. Power

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Whatta location!
Groundhog Day was filmed in my hometown, Woodstock Illinois (NOT Pennsylvania)! Yes, this town is really as pretty as seen in the movie. Come visit us sometime...you won't be sorry! Oh, and the movie was pretty good, but I got a little "snoozy" at the repetive nature of it (and,yes, I know it was supposed to be that way). Overall, not a bad flick.
Published on June 26 2004


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Bill Murray's best movie, Sept. 15 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Groundhog Day 15th Anniversary Edition Bilingual (DVD)
This movie has several layers, not all of which were apparent to me at first viewing.

On a surface level, it's an outstanding romantic comedy, where Bill Murray's cynical character has to live the same day over and over. It's time travel back to the same day. It's all done very humorously. Yet as you peel away the layers, and look deeper there is a profound message to be discovered.

Have you ever felt stuck in your life, and no matter what you do, it does not seem to make any difference. You get frustrated, desperate, even depressed. Then you make a decision to solve the problem no matter what. This movie is a metaphor for self improvement. Phil's journey is our journey.

So, we see the journey this character takes from cynical, sarcastic and negative, and self absorbed, and not likable. Then he is presented with the same situations over and over and is forced to adapt, or be forever stuck.

Some of the lessons here include: you create your own experiences, so when you change your perceptions you change your reality, the transforming power of true love, all change comes from within. When you change your view of the world from being cynical selfish, and exploitive to truly loving and compassionate, the world responds to that change, and so do people.

The character does play with the day on a surface level at first, and eventually improves how the day goes, although he has certain aspects under control, other issues such as how to seduce the Andie McDowell character remain elusive, because his motives are transparent. The movie keeps going in interesting and amusing ways.

In the latter part of the movie he is saving the same person's life every day, he has gone from not playing piano to a professional standard piano player. Of Course, he has also kidnapped a groundhog, but that was just a phase. In the end, he masters his reality, and is ready to move on.

If you're like me this movie clicks with you and you will think about it for a long time afterwards. I consider this to be Bill Murray's best movie, and I highly recommend it. If you found this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bitter man find himself relieving the same day over and over again until he gets it right (4.5/5), Aug. 21 2007
this movie never loses it's charm and effect,even after repeated
viewing.it's the story of a bitter,lonely arrogant,empty man (Bill
Murray)who find himself reliving the same day(Groundhog Day) over and
over again.each time he goes through he begins a slow transformation
until he learns what life really means.he becomes a better man for the
experience.Andie MacDowell plays the love interest and Chris Elliott
put in a good supporting performance.also has this movie is at it's
heart a life lesson movie,a morality fable,if you will.many of these
types of movies are maudlin and inspirational ad naseum.not this one.it
manages to avoid going down that route.i think this is due to the
strong writing and direction.Danny Rubin wrote the story,and he and
Harold Ramis co wrote the screen play.Ramis also directed the
film.what's also good about this film are it's light comedic touches
and even some flat out hilarious moments. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundhog Day, Jan. 8 2012
By 
Dee - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Groundhog Day 15th Anniversary Edition Bilingual (DVD)
I've probably seen this movie as many times as February 2 repeats in the movie! It's a classic and I enjoy it immensely every time I watch it. Bill Murray and Andie McDowell are great, as are the supporting actors. An original story line and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mandatory, even for guys, Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a funny, romantic and moody film. This even has original and thought-provoking concepts cooked in.

An extremely good movie, even to re-watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine. I love this film., May 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No problems with the weird storyline. Philosophy and philosophers may be weird. They can afford it. And don`t tell me that you may not imagine yourself living the adventure and loving the possibilities! It contains a lot of extra footage and addendum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good 15 years later, May 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Groundhog Day 15th Anniversary Edition Bilingual (DVD)
This is a classic and will stand the test of time, after time, after time. Bill Murray's best ever film and performance. I never get tired of this masterful piece. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, Nov. 21 2007
It is said that if we don't learn from history we are bound to repeat it. Could it be that the actors journey in this movie shows a little glimpse as to the souls journey if we assume that we have a soul? That we only really graduate once we have learned the lessons that are here on this planet and that otherwise we will just get reincarnated over and over and given another chance at learning.

Initially the character, once he realises that he is "stuck" starts abusing his power and sees how he can fulfill his hedonistic desires by manipulating events and people. As he gets bored with himself and his tricks, he discovers the creative principle, and starts on the journey of serving others and contribute to life and thus he starts learning.

So this movie had a strong effect on me and I rate it highly both because it a highly entertaining movie, which is well acted, but especially because of the deeper layer that is there to be seen.

I would recommend the book "The Secret History of the World and How to Get Out Alive" by Laura Knight-Jadczyk, as it explores in depth the idea that life is a school, where we have the possibility to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, Nov. 21 2007
It is said that if we don't learn from history we are bound to repeat it. Could it be that the actors journey in this movie shows a little glimpse as to the souls journey if we assume that we have a soul? That we only really graduate once we have learned the lessons that are here on this planet and that otherwise we will just get reincarnated over and over and given another chance at learning.

Initially the character, once he realises that he is "stuck" starts abusing his power and sees how he can fulfill his hedonistic desires by manipulating events and people. As he gets bored with himself and his tricks, he discovers the creative principle, and starts on the journey of serving others and contribute to life and thus he starts learning.

So this movie had a strong effect on me and I rate it highly both because it a highly entertaining movie, which is well acted, but especially because of the deeper layer that is there to be seen.

I would recommend the book "The Secret History of the World and How to Get Out Alive" by Laura Knight-Jadczyk, as it explores in depth the idea that life is a school, where we have the possibility to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
un classique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films every made, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This film's reputation, started out as good, and got better over time. The way that it conveys the message about how one should live one's life, in a hysterically funny way, make it a modern classic. Some people don't like Bill Murray's irreverent attitude in most of his movies. In this movie, he gets his come-uppence and learns how to be truly sincere, though it takes him nearly eternity before he finally comes round. It is one of my favorite all time movies. The film was selected by the National Film Preservation Board for preservation in the Library of Congress in 2006, and it rates 97% on Rotten Tomatoes. Worth it at any price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Groundhog Day 15th Anniversary Edition Bilingual
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews