Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jigsaws falling into place
At a certain point, a marvelous band will get a reputation so overwhelming, it's simply not possible for them to keep topping themselves.

And from the sound of "In Rainbows," Radiohead has decided not to let their reputation loom over them -- and I'm not just talking about the online digital release. In their latest album, they reinvent their bittersweet pop...
Published on Jan. 1 2008 by E. A Solinas

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Terrible Radiohead Album
I must admit that I only listened to this album a few times during one sitting and I was deeply under the influence of absinth and it was a terrible album.

There was only one good song on the album and the reason it was a good song was because it has a good beat and it reminded me of a grunge mashup between Pearl Jam, Nirvana and Soundgarden. The rest of the...
Published on Sept. 8 2011 by Torie Monaghan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jigsaws falling into place, Jan. 1 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
At a certain point, a marvelous band will get a reputation so overwhelming, it's simply not possible for them to keep topping themselves.

And from the sound of "In Rainbows," Radiohead has decided not to let their reputation loom over them -- and I'm not just talking about the online digital release. In their latest album, they reinvent their bittersweet pop sound -- they lose some of the trappings of their past work, in favour of warmer, more intimate melodies and traditional instrumentation.

It opens on an angular note with "15 Steps," which is built around a jagged riff.The first couple minutes are full of fuzzy synth stabs and sharp drums, sounding like a jazz number that's being eaten by a computer. "How come I end up where I started?/How come I end up where I went wrong?" Thom Yorke sings mournfully. "You reel me out then you cut the string..."

But then the guitars slide in and twine through the song, softening it into something very different. The scratchy synth beats and subtle guitar start building to a slow crescendo, staying energetic and almost reggae-esque right to the end.

See it as kind of a transition song for Radiohead; they're easing listeners into their new acoustic sound, rather than just dropping us in. But after that, they pretty much leave the "Kid A" territory behind them -- "Bodysnatchers" is an intense rocker brimming with chunky riffs and softly ringing guitars. It's a gorgeous piece.

After that, the songs gently slip down into more introspective territory -- smooth, dark pop songs wrapped in a heavy blanket of fluid strings and subtle slide guitar. Some of these are dressed up in thick guitars and clattery drums. "Jigsaw Falling Into Place drops the strings for a vibrant guitar-rocker edged with synth, and it all finished up with the quivering, melodic finale "Videotape."

You know, I didn't think that Radiohead could surprise me. So many bands get mired in their best-known sound, and they keep turning out the same ol' because that is what the fans expect. But Radiohead has not only made an exquisitely bittersweet pop album, but they've also injected vitality back into their sound. They sound brand new.

Particularly, they've almost abandoned the cool, alien synth of their last few albums. It's still there in patches, but it's quietly overwhelmed by the layers of slide guitar, streams of piano, and smooth sweeps of elegant strings. These are seamlessly woven with clattering drums and cymbals, thick crunchy riffs. And yes, occasionally a little speck of synth.

But their songwriting is much the same -- simple, yet oblique ("I am a moth who just wants to share your light... I only stick with you because there are no others/You are all I need"). While Yorke's trademark wail is still in place, he sounds more melancholy and contemplative than outright woe-is-me angsty. He even sounds a bit cheerful in "Weird Fishes/Arpeggi."

Most long-standing bands can't summon up a new sound, and new freshness, this far into their careers. But Radiohead have created a quiet little masterpiece in "In Rainbows" -- beautiful, quiet, and melancholy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect from start to finish, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Rainbows (Vinyl) (LP Record)
This and Kid A have been my favourite albums for over a year now. Both have a well-crafted, all-killer-no-filler set of 10 tracks. In Rainbows, however, is more accessible. It's a streamlined, more analog record from a band known to experiment heavily with electronics. That's not to say there isn't any of that here, 15 Step and Videotape have electronic drums and textures, and many tracks have ambient "experimental" features like previous Radiohead albums, but for the most part it's a more straightforward rock record. It's also quite mellow: Bodysnatchers is the only real heavy song on the album. Every song here is top notch, however. It's hard to pick favourites here, but I'd say Reckoner, Weird Fishes/Arpeggi and Nude are the album's best moments. Disc two is also phenomenal: 8 tracks that complement this album very nicely (MK1 playing after Videotape is beyond perfect). 10/10, definitely listen to this if you're a Radiohead fan at all. If you aren't, give it a few front-to-back listens, all Radiohead albums take some time to get into. Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply amazing, Dec 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
This cd is probably my favorite one by Radiohead, not only was this product affordable but it brings joy to my soul!
I highly recommend this cd if you are a Radiohead fan :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead's Warmest Record, May 21 2011
By 
Sofa Critic (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
"In Rainbows" is a thing of beauty. For the first time, a Radiohead album can be described as warm. For a someone wanting to sample the band for the first time, this is the one to buy. Frontman Thom Yorke sings with real feeling and even uses a fine falsetto voice on the gorgeous 'Nude' and the equally stunning 'Reckoner'. The obsessive-love song 'All I Need' starts quietly, driven by a bass synth line. At the three-minute mark, the percussion bursts forth in a flurry of crashing cymbals, the music rises to a crescendo and Yorke repeatedly cries out "It's all wrong, it's all right" over an accompanying piano figure - riding the wave to the song's end. Spine-tingling stuff. Radiohead is in a class by itself and this record proves it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that Music Really is Magic, May 27 2008
By 
Maciej Walinski "All in the mind" (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
I tried to make the title less corny, but it's too true to the point that there's no other way to describe it.

Whether you're new to Radiohead or an avid fan, you can't go wrong with this release. It really is bliss, absolute bliss. Each song is crafted in a delicate and incredibly melodic manner with each word coming out of Thom Yorke's mouth something that will provoke your thoughts and challenge your imagination. The band is as tight as they've ever been. Each note played here is crafted with the utmost of care yet nothing ever sounds contrived, pretentious or out of place. The people who gave this album one star never actually gave reasons, they just seem to generally dislike Radiohead. But to be honest, one listen of this record and you will not be able to consciously say you don't think they're brilliant. This is a guarantee.

Standout tracks here are definitely Nude, 15 Step, and House of Cards, though in reality all the tracks have a unique feel to them and none stand out as weak in this arsenal. To the point then, this is a beautiful record and everyone should here it at least once in their lifetimes. Within 15 years people will start to see it as classic that is almost mandatory to own. The Dark Side of the Moon for our generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I Need, Jan. 11 2008
By 
Xuan-An (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
This CD has got to be one of Radiohead's best.
Every song is phenomenal!
It starts with "15 Steps", a rather upbeat song. It might sound confusing and weird at first, but about one minute in, its just wonderful!
Followed by "Bodysnatchers", a riff-filled song , another amazing piece.
"Reckoner" was definitely a surprise, as well as "Videotape", one of my favorites.
The lyrics are just amazing and really passionate, especially in "Videotape".
As always, Thom's voice is just out-of-this-world!
You just can't stop listening to this album!
Truly one of the best CDs that has been released in the last 5 years.
Radiohead never ceases to amaze me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, May 9 2010
By 
Kyle Rogers "TheAwesomeBomb" (Ottawa, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
I'm not the biggest Radiohead fan of all time. I don't listen to them often, I didn't like Kid A, Amnesiac, or Hail to the Theif. I really liked The Bends and OK Computer. This album is on par with The Bends and OK Computer. If you like Radiohead, chances are you will like this album. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, Dec 3 2008
By 
Rachel Turner "RT" (Ontario, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
To me, this culminates the greatness that is Radiohead. It's definitely the most relaxed to date. A little lighter on depth of lyrics. Rich sound. Delicious. Nigel G is a genius, he brings out their true colours.
(that was punny)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All I Need, Sept. 16 2008
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
Wow this is not the best Radiohead but it's close. Can't beat Ok Computer. But this gets five stars. It's amazing. Weird Fishes/All I Need/ Jigsaw/BodySnatchers etc. All awesome. The whole Cd is fantastic. Fun packaging too! Best band since the Beatles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, creative Radiohead, but needs a jolt, Jan. 13 2008
By 
Citizen M (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rainbows (Audio CD)
I've listened to this CD about a dozen times and I like it. It has the musical experimentation I've come to expect from Radiohead complete with a dash of pretension and more than a little esotericism. Like the other two Radiohead albums I own, In Rainbows is a serious trip and these fellas once again prove they are masters of surreal tunes and magical music. My favorite songs from the album right now are "15 Steps" (a relentless beating of a song with a nice bass undercurrent), "Bodysnatchers" (the only real loud rocker on the album) "Weird Fishes/Arpeggi" (a silky smooth hypnotizer that could melt you) and "Reckoner" (arguably the strongest vocals of the album and a cymbal crasher's delight). While noticeably reduced in it's presence, the electronic harmony that has made Radiohead the modern musician's darling continues to blend well into most tracks. This album is definitely an easy listen for Radiohead fans and may be a bit more accessible for non-fans looking for good music that is both soulful and different from the norm.

My only complaint with the album: damn, is this thing ever quiet! I'm no expert on Radiohead, but this is easily the softest album of the three I'm familiar with. The majority of In Rainbows definitely lacks the hardness and that scrape-along-the-circuit-board sound which was a trademark appearing in both The Bends and OK Computer. I felt myself waiting for a track to explode into the album like The Bends title track and "Just" or a ripping Greenwood guitar riff like "Airbag" or "Paranoid Android" on OK Computer, but it never came. And I can't help but feel disappointed, because Radiohead knows how to do a truly interesting electric guitar solo without ever sounding cliched and boring like virtually all modern rock songs from lesser bands trying desperately to capture the past glory of that magical instrument. The album even ends on a barely there note with "Videotape", a track which is practically whispered out by lead singer Thom Yorke with the only power coming from the piano (I swear to gawd). If there's one truthful complaint I have of In Rainbows it's the need this album has for a serious jolt of electricity.

Overall, In Rainbows is a solid album that delivers truly unique rock music art that stands apart from the chaff even if the album could use a good shot of adrenaline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Rainbows
In Rainbows by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews