Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming Elysium!!!
The minute I heard about the God of War 3 Ultimate Edition's upcoming release, I knew I had to get it.

I love the God of War saga. The graphics, the gameplay and the story are balanced so incredibly well, the formula is perfect and they were able to keep that balance through the trilogy (or quadrology if you include Chains of Olympus on the PSP).

The...
Published on March 21 2010 by Erps

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOW3
I've just finished this game, and it's not better than the 2 previous games. The content is quite boring.

Nam
Published 13 months ago by NAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming Elysium!!!, March 21 2010
By 
Erps (Toronto, CANADA) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
The minute I heard about the God of War 3 Ultimate Edition's upcoming release, I knew I had to get it.

I love the God of War saga. The graphics, the gameplay and the story are balanced so incredibly well, the formula is perfect and they were able to keep that balance through the trilogy (or quadrology if you include Chains of Olympus on the PSP).

The box it came in is very well done. I love the minimalist, almost all black, approach they did with Kratos' face on all sides.

Pandora's box is nicely detailed though made of plastic, nicely done. Felt lined inside with a hidden compartment. A small tab on the edge of the fake inside base would reveal a second compartment.

The postcard sized hardcover art book is a 'cute' little bonus. Cute I say because I was hoping there would be MORE! The art of the GOW saga, concept and final arts are mind blowing amazing and simply gorgeous. I was hoping there would be more pages to it.

With the Ultimate Edition comes 4 audio collections for download. Complete soundtracks of the 3 GOW games and 7 heavy metal tracks inspired by the game. The score of the saga adds so much to the feel and emotion of the game...GREAT bonus!

The downloadable documentaries are nice to watch. It is so nice to see the faces of the people, the company that put together this amazing game. With all the ups and downs they went through putting it together. The 'voice acting' chapter was very neat. Finally got to see Kratos' voice in the flesh....NOT what I was expecting! :P

The game itself is just gorgeously done and very well executed. They did make the gameplay slightly easier and simpler to pick up compared the previous games, probably for the new gamers of the GOW saga. The way the button pressing sequence is much easier to follow and give the player a chance to see what is happening in the screen. Triangle will appear on top of the monitor, square to the left, X at the bottom and circle to the right. One can just use one's peripheral view to see where the next button press will be instead of staring constantly at a corner of the screen anticipating the next button press...missing the action in the middle.

GOW III is an ABSOLUTE must have for any and all gamers out there. Once would appreciate and love III more if I and II were played. The story is long and the drama and controversies are aplenty, making the experience a whole lot more visceral. Game replay is good. Once finished the normal mode, one can always go back at a much harder level and unlock more bonus features and challenges. If you cannot get your hands on the Ultimate Edition, pick up the game, you MUST pick up this game. PHENOMENAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G OF W 3, June 1 2010
By 
Lauraemacvicar (NB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Excellent graphics, I dont play it but bf is very pleased with this game. Was the best money i spent on a game in long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best PS3 Game Ever Made, July 18 2014
By 
K. Fabisch (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
PROBABLY the best PS3 exclusive game ever made.

If you have a nice TV, sound system and a PS3, there's no reason why you shouldn't own this game.

It'll be cheap wherever you look for it, so go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best series, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Best series of game by far. I found this one to be the easiest of the bunch. #1 is still the hardest and best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood. Gore. Lore., Oct. 18 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
This is much better in story, graphics and fighting, the gore can be a little much at times and the puzzles are puzzling. Persevere and you'll enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfect, Aug. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the product is in mint condition, the box not so much but it works just fine for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOW3, June 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
I've just finished this game, and it's not better than the 2 previous games. The content is quite boring.

Nam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, May 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
Brilliantly gory and epic. In my opinion, the best title to one of the best franchises ever. I'll be replaying this game annually I know it, I was sad it ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, March 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
this is a very good product, we received it at the time, the price was acceptable thanks for everything ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vengeance is a dish best served with brutality, March 28 2012
By 
Lucas - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition (Video Game)
God Of War 3, as the name suggests, is the third and final installment in the trilogy of games following Kratos's quest for revenge against the Gods. As fans have come to expect from the action game, is equally brutal as it's predecessor. In fact, it makes the other games look quite tame in some areas, and it's hard not to love every minute of it.

Story

The story of this game centers around Kratos: a Spartan set on vengeance for the Gods abandoning him. Consumed by self-loathing and hatred for everything, Kratos is an unstoppable killing machine that will stop at nothing to annihilate Olympus. Having crawled out of Hades once already, murdering the God Of War himself, then releasing the Titans and killing the Sisters of Fate, Kratos's story is coming to a close as he approaches Olympus.

The story of God of War doesn't follow the other two as closely as I'd like. It seems some things are dropped into the game that coincide with other games in the overarching series, but don't fit in with the trilogy itself. This leaves some confusion to be had for those who stuck strictly to the three primary games of the series. However, the story telling is fantastic in this game. It's easy to share Kratos's hatred of Zeus, and the arrogance of the other Gods makes them easy to dislike. With every God that dies, an aspect of nature is thrown out of whack, giving an awesome atmosphere to the tale.

Graphics, Audio

This is hands down one of the best - if not the best - looking game on the PS3. The game runs at a smooth framerate with not hitches. The audio is fantastic: Kratos roars as he fights, and it doesn't sound misplaced and inappropriate. His weapons audio is well done; not irritating at all after hearing them hack through enemies ten hours into the game. Kratos is the best looking character I've ever seen in a video game. When his face contorts with anger; it's well done. It's terrifying. You know things are about to go down.

The rest of the game is equally well done. It's not a game where a lot of effort was put into one character model, and nothing else. Inspired by Greek Architecture (as befitting of the games story) everything looks very authentic, and fantastic. From marble halls to caves; a giant labyrinth and the rest of Olympus itself, it's hard not to sit back and just appreciate the way the game looks.

No expense was spared in bringing the very best music for this title. Carrying on with the feel of the music from the previous games, everything in God Of War 3 is orchestrated, and it shows. Every single song is a pleasure to listen to. Every song adds tension and excitement to the battles.

All the characters are fully voiced, and well done. From the Gods to Kratos themselves, no one sounds bored with their role; and everyone is giving it their all. Truly a joy to listen to.

Gameplay:

Where do I even begin? God Of War 3's gameplay and controls are fantastic. It feels better than any game I've played in a long, long time.

God Of War 3 has the right balance of environmental puzzles (that effort clearly went into, and it shows), timed challenges, flying sections, platforming and the core action that keeps it interesting. I normally despise quick time events, but in God Of War 3 they're done so well, I actually enjoyed doing them. The buttons appear on the side of the side of the screen their placement on the controller corresponds with; allowing you to view the action instead of focusing on what button is going to pop up next. There's no surprise quick time events. You always know when one is coming; so you won't get comfortable and set your controller down and be dead. There's ample time to complete these events, as well.

Kratos has a number of weapons to choose from. Three of these weapons are on chains; his trademark blades, and two others. Despite the fact three weapon types are similar, they actually function very differently and each have their own unique style. Then there's the Cestus: giant, metal boxing gloves! This really helps mix up the feel of the combat. Each has their own unique feel, and when Kratos hits enemies it really feels like there is weight behind his attacks. It feels good to hit enemies, almost feel the resistance, and see them go flying or stagger backwards as you pound them.

With the ability to block, perform counters, area of effect attacks and heavy attacks, grapple enemies for brutal kills (some involve disembowling your enemies, and they didn't scimp on the detail!) and use items such as a bow, a decapitated head lantern, and some speedy boots, Kratos controls...Really well! Switching weapons mid combat is easy and smooth; performing every function feels natural.

There's a handful of bosses along the way to kill, and the enemy variation is extremely well done. The game continues introducing new enemies up until the last act of the game. The level design is fantastic, all very Greek, as is fitting for the game. Even after visiting some areas more than once they were still a pleasure to navigate.

God Of War 3 stands at the top for delivering action gameplay I've never seen rivaled in any other game in it's genre. What impressed me more is the fact that after playing through the game for more than twenty hours, and completing it twice, I encountered no hiccups in the gameplay. No glitches, no framerate drops. Nothing.

The only issue I actually had with this game is how it treats the players like retards despite the fact some of the puzzles are actually more challenging than any other game of it's kind. The camera will often highlight where you're supposed to go, and in some areas so frequently it becomes teeth grindingly irritating to take five steps, press a button and have the camera zoom in to another location for ten hours before returning control to you again.

Verdict

God Of War 3 is one of the best games I have ever played. Despite the camera zooms on objectives in some areas, it's the king of it's genre. Nothing else really compares to how great this game looks, plays and feels. There aren't many games I can play through; twice, that offer as much of a challenge as God Of War 3. If there is one game every Playstation 3 owner should own, it's God Of War 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition
God of War III - PlayStation 3 Standard Edition by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 23.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews