Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best strategy game every.
Love this game. It's concepts and strategies can be applied on so many levels outside of the game. Great community online as well.
Published on March 12 2012 by Karma Agent

versus
65 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE FREQUENCY, KERRIGAN?
One can only respect BLIZZARD for not setting a release date before they knew they could meet it. No matter that this was the most awaited game for over a decade, they would release it "whenever it would be ready". Well, it is ready, it is here and it rocks. Too bad they kicked the respect bucket in the end. But first things first.

THE GOOD OLD GAMEPLAY GETS...
Published on July 27 2010 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE FREQUENCY, KERRIGAN?, July 27 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
One can only respect BLIZZARD for not setting a release date before they knew they could meet it. No matter that this was the most awaited game for over a decade, they would release it "whenever it would be ready". Well, it is ready, it is here and it rocks. Too bad they kicked the respect bucket in the end. But first things first.

THE GOOD OLD GAMEPLAY GETS THE CIGAR
Seasoned and new gamers alike will appreciate the simple yet highly enjoyable gameplay. The factions are well balanced and the units perfectly valued. You gather minerals and vespene gas, you build your defenses, you upgrade, you expand, you gather your forces - and you unleash hell. Repeat as needed until satisfied.

STARCRAFT: THE QUICKENING
The game is much faster than the original. Resource gathering, building, researching and expanding all go faster now. This is something that will appeal to most and I for one liked it. It conveys an enjoyable sense of urgency, adding to the immersion. And because the game is richer and deeper, the tension just keeps mounting.

SWARMS!
The game designers either enjoyed STARSHIP TROOPERS one times too many or they are fond of killer bees documentaries. Either way, be prepared to have to deal with a lot of swarming enemies! The plains shall be soaked in Zerg blood leaving you with a thick metallic aftertaste of accomplishment.

SPACE. SPACE IS BEAUTIFUL
Visually this game is GORGEOUS. It looks like C&C4 was supposed to (but failed miserably). The units are detailed in design yet clearly discernible whereas the environments are superbly done (although not that variable). True, I could do with somewhat more realistic graphics but I can see that this could only be done at the expense of clarity when the number of units rises. What needs a bit getting used to is how some of the buildings do not look that different. No complaints about how they look but one can easily confuse them and build the same building twice.

COME FOR THE VESPENE GAS. STAY FOR THE STORY
The story picks up just where SC-BROODWAR left off. Following each mission nicely done videos move the single player story along (no spoilers, not to worry) that, although we are given the illusion of choosing between different paths, apparently they converge towards a predestined end.

DAMN IT JIM, WHERE IS THE REST OF THE GAME?
Why only 3 stars then? Well, in a nutshell: GREED.
Apparently ACTIVISION's influence is not very healthy to customer relations. Together with BLIZZARD they are trying to turn the StarCraft franchise into yet another World of WarCraft phenomenon - and, at the same time, using STARCRAFT II as the vehicle, turn BattleNet into the new STEAM. Unfortunately this results in a barely palatable product and using your fan-base to advance your corporate ambitions is always tacky.
Although priced even more than a full premium game, this is not a complete STARCRAFT sequel. You would not know this by its price-tag(!) but this is only A...THIRD of the game, the first part of three: you can only play the Terran campaign. The Zerg and the Protoss campaigns will be released independently later (and priced as if they were full games, one could safely bet).
To add insult to injury, one has to keep spending even more money if he wants any "premium maps" and "premium content" sold only via the BattleNet. Since this is a game that will be played mostly online don't be quick to dismiss this if you have a competitive streak.

OK, LET'S NOT TALK ABOUT IT - BUT THERE IS A HYDRALISK IN THE ROOM, ISN'T THERE?
Much more serious is the NeverLettingGo-OnLineActivation requirement. The game will ask for activation during installation, which also includes signing up to BattleNet (and, yes, this means that even this expensive game never becomes yours to keep). But that is not all: a periodic OnLine confirmation is also required EVERY THIRTY DAYS, FOREVER. You can play offline but no more than a month between re-activating.
Unlike the latest EA and UBISOFT flops (which have an idiotic Always-OnLine requirement), with SC2, after its initial Activation, you CAN play a single player game (campaign and skirmishes) without logging on to BattleNet. Only, to do this you have to log on as a ..."Guest" (I know, a Guest to your own game and your own computer...). You will be able to save your progress but you cannot tie it to your BattleNet account later, so any progress or accomplishments are lost for your online Account. After your 30 days are up you have to re-activate once more.
That is why a Broadband Internet connection is included in the minimum system requirements. You can decide if this bothers you.

SORRY TO BRING THIS UP BUT SPAWN SEEMS TO BE MISSING FROM MY COPY...
Remember how we could take our original STARCRAFT CD to a gathering of friends, Spawn it on everyone else's PCs and start a LAN party? Now one can play with his friends only through the BattleNet - and the Spawn function has been eliminated! Yes, that means each one of your friends now has to have his own original copy of the game!
The brass at the top conveniently forgets that the ability to Spawn games was the main reason both STARCRAFT and DIABLO acquired such huge fan-bases.
Et tu, BLIZZARD?

This is a good game, one I think we will be enjoying for years - or for as long as BLIZZARD shall allow us to do so. However, I had higher hopes for BLIZZARD's respect to its own customers.

RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best strategy game every., March 12 2012
By 
Karma Agent (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
Love this game. It's concepts and strategies can be applied on so many levels outside of the game. Great community online as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty, May 21 2013
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Only complaint, Blizzard takes so long to release sequels, I'll be 100 before Starcraft 3 comes out! Fantastic game and gameplay physics. I only wished they had introduced new races. If you have played the original for years, you will feel totally at home playing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starcraft, Oct. 17 2013
By 
Allen Patterson (Umiujaq, Qc) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
I got this because my sons were driving me nuts to get it. They finished it very quickly but enjoyed it and continue to come back and play it off and on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Working great and worth the time!, Sept. 20 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
Starcraft 2 was worth it!

Installation was not terribly long and the gameplay did not have any issues.
Have not crashed yet in any games/campaigns at all!
Graphics and sound was good.

I spent many hours clearing the campaigns and working on some of the goals for achievements.

The only negative aspect is having the necessity to sign in online before playing offline features...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, Sept. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
Challenging for all levels and fun!
Brings back just enough nostalgia of the original Starcraft, but adds vast improvements to gameplay and graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, Aug. 16 2013
By 
cappafan (montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
Good game in general, I was a little disappointed.
The game is designed for short games. I miss the long and strategic games of the first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love starcraft, May 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
even though I suck at this game, I still like it very much. good online play experience is the most important thing for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest RTS game, Jan. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
Greatest RTS game ever, love it, strongly recommend user to buy. Will buy Starcraft II the heart of swam as well!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Warcraft in space?, Dec 27 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (DVD-ROM)
Starcraft II was long awaited by Starcraft and RTS fans alike. With the expansion (HOTS) coming out soonish, what can be said about this game?

Well, in two years Blizzard hasn't managed to balance the game as perfectly as it did for SC:BW (although SC:BW took nearly 7 years to become very balanced).

The game feels cleaner and faster than it's predecessor, the campaign is slightly more interactive giving you some choices (although they don't affect your gameplay much).

A lot of things lacking at release (LAN, clan support, chat channels) made this far weaker than Warcraft 3: TFT in many aspects as far as multiplayer goes. Blizzard has said many times that it wouldn't implement LAN ever although the entire community and tournaments have requested so. Clan support will come in the expansion and chat channels were added in BNet 2.0.

A lot of the "Custom Games" part feel very clunky, what they call the "Arcade" is not as visually understandable as it was in SC:BW and WC3:TFT (although you can tell they tried hard).

If you're a RTS fan I would suggest you try it although I cannot vouch entirely for it. I played it enough to consider my investment worth it although I feel the replay value (especially in single player) is low. I'm happier with Dota2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition
Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition by Activision (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / XP)
CDN$ 33.16
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews