Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Story Time
Starcraft (the original) and its expansion (Brood Wars) was the game that got me into computer gaming. The story line is the true hook and Starcraft 2 continues to reel me in.

The story is exceptionally well thought out. It follows in the wake of its predecessor and constantly makes you wonder what kind of plot twists to expect. I don't want to spoil...
Published on Nov. 16 2010 by Adam

versus
67 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE FREQUENCY, KERRIGAN?
One can only respect BLIZZARD for not setting a release date before they knew they could meet it. No matter that this was the most awaited game for over a decade, they would release it "whenever it would be ready". Well, it is ready, it is here and it rocks. Too bad they kicked the respect bucket in the end. But first things first.

THE GOOD OLD GAMEPLAY GETS...
Published on July 27 2010 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT'S THE FREQUENCY, KERRIGAN?, July 27 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
One can only respect BLIZZARD for not setting a release date before they knew they could meet it. No matter that this was the most awaited game for over a decade, they would release it "whenever it would be ready". Well, it is ready, it is here and it rocks. Too bad they kicked the respect bucket in the end. But first things first.

THE GOOD OLD GAMEPLAY GETS THE CIGAR
Seasoned and new gamers alike will appreciate the simple yet highly enjoyable gameplay. The factions are well balanced and the units perfectly valued. You gather minerals and vespene gas, you build your defenses, you upgrade, you expand, you gather your forces - and you unleash hell. Repeat as needed until satisfied.

STARCRAFT: THE QUICKENING
The game is much faster than the original. Resource gathering, building, researching and expanding all go faster now. This is something that will appeal to most and I for one liked it. It conveys an enjoyable sense of urgency, adding to the immersion. And because the game is richer and deeper, the tension just keeps mounting.

SWARMS!
The game designers either enjoyed STARSHIP TROOPERS one times too many or they are fond of killer bees documentaries. Either way, be prepared to have to deal with a lot of swarming enemies! The plains shall be soaked in Zerg blood leaving you with a thick metallic aftertaste of accomplishment.

SPACE. SPACE IS BEAUTIFUL
Visually this game is GORGEOUS. It looks like C&C4 was supposed to (but failed miserably). The units are detailed in design yet clearly discernible whereas the environments are superbly done (although not that variable). True, I could do with somewhat more realistic graphics but I can see that this could only be done at the expense of clarity when the number of units rises. What needs a bit getting used to is how some of the buildings do not look that different. No complaints about how they look but one can easily confuse them and build the same building twice.

COME FOR THE VESPENE GAS. STAY FOR THE STORY
The story picks up just where SC-BROODWAR left off. Following each mission nicely done videos move the single player story along (no spoilers, not to worry) that, although we are given the illusion of choosing between different paths, apparently they converge towards a predestined end.

DAMN IT JIM, WHERE IS THE REST OF THE GAME?
Why only 3 stars then? Well, in a nutshell: GREED.
Apparently ACTIVISION's influence is not very healthy to customer relations. Together with BLIZZARD they are trying to turn the StarCraft franchise into yet another World of WarCraft phenomenon - and, at the same time, using STARCRAFT II as the vehicle, turn BattleNet into the new STEAM. Unfortunately this results in a barely palatable product and using your fan-base to advance your corporate ambitions is always tacky.
Although priced even more than a full premium game, this is not a complete STARCRAFT sequel. You would not know this by its price-tag(!) but this is only A...THIRD of the game, the first part of three: you can only play the Terran campaign. The Zerg and the Protoss campaigns will be released independently later (and priced as if they were full games, one could safely bet).
To add insult to injury, one has to keep spending even more money if he wants any "premium maps" and "premium content" sold only via the BattleNet. Since this is a game that will be played mostly online don't be quick to dismiss this if you have a competitive streak.

OK, LET'S NOT TALK ABOUT IT - BUT THERE IS A HYDRALISK IN THE ROOM, ISN'T THERE?
Much more serious is the NeverLettingGo-OnLineActivation requirement. The game will ask for activation during installation, which also includes signing up to BattleNet (and, yes, this means that even this expensive game never becomes yours to keep). But that is not all: a periodic OnLine confirmation is also required EVERY THIRTY DAYS, FOREVER. You can play offline but no more than a month between re-activating.
Unlike the latest EA and UBISOFT flops (which have an idiotic Always-OnLine requirement), with SC2, after its initial Activation, you CAN play a single player game (campaign and skirmishes) without logging on to BattleNet. Only, to do this you have to log on as a ..."Guest" (I know, a Guest to your own game and your own computer...). You will be able to save your progress but you cannot tie it to your BattleNet account later, so any progress or accomplishments are lost for your online Account. After your 30 days are up you have to re-activate once more.
That is why a Broadband Internet connection is included in the minimum system requirements. You can decide if this bothers you.

SORRY TO BRING THIS UP BUT SPAWN SEEMS TO BE MISSING FROM MY COPY...
Remember how we could take our original STARCRAFT CD to a gathering of friends, Spawn it on everyone else's PCs and start a LAN party? Now one can play with his friends only through the BattleNet - and the Spawn function has been eliminated! Yes, that means each one of your friends now has to have his own original copy of the game!
The brass at the top conveniently forgets that the ability to Spawn games was the main reason both STARCRAFT and DIABLO acquired such huge fan-bases.
Et tu, BLIZZARD?

This is a good game, one I think we will be enjoying for years - or for as long as BLIZZARD shall allow us to do so. However, I had higher hopes for BLIZZARD's respect to its own customers.

RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Warcraft in space?, Dec 27 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Starcraft II was long awaited by Starcraft and RTS fans alike. With the expansion (HOTS) coming out soonish, what can be said about this game?

Well, in two years Blizzard hasn't managed to balance the game as perfectly as it did for SC:BW (although SC:BW took nearly 7 years to become very balanced).

The game feels cleaner and faster than it's predecessor, the campaign is slightly more interactive giving you some choices (although they don't affect your gameplay much).

A lot of things lacking at release (LAN, clan support, chat channels) made this far weaker than Warcraft 3: TFT in many aspects as far as multiplayer goes. Blizzard has said many times that it wouldn't implement LAN ever although the entire community and tournaments have requested so. Clan support will come in the expansion and chat channels were added in BNet 2.0.

A lot of the "Custom Games" part feel very clunky, what they call the "Arcade" is not as visually understandable as it was in SC:BW and WC3:TFT (although you can tell they tried hard).

If you're a RTS fan I would suggest you try it although I cannot vouch entirely for it. I played it enough to consider my investment worth it although I feel the replay value (especially in single player) is low. I'm happier with Dota2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Story Time, Nov. 16 2010
By 
Adam (Saskatoon, SK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Starcraft (the original) and its expansion (Brood Wars) was the game that got me into computer gaming. The story line is the true hook and Starcraft 2 continues to reel me in.

The story is exceptionally well thought out. It follows in the wake of its predecessor and constantly makes you wonder what kind of plot twists to expect. I don't want to spoil anything, but it plays like a page-turning novel.

The game play is also quite remarkable. With Blizzard taking so long to release this game, they have really ironed out the wrinkles. Units are well balanced and the action is quick and intense. I doubt I'll ever be a top ranked player, but you don't have to be to have fun playing this fantastic game. Unfortunately there is a difference between campaign play and multiplayer play. If you play the campaign, you would probably expect to see several of the original Starcraft and Brood War units like the medic, firebat and goliath. While you can use them in the campaign, they are completely unavailable in the multiplayer portion of the game.

One draw back is that it didn't take very long to steam roll through the campaign missions. And because this is only the first of three installments, it makes me wonder if I shouldn't have waited for that boxed set after all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best strategy game every., March 12 2012
By 
Karma Agent (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Love this game. It's concepts and strategies can be applied on so many levels outside of the game. Great community online as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am happy to say I received my order of starcraft 2 ..., April 1 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
I am happy to say I received my order of starcraft 2 Wings of liberty and a day early then originally quoted I got It In about 6 days It was a brand new one and everything was complete and unharmed I just want to put this out there i am not familiar with ordering from a third party through amazon but If you get It right from amazon then u should be fine It was also in canada so i didnt have to wait for it to cross the border which takes forever and no duty, love the game If you want a futuristic RTS game this game Is for you , also on a side not you need internet all the time for this game you can configure it to play single player campaign but you need good internet just to get the updates
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starcraft II, The Legend Come to Life, May 9 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Big RTS here, SCII, Wow, excellent graphics and playability. For a game Blizzard have been keeping in hiding for almost 10 years, They really delivered. This is only Terran Campaign but you get 29 levels of increased Difficulty. Excellent storyline, characters are SICK in HD. Needs a better CPU then mine tho (Gotta MAC) If you can run it in High Def, DO IT!!! I think the online ladder will never cease to exist. This game is a MUST HAVE ( just like SC1, Brood War and the Warcraft Battlechest.... as well as Diablo's Battlechest for that matter!!! ) Overall rating of 9.9999/10 (I don't hand out 10/10 that easy but still......)

in 3 words : BUY THIS GAME! You'll Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starcraft 2 review, Jan. 12 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
game was great had fun. single player is good and contains achievements, multilayer was fun and has lots of custom maps with tons of game modes.

cons would be not many people on the multilayer, only has north American players, requires internet for EVERYTHING and setup for the game has lots of problems and I had to download the installer from the website which took days.

overall I gave it a 3 because it was fun but with all the problems blizzard put in I had to lower it. Blizzard could have made this an amazing game if they were able to fix the cons which probably wouldn't have been so hard to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty, May 21 2013
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Only complaint, Blizzard takes so long to release sequels, I'll be 100 before Starcraft 3 comes out! Fantastic game and gameplay physics. I only wished they had introduced new races. If you have played the original for years, you will feel totally at home playing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starcraft 2...!, Aug. 27 2010
By 
Murray Newsom (BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
This is the greatest game in 10 years! 3 Near-perfectly balanced but unique factions battle for control of the Koprulu sector. Whether its the inventive and adaptive terrans, the gooey and disgusting Zerg, or the ethereal and mysterious Protoss, the game is extremely fine tuned, and the only game recognized by the e-sports league.

Multiplayer is tight and "easy to learn, but impossible to master"! The top Starcraft 2 players earn upwards of 500,000USD per year!

Awesome storyline, excellent multiplayer, GET THIS GAME!

-Carson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon robbed me, March 9 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition (Video Game)
I have not yet received this product from Amazon. I attempted to contact Amazon about the missing product and was told that the order had been cancelled and they would be keeping my money. I was told that this was because the order could not be cancelled. I would like Amazon to ship me the product I paid for. If the item could not be cancelled, then the order should have been shipped. Amazon, please respond to my emails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition
Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty - Standard Edition by Activision (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / XP)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 24.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews