Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars knocks you over
When I first saw the trailer for this movie I thought this was going to be some light rom com. Be prepared for serious tearing up in this one as, although it has its comic moments, it's a movie that knocks you for a loop. I won't spoil anything for anyone but it has both tears of joy and sadness.

I thought the casting was terrific from Catherine Zeta-Jones,...
Published on Jan. 28 2011 by Brian Maitland

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars See Kate cook
Billed as a romantic comedy, there are two things you should know about this movie.
1. It's not a comedy
2. It isn't very romantic

Catherine Zeta-Jones plays Kate, an obsessive master chef who works so hard at her profession that she has no time for heating anything except pots and pans.

Abigail Breslin plays Zoe, Kate's niece. She's not...
Published on Dec 22 2007 by Amanda Richards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars knocks you over, Jan. 28 2011
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations (DVD)
When I first saw the trailer for this movie I thought this was going to be some light rom com. Be prepared for serious tearing up in this one as, although it has its comic moments, it's a movie that knocks you for a loop. I won't spoil anything for anyone but it has both tears of joy and sadness.

I thought the casting was terrific from Catherine Zeta-Jones, Aaron Eckhart and Abigail Breslin (who could have come across as cute yet cloying but really was terrific in this as a kid whose world changes in an instant).

The DVD extra (there's only one) is a look at how the main actors prepared for their roles as chefs. It's an episode of "Unwrapped" from the Food Network and is really a fantastic insight into the way actors work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story with some reality in it (death of mother), July 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Reservations (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was a good movie for our grand'daughter. Nothing inappropriate and the little actress in the movie was the same age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie - good delivery, June 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Reservations (DVD)
This item came in very good time, and, as I had missed the ending when it was on television, it was great to be able to purchase the movie to finish off what I had started watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Une superbe histoire d'amour comme on aimerait bien vivre !, June 16 2008
This review is from: No Reservations (DVD)
Une jeune femme dans la trentaine qui consacre toute sa vie à son travail de chef d'un grand restaurant voie du jour au lendemain sa vie complètement chamboulé quand sa soeur décède d'un tragique accident de voiture et qu'elle obtient la garde de sa petite nièce. S'en suivra un très long apprentissage pour cette femme qui ne connait rien aux enfants, ne sait pas que la haute cuisine est sans doute le dernier de leur préoccupation, que pour eux la simplicité est bien plus exquise et agréable en toute occasion !

Heureusement un aide sera engagé durant sa semaine de repos forcé pour qu'elle puisse reprendre ses esprits. Cet homme sera la clé de bien des problèmes, il réussira a apprivoiser tranquillement autant la petite que la tante pour enfin lui faire voir que dans la vie faire confiance aux autres n'est pas toujours une mauvaise chose et qu'il n'est pas absolument nécessaire de tout contrôler pour que cela soit bien fait et que si même la perfection n'est pas toujours au rendez-vous cela n'est pas la fin du monde !

La petite fille dans ce film est tout simplement adorable, elle est fort bien joué et vraiment elle m'a rapidement conquise, c'est fou comme certain jeune peuvent avoir du talent et ce de façon naturelle !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Reservations (Bilingual) (DVD)
I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars See Kate cook, Dec 22 2007
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations (DVD)
Billed as a romantic comedy, there are two things you should know about this movie.
1. It's not a comedy
2. It isn't very romantic

Catherine Zeta-Jones plays Kate, an obsessive master chef who works so hard at her profession that she has no time for heating anything except pots and pans.

Abigail Breslin plays Zoe, Kate's niece. She's not feeling very sunshine-y since the tragic event that leads up to her having to live with Kate.

Aaron Eckhart plays Nick, an opera singing all around good guy who's hired as Kate's sous-chef without her prior approval.

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS)

See Kate cook
Cook, Kate, cook
See Zoe
Poor Zoe
Zoe has to live with Kate
Kate hasn't a clue
See Nick
Nick cooks too
See Nick and Kate cook
See Nick and Kate fight
See predictable ending

This is a very light movie that will be a good choice for spending a lazy afternoon watching cable when you've nothing better to do. Zeta-Jones is good, even though Eckhart steals every scene he's in, but the main attraction is the food. As a matter of fact, it's quite likely that you'll find yourself getting hungry for gourmet treats about half way through the movie.

Shallow but watchable, the thing that ruins this movie is that darned predictability thing.
Rated: 3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ATROCIOUSLY COMPRESSED DVD TRANSFER. SHAME ON YOU WARNER BROS., March 3 2008
By 
CINEPHILE 1 "CINEPHILE 1" (VANCOUVER, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Reservations (DVD)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR PICTURE QUALITY ONLY. I own over 2200 DVD pre-recorded movies and 150 Blu-Ray movies and this has got to be THE WORST and MOST COMPRESSED DVD transfer in the 11 year production of DVDs. The early 4GB DVDs are HD quality compared to this shambles of a dvd release. What were you thinking Warner Bros. executives and authoring engineers when you decided to put both full screen and widescreen versions of this movie as well as bonus materials on one dual layer disc? The 3GB alotted to each movie is totally insufficient given the high resolution of large screen TVs. Quit living in the past and pandering to the 'It's a romantic comedy so we'll release it in full screen as well to appease the female buyers who are too technologically challenged to watch this movie in widescreen AS THE DIRECTOR INTENDED on a widescreen HDTV'. I bought the 25GB Blu-Ray release just to get some relief from this mess. As a side note, consumers should demand that future Warner Bros. HD Blu-Ray releases should be on DUAL LAYER 50GB since they no longer have to conform to the limitations of the defunct HDDVD format. Do the right thing Warner Bros. and think outside the box. You've had consistently good anamorphic widescreen dvd movie releases until this debacle. The majority of your revenue comes from DVD release so please don't short change the buying public or they'll stay away in droves. PICTURE QUALITY COMES FIRST. FORGET ALL THE EXTRAS AND INTERACTIVE FEATURES IF IT MEANS A SACRIFICE IN PICTURE QUALITY. THE CHARACTERS PLAYED BY CATHERINE ZETA-JONES AND AARON ECKHART WOULD BE APPALLED BY THIS DVD MESS. DIRECTOR SCOTT HICKS AND CAST: PLEASE DEMAND THAT AN ANAMORPHIC WIDESCREEN ONLY DVD RE-RELEASE BE ISSUED. STRIVE FOR EXCELLENCE AND YOU'LL BE REWARDED WITH CONTINUED BUYER SUPPORT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best to buy elsewhere, Feb. 24 2008
By 
G. Robert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Reservations (DVD)
Didnt see this movie actually but just wanted to let you guys know that if you live close to a big store , some dvd like this one will be cheaper to get there then on amazon, i always thought this place had the best deals but i guess i was wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Reservations
No Reservations by Scott Hicks (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 31.98 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews