Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars15
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2008
Justice League: New Frontier is the second in a series of stand alone animated films (the first was Superman: Doomsday), and is a direct to video adaptation of the New Frontier comic by award winning writer and artist Darwyn Cooke, who was involved with this film as one of the writers and producers. Producer Bruce Timm was involved (the man behind the Justice League TV series) but this is a very different effort.

Set in the 1950s, the story features the origins of the Justice League heroes during an optimistic but still troubled time, with acknowledgments of the civil rights movement and paranoia about communism. We follow the origin story of Hal Jordan as Green Lantern as well as the Martian Manhunter, though Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, and Flash are also prominently featured. And of course, we get their formation as a team for the first time against a threat too great for anything but a combined effort.

Cooke is a fan of the "Silver Age" of comics, and there are a few more obscure comic characters making brief appearances too. As far as the main cast, it's Kyle MacLachlan (Twin Peaks) as Superman, Jeremy Sisto (Six Feet Under) as Batman, Lucy Lawless (Xena) as Wonder Woman, Neil Patrick Harris (Doogie Howser) as The Flash and David Boreanaz (Angel) as Green Lantern. The voice work is terrific, and even though Batman isn't in much of the film, Jeremy Sisto makes a huge new impression. The animation ranges from excellent to outstanding, and I think the retro montage created for the opening credits is worth the price of admission alone.

It should be noted this isn't for very young children, there's no swearing but there's an opening where an unknown character finishes writing a book about the malevolent force, and then shoots himself in the head. None of the bloodshed is terribly graphic, but it's there so the film is rated PG-13 for violence. Personally, I'm glad to see animation being produced for adults, and I think it's a great idea to adapt completely different comics and graphic novels into animated films, giving us different perspectives on these timeless characters. This is a sincere effort to make a worthwhile film, and I hope it finds some support out there.

Available as a single disc, with commentaries and some extras, or a 2-disc special edition, which adds two more documentaries (I can't find online how long they'll be) and three episodes of the Justice League animated TV series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2008
This is a great adaptation of the comic book. The animation mirrors the art of the book. The acting is good, especially Jeremy Sisto's interesting take on Batman. What a voice! Yet, the film felt a bit too short. If you have read the book, it takes its time building up the story and the characters, so that at the climax we actually feel for them. The book produced a lot of emotion for me. The film just didn't quite achieve that feeling, and that is a shame. If the producers had just allowed more time for the story, this could have been a truly great film -- a classic. That's why I'm giving it 4 stars.

It is a lot (a lot) better than the other animated comic book adaptations out there though. Worth purchasing. If only the Justice League animated series had taken some notes from this work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2010
I enjoyed this! It was nice to see the justice leaguers done in a newer fashion where even Superman was done differently than the numerous other intrepretations had dipicted him.
Nice to see an animated Flash Barry Allen, I love Wally West, but the use of Barry made the Flash a little more serious in tone.
It was cool to see Wonder Woman as a physically intimidating person, & not the really sultry character potrayed in her own movie.

drawback- Once again, I wish WB would make these movies about 20-30 minutes longer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2012
This is one of my favorite super hero movies. It gives the best story of the origin of green lantern, whom happens to be one of my favorite super Heros. Everyone of my friends are greatly impressed with it on its retro look and feel to it. The story works great and the animation is well done. The movie has everything in it that even a novice fan would enjoy. It may seem like I am just rambling on, but this is one movie I tend to watch over and over again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 5, 2008
The Justice League purists will probably dislike this movie. But I for one, rank this in my top three of all time for animated films. I crave movies that are driven by storylines, whether they are fiction or non fiction or both. This movie takes place in the 50's and touches upon real life issues such as the cold war, racism, ignorance etc. Basically, anybody whose politically right wing will probably hate this film. If you like real issues mixed in with your favourite'll be like me and love this film. It's not for the young kids though. I really hope they make "Kingdom Come" as the next Justice League movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the fifties, the world doesn’t know what to make of superheroes. Some of them are accepted and beloved, others not so much. When a mysterious entity known as The Center rises to thwart the planet, the core Justice Leaguers—Superman, Batman, Flash, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, and Martian Manhunter—must unite for the first time to stop what is seemingly an unstoppable threat.

Based on the best-selling graphic novel by Darwyn Cooke, Justice League: The New Frontier is unlike any Justice League movie out there. For starters, it’s a period piece. Nothing modern day here, with the story taking place between 1953 and 1960. Even more so, it’s art direction is based on Cooke’s art from the graphic novel, where each character was drawn in a very forties-style way: simple, with minimal muscle and heavy lines for eyes. No bodybuilding superheroes in this flick. And, of course, all the backgrounds, supporting cast and tech in the film were all time-appropriate as well. Even the “advanced tech” in the film was old school in its presentation and style.

The story was good—very much an origin story for the Justice League, with the overarching origin story being that of Green Lantern—and each character was faithful to their source material. The pacing was a bit slow at times, with lots of talking—there were a few moments where I was, like, “Get on with it!”—but at the same time, it being a period piece, TV and movies back then had lots of talking, too.

Not that talking is a bad thing. Just wished for a few more fast-paced sequences—not necessarily violence or fighting—to move things along.

Warner Bros. and DC Comics are amazing at their direct-to-market animated features, each one meant to stand on its own instead of where one story feeds off another. By doing that, they pick and choose the best graphic novels to adapt and don’t have to worry about the baggage of continuity as a result. Doing Justice League: The New Frontier afforded them an opportunity to do something wholly original and deliver something that modern day audiences haven’t seen in recent years: a superhero story that takes place in the past. After watching this, I wish someone in Hollywood would do a live action version of Superman or Flash or whoever, but set it in the past. You can still be true to the characters, as this story has shown, but give something fresh at the same time and, from a marketing and creative standpoint, give something original as a result.

Justice League: The New Frontier is a fantastic movie, and for those who want more of their favorite heroes but sometimes wish something new was done with them, then this is the flick for you.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 6, 2014
DC's Animated offerings have long boasted universally high production values and a general level of finish that can only be described as superb. On a deeper level, however, the quality of their output has varied enormously. At its best, their material easily holds its own against even the most intelligent programming made for "grown up" TV. But there have also been rather disappointing efforts that, as much as it pains me to say so, really were just for kids.

This one starts off extremely well. The story is set in the mid 20th century, with cold war paranoia at its height. Even superheroes are not immune, and as a result we find ourselves entering into a complex and compelling world with real murkiness in its shadows. Conflicts simmer and seethe beneath the surface, threatening to erupt at any moment. Much is merely suggested or hinted at. I was especially impressed by how well the writers, actors, and animators were together able to create a sense of depth across such a wide array of characters.

The film is also remarkable for its departure from the canonical style of drawing first laid down by Bruce Timm in Batman: The Animated Series. In its place we encounter a visual language that is very clearly intended to pay homage to the commercial art and architecture, and most especially the comic books, of the era in which The New Frontier itself is set. True, some of the Googie we find in the Las Vegas scenes has probably been misplaced by about a decade. But seriously, who cares? When something works as well as this does, I think we can forgive such minor acts of artistic license. As much as I admire that "canonical" style I mentioned earlier, what this film brought us was an amazing creation in its own right. So for quite a while I found it an extremely impressive piece of work. Up until about two thirds of the way through, I really thought it was going to be one of the great ones.


At a certain point the writers lost their way. I don't know whether they just plain lost their nerve, or if they truly did not know how to meaningfully resolve the conflicts they'd set in motion. Perhaps they just didn't have the stones of Alan Moore. But however you might choose to explain it, let's just say that at a certain point things got real simple and stayed that way.

A profound disappointment.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
im so glad that i got this from amazon, it shipped in less than a day, i got it in time for TCAF 2014, Darwyn Cooke was there and he signed this bluray and my comics and a hardcover artbook of his, he is so great, i made a post on my blog, its based out of toronto, check it out - the post has a pic of my Amazon Bluray of Justice League that Darwyn signed for me: [...] Thank you amazon for perfect service!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
I was really impressed by that anime...which there'd more like this one
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
Good buy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Kevin Conroy (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 9.96

Batman: Gotham Knight [Blu-ray]
Batman: Gotham Knight [Blu-ray] by Kevin Conroy (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 19.99