Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Noir that's really great!
A solid entry in the Fox Film Noir Series. Film noir should be dark. That doesn't mean poorly lit , although that is often part of
the package. It should be dark in a sinister , threatening , brooding manner. This one delivers on all fronts. In this film noir the sound track enhances the mood. I'm not talking about music , I am referring to the
background noise,...
Published 12 months ago by Big Bill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not completely believable
A passable Film Noir (although not in the true sense) Jeanne Crain is appealing to the eye, Michael Rennie has the dash but perhaps I have become a little jaded in my old age...is it me or was this predictable? Still, not a waste of time, it had it's moments.
Published 8 months ago by Dash McGee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Noir that's really great!, Aug. 15 2013
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir) (DVD)
A solid entry in the Fox Film Noir Series. Film noir should be dark. That doesn't mean poorly lit , although that is often part of
the package. It should be dark in a sinister , threatening , brooding manner. This one delivers on all fronts. In this film noir the sound track enhances the mood. I'm not talking about music , I am referring to the
background noise, which will give you the willies. (Very creative trick) . The plot involves a young newly married couple
boarding a cruise ship for their honeymoon. They settle into their cabin and he goes to the purser's office to cash
some travelers cheques or something. He never returns. She is distraught , and doubly so when no one will admit that
her husband even boarded. The captain and crew come to think of her as crazy , or maybe pulling some sort of scam.
She has no passport or money ( My husband had all that ...). Things get increasingly bizarre , including her missing
husband calling her over the ships phone system. Of course no one believes . Eventually things come to a climax ,
but not one you will be likely to anticipate. Highly recommended . In glorious Black & White. A must see just for
the soundtrack noir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not completely believable, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir) (DVD)
A passable Film Noir (although not in the true sense) Jeanne Crain is appealing to the eye, Michael Rennie has the dash but perhaps I have become a little jaded in my old age...is it me or was this predictable? Still, not a waste of time, it had it's moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Memory, Dec 29 2013
By 
Dwight Logan (Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir) (DVD)
I saw this movie as a kid back in the 1950's with my Mom. I was absolutely entranced by the plot and the ambience.
It was a pleasant surprise to see it again. It is not well-acted, and the plot is not as good as I remembered. But the ambience is still there.
Worth watching if you are a film noir fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FILM NOIR, Nov. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir) (DVD)
GREAT OLD CLASSIC PRETTY GOOD ACTING AND GOOD STORY LINE DONT REALLY MAKE THEM LIKE THAT ANYMORE PICTURE QUALITY FOR THE AGE OF THE FILM WAS EXCELLENT BUT BY NOW I GUESS THEY CAN RESTORE JUST ABOUT ANYTHING THANKS AGAIN.GOT TO REST MY TYPING FINGER NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Dangerous Crossing (1953) ... Joseph M. Newman (Director) ... 20th Century Fox (2008)", Jan. 7 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir) (DVD)
Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation presents "DANGEROUS CROSSING" (August 1953) (75 min/B&W) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) -- Set aboard a transatlantic passenger liner headed to England, Jeanne Crain plays a new bride who's new husband immediately goes missing after boarding the ship in New York --- This leaves her in a state of panic as she can not convince the ship's crew or passengers that he even exists --- Suspicions rise as a hint of her mental instability comes to light, and bits of her past are made known --- Questionable characters lurk around every dark corner of the ship during the fog-enshrouded crossing, offering an atmosphere of doubt and danger.

Keeps you guessing right to the very end!

Under the production staff of:
Joseph M. Newman [Director]
Leo Townsend [Screenplay]
John Dickson Carr [radio play "Cabin B-13"]
Robert Bassler [Producer]
Joseph LaShelle [Cinemattographer]
William Reynolds [Film Editor]
Maurice Ransford [Art Direction]
Lyle R. Wheeler [Art Direction]

BIOS:
1. Joseph M. Newman [Director]
Born:August 7, 1909 in Logan, Utah
Died:January 23, 2006 (age 96) in Simi Valley, California

2. Jeanne Craine [aka: Jeanne Elizabeth Crain]
Date of Birth: 25 May 1925 - Barstow, California
Date of Death: 14 December 2003 - Santa Barbara, California

3. Michael Rennie [aka: Eric Alexander Rennie]
Date of Birth: 25 August 1909 - Bradford, Yorkshire, England, UK
Date of Death: 10 June 1971 - Harrogate, Yorkshire, England, UK

the cast includes:
Jeanne Crain - Ruth Stanton Bowman
Michael Rennie - Dr. Paul Manning
Max Showalter - Jim Logan
Carl Betz - John Bowman
Mary Anderson - Anna Quinn
Marjorie Hoshelle - Kay Prentiss
Willis Bouchey - Capt. Peters
Yvonne Peattie - Miss Bridges

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 4 Stars
Performance: 4 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 4 Stars
Overall: 4 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 75 min on DVD ~ 20th Century Fox ~ (03/11/2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir)
Dangerous Crossing (Fox Film Noir) by Joseph M. Newman (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews