Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Science Fiction
I enjoy a good story that is not wholly dependant upon special effects. The actors can act and are not there for only cute scenery.
Published 4 months ago by karen schlapkohl

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disapointing ending to a great storyline
After season 8, with the Go'auld defeated, the Stargate people had found a new, powerful ennemy to throw at the SG-1 team.During season 8 and 9, episodes involving the ORI were among the best of the whole serie. Constant tension, a sense of danger, amzing special effects were to be expected. When an episode ended, you would say ''WOW'' and wait for the next episode with...
Published on April 1 2008 by P. Poirier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good Science Fiction, May 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I enjoy a good story that is not wholly dependant upon special effects. The actors can act and are not there for only cute scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Show!!!, Nov. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (DVD)
This extra DVD that the creators of Stargate did, was great to watch. I will be picking up more of these DVD's that is in the series of Stargate SG1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truth of the Ori, June 5 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The ending of the "Stargate SG-1" TV show left some threads dangling -- for one thing, the Ori were still threatening the world with conversion or death.

Fortunately that particular thread is decisively tied up in the direct-to-DVD movie that followed: "Stargate: The Ark of Truth" While it doesn't quite have the unique flavour of the TV series -- and the Ark seems like a rather pat quickie solution -- the movie does bring back all the favorite characters in a satisfactory ending.

"The Ark of Truth" is an Ancient device that brainwashes people -- and SG-1 is searching for it, where they run into Vala's ex-hubby Tomin (who ends up teaming up with them). But soon they have a lead on where the Ark might be, and head for Celestis in the hopes of finding a bloodless method of stopping the Ori once and for all.

Unfortunately they have a slew of new problems -- Ori motherships are approaching Earth with the intent to convert or destroy, a nasty IOA rep has created and loosed a very familiar enemy on the Odyssey, and Vala's malevolent daughter Adria has gained godlike power. Fortunately SG-1 has a powerful ally of their own.

Since "The Ark of Truth" is basically intended to wrap up loose ends, and as such they're not quite as satisfying as the television show was. Unfortunately it sometimes feels rather rushed and has a somewhat out-of-the-blue solution (hello magic fix-all!), as well as a subplot involving ANOTHER superpowerful villain race that seems likely but a bit misplaced.

But as half of the series finales, it's a solid piece of work -- lots of action, space battles, mysterious artifacts, and a way bigger budget that a TV episode would ever have allowed. Fortunately that budget doesn't mean it jettisons the intriguing twists (Adria has an unexpected new position) or the moral dilemmas raised by the Ark (and the question of fighting evil faux gods vs. their followers).

It also has excellent scripting: plot threads drawn from the TV series, "Star Trek" homages, witty dialogue ("Well, you don't expect me to remember." "With the fate of two galaxies hanging in the balance, yes, I expect you to remember the essential clue!"), and some nice quiet moments, such as Teal'c talking with Tomin about their bloodstained pasts.

And seeing the actors as their SG-1 characters is like putting on a comfortable old shoe. Amanda Tapping and Michael Shanks are suitably brilliant and courageous, and Ben Browder does a good strong, slightly quirky soldier. Christopher Judge gets to shine in as a powerful, wise warrior, and Black gets to be both funny ("I have broken every nail") and emotional.

While it's a bit rushed and contrived, "Stargate: The Ark of Truth" is a solid enough finale to the Ori storyline. Only half the ending to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ark of Truth, July 5 2008
By 
N. Theoret (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Excellent movie!!!

I was so afraid that this movie wasn't going to be as good as the series. But no, the whole crew and actors were the best as usual. I am eagerly awaiting for the next story coming up and will reserve it to make sure I have my own copy.

This is why I just love Stargate SG-1. I can always count on great entertainment.

Keep it up Guys!

Nicole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent production values, story a little hollow, March 15 2008
By 
Angelo (Ontario, CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
As a great fan of Stargate SG-1, I must say I am glad that the series was given the chance to wrap up the Ori storyline. I appreciated the opportunity to revisit with my favourite characters, and the writers were very good at maintaining continuity with the series mythology (for instance, featuring the Asgard core obtained in the last episode of the series). The actors all did a solid job, though unfortunately there was not as much character interaction as in the series.

There were definitely some excellent scenes, most notably:
-- opening the supergate
-- Teal'c and Tomin dealing with guilt and redemption, definitely the most riveting scene in the entire movie for its emotional resonance, and the best lines Teal'c has ever gotten in the entire series
-- Daniel pushed to the limits of his faith and endurance
-- Adria's flaming presence while confronting Vala

Unfortunately, there were some really annoying things as well:
-- the obvious and completely one-dimensional IOA bad guy
-- some very big scene jumps, like entering the supergate and then suddenly being in costume undercover on an Ori world contacting a member of the underground
-- deja vu with the replicators
-- the replicator-zombie fight felt like a sequence out of a horror movie, both really gross and utterly ridiculous at the same time, and unfortunately the opportunity for humour in reference to the Terminator skeleton was ignored

In my opinion, the entire replicator sub-plot was time wasted that could have been better spent with some actual character moments between the team members, who are facing overwhelming odds with only each other to rely on. In fact, the only real emotion emerged in the scene between Teal'c and Tomin. Without the team bonding moments, the adventure and even the victory seemed a bit hollow.

After listening to the commentary, I wished that the writer/producer/director had concentrated less on the production values and more on the emotional resonance of the story. Fans of SG-1 can only hope that sales of the DVD's will be sufficient to continue the franchise in this format, and hopefully the characters will be better served in future adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel to 10 seasons of fantastic series ..., Jan. 25 2008
By 
TRIPOD (Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Now, for the real thing ! This film is a melting pot of the subjects of the last seasons of the series with the usual new crew minus Jack (O'Neill) ! If you're a fan of the series, you'll enjoy it for sure, if not, look at the film with the intro, it will help you ! At last a real ending !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disapointing ending to a great storyline, April 1 2008
By 
P. Poirier "wolvie14" (Montreal Qc.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
After season 8, with the Go'auld defeated, the Stargate people had found a new, powerful ennemy to throw at the SG-1 team.During season 8 and 9, episodes involving the ORI were among the best of the whole serie. Constant tension, a sense of danger, amzing special effects were to be expected. When an episode ended, you would say ''WOW'' and wait for the next episode with trepidation.
So, i was waiting for that final installement with high hopes. Most of them were crushed. The tension that was at the core of the ORI storyline is gone, the emotion that was also at the core of the serie is almost absent.
The Replicator story takes way too much place. Don't get me wrong. I love the Replicators. They are a formidable ennemy. But this is an ORI story and the Replicators take way too many screen time away.
I wanted more Tomin, more Adria, more Morgan La Fay. I wanted Woolsey ( he could have left Atlantis for a while) not taht second rate IOA character.
There are some fine moments in there and they all involve either Teal'c or Tomin.The scene where Teal'c explain too Tomin that he will never forgive himself is the most powerful scene of the whole film. I also loved Teal'c Quest, who after ''rising'' from the dead goes on to Celestis. I shed a tear when Vala and Tomin said goodbye towards the end.
That said, it is not a bad film, but with the increased money and the time they had to write and produce it, it should have been way better. As it is, it is no better than a run-of-the-mill episode of the telivision show. I can think of at least 50 episodes from the show that are better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We are finally at the end and the end is good!, March 14 2008
By 
T. Drake (Western Shore, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ok I must admit I am not a great fan of stargate but over the years I have seen all the shows loved how they wrapped up season 8 hated the ending of season 10.Now to the dvd I just watched it I did enjoy it wasn't slow or overly wordy good action,comdey good use of all the cast with some surprises I was hoping for a short part for Jack O'neil to pop up but no such luck,this is a good ending nice wrap to season 10.I think everyone fan or not will enjoy it plus great prelude before the movie to refresh the memory so dial it up my friends the adventure is just to begin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Un épisode bonus pas si mal après tout..., March 14 2008
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
C'est triste à dire mais ce film qui est le premier de deux servant a clôturer l'une des plus grandes séries de science-fiction à l'heure actuelle n'est rien d'autre qu'une épisode bien ordinaire surtout si l'on prend en considération qu'il manque des personnages importants de la série, que les voix de traduction ne sont pas les même et que bref toute l'histoire c'est du réchauffé tout de même non ?

Oui je suis un fan de cette série alors une fois que j'ai réussit à passer par dessus tout ça... disons que la moitié du film était passé alors j'ai pu commencer à profiter de ce petit divertissement mais franchement c'était assez léger et j'ose espérer que dans le dernier de cet oeuvre, Stargate : Continuum, prévu d'ici la fin de l'année nous auront droit à un peu plus de ce qui a fait le charme de cette série... mais à lire le Synopsis je doute que cela soit le cas... on avait déjà eu un épisode dans ce style dans le dernier épisode de la 8e saison si je ne me trompe... Bref je crois que Stargate a fait son temps comme toute bonne chose... vivement une prochaine série de qualité car en ce moment c'est vachement calme en français... Je pense de plus en plus a me mettre a écouter la tv anglophone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Walmart can do it..., Jan. 21 2008
This review is from: Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was just about to send this item to my cart when I saw those reviews about the price discrepancy... I went to check the price of the other dvd set I was ordering and I was stunned to see that it is also $10 less. That makes it some $18 more that if I ordered from Amazon.com. I wonder if anyone has actually asked Amazon.ca about this... I don't think they read all the reviews...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate: The Ark of Truth (La Porte des Etoiles: L'Arche de Verite) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews