Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for the Universal release
Long have fans of Lynch waited for a proper release of Lost Highway, and finally here's a good one. I won't go into what it's about or discuss why I think it's good. It's a Lynch movie so you'll either love it or you won't. This review is for those who're wondering whether or not to get this version. This version is far superior to its notoriously awful predecessor. The...
Published on April 6 2008 by eduardo-ricardo de la falcone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Makes no sense, but not bad.
David Lynch's 'Lost Highway', overall, doesn't make any sense but still isn't bad. Be warned, this film does not have your standard kind of plot. It is about an musician, Bill Pullman, who is suspicious of her wife's behavior. He thinks she is sleeping with someone else. Both seem psychologically depressed because they talk very softly and rarely smile. Some strange...
Published on May 26 2002 by Dhaval Vyas


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for the Universal release, April 6 2008
This review is from: Lost Highway (Sous-titres français) [Import] (DVD)
Long have fans of Lynch waited for a proper release of Lost Highway, and finally here's a good one. I won't go into what it's about or discuss why I think it's good. It's a Lynch movie so you'll either love it or you won't. This review is for those who're wondering whether or not to get this version. This version is far superior to its notoriously awful predecessor. The image quality on the original was so bad, it was barely watchable. The new release boasts a gorgeous print and it's finally in widescreen. There's no bonus material on the DVD, but who cares really if it looks this good now? Bottom line, if you don't own it, get this release. If you own the original, throw it out! Get this one.
I almost never write reviews, just thought people should know the deal with this DVD seeing as how it hasn't really been reviewed anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tightly focussed and very weird, June 13 2004
By 
Chris Stolz (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Highway [Import] (VHS Tape)
Lynch's film starts in a typically bizarre way. Jazz musician Fred Madison hears a voice on his Beverly hills house intercom, tellign him that one of his acquantiances is dead. When he goes to the door to see who is speakng, he finds a video...of him and his wife, in bad, sleeping, filmed by a stranger with access to their house.
Lynch's film follows Madison as he pursues this bizarre revelation, fearing that his wife, Renee, is having an affair. Then the film-- in Lynch's new signature twsit-- transforms Madison into a young man who works for a Mafiosi, whose wife devlops an interest in this young man.
Lynch's film has been called a Mobius strip, where following one side of it will gradually take you around so the opposite surface, looking at thigns from an entirely different point of view. Here, Lynch uses his transformation device to examine sexual jealousy, transgression, revenge and evil. The film has the usual Lynch hallmarks-- a subtle and perfect musical score (co-writtten with Trent Reznor), languid pacing, oddly comic moments, and a few sections of sheer, gut-wrentching terror. The scene where Madison meets a Devil figure at a cocktail party has to be the weirdest thign ever done in cinema-- Lynch is in the company of Bunuel here.
The film is ulteimately a loop, bringing its iewer back to its beginning. As such, it is an intense, and terrifying experience, but, since its sens of horror stems from its claustrophobic structure, viewers may miss the final sense of transcendence that his earlier Blue Velvet offers. Nevertheless, this is a fine outing from Lynch, and much superior to the throwaway play of Wild At Heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Puzzling Nightmare!, June 12 2004
This review is from: Lost Highway [Import] (VHS Tape)
The title, Lost Highway, by itself lays ground for cognitive dissonance as Lynch presents a puzzling cinematic journey into a vivid nightmare. In this nightmare the audience is to follow Fred Madison (Bill Pullman) who is coerced through visual hints into jealousy and suspicion as his wife acts peculiarly and mysterious videotapes of his home appear on his door step. The nightmare intensifies as Lynch presents further suggestive indications that Fred's wife, Renee (Patricia Arquette), is having an affair with a friend of hers. However, as soon as the audience feels somewhat comfortable with the story Lynch throws a wrench into the cerebral machinery by adding a new idea. An idea that drives the story in a different direction that generates further confusion as the nightmare snowballs. Lynch tells a bizarre story about envy, love, jealousy, and revenge that reminds more of a painting than a film as the cinematography and mise-en-scene are extremely suggestive. Lastly, the soundtrack is exceptionally well selected as it complements the dark theme of the film and helps to provide a terrific cinematic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lost Movie, May 19 2004
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Highway (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is my theory on David Lynch. He is either the greatest filmmaking genius of our time, or he is completly insane. Take your pick. "Lost Highway" is a very deep movie that relies almost completly on the moment, what is happening now. As a whole coherent story, it would be hopeless to try to give a synopsis. I think it is basicly a nightmare caught on film. It is not logical; the concept of time is meaningless; and characters are literally interchangeable. It is hard to say if the actors did a good job or not because a lot of what they do makes no sense, but it was designed that way. I remember reading an article where Bill Pullman said that no one knew what the story meant. I believe it. Patricia Arquette plays two women who are the same soul (I think). Bill Pullman is her husband, a paranoid man who is caught up in a mental breakdown. He literally transforms into a 19 year old mechanic in his prison cell (he was arrested for murdering his wife). Then the movie shifts over to the kid's story. He is involved with a mobster (played by Robert Loggia, who actually makes me thing he's related to Frank, the crazy Dennis Hopper character from David Lynch's "Blue Velvet"). And finally Robert Blake plays...um, well, some guy who can literally be in two places at once. He is really creepy in this movie, we're a long way from "Beretta". All I can say is that this movie is all about atmosphere and style over content, and that isn't a good thing at all. I keep thinking that Lynch will make the movie that will make all his other movies make sense. But, good luck trying to guess what it means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sorry david lynch fans...but i must, May 2 2004
This review is from: Lost Highway [Import] (VHS Tape)
ill just start out by telling you that i felt very dissapointed with this movie. i had high expectations due to the star cameos, which i must admit that i deeply respect all of them, and a top rate sound track. It just didnt stand up to the hype... at all. It just looked like a B movie the whole way through. The beginning was so boring and drawn out that i could bairly tolerate it. i was VERY tempted to stop the video and return in without rewinding it due to the fact that it was so boring... and i havnt stopped watching a rented movie in years. this one was very close. some of the acting was pretty poor too... like, unfortunatly, ole hank rollins... ive seen him do much better than what he did in lost highway. the only reason i have this film more than one star is the fact that the director did do a good job, dispite the poor quality of the film istelf. as for the story line, i didnt like it at all. i like strange movies, but i just didnt care for this script at all. it did pick up towards the end a bit and i did like the pastey camera character, so that did help get the second star. My main beef with the movie was the lack of backround sounds and music. the film wasnt all that bad during the times when there was some sort of music in the backround.
art? who am i to say. all i am saying is that i didnt really care for this movie and would never suggest it to anyone i know, and they would trust me because they trust my film reviews for the most part. i may not know art, but i know what i like.. and i just didnt care for this. it just, how do you say.. SUCKED! i SAID IT! SO THERE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great modern noir classic, Sept. 1 2003
By 
S. Harris (Spotsylvania, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Highway (Full Screen) (DVD)
Pigeon-holing Lynch as a noir director is perhaps a mistake, given the cramped definition many want to hang on the genre. But with Lynch, you have a talented director showing just what is possible. (Polanski did the same with Chinatown.) But with Lynch lines are blurred as image, dream, and story converge, and then flip and twist in unexpected ways, assisted by the director's use of both wondrous and disturbing imagery. To add to the layering is one of the best soundtracks for a movie I've heard in some time. Thematically each song (Lou Reed, Smashing Pumpkins, David Bowie, others) plugs into the movie, with all of its twists and turns. Partricia Arquette turns in a superb performance as the femme fatale(s). Her audition for Mr. Eddie to the crunching sound of Marilyn Manson's "I Put a Spell on You" is one of those scenes that burns into the mind as an unforgettable and dark tableu rather than as a piece of film. Arquette's moment, which is mostly visual, is as effective as Jane Greer's appearance in "Out of the Past", but more dangerous since the stakes are, if possible, higher: a man's mind and soul as opposed to simply his life. She is the object of obsession, she is archetype, and she is, as she tells her lover, unobtainable. Indeed. But she makes for one gorgeous nightmare.
Lost Highway may, given time, be viewed as the perfect distillation of Lynch's vision. (And I'm a big fan of Blue Velvet.) It is certainly one of the darkest rides into the American night. Though the journey is a psychological one, Pullman's (Fred's) electrocution death at the end pulls all the dark threads, internal and external, together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Impenetrable, Aug. 20 2003
This review is from: Lost Highway (Full Screen) (DVD)
I wasted 2 hours and 8 minutes of my life, which I'm never going to get back, watching this film. And for what reason? None. I didn't enjoy the film, I couldn't understand it, and that creepy bug eyed guy is going to give me nightmares. Up until now my worst film was 'The Last Broadcast', but at least that was somewhat understandable. This is my new worst film. There is NO point to this film. Maybe some smart genius could work it out, and tell me there's some 'hidden meaning' behind it all, but I'm sorry, I could have done something a lot better for 128 minutes.
I've never heard of David Lynch before, but he may need some therapy, though.
This film is very reminiscent of a silent movie - there's not much dialogue, and there's heavy focus on the imagery. I prefer more dialogue. Imagery does not explain certain scenes in this film. At certain parts, you can almost hear the music to the Twilight Zone playing - not literally, it just felt like it should be added over.
Patricia Arquette plays a mysterious brunette & an ice cool blonde, and manages to appear naked five times throughout the film, for no apparent reason. And have sex in the full glare of a car's headlights?! Whatever turns you on. And another chick gets naked too. Definitely a movie for the guys, I think. Girls, buy something decent.
When the video gets played, you almost expect the phone to ring, and tell you that you have seven days before you die - like 'The Ring'. Did no one else see this? Very similar. Same bad quality video picture!
This film could have been cut in half, still kept in all that was necessary, and I still would have been bored. At 128 minutes, it was too long.
I expected the trailer to be better on the DVD. I've seen better teasers than that. It explained nothing about the film, and it just repeated the credits at the beginning. And how BORING were those beginning credits? The 'lost highway' drove me mad, they could have turned a corner or something!
Giovanni Ribsi (better known as Frank, Phoebe's brother in 'Friends') has a very small role in this, and is virtually unrecognisable with black hair - but you recognise the face pretty quickly if you're a fan of 'Friends' or have seen him in 'Gone In 60 Seconds'.
Gary Busey (Point Break, Lethal Weapon) also appears in this, looking very much like an ageing hippie! I recognised his voice instantly, and had a laugh at his appearance!
The transmogrification was very confusing. People have said Patricia Arquette playing two different characters in the same film was confusing. That wasn't so confusing. One was brunette, the other was blonde - not that hard to tell the difference.
Don't see this film unless you're a masochist. If you're eyeing it up in the shops, put it DOWN, and choose a GOOD movie.
Shawn, next time choose a better film, sweetheart. Definitely one of your worst choices. And you say I have bad taste in films?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No Widescreen, Great Otherwise, Aug. 4 2003
By 
Proffy B (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Highway (Full Screen) (DVD)
Well, this was probably my favorite movie until Lynch's Mulholland Drive came out.
It's the sort of title where, if you're thinking about buying it, you've probably already seen it. You either love it in the way you love your favorite dream, or wish you hadn't wasted two hours of your life. For that reason, I don't see much use in discussing this exceptional film.
As for the DVD itself: Don't expect extras.
No problem there--a psychological masterpiece such as this deserves to stand on its own. Extras always sound nice, but they usually consist of some director with an overly-inflated ego trying to make his work sound like something more than a diversion while munching popcorn. Usually, the popcorn is better.
Lynch allows his movie stand on its own. It not only stands, it walks, runs, and grabs you by the collar. Great stuff.
Some reviewers noted a lack of sound quality. Probably, they have better sound systems than I do, and mine isn't all that bad. In a nutshell, the Lost Highway DVD is *far* better than the video release in terms of sound. I didn't get to see Lost Highway at the theater, so my first spin of the DVD was like hearing the movie for the first time. Wow. The soundtrack brings a new dimension to the movie.
The only reason I knocked a star off the rating was for the image. The overall image quality is pretty good, better than my VHS copy, but the decision not to present it in wide-screen was a bad one. No...it was an ignorant one. The film was clearly shot with a wide-screen ratio in mind. I don't know what the heck people were thinking. As my dad would say, "They weren't."
To me, sound and vision are the fundamentals of a film, with "plot" a distant third. (If plot is your main concern, grab a book--print media won't hurt you!) Without widescreen, you miss a couple of things, but more importantly, certain shots just don't look the way they should.
Maybe in ten years, someone will release a nice box set of all of David Lynch's films as they were meant to be seen and heard, similar to the fantastic Werner Herzog/Klaus Kinski collection. In the meantime, this is a good DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars try the australian version if you can play PAL discs, Nov. 3 2002
By 
"sweetback" (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lost Highway (Full Screen) (DVD)
I have this DVD in the local release, in Australia, I'm not sure if there is region-coding but it certainly is in PAL so you will need the capacity to playback in PAL. The Australian release contains a lengthy interview extra with Lynch, Badalamenti, and a number of other people involved in production, and goes into some detail regarding the music, which was nice, including on location footage from Prague. It is in anamorphic widescreen and the image and sound are good, but not excellent. It's also quite cheap.
I have seen a copy of the Canadian version here, and it was disappointing (esp. compared to other Canada-only releases such as Cronenberg's "eXistenZ") ... it has virtually no extras and, much worse, THE CANADIAN VERSION IS IN PAN&SCAN (4:3) FORMAT! What's with that?? This great film should be seen in the ratio which Lynch intended for it!
P.S. The Australian release of Eraserhead is also excellent in terms of sound and picture, and is in 4:3, but it seems Lynch filmed it that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The "Highway" Isn't the Only Thing "Lost" in This Movie., Oct. 26 2002
By 
This review is from: Lost Highway [Import] (VHS Tape)
Overall, this film had its intriguing moments, but it ultimately left me hungry for more substance. David Lynch has weaved together a murder mystery that, while interesting, lacks both coherence and depth. Now, before you peg me as a shallow movie buff, realize that I also like intelligent mind-bending thrillers that leave the audience scrambling to tie up the film's loose ends. "Lost Highway" is not one of these movies. While it has its creepy and interesting scenes, it plays less like a movie than a trippy dream sequence where the second half of the film takes a violently dramatic shift in "plot." You could say the same thing for "Mulholland Drive," but that film (one of the best of 2001) did the job far more effectively and convincingly. So the verdict is this: pass on this one unless you absolutely have 2.5 hours of your life you need to kill. For classic Lynch, check out the dynamite "Blue Velvet" or "Mulholland Drive" instead. "Lost Highway" is like an inside joke: either you get it or you don't. And I surely didn't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Highway (Sous-titres français) [Import]
CDN$ 16.31
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews