Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie
I have loved this movie from the first time I ever saw it and wanted to have my own copy and now I have.
Published 6 months ago by Joyce McCallum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Politically Incorrect, But Funny
Howard Keel at his comical, baritone best, leads a cast of entertainers who were at the height of their popularity in this colorful, sparkling musical.
He plays Hajj, the slick beggar-poet of Baghdad, who with his daughter Marsinah, played by Ann-Blyth who seems too old for the part although her singing is lovely, barely ekes out a living until one day their...
Published on Jan. 29 2002 by Deborah Earle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie, Sept. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kismet (DVD)
I have loved this movie from the first time I ever saw it and wanted to have my own copy and now I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great cast! You won't be disapointed, Aug. 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
Howard Keel, Ann Blyth and Sebastien Cabot are wonderful in this version of "Kismet." Delores Gray is simply magnificent as the sultry Lalume, and I just loved Vic Damone's lovestruck Caliph. The dialogue is witty and quite ahead of its time. Songs like "Stranger in Paradise," "Night of My Nights" and "Not Since Nineveh" are unforgettable. The costumes and sets, though not historically accurate, are lovely - the lavish wedding procession remains one of my favorite film scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Worth it only for Gray, Oct. 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
This Vincente Minnelli has acquired a somewhat bewildering reputation almost solely because it was one of the few M-G-M musicals the fantastic Dolores Gray ever appeared in. She does have a wonderful number here in her iconic "Not Since Nineveh," where she really lets loose, but the rest of this film is so inferior you'll see almost immediately why M-G-M made so few major musicals after this disappointment. Almost everyone is miscast, even to Howard Keel who seems to be really enjoying himself immensely as Hajj even though he (and almost everyone else in the film) doesn't look in the slightest Middle Eastern. Nor does anyone else in the film, from the largely wasted here but still breathtakingly beautiful Ann Blyth to Sebastian Cabot harrumphing around as the Wazir. The only one who does is Vic Damone, who is about the worst actor ever (despite his lovely rendition of "The Night of My Life").
Worst of all, this edition from Turner Classics doesn't even bother to letterbox the Cinemascope compositions, so even despite the terribly distracting panning-and-scanning you can't see very easily who's talking to whom. This is best forgotten (unless you want to see the one number with Gray in all her oomphy glory).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great feel good movie. Wish it was on DVD, May 3 2003
By 
"zannedjinmonet" (Manchester, KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
I love this movie!
I grew up watching it repeatedly, with my mother (Ann Blyth look-a-like, and same hair style) singing these songs, while dancing around the room, sometimes joined by my father, so I can't say that I ever really paid any attention to how silly the movie itself was. :)
I love their versions of those classic songs better than any I've heard done by the correct kind of people, but I could have some bias.
Anyway, watching it still makes me laugh, dance alittle, and sing, but the VHS is rather awful in quality. I truely hope this film is transfered with better care to DVD format soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Wretched Transfer, Feb. 10 2003
By 
Randall B. Rock (Vancouver, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
If you've ever seen the laser disc (which was a near perfect transfer) of this title, you'd be horrified at this VHS transfer. Pan and scan travesty. Awful color. Fair audio. I only bought it to have a complete version after a malfunctioning laser disc player scrated one side of my LVD version beyond recovery. Hopefully this title will be decently transferred to DVD some day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Howard Keel fan..., Dec 27 2002
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
I can't believe that this was Keel's last MGM role in a musical, and that so few people have heard of it. He saves the film. The actor for the Calif is worse than a bad school production, and Marsinah seems a bit old. The music, however, is catchy and fun....and it should be, most the songs (most obviously "Stranger in Paradise") are a direct rip off of the Classical composer Borodin. Proper credit is givin to him, but most wouldn't pay attention to that. It's a sad day when classic musicals couldn't come up with their own score. Even with all this, it's a cute movie, and worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, that Dolores Gray!!, Oct. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
While this MGMer of the Broadway musical is somewhat of a mixed bag, it certainly has some things to recommend, not the least of which is the fabulous Dolores Gray in all her magnificent glory. She is the real thing if ever there was one, and she steals this film without even trying. Her rendition of "Not Since Ninevah" is thrilling, and it's one of the best vocal performances committed to film. She wipes the floor with Howard Keel in "Rahadlakum", and you can't take your eyes off of her even when she's just a background participant. The score is one of the oddest in Broadway history but, nevertheless, it's filled with both charming and energized songs, especially the afore-mentioned numbers with Gray and the classics "Baubles, Bangles and Beads" and "Stranger in Paradise". Keel is perfectly cast in the lead, and Ann Blyth offers a more brittle intensity than the usual MGM musical chorines - she deserved more of MGM's attention. The direction of Vicente Minnelli is, unfortunately, completely uninspired, as is the design of the whole production. It almost does in the wonderful cast, but there's nothing that can stop the formidable Miss Gray. One wishes her film career was more significant, but the movie musical was in it's death throes at the time. Still, "Kismet" stands as a lasting tribute to her authoritative genius. Don't underestimate HER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Politically Incorrect, But Funny, Jan. 29 2002
By 
Deborah Earle (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
Howard Keel at his comical, baritone best, leads a cast of entertainers who were at the height of their popularity in this colorful, sparkling musical.
He plays Hajj, the slick beggar-poet of Baghdad, who with his daughter Marsinah, played by Ann-Blyth who seems too old for the part although her singing is lovely, barely ekes out a living until one day their fortunes suddenly begin to change in a case of mistaken identity.
The casting of Delores Gray as the sultry siren, Lalume, is reminiscent of Marlene Dietrich in a similar role in the 1944 version of " Kismet". But it evokes the question, " How many blondes is one likely to find in Baghdad?" Her delivery of the bouncy, exotic " Not Since Nineveh" and of the kicky "Rahadlakume" make up for this politiclly incorrect oversight.
Sebastian Cabot as the villain who tries to keep the two younger lovers, the Caliph and Marsinah apart,is cold, aristocratic, and cunning.
As the Caliph, Vic Damone seems out of place but nails his duets of "Stranger in Paradise" and " And This Is My Beloved" with Ann Blyth, and leads the ringing chorus of " Night of My Nights" with eager and youthful adroitness.
While I question the accuracy in the portrayal of Ancient Baghdad, the comedy is pretty consistant, the romance passionate,
the costumes and musical score a feast for the eye and ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great musical!, Nov. 12 2001
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
I highly recommend this film. It has some beautiful songs and costumes! All the songs are great, especially "Stranger in Paradise."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fabulous fantasy, Nov. 8 2001
This review is from: Kismet [Import] (VHS Tape)
I've seen this musical countless times...it's always entertaining, and my appreciation for the performances increases with each viewing. Vocally and as a screen presence Howard Keel is superb, Ann Blyth and Vic Damone wonderful as the young lovers, and Dolores Gray sings up a storm and steals every scene she's in...her Lalume is sensational.
The sets and costumes are rich, colorful and imaginitive, and Jack Cole's choreography is terrific. The "Not Since Ninevah" number is a favorite...a big band jazz version of a Balinese dance. Robert Wright and George Forrest adapted the lovely music from themes by Borodin, and added some clever lyrics, but it's Keel and Gray that make this an irresistible treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb002a6f0)

This product

Kismet
Kismet by Vincente Minnelli (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 70.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews