Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE HEAD BANGIN
ALICE IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ROCKERS EVER POISON THE FIRST SONG IS JUST AMAZING HEAD BANGIN MOVE YOUR HEAD STUFF BUT I AGREE WITH THE ONE AMAZON PERSON IT'S A GREAT SONG BUT ALICE SHOUDN'T JUST NE REMBERD FOR POISON HE'S DONE TONS OF OTHER GREAT SONG I FIGERD SCHOOLS OUT FOR SUMMER WAS HIS MOST FAMOUS BUT NO SPARK IN THE DARK VERY ROCKIN HOUSE OF FIRE IS RATHER SWEET AND...
Published on July 10 2004 by TYSON

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Alice Tailor-Made for 1989
At the time this was hailed as Alice Cooper's "Comeback "album. Trash features an Alice Cooper made for 1989, the catchy commercial songs, the ballads, songs co-written with Desmond Child, and the collaborations with Steven Tyler and Jon Bon Jovi (also Joe Perry, Richie Sambora, Kip Winger and so on) were all attempts to make Alice seem more relevant at the time. The...
Published on July 27 2011 by Tommy Sixx Morais


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE HEAD BANGIN, July 10 2004
By 
TYSON (PARIS TEXAS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
ALICE IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ROCKERS EVER POISON THE FIRST SONG IS JUST AMAZING HEAD BANGIN MOVE YOUR HEAD STUFF BUT I AGREE WITH THE ONE AMAZON PERSON IT'S A GREAT SONG BUT ALICE SHOUDN'T JUST NE REMBERD FOR POISON HE'S DONE TONS OF OTHER GREAT SONG I FIGERD SCHOOLS OUT FOR SUMMER WAS HIS MOST FAMOUS BUT NO SPARK IN THE DARK VERY ROCKIN HOUSE OF FIRE IS RATHER SWEET AND COOL AND TONS OF OTHERS GREAT ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Alice Tailor-Made for 1989, July 27 2011
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
At the time this was hailed as Alice Cooper's "Comeback "album. Trash features an Alice Cooper made for 1989, the catchy commercial songs, the ballads, songs co-written with Desmond Child, and the collaborations with Steven Tyler and Jon Bon Jovi (also Joe Perry, Richie Sambora, Kip Winger and so on) were all attempts to make Alice seem more relevant at the time. The thing is Alice should never have cared about being current or follow trends which is pretty much what he did for "Trash". I can disagree all I want about Trash being a solid return to form but the results are there it did fairly well on the charts and this album gave Alice one of this biggest hits with "Poison".

I feel the opening track and lead single of the album "Poison" is by far the best song here although it's also the most popular. It's just a great big catchy ballad, it helped introduce Alice to a new generation and to this day it's always a live staple in concerts. "Bed of Nails" is in the vein of "Poison" in that it's a slower songs, almost a ballad that rocks a little more than Poison . A highlight of the album. "Spark In The Dark" is catchy and features a riff straight out of Bon Jovi, it's a darker song overall and while it's not the best song here and its subjected to criticism I quite like it. "House of Fire" is a bit more Alice-like and what you would expect from him but is still aimed at being a radio song as most songs from Trash are. "It's Only My Heart Talking" is another ballad, Steven Tyler participates on this one and his presence helps the song and for the time this was a good ballad. I feel those are the best moments here. There are some good moments on Trash but also filler or lesser material like the title track which doesn't cut it in my opinion or even the album closer "I'm Your Gun" which is too pop and doesn't hold up very well over time. Other songs can vary between mediocre to average.

This is the deal with Trash, it's far from Alice's finest moment and it suffers from perhaps too much production and it ends up being more of a pop album. I feel like there's less Alice, it's as if he went into the studio did what he was asked to by the producer or record company.It's truly a product of its time (1989), in fact there are songs that could have been played by just about any other Glam/Hair bands of the era (that said it could be considered a good Glam metal album but its just not really "Alice" which is why some fans were/are disappointed). Alice experimented earlier in the 80's with albums like Zipper Catches Skin, Flush The Fashion and Dada and this one almost does exactly the opposite. While those albums are usually not considered among Cooper's best they were fun experiments and unique to say the least, Trash is very calculated and goes for what's modern and popular and isn't very Alice-like. The album doesn't have an interesting concept unlike most of Alice's albums; the only theme I can find on Trash is love because after all, most of the songs here are love/sexual songs pure and simple. Besides I thought that Constrictor and Raise Your Fist and Yell were comeback records. Yet there are still a few great songs on Trash that makes it worth owning even though it's obviously not Alice's finest record or his best moment.

Needless to say Trash is not Alice's greatest moment. There are few songs on the album that are really good but to be honest there's also filler material and this really isn't one of the best Alice Cooper albums, in fact it's a little far from it. I wouldn't say its "Trash" but it's not a great album either as there is a lot of filler material. This one is for completists and hardcore fans mostly; otherwise I don't think it has much appeal besides "Poison" to the casual listener. Please don't take it as a stab to Alice, I love the man and what he's done, I'd still say it's worth the $6. Trash is I feel, as you may know by now an overrated album.2 /5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cooper's Comeback Nadir, Feb. 19 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
After the strictly heavy metal n' horror sounds of the previous two albums, Constrictor and Raise Your Fist And Yell, Alice decided it was time to get back to more diverse rock and roll sounds. This time he immersed himself in everything that was cool in the late 80's, and created a theme album about sex. Cooper albums usually have themes -- Alice Cooper in school (School's Out), Alice Cooper in hell (Goes To Hell), or Alice Cooper insane (From The Inside). Sex was a new theme for this character.

Alice teamed up with Desmond Child, champion of many Bon Jovi and Aerosmith discs, as well as Mr. Jovi and Mr. Tyler themselves, among others. The result is what I consider to be a weak disc, dated to the times, with only a few strong songs that have held up over the years. Granted, this is not as weak as DaDa, but it is certainly a nadir.

The first track and first single, "Poison", is by far the best song. It is strong because it is based on the riff, and though it is commercial it is not blatantly so. It has a unique sound to it. It's mostly downhill from there. "Spark In The Dark" is unremarkable, and so is the second single "House of Fire". "House of Fire" at least has a catchy chorus, but it is simply too cookie-cutter. You could exchange it with virtually any single from any band's albums in 1989.

"It's Only Heart Talking", which was not written by Alice, is a decent ballad made more remarkable by Steven Tyler's duet. Otherwise, it is forgettable and inferior to later Alice ballads such as "Might As Well Be On Mars" and "Stolen Prayer". Smash hit, though.

The lyrics to "Trash", a duet with JBJ himself and featuring Sambora on guitar, are so bad it's not even funny. "If my love was a lollypop, would you lick it?" Did Jon Bon just say that? "I'm Your Gun" is hardly better.

Special guests include: Tyler, Joe Perry, JBJ, Sambora, Tom Hamilton, Hugh McDonald, Joey Kramer, and Steve Lukather among others.

One of the more interesting songs that didn't make the album was "The Ballad Of Alice Cooper" by JBJ. There is a poor quality demo of Bon Jovi doing it in his best Alice voice out there. I think it might have been better than most of the tracks on the CD. The Japanese version, however, does have great live versions of "Cold Ethyl" and "Dwight Fry" recorded during this era.

Cooper's albums tend to go in soundalike pairs (Nightmare/Goes To Hell, Constrictor/Raise Your Fist, Brutal Planet/Dragontown). Trash is no exception. Although Cooper realized that Trash was too soft and weak, Hey Stoopid is essentially a brother record to this one. I find it to be much much stronger by comparison.

I would tell fans instead of picking up this CD, to pick up something like Cooper's Classicks instead. You'll get the major tracks from this as well as some rare live ones.

2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars best album since the band broke up, June 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
this album is awesome! its the best album besides the albums with the band! i like his hit, poison. who doesnt like it? its a good album. steven tyler has additional vocals on only my heart talkin!jon bon jovi has additional vocals on trash! if your an alice cooper fan, this album is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The album of 1989, May 20 2004
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
This is absolutely Alice Coopers best album and I'm sure it's the best one from 1989 (can't remember any better from that year). The whole album is really good with great hits such as Poison, House Of Fire and Bed Of Nails. Ok, there are a few less good songs (Trash, This Maniac's In Love With You and I'm Your Gun) but they're defenitely not bad. In opposite of Constrictor and Raise Your Fist And Yell this album doesn't sounds that 80's. Trash is a treasure for those who search for a great hard rock album and it's actually worth more than $9.98.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Alices greatest, March 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
I dont care what the old school die hard fans of Alice say about this metal era of songs. This album is a great album. I strongly recomend you buy this album with "Hey Stoopid" as they really should be a 2 disc albums! They both contain some of the greastest hard rockin metal songs i've ever heard. With an all star selection of guest musicions, how could these albums fail? I dont understand why these albums are so cheap to buy? on both those albums you hear a completly amazing onsomble of great musicions "Stef burns - huewy Lewis & The News" "Bon Jovi" "Ozzy Osbourne" "Joe Satriani" "Steve Vai" "Nikki Sixx" and many more.... these albums are absolute metal masterpeices, and if you dont like them, get your head exsamined, if your a rock n roll fan then these albums are a must have! every track, even if you dont like them at first, give them a few listens and they will grow on you till you love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cd!, March 8 2004
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite albums although I am not a big fan of Alice. It's got some great songs like "Posion" and "Hell Is Living Without You". I recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KIdHeart4's favorite Alice Cooper album!, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
This is a great Alice Cooper album. Poison is a classic. Also, not only does it have great rock 'n' roll hits like the title track, Bed Of Nails, House Of Fire, and Spark In The Dark, but it also has touching strong love songs such as Only My Heart Talkin' and Hell Is Living Without You. A great come back album from Alice Cooper, released in 1989. I promise that you'll enjoy it too if you're an Alice Cooper fan! It's definately my favorite Alice Cooper album, and one of his greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say about alice cooper, Aug. 13 2003
By 
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
HI folks I am an Alice cooper fan from India.Well alice cooper is my all time favourite and this is my best alice cooper album.Songs like "poison", "house on fire" are all time hits filled with heavy duty guitar lead breaks.So if you are into Alice cooper,UFO,etc. then this is a must buy record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Your Mama thinks I'm filthy...Your Daddy calls me scum...;p, July 24 2003
By 
Pamela Scarangello (Middletown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trash (Audio CD)
In my ever-growing album collection, I currently possess a total of 11 CDs released by the Godfather of Shock Rock. Out of all the records Alice Cooper has written in his career, "Trash" is without a doubt the absolute WORST. Why, you ask? "Trash" is one of the few Cooper records that displays no interesting concept and is poorly thought out. Generally, this 1989 EP is nothing more than an overglosed package of rehashed hair metal fluff. I'm sad to say this, but Alice is trying WAY TOO HARD to sound like either Bon Jovi or Poison's Brett Michaels. The tracks themselves are jumbles of pitifully predictable lyrics about sleazy sex and groupies, while the anthem-style choruses are numbly repeated over and over again. I chose to rate "Trash" 2 stars in response to 2 of its highlights: "Poison" is a decent 80's classic which, of course, rescued Alice from the brink of obscurity, and the tearful "Hell is Living Without You" is definitely the most well written. Unfortunately, there are also songs on "Trash" that are downright AWFUL: "This Maniac's In Love With You," with its infectious dance hook, transforms Alice's demented Dwy Fry character into a terrible joke. "I'm Your Gun" (featuring Kip Winger, of all people) is so sexually explicit that the lyrics sound like a commercial jingle for an adult novelty toy! Again...DOWNRIGHT AWFUL! If you still suffer from 80's nostalgia and miss the Headbanger's Ball, I recommend to you 1987's "Raise Yer Fist" and 1991's "Hey Stoopid." Those 2 albums stand the test of time and officially mark Mr. Cooper reaching the peak of his success in the decade when heavy metal ruled MTV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trash
Trash by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews