Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Big, Fat, Greek Hit!
This is a fun and flavorful soundtrack for our own lives. About half Greek music, half traditional (one could say, Xeno), this CD captures the interplay of the world of the Greek family, and one woman's adventures when she steps outside of it. It sates our taste for romance, and the urge to get up and dance (Ompa)!
Here's a breakdown of the songs included on the...
Published on Oct. 7 2002 by Elizabeth Darcy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if you're not greek...
This is a very americanized CD. If you're looking for greek music, check out some CDs from the islands- This has some american instruments in the background, behind the singer and bouzuki. The singers voice was also a little too pampered.. It's sounds pretty, but dosn't have the same bite as ethnic music does to it. It's not something you could picture your anscestors...
Published on May 15 2004 by C. Karathanasis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Big, Fat, Greek Hit!, Oct. 7 2002
This is a fun and flavorful soundtrack for our own lives. About half Greek music, half traditional (one could say, Xeno), this CD captures the interplay of the world of the Greek family, and one woman's adventures when she steps outside of it. It sates our taste for romance, and the urge to get up and dance (Ompa)!
Here's a breakdown of the songs included on the CD:
Track 1: The opening credits and the introduction to Toula's Greek World.
Track 2: Toula's transformation and the beginning of her adventure.
Track 3: The wedding song everyone dances to in the end.
Track 4: All about Greek families.
Track 5: Auditioning 'nice Greek boys.'
Track 6: Celebrating Easter with the family.
Track 7: The two families get to know each other better.
Track 8: Roasting lamb on a spit in the front yard.
Track 9: Toula and Ian spend time together.
Track 10: Grandma's theme.
Track 11: Three generations of Greek women.
Track 12: Flirting at the travel agency.
Track 13: You wanna go to Fiji? Let's go!
Track 14: the other wedding song (nod to That Thing You Do!)
Track 15: background music at the restaurant.
Buy it, it's fun, you'll like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if you're not greek..., May 15 2004
By 
C. Karathanasis "dancingkiki" (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very americanized CD. If you're looking for greek music, check out some CDs from the islands- This has some american instruments in the background, behind the singer and bouzuki. The singers voice was also a little too pampered.. It's sounds pretty, but dosn't have the same bite as ethnic music does to it. It's not something you could picture your anscestors playing.
In review: If you're not Greek, buy this CD, it's great! If you are Greek, go buy a different CD, this one's too gentle.
Christos Aneste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music Makes the Movie, Aug. 13 2002
By 
Barbery G. Byfield (LA, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Ever seen a movie without the soundtrack? Amazing how much of the story and character is revealed through the marvels of music. Without a composer who understands how to weave instrumentals with the voice of the director, writer and actors, a story wallows in the monotone of narrative. Janko's soundtrack does a wonderful job of creating a musical tapestry that serves not only as backdrop, but illuminator of character, story, setting and ambience. If I knew the Greek for Mazeltov! I'd hand him a hearty one right here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, Aug. 12 2002
By 
Stafford Mckay "sawiba@gmail.com" (Indian Wells, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This soundtrack is a must for anyone who has seen the movie or truly appreciates the many angels of Greek tradition. The original score compliments all aspects of this incredible film. Janko has captured every emotion (the range includes all imaginable) appropriatly and beautifully. I look forward to enjoying more films and scores in the future that demonstrate the same caliber of quality. I was afraid, until now, that such talent was from a bygone era. What a relief! Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harmony w/ Greek Tunes!!!!!, Jan. 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from the perspective of a retired couple who travels around the world and enjoys having dinner parties. This CD is wonderful while cooking a Greek meal, dining with Greek food and yes, even while cleaning up the dishes from the Greek feast. The music has harmony and incorporates more instruments than you normally hear in Greece. Greek food and Greek music...not for everyone... BUT ... high probabilities you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immersed In the Atmosphere, Aug. 12 2002
Usually I wouldn't take the time to write things in, but I bought this CD on a lark due to the links in here, and I like it more than the original CD which I came to buy. You totatlly feel like you are immersed in the Greek culture, but not in a cheesey way. Definitely a lot of fun to listen to. A great CD for listening to with guests to create a great atmostphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where's all the Pirates?, Dec 14 2002
By 
CrackersCoinslot (Davey Jones Locker) - See all my reviews
Ahoy there matey's, this be a dirty dose of scullduggery if every I've sighted one!
All the Big Fat Greeks I've ever seen ave asurely been more worthy Seadogs than them here. Why, apart from one rather chubby lassy I mistook for Moby Dick towards the end there be nothin to keep a non-landlubber on his sea-legs
one hook outa five
arrre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ummpa!, Jan. 24 2003
By 
What a great film! I was pleasently surprised to view this film and to find that it wasn't chalked full of special effects and violence. This would be a movie for everyone, but not everyone enjoys light-hearted romantic comedies. The acting is superb and the story is sweet and easy-going. One of the best movies I've seen this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Moving Music!, Feb. 18 2003
By A Customer
A great, high-paced greek music CD! What can I say? The first time I saw the movie (my favorite movie in all the world), the first thought was is there a soundtrack! The music is so moving and makes you just want to dance. You have to check this out! 5 stars for pitch perfect music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a greek out of me!!!, Aug. 12 2002
By A Customer
What an awesome movie and thankfully a soundtrack was made which was so true to both the film and greek culture. I have friends who are greek that have seen the movie and bought the soundtrack as gifts. Definately a good one to get!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Big Fat Greek Wedding
My Big Fat Greek Wedding by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews