Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Album, Sept. 1 2006
By 
Philip Meyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
Blue Oyster Cult is an interesting band. They have many sounds. People not familiar with their stuff other than Reaper and Godzilla will say, "That is BOC?" Mirrors is such an album. It strays somewhat from their earlier stuff (what doesn't stray from BOC's "black and white period," i.e., their first three albums.) But that does not mean that Mirrors is bad. In fact, it is quite good. It has been said that this is their "pop" album. Perhaps. However, it is very BOC-ish in many ways, is upbeat, and has a polished sound to it. I agree with another reviewer that if this album had come out in another time and under different circumstances, it would have been a huge hit. Again: Blue Oyster Cult, despite the ominous overtones from Reaper and other material, is a very upbeat sounding band. No Black Sabbath here. They have always had a jamming, let's enjoy the music, to hell with the message quality, and Mirrors is an excellent example of that. You will not be depressed after Mirrors or any other BOC album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1979 will live forever, May 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
what a jewel this one is. i agree, 25 years later and i think this one still sounds great. yet it really isn't as far removed from what the band had done in the past and what it was moving towards, as everybody was making out. I view it as more of a natural progression of the band's growth in conjunction with the new rock sound of the late 70's. It does contain "I Am the Storm" and "The Vigil", which are sort of from the "Secret Treaties" vein, and continued B.O.C.'s Sci-Fi intrigue with "The Great Sun Jester". The band demonstrates their awesome versatility on this record perhaps more than any other with "You're Not the One I Was Looking For", "In Thee", "Lonely Teardrops", and "Dr. Music" and "Moon Crazy".
If you listen though, some of these still have a ring of "Agents of Fortune" and hint broadly of the coming hit "Burnin' for You". The song "Mirrors" has a bit of a Knackish-Dharma sound. And I think this record really offers more of what Buck was getting into at the time. And his own solo effort isn't too far removed from this fare. What makes B.O.C. great is the merging of Dharma's guitar riffs with Bloom's Sci-Fi intrigue and mystery.
Bloom is at his best on "E.T.I." from "Agents" which I just saw live recently, and I think he does it better than ever. But Bloom was overshadowed on "Agents" by Buck singing their mega hit "Don't Fear The Reaper", and he wasn't the major player on "Mirrors" either but, you know, as much as I like Buck Dharma, it is Eric Bloom's presence that makes it all work.
If there is a fault to this album, its that there were only 9 songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tense Drive Down the Highway with B.O.C., Feb. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
"Mirrors" is a look at what Blue Oyster Cult would have sounded like if they had conformed into a radio-friendly rock group when they began in the early 70s. But the word "conform" is not appropriate at all, since the album still finds BOC in a world of their own. Nonetheless it remains true that, if any of their previous albums were to be played on the radio (then or now), they would come off like nothing else being played. Their first hit 'Don't Fear the Reaper' had proven that. Therefore, "Mirrors" is as "radio-friendly" as a BOC album can get.
Certainly Blue Oyster Cult at its most melodic, "Mirrors" is a fascinating find for listeners. The menace that haunted earlier works is found only in moments of 'Dr. Music' and 'I Am the Storm' (one of the few songs here that would have fit perfectly on albums like "Tyranny and Mutation" or "Secret Treaties"). But the talent is still obvious, not to mention BOC's trademark use of sci-fi themes in 'The Great Sun Jester,' or even 'Moon Crazy.' 'In Thee' meanwhile became a much-appreciated song to the fans, being one of their few songs that melted into the grooves of radio-friendliness with such ease. It should also be noted that 'Lonely Teardrops' is bizarre (even for this band), but in an alluring and listenable way.
Even though it's a great recommendation for newer fans, hardcore BOC listeners will embrace the album most, and will not be able to take it out of their disc player; "Mirrors" defines the term "lost classic."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine bit of rock stands in the stormy waves of disco-punk., Nov. 9 2003
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
If anyone in 1978 had taken B.O.C.'s core values, signature sound and lovey-doomy imagery, then tried extrapolating what their sixth studio album might sound like, this would have not figured as the result.
There's a great deal of light still buring in the forest, though. The trademark mythology spurts out powerfully through 'The Great Sun Jester', 'The Vigil' and 'I Am the Storm' but most of this album is easily a departure and even these tracks glow in a less ghostly light than is the norm.
That doesn't mean the remainder is dross. If anything, 'Mirrors' gives a much-needed uplift in the wake of dark-image-laced 'Agents ...' & 'Spectres' (let's leave out the apocalyptic pictures 'Some Enchanted Evening' conjured). 'Dr. Music', 'Mirrors', 'Moon Crazy' and 'You're Not The One (I was Looking For)' serve as brilliant, spring-rock quickies that may be bankrupt in the band's mythos account but rock fast and rock well. 'In Thee', the one to lift from here for collection-purposes, is a beautiful bit of soft-rock, every ready to spring to the air waves upon request. 'Lonely Teardrops' completes the album and is probably the darkest hour on board this LP, notwithstanding the dolorous wails of 'I am the Storm' or the melancholic destructo-ballad 'The Vigil'. Sometimes Lanier really could out-devil Roeser in the scary sound department.
In short, 'Mirrors' was an entry of diversity and taking risks. New producer, new studio, new sounds, new confidence from a dollar-fattened group made this very much a surprise trip into uncharted waters. Luckily, the gamble worked and alienation from the fan base wasn't automatic due to it's release. Light and souffle-like in many regards, 'Mirrors' needed to serve as a fleet-footed vehicle, ushering the Oyster Boys into the Eighties and consolidating their somewhat paradoxical status as lyrically-esoteric but arena-rock oriented. Taking the sum of its parts, straining it through a filter constructed from an appreciation for what the band were facing at this juncture in their career, and evaluating the feeling after one walks away from this album for the Nth listen, it's worth an easy 85% (close to 4.5 stars). But I'm prepared to be generous - it's stood the test of time and, unlike other bands who flirted with different sounds, B.O.C. are justly unashamed of their work here. Well done, guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, Sept. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
Back in 1979, my brother and I bought this reccord and realized that by the end of the summer Blue Oyster Cult would be the greatest band in the world. This album had everything, sweet lyrics, postive vibes, female vocals, etc.. BOC had finally decided, lets invite the whole world to our expierence. But something went wrong, and that was Columbia records. If BOC was with Atlantic Records, they would still be selling out Stadiums!
Mirriors is a great album, The Vigil, Great Sungester, Mirriors are just a few tracks 25 years later that still sound incredibly fresh. If MTV had existed in 1979, this album would have sold 10 million copies. But if you think about it, every BOC album has been short changed. But in 500 years, people will still listen to Mozart, Led Zep, and the best of all, Blue Oyster Cult!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best BOC album., Sept. 8 2003
By 
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
This is my favorite Blue Oyster Cult album. I love the songs and the playing is awesome. Sure, people have complained about it being too polished but musicianship is a growing experience. Polish of this sort is simply a matter of the band growing and learning. If you want to make something that counts and lasts you might tend to polish it a bit and make it sound as good as you possibly can. I would never fault anyone for this. The songs are all catchy, the production is first rate and I love cruising and listening to this in the car. Really good driving music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " The Vigil"......, July 30 2013
By 
Breadmanwalking (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
This is probably my favourite BOC title and I recently purchased
the Box set so, my question is...this Culture Factory imprint...
is it worth it? There are no reviews as of this writing. Strange
how these latest remasters have been released on the heels of the
17 disc Box. I will have to wait till someone writes about this before
I even consider taking the leap! An UPDATE will follow if I can get any
info on these re-issues.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking Into "Mirrors"....., Feb. 20 2012
By 
Breadmanwalking (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mirrors (Audio CD)
I loved this when it was released on vinyl and have two
copies of the CD. The only bad thing is that they never
remastered this sucker. This is great American rock and
I recommend this over all other releases by BOC."I Am The
Storm" is one of the best cuts as is "The Vigil" and my fave
"Moon Crazy". Some really good double-tracking guitar licks....
If they ever get around to cleaning this one up and re-releasing
I'll be there with credit card in hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirrors
Mirrors by Blue Öyster Cult (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews