Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie ever made
The gloriously written script by the master of the screen, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, made this the best of all of Bette Davis's movies. Her talent develops a personality that is both ruthless yet sensitive, as she plays Margo Channing, a well established stage actress who accepts, then regrets, a young fan, played by Anne Baxter. Through Thelma Ritter's wise cracks, to...
Published on March 30 2005 by Jane Doah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Mankiewicz's Best!
Joseph L. Mankiewicz's 6 time Oscar winning film is my pick for one of the best black comdies of all time. It is one of the wittiest and most well paced comedies of all time as well (Though "His Girl Friday" is up there as well). They just don't make them like this anymore. All the rage today for comedies are to gross you out. The more disgusting a comedy, the more money...
Published on Sept. 30 2001 by Alex Udvary


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie ever made, March 30 2005
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
The gloriously written script by the master of the screen, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, made this the best of all of Bette Davis's movies. Her talent develops a personality that is both ruthless yet sensitive, as she plays Margo Channing, a well established stage actress who accepts, then regrets, a young fan, played by Anne Baxter. Through Thelma Ritter's wise cracks, to Margo's personal evaluation in the back seat of a broken down car, you never fall asleep, wonder what else could go wrong. Margo's tantrums, while spoiled as they are, are ear candy, putting her whole strength into every word. George Sanders, playing the arrogant yet tactful Addison DeWit, received the Academy Award for his splendid role. The contempt, spite, betrayal, and pure 100% sacrasim weaves a tapestry of a humorous satire on the lives of people of the theater, which will never be duplicated to a higher level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All about everything, Nov. 1 2004
By 
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
Of course, All About Eve is more than a chick flick even though the men, Bill Sampson (Gary Merrill) as Margo's beau, and Lloyd Richards (Hugh Marlowe) as a writer (and husband of Margo's best friend, Karen, played by Celest Holm) headed for Hollywood, take a back seat to the main action which is the playing out of the eternal power struggle between (take your pick: they all fit psychologically): youth and age, the daughter and the mother, the bride and the mother-in-law, the upstart and the established talent, the new and the old.
Bette Davis is excellent of course, and the role fits her like a glove. But what transfixed me as a child was the contrast between the wholesome good looks of Anne Baxter and her sneaky treachery. Could someone so pretty be so bad? I may have wondered who I would have preferred for a mother, Davis or Baxter, and perhaps have come away not knowing. For Bette Davis the luster had gone from those famous eyes, and so it was only natural that her character Margo feared the loss of love from men. Even that I understood as a child. And in Baxter, youth would be served and perhaps she could be forgiven the lies because time does not stand still for anyone, especially it does not stand still for a starlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Jan. 30 2005
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
It sounds cliche to say, "Not enough stars," but that's exactly the way I feel about this film. I've actually seen every Bette Davis movie ever made, but this is by far the best. With a mind-blowing plot and a brilliant cast, you can't go wrong with ALL ABOUT EVE. Anne Baxter is at her best here (she was did less well in movies after this) and the rest of the gang is perfectly matched. With a "What goes around comes around" theme, ALL ABOUT EVE may just be the most perfectly made movie ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckle-Up!, July 16 2003
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
Directed by Joseph L. Mankiewicz  who received Academy Awards in 1950 for his work both as director and as author of the screenplay, All About Eve is also all about what can sometimes be cutthroat competition for fame more than fortune in the New York theatre world. Margo Channing (Davis) is among its brightest stars. The calculating Eve Harrington (Baxter) concludes that her single major barrier is Channing so she ingratiates herself with the fading but celebrated Broadway actress, obtaining a position as her personal assistant. Her duplicity succeeds. At least for a while, she conceals her ulterior motives even from world-weary and cynical theatre critic Addison De Witt, played so well by George Sanders that he also received an Academy Award as best supporting actor.
Every other member of the cast is first-rate. I always get a kick out of Marilyn Monroe's brief appearance as Miss Claudia Caswell, an aspiring actress whom De Witt identifies as "a graduate of the Copacabana school of dramatic art." I also thoroughly enjoy the generally under appreciated Thelma Ritter as Birdie Coonan, a character who possesses what Hemingway described so well as a "built-in, shock-proof crap detector." Of course, the most famous of many great lines is Channing's warning, "Fasten your seat belts. It's going to be a bumpy night." She gradually realizes how vulnerable she has become to ambitious young actresses such as Eve who will do whatever it takes to achieve the status and stature which seem to be slipping from her grasp.
When I recently saw this film again, I appreciated more than I had in the past the essential decency of characters such as Karen Richards (Holm), Bill Sampson (Merrill), and Lloyd Richards (Marlowe). I think Mankiewicz wrote them into the script to suggest that, yes, the "Great White Way" can also be gray and even black at times; however, many of those in the theatre world are not so self-serving and even unscrupulous as Eve Harrington. In my opinion, this is one of Mankiewicz' key points: Without associates such as Coonan, Richards, Sampson, and Richards, Harrington will one day be even more vulnerable to others than Channing was when Eve callously maneuvered her way into her (Margo Channing's) life.
The film also received and certainly deserved its Academy Award as well as the praise it continues to receive. Those who share my high regard for it may also enjoy Sweet Smell of Success (1957), All That Jazz (1979), and especially The Chorus Line (1985). Fortunately, all three are available in the DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top ten all time favorites..., July 11 2003
By 
DorParkr "Brighton Reader" (Brighton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
All About Eve is one of the best movies ever made. Simply and clearly, in my opinion. It follows the lives of New York stage stars and chronicles the rise of Eve Harrington in the stage world. Bette Davis plays her mentor and benefactress. The writing is top rate. If you like movies with snap, crackling dialogue, bitchy repartee, and an insider's look in to the workings of the stage milieu, this movies IS FOR YOU. You will have quotes for days and get to see the debut of Marilyn Monroe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic--definitely of its era, June 10 2004
By 
This review is from: All About Eve [Import] (DVD)
Some critics have pointed out that Joseph Mankewics' movies resemble filmed plays. That criticism can certainly be levelled at All About Eve Althogh Bette Davis is magnetic and the storyline is compelling, sometimes it feels like a sequence of speeches . The camera work is static, which does lead to the feeling that one is watching a play.
That being said, the advantage of having a DVD is obvious as I really preferred enjoying the movie over several days. The plot has been stated by other reviewers and has been the basis for at least one Carol Burnett satire. Despite the plot's familiarity, the movie has such conviction that one can't help being sucked in. I've seen the movie at least five times, but each time I am sucked in at the freeze frame of Anne Baxter receiving the Sarah Syddons award at which time we hear George Sanders informing us that the story of Eve is about to unfold: "All About Eve, in fact."
Davis comes across as a bemused,sometimes bitter, very vulnerable survivor. Hugh Marlow to a great extent, Anne Baxter, to a lesser one always give the impression that they are Acting. Their self-consciousness makes Marilyn Monroe's natural quality all the more wonderful. Celeste Holm provides a commonsense best-friend foil for Bette Davis. George Sanders and Thelma Ritter are superb, both being the realists of the cast--with Sanders as the egocentric misanthrope and Ritter as the embodiment of loyalty. If you become very interested in this movie, also buy the book "All about All about Eve" by Sam Staggs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All About Eve - What Is There To Know?, March 5 2004
This review is from: All About Eve (VHS Tape)
All About Eve is a film about a closely-knit group of theatre folk. Eve (Anne Baxter) is a young woman who is obsessed with the well known and loved actress Margo Channing (Bette Davis). She awaits outside by the stagedoor every night, just to see Margo enter and exit. A close friend of Margo, Karen Richards (wife of the writer Lloyd Richards [Celeste Holm]) sees Eve and invites her in to finally meet Margo. Eve tells of her personal life to Margo, the Richards, and Birdie (Margo's maid [Thelma Ritter]). Eve's life is a tragic one, and the party of friends immediately bring her into their fold, especially Margo. Bill Sampson (Gary Merrill), the director, enters to fetch Margo from her dressingroom. He wants her to see him off at the airport, for he is going to Hollywood to direct one movie. Eve asks him "Why Hollywood?" Bill sounds off to the effect that the theatre is not the centre of the world. But, eventually, he takes a liking to Eve, who joins them at the airport. Margo takes Eve to live with and work for her. Who would know that this "mousey" young woman would turn out to be a RAT! Eve schemes and cons her way to get a coveted role in a new play by Lloyd Richards (Hugh Marlowe). She is eventually found out by one Addison DeWitt (George Sanders), who is critic and columnist of the theatre. He truly knew all about Eve. Addison takes on Eve as a sort of project; he sees a great deal of talent in her, and wants her to succeed. The end is quite amazing. But all turns out well for the group of friends; and even for Eve (but for her it's a sort of left-handed success). Bette Davis is wonderful in this film. She plays an aging actress who is in love with the director, Bill Sampson, who is eight years her junior. You can't help but feel a deep sympathy for Margo. The cast, story, settings are all superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Update on my earlier review: Great new RESTORED DVD version!, Feb. 15 2004
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
This is one film that is never as good as it's remembered to be. I don't even think it was ever as good as it was supposed to be. I think a post-mortem edit would vastly improve the storyline. Either that or an autopsy.
Perhaps it's time for a remake. I can just imagine dozens of Bette Davis drag queens "camping out" (pun intended) the night before auditions to recast the Davis role! (Where is Charles Pierce when we need him?)
The film has it's merits, but it is so hopelessly dated and corny that only the biggest of Bette Davis fans can get through an entire viewing without swigging martinis ala Diva Davis herself.
Two sparkling moments shine through this heavy-duty divadrama: Bette belting out the immortal line "Fasten your seatbelts, it's gonna be a bumpy night!"; and Marilyn Monroe's minor appearance at Bette's boyfriend's birthday bash.
TECHNICAL REMARKS:
There is a NEW DVD release of this film in which the image quality has been digitally restored. This version is a HIGH QUALITY restoration of the original film. Definitely an improvement on the earlier DVD release on which I originally submited a technical review. If you bought the earlier original DVD release, throw it to the wind like a frisbee (and hopefully your dog won't retreive it) and go out and buy the newly released digitally restored DVD version. It's worth the extra price... which is exactly why Fox released an inferior version prior to releasing a digitally-enhanced version. After all, a big conglomeration like Fox Video can't make money unless we all go out and buy the same film twice!
*** This review will be remembered as the first-ever appearance of the word "divadrama", which I came up with today, 1/9/02. Remember you heard it here first. When you hear it on "Will & Grace" you'll know it was my personal contribution to gay society. Thank you! ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All About Great Entertainment, Jan. 22 2004
By 
This review is from: All About Eve [Import] (DVD)
"All About Eve" is one of the greatest films released in 1950. It deservingly garnered a record 14 Oscar nominations (tied only by "Titanic") and won four, including Best Picture. Its plot adaptation from the original TV special is brilliant. Its theme of a middle-aged actress who meets an admirer who's determined to break into show business. Its combination of drama, romance, and betrayal keeps audiences interested from beginning to end. The various narration lines are a brilliant way to accent the events and the characters' emotions without the annoying repetition. Every event and word expressed keeps the necessary emotions intact. Such substance forces the audience to think about the storyline rather than revealing everything at once.
The acting is great! Bette Davis proves as always that she's one of the top 10 greatest actresses in cinema history. Her role as the stage actress Margo Channing is unique from other movies. Davis expresses Channing's bad attitude superb. Anne Baxton portrays admirer Eve Harrington wonderfully. Baxton combines Harrington's truths and deceptions perfectly while never losing the quality. Davis and Baxton deservingly received Oscar nominations for Best Actress for their roles. George Sanders won his Oscar for Best Supporting Actor for his role as Addison Dewitt, which he performs brilliantly. All other actors also perform their roles wonderfully; Celeste Holm, Marilyn Monroe, and others.
"All About Eve" is the ultimate film experience for those looking for a classic. Every detail in this film answers why this became a classic. This is sure to continue pleasing audiences for many more years. Fans and those looking for more should also watch "Jezebel" (1938, starring Bette Davis), and "Chicago" (2002, explores more show-biz greed),
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic story; classic performances, Dec 23 2003
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal/NorCal/Maui) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All About Eve (VHS Tape)
When I was a kid I would go to the second-run movie theater virtually every Saturday and watch three features, a cartoon and a newsreel indiscriminately. It was all wonderful to me (although I would hide bashfully behind the seat during the love scenes). I would come out of the theater several hours later (sometimes watching one of the features twice) amazed at what I'd seen and changed forever.
The first adult movie that ever really held my interest though was All About Eve. Such is the power of the all too human story and how directly and clearly it is told from a celebrated script and some sublime direction by Joseph L. Mankiewicz. Bette Davis who was then, by Hollywood standards for actresses, an ancient 41-years-old but not yet halfway through a 58-year movie career, stars as Margo Channing, a New York stage actress feeling very heavily the loss of her splendid youth. Eve Harrington is played with a veiled duplicity by Anne Baxter in a breakout role. I sat with fascination, understanding perfectly how and why she had insinuated herself into Margo's life, and on the edge of my seat to find out what would become of her. Yes, a child may well know of such matters, and it is to the credit of Mankiewicz and everyone involved in the production that a movie could be made that would inform and fire the imagination of a ten-year-old boy while at the same time intrigue and entertain adults. Ah, if only they made "chick flicks" like this today!
Of course, All About Eve is more than a chick flick even though the men, Bill Sampson (Gary Merrill) as Margo's beau, and Lloyd Richards (Hugh Marlowe) as a writer (and husband of Margo's best friend, Karen, played by Celest Holm) headed for Hollywood, take a back seat to the main action which is the playing out of the eternal power struggle between (take your pick: they all fit psychologically): youth and age, the daughter and the mother, the bride and the mother-in-law, the upstart and the established talent, the new and the old.
Bette Davis is excellent of course, and the role fits her like a glove. But what transfixed me as a child was the contrast between the wholesome good looks of Anne Baxter and her sneaky treachery. Could someone so pretty be so bad? I may have wondered who I would have preferred for a mother, Davis or Baxter, and perhaps have come away not knowing. For Bette Davis the luster had gone from those famous eyes, and so it was only natural that her character Margo feared the loss of love from men. Even that I understood as a child. And in Baxter, youth would be served and perhaps she could be forgiven the lies because time does not stand still for anyone, especially it does not stand still for a starlet.
Notable in supporting roles are Thelma Ritter and George Sanders, the former as Margo's maid and alter-ego Birdie, the latter as the cynical and barbed theater critic, Addison DeWitt (named perhaps with the 17th/18th century Brit wit and essayist Joseph Addison in mind), who escorts about town none other than a not-so-dumb blonde named Marilyn Monroe in her screen debut. The script, resplendent with some very sharp one-liners, was adapted from the story, "The Wisdom of Eve" (a bit of irony-on-the-square in the title perhaps) by Mary Orr and of course became the Broadway musical Applause (not yet a movie). Mankiewicz won Oscars for both his script and his direction, and Sanders won for Best Supporting Actor while the movie itself won for Best Picture over such fine films as Sunset Boulevard and Born Yesterday. Both Davis and Baxter were nominated for Best Actress but lost out to Judy Holliday in Born Yesterday.
Bottom line: one of the great stories of the theater, a classic Hollywood film not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW All About Eve (1950) (DVD)
CDN$ 22.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews