Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie ever made
The gloriously written script by the master of the screen, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, made this the best of all of Bette Davis's movies. Her talent develops a personality that is both ruthless yet sensitive, as she plays Margo Channing, a well established stage actress who accepts, then regrets, a young fan, played by Anne Baxter. Through Thelma Ritter's wise cracks, to...
Published on March 30 2005 by Jane Doah

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could of been better
Much of the editors from way back then seem to keep it kind of boring. Only real spots seems to be at the Airport, fan waiting in alley. Movie dragged on. Thought their be makeovers, more training to be a star. But no, only be a fan/friend and then steal away your best friend to get into show business. It was like on purpost not enough gas got into the tank, just to hold...
Published on Feb. 17 2003 by readmyreview


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie ever made, March 30 2005
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
The gloriously written script by the master of the screen, Joseph L. Mankiewicz, made this the best of all of Bette Davis's movies. Her talent develops a personality that is both ruthless yet sensitive, as she plays Margo Channing, a well established stage actress who accepts, then regrets, a young fan, played by Anne Baxter. Through Thelma Ritter's wise cracks, to Margo's personal evaluation in the back seat of a broken down car, you never fall asleep, wonder what else could go wrong. Margo's tantrums, while spoiled as they are, are ear candy, putting her whole strength into every word. George Sanders, playing the arrogant yet tactful Addison DeWit, received the Academy Award for his splendid role. The contempt, spite, betrayal, and pure 100% sacrasim weaves a tapestry of a humorous satire on the lives of people of the theater, which will never be duplicated to a higher level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Jan. 30 2005
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
It sounds cliche to say, "Not enough stars," but that's exactly the way I feel about this film. I've actually seen every Bette Davis movie ever made, but this is by far the best. With a mind-blowing plot and a brilliant cast, you can't go wrong with ALL ABOUT EVE. Anne Baxter is at her best here (she was did less well in movies after this) and the rest of the gang is perfectly matched. With a "What goes around comes around" theme, ALL ABOUT EVE may just be the most perfectly made movie ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All about everything, Nov. 1 2004
By 
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
Of course, All About Eve is more than a chick flick even though the men, Bill Sampson (Gary Merrill) as Margo's beau, and Lloyd Richards (Hugh Marlowe) as a writer (and husband of Margo's best friend, Karen, played by Celest Holm) headed for Hollywood, take a back seat to the main action which is the playing out of the eternal power struggle between (take your pick: they all fit psychologically): youth and age, the daughter and the mother, the bride and the mother-in-law, the upstart and the established talent, the new and the old.
Bette Davis is excellent of course, and the role fits her like a glove. But what transfixed me as a child was the contrast between the wholesome good looks of Anne Baxter and her sneaky treachery. Could someone so pretty be so bad? I may have wondered who I would have preferred for a mother, Davis or Baxter, and perhaps have come away not knowing. For Bette Davis the luster had gone from those famous eyes, and so it was only natural that her character Margo feared the loss of love from men. Even that I understood as a child. And in Baxter, youth would be served and perhaps she could be forgiven the lies because time does not stand still for anyone, especially it does not stand still for a starlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckle-Up!, July 16 2003
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
Directed by Joseph L. Mankiewicz  who received Academy Awards in 1950 for his work both as director and as author of the screenplay, All About Eve is also all about what can sometimes be cutthroat competition for fame more than fortune in the New York theatre world. Margo Channing (Davis) is among its brightest stars. The calculating Eve Harrington (Baxter) concludes that her single major barrier is Channing so she ingratiates herself with the fading but celebrated Broadway actress, obtaining a position as her personal assistant. Her duplicity succeeds. At least for a while, she conceals her ulterior motives even from world-weary and cynical theatre critic Addison De Witt, played so well by George Sanders that he also received an Academy Award as best supporting actor.
Every other member of the cast is first-rate. I always get a kick out of Marilyn Monroe's brief appearance as Miss Claudia Caswell, an aspiring actress whom De Witt identifies as "a graduate of the Copacabana school of dramatic art." I also thoroughly enjoy the generally under appreciated Thelma Ritter as Birdie Coonan, a character who possesses what Hemingway described so well as a "built-in, shock-proof crap detector." Of course, the most famous of many great lines is Channing's warning, "Fasten your seat belts. It's going to be a bumpy night." She gradually realizes how vulnerable she has become to ambitious young actresses such as Eve who will do whatever it takes to achieve the status and stature which seem to be slipping from her grasp.
When I recently saw this film again, I appreciated more than I had in the past the essential decency of characters such as Karen Richards (Holm), Bill Sampson (Merrill), and Lloyd Richards (Marlowe). I think Mankiewicz wrote them into the script to suggest that, yes, the "Great White Way" can also be gray and even black at times; however, many of those in the theatre world are not so self-serving and even unscrupulous as Eve Harrington. In my opinion, this is one of Mankiewicz' key points: Without associates such as Coonan, Richards, Sampson, and Richards, Harrington will one day be even more vulnerable to others than Channing was when Eve callously maneuvered her way into her (Margo Channing's) life.
The film also received and certainly deserved its Academy Award as well as the praise it continues to receive. Those who share my high regard for it may also enjoy Sweet Smell of Success (1957), All That Jazz (1979), and especially The Chorus Line (1985). Fortunately, all three are available in the DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top ten all time favorites..., July 11 2003
By 
DorParkr "Brighton Reader" (Brighton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
All About Eve is one of the best movies ever made. Simply and clearly, in my opinion. It follows the lives of New York stage stars and chronicles the rise of Eve Harrington in the stage world. Bette Davis plays her mentor and benefactress. The writing is top rate. If you like movies with snap, crackling dialogue, bitchy repartee, and an insider's look in to the workings of the stage milieu, this movies IS FOR YOU. You will have quotes for days and get to see the debut of Marilyn Monroe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2008 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment DVD Edition, April 20 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
This edition is a 2 disc set with plenty of extras. There is a 2 page booklet in the case.

Disc 1 - All About Eve - 1950, B&W, 138 mins, full screen 1.33:1, languages: English stereo, English, French & Spanish mono, subtitles: English & Spanish, close captioned in Spanish & French, scene selection. Extras: 2 commentary tracks & an isolated score track

Disc 2 - Featurettes: Directed By Joseph L. Mankiewicz (25:58), Joseph L. Mankiewicz: A Personal Journey (25:56), The Real Eve (18:10), The Secret Of Sarah Siddons (7:07), AMC Backstory: All About Eve (24:24), vintage Bette Davis promotion (1:15), vintage Anne Baxter promotion (1:21), Fox Movietonews (4 segments), restoration comparison, theatrical trailer (3:07), interactive pressbook gallery, poster gallery & stll gallery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my faves. I loved Bette Davis in this movie. In fact all of the cast. I also loved George Saunders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About Eve [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well I got this movie new on Blu-ray and it was a great purchase and it is greatly restored and great story line, bette davis at her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am surprised how great this film is, May 3 2013
By 
Keith Smith "Keith" (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review applies to All About Eve blu-ray (blu-ray cat# 2275161) obtained around April 2013.

I highly recommend this film for both men and women.

I bought the blu-ray to have an example of this genre in my collection. But when I watched it I was really surprised how much I, a 58 y/o male, enjoyed this film.

This is a famous and well received successful film, but I expected it to be as boring as many unbelievable chick flicks are today. NO WAY. This was humerous and suspenseful, and the characters were revealing and believable.

To me, a big reason to buy a blu-ray, instead of watching TV or in a theatre, is to get the full director's version, to get the best restoration possible, and to get the extras (the commentary, explanation and interviews). The commentary, explanation and interviews are especially important for older films and films about special subcultures.

This version of this film has loads of extras so you can fully understand and appreciate it as you re-watch it again and again over the years.

The extras:
Audio commentary by Celeste Holm (actor), Kenneth Geist (director's biographer), and Christopher Makiewicz.
Audio commentary by author Sam Staggs
Joseph L. Mankeiewicz: A Personal Journey
The Real Eve
AMC Backstory: All About Eve
Vintage Bette Davis promotion
Vintage Anne Baxter promotion
Fox Movietone News (1951 "Academy Award Best Film" and also "Hollywood Attends Gala Premier of All About Eve")
Theatrical trailer

Again I highly recommend this version of this film for both men and women. (Under age 18 or so you'd probably find it boring.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Try 5,000 stars, July 11 2004
This review is from: All About Eve (DVD)
By far the best movie ever made, with a flawless script, a cast that is unsurpassed, and a "what goes around, comes around" theme, this tour-de-force of acting and writing is now a cult classic. Anne Baxter has her best role ever, and Bette Davis is superb. George Sanders is also stellar. One feels that these actors are actually playing themselves most of the time, or at last digging so deeply into the characters that you're unable to tell where the star leaves off and the character begins. Couple this with some of the best lines ever written for a movie and a cameo by Marilyn Monroe and you are indeed in for "a bumpy night." If you don't like this movie, quick, get yourself to a hospital--without a doubt you need immediate medical attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW All About Eve (1950) (DVD)
CDN$ 22.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews