Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, intelligent, and entertaining.
Review for Fox Video DVD 2008 release of Witness for the Prosecution.

The picture and sound quality are flawless.

A movie from Billy Wilder. It's a courtroom drama. It's well cast and the acting is great. They're believable. The way it's filmed reminds me of an Alfred Hitchcock movie. It's Intelligent, entertaining, dramatic with a twist of funny,...
Published on July 3 2011 by ElyseAli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy by today's standards
I agree that this movie is a prototype for countless future courtroom dramas, but that said, it wasn't too terribly exciting.
Marlene Deitrich- icon at large- has always been a bit creepy to me- she's so cold- even when she's not supposed to be & don't get me started on her singing!
I still like to watch films she stars in, because I believe one day I'll...
Published on March 27 2004 by lady detective


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, intelligent, and entertaining., July 3 2011
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
Review for Fox Video DVD 2008 release of Witness for the Prosecution.

The picture and sound quality are flawless.

A movie from Billy Wilder. It's a courtroom drama. It's well cast and the acting is great. They're believable. The way it's filmed reminds me of an Alfred Hitchcock movie. It's Intelligent, entertaining, dramatic with a twist of funny, twists, and suprises.

Definately deserves a spot in your movie collection. Worth the money and time you'll spend on it.

I envy anyone watching it for the first time! You'll be left satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Laughton, Feb. 16 2013
By 
Cattieluver (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
Many people consider this to be Tyrone Power's best and Marlene Deitrich plays the stero-typically unemotional German woman to a "T", in director, Billy Widler's movie. In my opinion, however, it is Charles Laughton who steals the show.

The dialogue his character has and the way he delivers it against the acting of his long-time wife, Elsa Lanchester, is just delightful. An excellent story and well worth watching for it's an early Hollywood example of a twist in the ending. One cannot be too surprised by the ending, though, considering the story was written by Agatha Christie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining drama, May 6 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
Leonard Vole (Tyrone Power), an American living in London, is accused of killing an older woman who befriended him. His defense barrister (Charles Laughton) is convinced of the man's innocence but puzzled over the peculiar behavior of Mrs. Vole (Marlene Dietrich).

This movie's trailer touts the 'shocking' ending and, I have to say, I did find it so surprising that I immediately rewound the tape to watch and enjoy it again. Power is slick, handsome, and appears too old to always be called 'young man' by his lawyer, but is otherwise very good. Laughton is the real star of the show and gives an outstanding performance full of wit and passion. His scenes with Elsa Lanchester are very funny. Dietrich is mysterious until the very end, the epitome of an icy, cool, and calculating female. This is a very British story, with most of the action set in a courtroom. The dialogue is spirited and the pace is quick.

I had expected the movie to be dated and a bit dull, but I enjoyed it thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie based on Agatha Christie's play, March 3 2014
By 
irena (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
The acting is superb! Brilliant courtroom drama with many surprises. Loved Charles Laughton as the shrewd barrister who added humor to the plot with some of his antics! The ending was completely unexpected. Never saw it coming. Highly recommend this movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie...good twist to it., Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
I loved this movie! Glad to own it. Have watched it many times, and am not board doing so . It has a great plot, and Great acting. Would recommend this one for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great characters in conflict., June 21 2013
By 
Gilles Brousseau (montreal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
The movie is interesting because we see Marlene Dietrich and Tyrone Power in opposite characters from the outside and inside. One of the best movie and do not forget in the interpretation of Elsa Lanchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie., Jan. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
An old, but good movie that was purchased for my mother-in-law who enjoys old movies with great stories to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witness for the Prosecution, Dec 7 2012
By 
Robert The Bruce (Vancouver BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
This is one of Agatha Christie's greatest plays - GREAT SUSPENSE, & 3 SUPERB ACTORS.
All I can say - it is a great film, that anyone would enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Where is my cocoa?", July 8 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
Sir Wilfrid Robarts (Charles Laughton), Barrister is returning to work prematurely from hospital for a heart condition. He is accompanied by fussy Miss Plimsoll (Elsa Lanchester) Nurse.

Sir Wilfred promised not to take on any strenuous case. However in exchange for a chance to pilfer a forbidden cigar he soon gets intriguingly involved in a murder case. You can tell that Leonard Stephen Vole is being actively accused of murder based on circumstantial evidence. Sr. Wilfred after giving charismatic Leonard the eye-glass test is sure that he is innocent and knows if he does not take an active part in the trial that Leonard is doomed. To make matters worse Leonard's wife Christine Helm Vole (Marlene Dietrich), his only alibi, is some sort of cool character and looks suspicious her self.

Will Sir Wilfred take on the case? And if so will he die trying?

What is Christine's secret?

How will it turn out in the end?

This film is well played and will keep you on the edge of your seat. You will be like the jury vacillating over his innocence and the outcome of the trial. Do not let Leonard's story distract you from the bantering and budding affair between Sir Wilfred and Nurse Plimsoll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first time I saw this..., June 6 2004
This review is from: Witness for the Prosecution (DVD)
...six unblinking, spellbound eyes took every moment in--that is to say, my parents and I (eye!) were thoroughly riveted. The plot was deliciously unpredictable, and Marlene was so unflinching in her role. Perhaps it's not the most feel-good movie in the world, but it's well worth watching anyhow. You're a witness...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbcfe9590)

This product

Witness for the Prosecution
Witness for the Prosecution by DVD (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 15.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews