Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it wasn't for the fantasy scenes....
... This would of been an excellent DVD.

I was hoping that when this DVD was reissued that there would of been an option to ignore the fantasy sequencies which we could of done without. Certain portions were obviously staged [selling of unauthorized merchandise is one and when John Paul says the concert is tomorrow when in fact the New York shows were at the...
Published on March 17 2008 by Gis A. Bun

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, But Still Fun.
Finally what many Zep fans have hoped for, a remastered rerelease of The Song Remains The Same. I know i have and that is strange because i never thought that the performances are all that great. And over the years the band has come out and said that they too don't think they played well at those New York shows ( the bootlegs of the Los Angeles shows are far superior...
Published on Nov. 29 2007 by carlos vala jr


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it wasn't for the fantasy scenes...., March 17 2008
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
... This would of been an excellent DVD.

I was hoping that when this DVD was reissued that there would of been an option to ignore the fantasy sequencies which we could of done without. Certain portions were obviously staged [selling of unauthorized merchandise is one and when John Paul says the concert is tomorrow when in fact the New York shows were at the end of the leg of the tour).

That said, the audio and video are an incredible improvement over the original edition.

The "Collector's Edition" contains a shrink rapped extra-large [though maybe really a large] t-shirt, cards from various reviews [including a 1-star], replica tickets to various shows, promo snapshots, and a chance to order a fairly large poster [US only].

Second DVD has extras including the trailer, 4 more clips, interviews, etc. Unsure why they didn't keep the concert clips together instead of splitting them up. Video for most of the second DVD wasn't cleaned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, But Still Fun., Nov. 29 2007
By 
carlos vala jr (toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Finally what many Zep fans have hoped for, a remastered rerelease of The Song Remains The Same. I know i have and that is strange because i never thought that the performances are all that great. And over the years the band has come out and said that they too don't think they played well at those New York shows ( the bootlegs of the Los Angeles shows are far superior performances). But this is the only official document of that tour so we cling to it, we come back to it, even though the band's playing is sloppy and tired. But it still is fun to watch, just to see a young Led Zeppelin in their heyday. And that tiny stage. Here they were playing arenas and stadiums and they had a stage set that was right for a 2000 seat concert hall. There are a few good performances such as the extras Misty Mountain Hop and Celebration Day and the Ocean. There just isn't enough of them.

The package is nice, it comes with a set of lobby cards, some reproductions of movie premiere tickets and newspaper clippings. Most importantly the picture quality and sound quality are vastly improved, it really does sound and look beautiful. And if you don't already know, the film isn't completely live. When the band got back to England they weren't happy with what they filmed so they set up the stage in Shepperton studios and reshot many scenes and you can see some times that Jimmy's guitar playing isn't in synch with what we hear and see. Also the film was shot over 3 nights in N.Y and the band was told to wear the same clothes for all shows to make it look like one show, but John Paul Jones wears different clothes on each night and the editing reflects that. You see JPJ wearing 3 different outfits in one song. Sad really. One last thing i would like to add is why with todays technology, they didn't give us an option to watch the film with or without the fantasy pieces, which i always found boring. So there you have it, not a great film, but still a fun snapshot of the band when they ruled the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad legacy for a great rock band, Nov. 20 2001
By 
Gerald B. Johnson (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If this wasn't the only concert film available of Led Zeppelin it wouldn't be such a tragedy.. but it is.
This is a second rate concert at best. At the time it was released Plant himself acknowledged its shortcomings, saying it simply had to be released, regardless of the calibre of the music. His words were to the effect that it 'certainly wasn't magical'. And it isn't.
For those of us lucky enough to have heard/seen a magical performance of Led Zeppelin in their prime, this concert representation is a pathetic farce. It doesn't even scratch the surface of the brilliance of the band.
On top of the mediocre performance, the editing is simply brutal. The 'dream' sequences spliced in and out of the concert footage are rather silly and beside the point, and even the live footage is so butchered that the sound/images don't match half the time.
As for the 'dream' sequences themselves.... the fact that the makers of this film are trying to 'liven up' a Led Zeppelin concert should be your first clue that something is wrong.
It's not that this film is so bad that bothers me, it's not terrible... it's just mediocre. BUT THAT'S THE PROBLEM! Led Zeppelin was one of the best rock bands of all time.. anyone watching this who had never seen a 'magical' concert would scratch their heads and wonder what all the fuss was about.
Let's pray that somewhere, sometime, someone digs up some magic from the video vaults and shows the kind of mind-blowing concert that these guys were capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, the only official Zeppelin video performance, March 23 2000
By 
Adam M. Miles (Nashua, NH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone who owns any "underground" Zeppelin performances (or, for that matter, BBC Sessions) knows that this is NOT Led Zeppelin at their best. In fact, the 73 tour may well have been their worst. If you're a fan, of course you have to own this, but if you're a REAL DIE-HARD FANATIC, then send some blank tapes to someone in a newsgroup and get yourself a copy of a performance from the early days or the L.A. shows of '77. Then you'll REALLY hear what Led Zeppelin was all about... and you'll realize that 'The Song Remains The Same' was an unfortunate mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Realm of Giants, Feb. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Led Zeppelin will remain the giants of Rock 'n' Roll for a long time to come. Although they've been criticized for "robbing" the blues greats, the truth as any student of the blues will know is that the tradition of the blues (and folk for that matter) is to take existing songs and then modify them with new variations and improvisations until eventually a new song emerges that's virtually indistinguishable from the original. Led Zeppelin have done this with some of the early songs, especially on the first album, but then developed their own unmistakable sound that has since been imitated but never duplicated. This concert is a document of the band at the peak of their powers, claiming their place as the undisputed biggest band in the world at the time, and for many years after.

"The Song Remains the Same" showcases the band during their 1973 USA tour promoting their Houses of the Holy album, with footage from their three nights at Madison Square Garden in New York. The great (now classic) songs from the first five albums are here, including "Dazed and Confused", "Rock and Roll", "Moby Dick", "Whole Lotta Love", and of course the anthemic "Stairway to Heaven". But this is more than simply a film of the concert, as it includes several "fantasy" sequences for each individual band member, making it into a mix of live concert footage and music video, during the days before music videos were widely available on MTV (and many places elsewhere within a few years). The fantasy sequences are intertwined with the concert film, giving each band member a chance to show his individual personality through imagery only made possible with film. The original film (disc one of the two disc version) also includes some news or documentary type footage of the concerts, including investigation of the disappearance of money that the band had deposited in the hotel's safe deposit box.

This new release of the original movie has added a second disc that contains some additional concert footage (not from New York), as well as an interview with manager Peter Grant and lead singer Robert Plant, originally shown on BBC's "The Old Grey Whistle Test" prior to release of the film in 1976. In total it may not be much in terms of "bonus material" or "extras" but for any Zeppelin fanatic - and I include myself here - it's really a "must have" addition to all of the other Zeppelin albums and videos that are bursting our shelves. Besides, at the price being offered, it's almost free in the sense that I can buy the new two disc version and trade the previous one disc version with a friend for something else.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this newer version, even to anyone who has the previous version already in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Song Indeed Remains, Aug. 19 2006
This movie, as wonderful as it is, is in my opinion for Zep- fans only. Those interested in good music(concert)DVD should go for the marvellous Led Zeppelin: DVD, as it offers excellent classic rock and stage performances for all music-lovers out there.
Of course, this dvd too offers good music, lots of it, and great snippets (and more) of Led Zeppelin in concert, the concert being Madison Square Garden in 1973. Wonderful, wonderful. This material is essential at least to all of us hardcore Zep-fans. :o)

Sound isn't exactly the same quality as in DVD, but no means bad either. Only gripe is the (rare) spoken lines, the volume has to be turned louder to hear them. (Actually, I have to do that in the concert snippets in DVD, too) Picture is softer, as it is in these elder materials in any releases, no biggie to me. It's not like the guys are blurry or anything.

Then there are the beautiful takes of the band in their homes, with their family. (filmed in '76) Nice. Especially love the Bonzo-parts. Down-to-earth -material (all of them).

But the real treat to me are the fantasy sequences. Love them, love them to bits. I think every Zep-lover is able to appreciate these fun fantasies, which give us a wider view of these guys. My favourite part is Robert's knight fantasy. Just watch his face! Sometimes he looks like he could burst out laughing any minute! They were most certainly having fun when filming. :oD

I just have to give this a fiver, this is such an entertaining piece of work. Go, LedZep!

So, all you who can't get enough of this teeny weeny group called Led Zeppelin. Go ahead, treat yourself and spend a lovely (weekend) afternoon! :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin film/fans deserve better...* **, March 13 2004
By A Customer
I would like to elaborate on two quotes by another reviewer.*, **
1)
"..The sound is excellent on this DVD, but as another reviewer noted: the 'fake' widescreen matte leaves much to be desired. How about a *remastered*, Special Edition DVD version in *anamorphic widescreen* with *all* of the outtake live performance footage (e.g. 'Celebration Day') as extras?"
* I agree: This description is exactly the kind of DVD I would buy and give 5 stars for. In view of film preservation, this version is inaccurate and imcomplete. I too would prefer the very best special edition possible. As much as I want to watch and relive this film experience again, I can't under the present circumstances-paying money now for the current version would mean I am in agreement with the cheapened mindset of the agency responsible.
Fans should unite and press the issue upon Led Zep management to get to work on releasing the film as described above. Maybe Jimmy Page is the one who would be able to get the ball rolling...
2)
"n.b.--Jimmy Page never played a Les Paul Custom [DVD front cover illustration] onstage with Zeppelin."
**...Absolutely. Futhermore, this cover has nothing to do with the movie-where's the MOVIE POSTER??? The proposed Special Edition DVD should include the ORIGINAL MOVIE POSTER artwork. I cannot believe someone would make such an oversight. - what is up with that guitar on the cover of the current DVD??? - Its a gross display of inaccuracy and negligence that should be corrected at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin are amazing live!, Jan. 16 2004
By 
When I first bought this I had heard that it wasnt that good. Boy Were those people ever wrong, this is one of the best concert films I have ever seen, if not the best!
The Musical performance is amazing here. John Bonham is killer on the drums, when I saw them play 'Moby Dick' and Bonham went into that amazing drum solo it blew my mind! John Paul Jones tears of the bass and when he plays the keyboards on 'No Quarter' its so freakin cool! Robert Plants vocals are great like always. Jimmy Pages guitar playing is insane, I was watching them play 'Since I've Been Loving You' and Jimmy has to be one of the top guitar players ever, as if you didnt already know that. The song selection is great! Every song they play is a Led Zeppelin Classic.
The film footage is a great touch to an already steller experince. Like during 'The Rain Song' wear Robert Plant is all mid-evil and ridding horses and stuff its really cool!
This is one of the best rock and roll films ever made, its almost as good as The Doors, and that is saying a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zeppelin in it's heyday!!!, Aug. 28 2003
By 
Jeannie (Corvallis, OR United States) - See all my reviews
I lot of people have put this down, but to me it is truly a spectacular show....even with the dream sequences. I just fast forward thru some of them. From what I've read, the crew they hired to film the concert didn't keep the cameras rolling all the way thru some of the songs. So they had to put something in there to take up the space of the missing footage while you heard the song being played. I agree the dream sequences are a bit silly, but it does show a side to each of their personaities at that time in their lives. You have to remember that this was shot in 1973, people...30 yrs. ago! For not having today's technology, you have to admit that it doesn't sound that bad and the picture quality is quite good! I think Jimmy's solos are exceptional! Dazed and Confused does go on quite a bit too long, but that's what made him a legendary guitarist...his improvosational skills were unmatched by any guitarist then, and since, and he does a supurb job of showing that off in this film! The band has enormous energy which is plain to see. Their talent is also unmatched. I highly recommend this film to any Zeppelin fan or really to anyone who wants to witness the best guitar player on this planet and the most talented band that ever graced the face of this earth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funky 9th American Tour Remains The Same, Aug. 16 2003
By A Customer
MUSIC PERFORMANCE ***** : showcases one of the great improvising rock bands coming off of their best tour ever in terms of spontaneity, instrumental virtuosity, and creativity. 3rd European tour of March 1973 was the apogee of their live musical interaction (e.g. Vienna, Munich, Essen, Offenburg)--although other performances from first leg of thirty-eight city 9th American tour (e.g. May 13th Mobile, AL or May 31st Los Angeles, CA) approached this level, the Zeppelin was in gradual descent from an absolute, towering musical peak when it touched down at Madison Square Garden . . .
July 27th, 28th & 29th shows were the final ones of 1973, high points include 'Since I've Been Loving You', 'Dazed And Confused' (hardcore funk fusion!), 'The Song Remains The Same' (great guitar solo half obscured by fantasy footage), 'Whole Lotta Love' (gettin' the funk out), and 'Stairway To Heaven' [along with 'Misty Mountain Hop' and 'The Ocean', available separately on "Led Zeppelin - DVD"].
MOVIE/DVD *** : as clearly explained in the Peter Grant biography "The Man Who Led Zeppelin", this movie was a long, drawn-out project for Jimmy Page & Co. to finish (kind of like Jerry Garcia & Co.'s efforts to finance and edit "The Grateful Dead Movie" with Leon Gast during 1974-1977). Filmmakers Peter Clifton & Joe Massot had shot many hours of Madison Square Garden live concert footage from three separate performances, and were required to cobble together a Feature Film (it's not really a documentary) out of this, combined with fantasy sequences from individual band members, and several extra 'onstage' scenes re-shot at Shepperton Studios, UK summer 1974--one year after the tour had ended. The "most expensive home movie ever made"--according to Peter Grant--was released in fall 1976.
In various ways of course, this film - along with other classic 'rockumentaries' - became a touchstone for Rob Reiner's "This Is Spinal Tap" . . . yet, his film retains a certain warm acknowledgment of love for the music which inspired it.
The sound is excellent on this DVD, but as another reviewer noted: the 'fake' widescreen matte leaves much to be desired. How about a *remastered*, Special Edition DVD version in *anamorphic widescreen* with *all* of the outtake live performance footage (e.g. 'Celebration Day') as extras?
n.b.--Jimmy Page never played a Les Paul Custom [DVD front cover illustration] onstage with Zeppelin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews