Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Realm of Giants
Led Zeppelin will remain the giants of Rock 'n' Roll for a long time to come. Although they've been criticized for "robbing" the blues greats, the truth as any student of the blues will know is that the tradition of the blues (and folk for that matter) is to take existing songs and then modify them with new variations and improvisations until eventually a new song emerges...
Published on Feb. 27 2012 by Keith Perkins

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but major let down!
The first time I saw this film was at a local high school when I was in grade nine. Was not overly impressed but I did enjoy it. Then around ten years ago they put out the Led Zeppelin DVD set and that was awsome. So I figured when this was being rereleased it would be a lot better. Wrong! First off Jimmy Page took a lot of liberties when doing the DVD. First off almost...
Published 19 months ago by Stephen Bieth


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In The Realm of Giants, Feb. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD) (DVD)
Led Zeppelin will remain the giants of Rock 'n' Roll for a long time to come. Although they've been criticized for "robbing" the blues greats, the truth as any student of the blues will know is that the tradition of the blues (and folk for that matter) is to take existing songs and then modify them with new variations and improvisations until eventually a new song emerges that's virtually indistinguishable from the original. Led Zeppelin have done this with some of the early songs, especially on the first album, but then developed their own unmistakable sound that has since been imitated but never duplicated. This concert is a document of the band at the peak of their powers, claiming their place as the undisputed biggest band in the world at the time, and for many years after.

"The Song Remains the Same" showcases the band during their 1973 USA tour promoting their Houses of the Holy album, with footage from their three nights at Madison Square Garden in New York. The great (now classic) songs from the first five albums are here, including "Dazed and Confused", "Rock and Roll", "Moby Dick", "Whole Lotta Love", and of course the anthemic "Stairway to Heaven". But this is more than simply a film of the concert, as it includes several "fantasy" sequences for each individual band member, making it into a mix of live concert footage and music video, during the days before music videos were widely available on MTV (and many places elsewhere within a few years). The fantasy sequences are intertwined with the concert film, giving each band member a chance to show his individual personality through imagery only made possible with film. The original film (disc one of the two disc version) also includes some news or documentary type footage of the concerts, including investigation of the disappearance of money that the band had deposited in the hotel's safe deposit box.

This new release of the original movie has added a second disc that contains some additional concert footage (not from New York), as well as an interview with manager Peter Grant and lead singer Robert Plant, originally shown on BBC's "The Old Grey Whistle Test" prior to release of the film in 1976. In total it may not be much in terms of "bonus material" or "extras" but for any Zeppelin fanatic - and I include myself here - it's really a "must have" addition to all of the other Zeppelin albums and videos that are bursting our shelves. Besides, at the price being offered, it's almost free in the sense that I can buy the new two disc version and trade the previous one disc version with a friend for something else.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this newer version, even to anyone who has the previous version already in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it wasn't for the fantasy scenes...., March 17 2008
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
... This would of been an excellent DVD.

I was hoping that when this DVD was reissued that there would of been an option to ignore the fantasy sequencies which we could of done without. Certain portions were obviously staged [selling of unauthorized merchandise is one and when John Paul says the concert is tomorrow when in fact the New York shows were at the end of the leg of the tour).

That said, the audio and video are an incredible improvement over the original edition.

The "Collector's Edition" contains a shrink rapped extra-large [though maybe really a large] t-shirt, cards from various reviews [including a 1-star], replica tickets to various shows, promo snapshots, and a chance to order a fairly large poster [US only].

Second DVD has extras including the trailer, 4 more clips, interviews, etc. Unsure why they didn't keep the concert clips together instead of splitting them up. Video for most of the second DVD wasn't cleaned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars return to good times, Jan. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD) (DVD)
There is nothing special here,even the so called extras aren't anything to write home about.
But if you like Led Zeppelin this has to be a part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie!, March 11 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD) (DVD)
I cannot say enough good stuff about this movie! I know lots of people say these were not their best performances, but it's still amazing to watch. "Dazed and Confused" and "No Quarter" blew me away. The sound on this movie is great, you can hear pretty much everything quite clearly. I have yet to watch bonus features, I just keep rewatching the concert!
The weird little acting sequences add some variety and interest throught out the movie, because it could get a little dry at times.
I recomend this movie to anyone and everyone! It's amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but major let down!, Sept. 23 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The first time I saw this film was at a local high school when I was in grade nine. Was not overly impressed but I did enjoy it. Then around ten years ago they put out the Led Zeppelin DVD set and that was awsome. So I figured when this was being rereleased it would be a lot better. Wrong! First off Jimmy Page took a lot of liberties when doing the DVD. First off almost every song have the vocals double tracked on it. Something he could not do here because people would pick it up right away since most Zep heads have heard the album a thousand times not counting previouse VHS and DVD copies of the film. I was really looking forward to the HD soundtrack. But there are cut out on it that have never been fixed. For real! At some point a drop out was added to the master during Moby Dick. Now I am not a huge of Moby Dick but when a company releases a major music film like this in a mass release and there is a flaw in it during the past this would be recalled and fixed. But not now a days. Now they say it's only a drop out yet the drop out does not occur on the dolby digital track. When Band's as huge as Zeppelin have this happen to them it tells you how bad the industry is screwed up.
The film is shot on a off night. The audio has been majorly sharpened up and the picture has never looked better. If you love Zeppelin you will love this film. Just switch to the Dolby track for Moby Dick or skip it all together. Even thow it is not on Blu Ray Led Zeppelin DVD is by far the best bang for your buck. It covers their whole career and it even has a few songs from the Song to boot! In the words of Otto the bus driver as he is being swept away to his death "Zeppelin Rules"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Dec 21 2013
This movie is really well done, considering the amount of footage that was lost. The fantasy sequences that everyone is complaining about were entirely necessary, a lot of footage was destroyed after sitting for three years between the concert and the original movie release. This was also meant to be a documentary, and the insight into the band was also necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome concert, April 5 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD) (DVD)
this is led zep in there prime no quarter and since, ive been loving you, dazed and confused, my favorites I never get sick of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars over priced, Jan. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although the DVD was great the hike in price because it was the "collectors edition" was not worth it. T-shirt didn't make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, But Still Fun., Nov. 29 2007
By 
carlos vala jr (toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Finally what many Zep fans have hoped for, a remastered rerelease of The Song Remains The Same. I know i have and that is strange because i never thought that the performances are all that great. And over the years the band has come out and said that they too don't think they played well at those New York shows ( the bootlegs of the Los Angeles shows are far superior performances). But this is the only official document of that tour so we cling to it, we come back to it, even though the band's playing is sloppy and tired. But it still is fun to watch, just to see a young Led Zeppelin in their heyday. And that tiny stage. Here they were playing arenas and stadiums and they had a stage set that was right for a 2000 seat concert hall. There are a few good performances such as the extras Misty Mountain Hop and Celebration Day and the Ocean. There just isn't enough of them.

The package is nice, it comes with a set of lobby cards, some reproductions of movie premiere tickets and newspaper clippings. Most importantly the picture quality and sound quality are vastly improved, it really does sound and look beautiful. And if you don't already know, the film isn't completely live. When the band got back to England they weren't happy with what they filmed so they set up the stage in Shepperton studios and reshot many scenes and you can see some times that Jimmy's guitar playing isn't in synch with what we hear and see. Also the film was shot over 3 nights in N.Y and the band was told to wear the same clothes for all shows to make it look like one show, but John Paul Jones wears different clothes on each night and the editing reflects that. You see JPJ wearing 3 different outfits in one song. Sad really. One last thing i would like to add is why with todays technology, they didn't give us an option to watch the film with or without the fantasy pieces, which i always found boring. So there you have it, not a great film, but still a fun snapshot of the band when they ruled the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awesome, Aug. 9 2009
By 
Brian O. Sullivan "70s guy" (Stouffville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD) (DVD)
This a classic cult film from the 70s. Be sure your television or viewing device is hooked up to a decent sound system and crank it up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb47b9d5c)

This product

Led Zeppelin - The Song Remains The Same (Special Edition) (2DVD)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 6.99
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews