Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Feel-Good Movie of the Year!
I really enjoyed this movie about a boy, in an orphanage, who refuses to give up hope that he will, one day, be reunited with his parents. His musical ability is all he has, which was his legacy from them.
This movie is about how hope, and music, makes that long-sought reunion, between parents and child, possible.
Be WARNED: When I saw the movie for the first...
Published on April 8 2008 by Lorna J. Loomis

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't rush to August Rush
The movie is hokey. We watched it as a family but no one enjoyed it. It is a classic Hollywood story-line with no surprises; quite unrealistic.
Published on Jan. 17 2010 by joan zyla


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Feel-Good Movie of the Year!, April 8 2008
By 
Lorna J. Loomis "Canadian Dog Fancier" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie about a boy, in an orphanage, who refuses to give up hope that he will, one day, be reunited with his parents. His musical ability is all he has, which was his legacy from them.
This movie is about how hope, and music, makes that long-sought reunion, between parents and child, possible.
Be WARNED: When I saw the movie for the first time in the theatre, there wasn't a dry eye in the house.
You will really enjoy this movie and the sound track is amazing also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A song, a song, high above the trees, Dec 18 2008
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Listen. Can you hear it? The music. I can hear it everywhere. In the wind... in the air... in the light. It's all around us."

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Boy musician (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) meets girl musician (Keri Russell) and they make beautiful music up on the roof before going their separate ways
2. Little orphan boy (Freddie Highmore) hears music in the wind and feels a connection to the parents he never knew
3. Desperately seeking parents, he winds up in New York City where he is taken in (in more ways than one) by a man named Wizard (Robin Williams, channeling Fagin)
4. He discovers a previously dormant musical talent, and impresses everyone
5. Fairytale ending will leave you asking or more

This movie is actually a modern day fairy tale, with an incredibly talented cast and a fantastic soundtrack. In fact, it is the music that makes it so special, and I can't recommend it highly enough. This is one to own and watch over and over again.

"All you have to do is open yourself up. All you have to do... is listen."

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 13 2012
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love this movie and have lent it to others who have as well. Great price and fast shipping. I will watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars August_Rush Outstanding_Feel_Good_Movie, Feb. 23 2009
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
August Rush is a light hearted cheery movie, perfectly designed for a lazy day Sunday afternoon with the one you love, or even alone if you are lover of the classic musical love story. A musical prodigy enters into this world and is forced into being a lost child by a over-bearing father and a love and a family group which was meant to be is held off for over a decade due to a strong family ruler.

Finally thru fate and for the love of music and what control it has over people, young Evan now renamed August Rush is living his dream to get his music out to the masses so his long lost mother and father can find him. In a final concert in Central park August gets to play his August Rhapsody in "C" major and his call to his parent is answered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The music is in you, Feb. 14 2009
By 
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because the plot is relatively simple with not a lot of twists or turns, and I was a little disappointed with the Robin Williams character, but I will say that if you are a music lover, this movie may fill your soul with creative inspiration.

I say "may" because I have no idea if *everyone* would enjoy the music that is played in the movie, but I can't see how anybody wouldn't be moved by it because you can feel that the music was written with such inspiration and from the heart of the composer. My husband and I both really enjoyed it (but of course, we are both music lovers).

The boy was really a sweet character too, really cute and likeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars August Rush - A must for family viewing, Sept. 20 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is a superb presentation of the triumphs and struggles that a young musical genius. And when early in the show, it appears that a saint-like person takes in begging street kids for "their benefit" and safety. However as the movie progresses, it becomes abundantly clear that this saintly individual is actually taking advantage of these kids to satisfy his own monetary greed. Then as this young boy, August Rush is about to reach stardom, this greed creep tries to prevent his stardom. But in the end, August Rush prevails.

My only problem with this dvd is that I loved it so much, that I loaned it to someone close to me, and they never returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mix of Annie and Oliver with a modern musical edge!, Sept. 3 2010
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
August Rush - I picked up this DVD and began to watch it without reading the back cover. I was not disappointed. It was a great film, with superb music and very cleverly edited, with the film looking forward and back, intermixing with the present interspersed with clever sound effects, as it filters in and out.

The film was a mix of Annie and Oliver with a modern musical edge. It was unusual to see Robin Williams with ginger hair as the modern Fagan who befriends August Rush - a music prodigy who ran away from his orphanage, believing that he can hear music in everything and that he must follow it to find his parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, April 14 2009
By 
Anna (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love August Rush. It's a beautiful movie. The only part that could be better is Robin Williams... he seemed an unlikely person for the character to me. Then again, his character is kind of crazy, so I guess that works...
It's a movie for people that love music :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AUGUST RUSH, Nov. 1 2010
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
ONE OF THE MOST UPLIFTING MOVIES YOU WILL EVER SEE. YOU WILL NEVER FORGET IT. This is the kind of movie our children (as well as ourselves) would enjoy watching instead of the usual gore and violence that we usually expose ourselves to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, July 11 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you want to watch a movie that makes you feel great for days after, watch this. I loved this one so much I bought this copy for a friend, she felt the same way about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

August Rush (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
August Rush (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Kristen Sheridan (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews