Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Feel-Good Movie of the Year!
I really enjoyed this movie about a boy, in an orphanage, who refuses to give up hope that he will, one day, be reunited with his parents. His musical ability is all he has, which was his legacy from them.
This movie is about how hope, and music, makes that long-sought reunion, between parents and child, possible.
Be WARNED: When I saw the movie for the first...
Published on April 8 2008 by Lorna J. Loomis

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't rush to August Rush
The movie is hokey. We watched it as a family but no one enjoyed it. It is a classic Hollywood story-line with no surprises; quite unrealistic.
Published on Jan. 17 2010 by joan zyla


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Feel-Good Movie of the Year!, April 8 2008
By 
Lorna J. Loomis "Canadian Dog Fancier" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie about a boy, in an orphanage, who refuses to give up hope that he will, one day, be reunited with his parents. His musical ability is all he has, which was his legacy from them.
This movie is about how hope, and music, makes that long-sought reunion, between parents and child, possible.
Be WARNED: When I saw the movie for the first time in the theatre, there wasn't a dry eye in the house.
You will really enjoy this movie and the sound track is amazing also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A song, a song, high above the trees, Dec 18 2008
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Listen. Can you hear it? The music. I can hear it everywhere. In the wind... in the air... in the light. It's all around us."

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Boy musician (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) meets girl musician (Keri Russell) and they make beautiful music up on the roof before going their separate ways
2. Little orphan boy (Freddie Highmore) hears music in the wind and feels a connection to the parents he never knew
3. Desperately seeking parents, he winds up in New York City where he is taken in (in more ways than one) by a man named Wizard (Robin Williams, channeling Fagin)
4. He discovers a previously dormant musical talent, and impresses everyone
5. Fairytale ending will leave you asking or more

This movie is actually a modern day fairy tale, with an incredibly talented cast and a fantastic soundtrack. In fact, it is the music that makes it so special, and I can't recommend it highly enough. This is one to own and watch over and over again.

"All you have to do is open yourself up. All you have to do... is listen."

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Jan. 13 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love this movie and have lent it to others who have as well. Great price and fast shipping. I will watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you want to watch a movie that makes you feel great for days after, watch this. I loved this one so much I bought this copy for a friend, she felt the same way about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, June 16 2014
By 
Brad Spencer (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even though this is a Fairy Tale, I found this story very inspiring. It touched something in my very soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Night, May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
I liked August Rush so much when i first saw it, decided to order a copy for myself. It arrived in
good order, thanks to Amazon.
Also Last Holiday, that was a fun movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommendation, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) (DVD)
Since I saw this movie a number of years ago, I have wanted to see it again. A good story, excellent music with some lessons for all of us.
Would recommend it to children over 8 years of age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Une belle découverte, Nov. 15 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Un jeune orphelin, qui apprend à jouer des instruments de musique plus vite que son ombre, recherche ses parents.
Et c'est par la musique qu'il arrivera à les retrouver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, Oct. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
We had this DVD before, we loaned it to some friends and never got it back. So, they must of enjoyed it like we did. Great family film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good movie, touching, June 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: August Rush (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a very good movie. It goes to show that if you truly believe in something, at times it may work for you. You have to have faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

August Rush (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 9.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews