Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful animated masterpiece!!!!
Sleeping Beauty is one of the most ambitious animated films ever made. It's a gorgeous, elegant, and absolutely amazing landmark in animation; a film so charming, memorable, and beautiful that it has been hailed as the most incomparable film in the animated genre, and with good reason. Detailed backgrounds, glorious colors, outstanding visuals and beautiful music are all...
Published on June 22 2004 by Mark Twain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars High-Ho!!!
So many memories! So many dwarves!

A delightful little tale drawn out and illustrated with finess. Old-time cartooning with none of today's uber-lifelike animals. Great fun!
Published 6 months ago by eeyoore


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, March 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great picture and sound.
A big step up from VHS and a lot of cool bonus features as well.
spectacular
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Feb. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the movie. The case was kind of weird though. The DVD was in a separate case on the outside of the case. I don't like that and wish the movie had a spot in the case protected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful classic, Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an upgrade from my dvd/vhs collection. Love the bonus features and the color and sound are wonderful. A must see for all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars sleeping beauty, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty (2-Disc Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
this movie was in poor quality and i am quite disappointed in it. the case was not in good shape and the disc has scratches all over it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, Sept. 14 2012
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty (2-Disc Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm so happy with this purchase. I couldn't wait for it to come in the mail, and when it did arrive, it was in perfect condition. Couldn't be happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifull classic, Aug. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't seen the movie since i was a child but even after 15 years i could perfectly see the difference from this movie on cassette and it on Blue Ray, the purchase was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service!, Jan. 16 2012
By 
S. Franey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The seller responded to my enquiry as soon as they were able, and the item arrive within the expected time frame (probably even earlier)! The DVD works and I am very happy, I would definitely buy from them again! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, timeless classic, July 12 2004
One of my favorite movies (animated or nonanimated). THere is a quality and rich story that seems lacking in so many of todays movies (Disney movies included). The music just lifts you up and carries you into the Princess's world, and the ending leaves you with a pleasant sigh without being totally predictable. If you liked the Little Mermaid or Beauty and the Beast, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disney BD Live not available in Canada!, Nov. 10 2008
By 
GregV (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
For those BD Live fans a quick note that Disney in all its infinite wisdom has not made it available to Canada. So far just available in the USA and this is right from the horses mouth.I feel a bit ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reconsidering Walt Disney's "Sleeping Beauty" as a restored classic, Oct. 6 2008
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty (2-Disc Platinum Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I have been trying to remember the first time I saw Walt Disney's "Sleeping Beauty," and I cannot remember if I ever saw it in a theater, caught it on television some time, or never sat down to watch it until it came out on videotape. What I did remember is not being particularly impressed by the movie. Certainly I did not consider it to be a classic Disney animated film like "Bambi" or "Cinderella," which is a way of saying that it was not on my "must have" list of Disney movies. Then I watched this 50th Anniversary Platinum Edition of "Sleeping Beauty" and all I can say is that however I saw this film for the first time it was NOT in this expanded version that has restored the original Super Technirama 70 dimensions of the film. I would have remembered a film that had art this gorgeous, even when it is this stylized and even when the music is classical high brow stuff. In the final analysis, "Sleeping Beauty" is clearly like no other Disney animated film, and that is a good thing.

Disc 1 includes "Grand Canyon," a contemporaneous Disney feature (1958) that combines photography of the national park with Ferde Grofe's "Grand Canyon Suite," and it would be the classical music that is the common denominator to the main feature. Disc 2 has Games & Activities over in the Cottage, while the Castle is devoted to the Backstage Disney special features. The games are pretty much geared for younger children (e.g., see "mop" and click on the item the word represents), so most of the goodies on the second disc are for the adults. There is a new documentary on "The Making of 'Sleeping Beauty,'" which combines archival footage with contemporary interviews. The "Never-Before-Seen Alternate Opening" and "Deleted Songs" are not animated but storyboard drawings accompanying the original, more traditional Disney-like, songs that were written for the film before Walt decided to go primarily with a score based on Tchaikovsky's ballet version of the fairy tale.

If you have picked up any of these platinum editions, then you should be well versed in the sort of extras you can expect here in terms of storyboards, artwork, live-action reference footing, music video by some teenage singer, etc. The other one that stands out here is the fully immersive virtual tour of the Sleeping Beauty Castle Walkthrough, a Disneyland attraction that actually existed before the part opened and years before the movie was released.

Besides reminding us again that Walt Disney was a true visionary, the special features highlight the pivotal role of Eyvind Earle, the film's production designer. It was Earle who was given an amazing amount of freedom by Walt to design the settings and to paint most of the film's elaborate background paintings (which usually took a week to do, rather than a single day like in most animated films). The interviews with surviving members of the studio make it clear that Earle did not play well with others, but he was fully committed to creating a unique animated film and now that we can see the expanded version, there is no denying that is exactly what they accomplished. Consequently, I am confident I can remember in the future that "Sleeping Beauty" is a beautifully stylized animated film that is a unique jewel in the Disney crown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a26bdc)

This product

Sleeping Beauty (2-Disc Platinum Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 48.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews