Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York, New York......
It's a wonderful town! And a wonderful movie as well. One of the best of Gene Kelly's career (part of the three year stretch that produced 'Singin' In the Rain' and 'An American in Paris'), this movie has everything. Singing, dancing, and comedy. Ann Miller shines in her "Prehistoric Man" number, one of the best to showcase her talents. And Gene Kelly,...
Published on June 11 2003 by Melanie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, by a long shot
Although Kelly, Donen, and Comden/Green would go on to movie greatness together ("Singing in the Rain", 1952) this one comes up short. The problem is simple: MGM didn't respect the original material enough (the Bernstein/Comden/Green Broadway musical of the same name)-- most of the fine Bernstein songs were jettisoned in favor of distinctly second-rate stuff...
Published on May 10 2004 by B. Sloane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York, New York......, June 11 2003
By 
Melanie (Alma, AR USA) - See all my reviews
It's a wonderful town! And a wonderful movie as well. One of the best of Gene Kelly's career (part of the three year stretch that produced 'Singin' In the Rain' and 'An American in Paris'), this movie has everything. Singing, dancing, and comedy. Ann Miller shines in her "Prehistoric Man" number, one of the best to showcase her talents. And Gene Kelly, well, he's Gene Kelly.
Do I really have to elaborate on that. The cast also includes the comedy of Jules Munshin and Betty Garrett, the dancing talents of the lovely Vera Ellen, and, of course, the riot-inducing crooning of a pre Rat Pack Frank Sinatra. The plot (three sailors on a twenty-four hour leave) is somewhat thin, but the musical numbers more than make up for that. I've never seen or heard the original play, but I understand they cut quite a few of the original numbers out and changed some others. Chalk it up to politics of the time and the strict Hays Office. It doesn't undermine the spectacular peformances that are given in this movie. Definitely one of the gems of MGM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, by a long shot, May 10 2004
By 
Although Kelly, Donen, and Comden/Green would go on to movie greatness together ("Singing in the Rain", 1952) this one comes up short. The problem is simple: MGM didn't respect the original material enough (the Bernstein/Comden/Green Broadway musical of the same name)-- most of the fine Bernstein songs were jettisoned in favor of distinctly second-rate stuff ("Main Street", "You're Awful", etc.), as well as dumping all the great dance numbers save two ("A Day in New York", "Miss Turnstiles"). The other problem is that after Gabey, Ivy, and their friends finally get together atop the Empire State Building, the movie really goes downhill; the whole denouement at Coney Island is silly and takes much too long. There are some good performances, esp. from the women (Betty Garrett and Ann Miller really give the movie oomph and a sense of fun, and Alice Pearce's "I got the gargle!" bit is classic). Sinatra and Kelly are fine as always, but you have to be a big Jules Munshin fan to weather his supershticky performances, both here and in "Take me Out to the Ball Game" (also with Sinatra, Kelly, and Garrett).
I know this movie is a big fan favorite; I just hope that people who think On the Town is a fine musical take the time to check out the really superior products of MGM's famous Freed unit: "Singing in the Rain", "Gigi", "Meet me in St. Louis". When the Freed unit clicked on all cylinders, as they did in those three movies, nobody made better movies of ANY kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not all there, Sept. 7 2001
My kids thought it was a riot, but any fan of the original musical can't help but being shocked and disappointed that so many of the original Bernstein numbers were cut or substituted with pallid Hollywood fare. Great cast, good fun, but it could have been soooo much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Why does Everyone like this Movie So Much?, Feb. 8 2001
This review is from: On the Town (VHS Tape)
I was pleased to find this film at a local store; I'd seen the "New York, New York It's a Wonderful Town" scene a dozen times. Now I know why: it's the only really good song and dance number in the whole movie. I love Hollywood musicals and have always been a huge Gene Kelly fan. "On The Town" is incredibly insipid when compared to other Kelly movies and a miserable waste of Ann Miller's wonderful talent. Go buy "Singing in the Rain" and "Kiss Me Kate" to find out what these two people can really do; save your money here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, bad dvd, May 12 2000
By 
CTB (Chicago area) - See all my reviews
The movie "On the Town" was very enjoyable. The dvd version though is no better than existing vhs versions. The only extra's are the theatrical trailer. No cast/crew biographies or other extras. The video quality is fair and the sound fair. The movie deserved a better transfer, definatley a rush job. Rent, don't buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Broadway version, but still a great movie musical, Feb. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Town (VHS Tape)
Three sailor friends take a zany, madcap tour of New York City in the Leonard Bernstein, Betty Comden, and Adolph Green musical ON THE TOWN -- refashioned here as an MGM vehicle for Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra, and Jules Munshin as the sailors and Vera-Ellen, Betty Garrett, and Ann Miller as their girlfriends-for-a-day. Although I think that the original stage score, composed wholly by Bernstein, is superior, the movie does have several fine "new numbers," including "Prehistoric Man" (in which Miller, in a stunning tap dance routine, proves herself to be no cold scientist but a hot-blooded woman) and "You're Awful" (a golden vocal moment for Sinatra) -- as well as Bernstein's "I Feel Like I'm Not Out of Bed Yet," "New York, New York (A Wonderful Town)," "Come Up to My Place," and the ballet "A Day in New York." Usually thought of as one of Kelly's "big three" MGM films (along with AN AMERICAN IN PARIS and SINGIN' IN THE RAIN), ON THE TOWN in fact has no real "star"; the roles are all about equal in size. Kelly, so often cast in "tough" roles, is here touching in his pursuit of the lovely and talented "Miss Turnstiles" (Vera-Ellen). Sinatra is charmingly boyish and Munshin adorably hilarious, while their "girlfriends" -- Garrett the comedienne and Miller the dancer -- are well contrasted. "A Day in New York" is a highlight and prefigures both "Broadway Melody" in SINGIN' IN THE RAIN and "An American in Paris" -- two other "dream ballets" in which Kelly's character is the sad and dejected lover. This movie may not be Broadway's ON THE TOWN, but it is a colorful MGM musical with a first-rate cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow! What a movie!, Oct. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Town (VHS Tape)
I actually haven't seen the whole thing, but I couldn't stop myself from writing a review! I've looked for it everywhere, but I can't find it! From what I saw of it, I know it is a wonderful movie. The "New York, New York" sequence at the start really gets you into it! I loved it, it's definitely one of a kind. I reccomened to everyone who likes Gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra, who are both great in this movie. Of course it's hard to forget Vera Ellen, who is very talented and beautiful in this movie. I wish someday to see the rest of it, and I am going to keep looking for it everywhere. Watch it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, dancing, fun, laughter, and more Music!!!, May 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Town (VHS Tape)
This is an absolute must-see. Being a Gene Kelly fan it was easy for me to like, but my friend who has seen very little of old movies also thought that it is an automatic classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MGM Heaven!, April 23 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Town (VHS Tape)
I thought that "On the Town" was one of the best musicals I've ever seen. Being a New yorker, I like the way New York is portrayed as 'the place where dreams come true'. The plot is hilarious and the dance/song numbers are just swell. I also like the way this film portrays how true love makes anything possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is Entertainment!!, March 7 2003
This review is from: On the Town (VHS Tape)
Gane Kelly and Frnk Sinatra make a great team. This movie proves that. Both have so much talent, Kelly is the dancer and Sinatra is the singer. They compliment each other. The story line is pretty good, but the dance numbers and the comedy are what make this movie excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Town (1949) (Bilingual) [Import]
On the Town (1949) (Bilingual) [Import] by Stanley Donen (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 14.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews