Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends.
How do you ensure somebody's legacy as a hero? In the good old days, you wrote a book. Nowadays, you make a movie -- and if you're lucky and it's really, really successful, you can retrospectively even make legends out of dangerous criminals. Not that that always works, of course. But with two great actors with instant chemistry (Paul Newman and Robert Redford), a script...
Published on Sept. 7 2006 by Themis-Athena

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-ray...
BLU-RAY review

No matter if you consider this film the last big studio western or maybe the first of numerous post-westerns to come, this still is one of the funniest, most entertaining movies to come out of Hollywood! Unfortunately though 2oth Fox's Blu-ray definitely falls short to keep up with this pedigree.

Film: 9/10
Picture quality:...
Published on July 30 2011 by mickey_one


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends., Sept. 7 2006
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
How do you ensure somebody's legacy as a hero? In the good old days, you wrote a book. Nowadays, you make a movie -- and if you're lucky and it's really, really successful, you can retrospectively even make legends out of dangerous criminals. Not that that always works, of course. But with two great actors with instant chemistry (Paul Newman and Robert Redford), a script (by William Goldman) bursting with one-liners making the audience bowl over laughing every other minute, without once derailing into slapstick, a director's (George Roy Hill's) ingenious use of the occasion to turn a whole genre on its head, and some of the world's most beautiful locations, filmed by an exceptional cinematographer (Conrad Hall) ... you just may pull it off. Case in point: "Butch and Sundance."

While Butch Cassidy (Robert LeRoy Parker) was known as the Old West's Robin Hood for his charm, masterly planning, avoidance of bloodshed -- he really did claim he'd never shot anyone -- and his stance for settlers' rights vis-a-vis the wealthy cattle barons, Sundance (Henry Longbaugh) had the reputation of a loner; a fast draw repeatedly in and out of prison before even turning twenty-one. After several of their Wild Bunch/Hole in the Wall Gang associates had seen the short end of the stick in various encounters with the law, Butch and Sundance determined things were getting too hot in the West and, unlike the outlaws who not much earlier had stood it out until the end (Billy the Kid, the James Gang and the O.K. Corral gunfighters), decided to head for South America. With a woman named Etta Place, possibly a teacher as portrayed here or, perhaps more likely, a prostitute, they first spent several years farming in Argentina - both had done cattle work before turning to robbery, although in the form of rustling (stealing unbranded cattle) -- but eventually reverted to their more profitable, preferred occupation. Most sources believe they died in a 1909 shootout with the Bolivian military in a town named San Vicente; others, however, claim either or both escaped alive, returned to the States under assumed names and died there (Sundance in Casper, WY in 1957 and Cassidy, according to his sister, in Spokane, WA, in 1937).

While their decision to leave the West instead of duking it out with the law and the mystery surrounding their deaths would already have made for a great movie, director Hill cleverly used the material for a 180-degree-turn on the Western genre. The opening credits roll next to sepia-tinged silent shots depicting a Hole in the Wall Gang train robbery, followed by the bold claim that "most of what follows is true" -- which in itself couldn't be further from the truth. What does follow is a wild ride from the Outlaw Trail to Bolivia ... during which our heroes aren't getting rid of their pursuers, no Western music with guitars and harmonicas accompanies them but Burt Bacharach's multiple-award-winning, deliberately anachronistic, upbeat score (plus "Raindrops Are Falling on My Head" during the most romantic scene -- raindrops???), a knife fight is settled by a kick in the groin, and a marshal trying to assemble a posse first meets with a lackluster population, neither willing to bring their own horses and guns nor clamoring to be supplied with such by him, and in short order sees his meeting usurped by a bicycle salesman. Add to that Oscar-winning cinematography, repeatedly using black-and-white lighting techniques even after the film's switch to color (e.g. in Sundance's first visit with Etta), reverse lighting to make daytime shots look like nighttime (during several scenes of the pursuit) and sepia-tinted shots for period feeling (besides the opening, also to sum up the trio's stay in New York), a Bolivian bank robbery with a crib sheet containing "specialized vocabulary" that Butch, contrary to initial claims, doesn't know in Spanish, and an immortalizing freeze-frame ending -- and you have one heck of an entertaining movie, shot in some of the West's most spectacular settings and in Mexico (as Bolivia's stand-in).

"Butch and Sundance" turned Redford into a megastar -- Hill lobbied hard for the then-perceived "playboy"'s casting, and his instincts proved so dead-on that Newman's entourage became worried the movie's expected primary star would be sidelined (a feeling never shared by Newman himself, though, who has been friends with Redford ever since). In a twist worthy of Goldman's Oscar-winning screenplay, fearsome loner Sundance became one of Redford's most popular roles, and his independent film festival's namesake. The movie renewed popular interest in the Outlaw Trail, which Redford himself traveled later, too (chronicled in a fascinating, alas out-of-print book). Its script is littered with memorable one-liners; from both heroes' "Who *are* those guys??" to Butch's comments on the small price to pay for beauty, on Sundance's gun-prowess ("like I've been telling you -- over the hill"), on vision, bifocals and Bolivia, on Sundance's asking Etta (Katherine Ross) to accompany them, although if she'll ever "whine or make a nuisance," he'll be "dumping her flat" ("Don't sugarcoat it like that, Kid ... tell her straight!") and his downplaying the final shootout because their archenemy LaForce isn't there; Sundance's "You just keep thinking, Butch," his comments on the secret of his gambling success (prayer), on not being picky about women (followed by a litany of required attributes), on the excessive use of dynamite, and his one weakness ("I can't swim!!"); and finally Strother Martin/mine-owner Percy Garris's deadpan delivery of the Shanghai Rooster song, of "Morons ... I've got morons on my team" and his assertion not to be crazy but merely colorful. The famous freeze-frame ending has repeatedly been cited, both cinematographically (e.g. "Thelma and Louise") and in dialogue (e.g. 1998's "Negotiator"). And although initially almost uniformly panned by critics, the movie won quadruple Oscars and multiple other awards. In true Hollywood fashion, it has made two fearsome outlaws legends forever ... and in the process, also won legendary status itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent "plus book" Edition, Nov. 6 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you don't own this movie in high-def yet, this is the version you want. I've stated in other reviews what a big fan I am of the "plus book" iterations of movies and how the quality differs in the text. THIS MOVIE PLUS BOOK IS WORTH EVERY PENNY.
I appreciate how people review the actual movie and their personal take on it. I read them quite often, but I will forgo this and just say the transfer from my DVD copy a few years back to blu-ray is astounding. Don't get me wrong, this is NOT one of those "it looks like they filmed this last week" movies. It does look dated, so I can only imagine how crappy the source material was and the job that they undertook to clean it up to where it is now. The sound is only a slight improvement from the DVD material, here now in DTS HD Master, but what do you really expect from a 40 year old movie? The reading material in front of the disc is what makes these "plus book" editions worth buying, and this one does not disappoint for bits of trivia, an essay on the movie itself, and then the standard micro-biographies of the major players. This a worthwhile purchase for anyone that doesn't own the movie yet, and worth a second look if you're a fan looking to upgrade your edition for collector purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Blu-ray..., July 30 2011
By 
mickey_one - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
BLU-RAY review

No matter if you consider this film the last big studio western or maybe the first of numerous post-westerns to come, this still is one of the funniest, most entertaining movies to come out of Hollywood! Unfortunately though 2oth Fox's Blu-ray definitely falls short to keep up with this pedigree.

Film: 9/10
Picture quality: 4.5/10
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1 (orig.)
Extras: 7/10
- Making of 35'
- The true story 25'
- Commentary by director George Roy Hill, DP Conrad L. Hall and others
- Deleted scene
- Trailer

Image of this Blu-ray is lacking contrast, picture resolution and has some focus problems.
Please see:
TC 00:11:40; 00:22:55; 00:32:58; 00:33:24;00:55:55;
00:56:12; 01:01:17; 01:01:54: 01:02:21; 01:04:12; 01:06:22 etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do you really like this film?, June 16 1999
I saw this movie recently and was surprised at how completely unwatchable it was. Robert Redford and Paul Newman mug their way through the action from start to finish, looking much more like self-conscious movie stars than train robbers or gun-slingers of the old west.
"Butch and Sundance" is not completely without interest to the casual observer of American cultural sensibilities, however. The most significant moment in the film by far is the scene where Paul rides his bicycle around a barnyard, flashing his legendary grin for all the world to see. As the dream-like Katherine Ross gazes at him adoringly, we hear B.J. Thomas sing Burt Bacharach's "Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head." As I watched this taking place, I realized that I was witnessing the birth of the 1970s.
In spite of such curiosities, "Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid" is quite simply one of the most overrated Hollywood films of all time. If you want to see an excellent film from that era about "the old west," I would suggest you get a copy of Robert Altman's "McCabe and Mrs. Miller."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great find on Amazon, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is another great, classic western, and I was happy to be able to replace our now obsolete VHS version. Good price, fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How could you not love it?
BUY it NOW!!
Go on, now I said you can do it!
yeah baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Butch and the Kid Sail to Bolivia, Dec 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A brilliant "classic" with promises of more to come..Redford in wonderfully and slightly neurotic. Bolivia looks rather Mexican (as is the Spanish) and it is of course quite difficult to sail to Bolivia from New York. The bicycle scene is splendid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value but not stimulating., Nov. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a very entertaining movie but certainly not to be believed. Good value for the price but lacks in action content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the quality expected, July 30 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After having bought the digitally altered version of "Shane" and being delighted with it, I expected the same quality with "Butch". Sadly it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Style and Substance, July 15 2004
By 
G. McDonell "sydneyguy" (Cammeray, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember seeing this movie at the cinema as a kid (many years ago)and being knocked out by how COOL Redford and Sundance were. You know the scene in Blues Brothers, the doorway of the transient mens refuge and the rocket launcher, and they just get up, brush themsleves off, music resumes and go on as if nothing happened. That cool. And so when they get to the stage of being concerned "who ARE those guys" we have substance for the actions they take afterwards. Now watching this movie on DVD with my kids, they didn't get enraptured as I did at their age. As you might guess, not enough action for their generation - and yet, when there is action, it plays with as much emotion as the best of hollywood today. A tremendous cast delivering a tremendous performance, this will always be one of my favorite movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews