summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars118
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$26.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon March 30, 2005
It may just be coincidence but this time Harrison Ford that was a carpenter is not Dr. Indiana Jones (Junior) and his last crusade (until the next film) is to obtain a cup of a carpenter.

Even though this film can stand on its own, it can be more fully understood if you watch "Raiders of the lost Ark" first.

Once again we start out with a young Jones trying to save an artifact from pillagers. This lets us know of his heroic energy and introduces his father Professor Henry Jones (Sean Connery) and his obsession with the Holy Grail, even to the exclusion of his relationship with Junior.

Now grown Dr. Indiana Jones gives a class and explains that Archeology is a pretty strait forward science and not some search for legends. He receives a mysterious piece of post.

He is then approached by group of rich people that are in search of the Grail. It turns out that their top researcher has disappeared. Yep it is Professor Henry Jones. What can Indiana do but go looking for his father. He is accounted by his best friend who runs a museum Dr. Marcus Brody (Denholm Elliottt) as they team up with the last person to see his father Dr. Elsa Schneider (Alison Doody.) He gets a final warning "Do not trust anybody."

Will he find his father?

If he dies what will they have to talk about?

Does the Grail really exist?

Who are the mysterious people following him?

One of my favorite scenes is where Dr. Jones disguised in a German uniform bumps into Hitler (Michael Sheard of Star Wars fame).

Have fun watching this great film with the banter between Hennery and Junior. And remember "do not trust anybody."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2004
"The quest for the grail is not Archeology. It's a race against evil. If it is captured by the Nazis, the armies of darkness will march all over the face of the Earth."
- Henry Jones Sr. reminds his whip wielding son how important the last crusade for the Cup of Christ is in "Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade".
The third entry in the adventures of Indiana Jones, aptly titled "Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade", is a lot light hearted than "The Temple of Doom" and its dark heart, and is more in the spirit of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" but can't outmatch it.
Three years after the events in "Raiders", Indiana Jones is on a quest to find his missing father after finding out he's been abducted by sinister forces. For most of his life, Indiana's father, has been researching and trying to locate The Holy Grail. If Indiana finds his dad he also may have found The Holy Grail.
After Seventeen summers, since its 5/24/89 release, the film is still fun to watch. The cast is great, especially Sean Connery as Henry Jones Sr. I can't imagine anyone else for the role. The chemistry between Connery and Harrison Ford is what makes the "Last Crusade" a stand-out crowd pleaser. Denholm Elliot expands on his role from "Raiders" as Marcus Brody, adding some goofy comic relief as the bookish curator out of his element. Of course it isn't an "Indiana Jones" film without Harrison Ford as the title role. This a classic example of a film character that is so legendary, that it would be fruitlessly idiotic to have the character be recast with another actor. In other words I really can't see Tom Selleck as Dr. Jones, and if there isn't a fourth adventure with Indiana Jones it would suck big time, but I could live with it.
"Last Crusade" does have some really great action sequences. From Indy's first adventure, to the motorcycle and tank chases the film seems to try to outdo itself. Thats where the film hits a small speed bump. The action is so great that I couldn't help but be reminded of "Raiders" thru some of the action sequences in "Last Crusade" (especially the tank chase. It reminded me of the truck sequence in "Raiders"). But, its all good!
As for a fourth film, who knows? As of this writing, story creator George Lucas wasn't to happy with the latest draft and the whole production almost went back to square one. The film won't get made unless Harrison Ford, Lucas, & director Steven Speilberg are happy with all aspects of the script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2004
Third time's a charm? Three's a crowd? These must have been the question plaguing the filmmakers and studio executives behind one of the greatest adventure series in movie history. But the lure of the charm, excitement, and most notably the rather large box office coin, of the previous two features could hold anybody down from this project. In the time since Indiana Jones & the Temple of Doom, the three main men of the series had had a mixed bag of results away from the adventurous archeologist. Steven Spielberg was coming into his own amongst the critical elite with highly acclaimed, and multi nominated, features The Color of Purple and Tears of the Sun. George Lucas, with his predominantly acclaimed Star Wars series behind him for the time being, spent his time executively producing such under-appreciated features as Labyrinth and Willow. And Indiana Jones himself, Harrison Ford, had success in Witness and Working Girl but nothing for his own work. So was there any doubt that a third was demanded amongst not only two out of the three main men but the studio executives at Paramount as well? Whether that was the case or not, Indiana Jones was on his way once again to the big screen, possibly for the last time.
The story takes place nearly two years after the original feature film, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and three years after the Temple of Doom and places our hero, Indiana Jones, once again against the nefarious Nazi empire. Barely able to catch his breathe after another perilous mission for an ancient artifact; Indiana is whisked off, this time by multi-millionaire Walter Donovan to find an object not only important to the field of archeology but to the world itself. For over forty years, Indy's own father spent tireless hours researching and recording the many secrets that would lead to the discovery of the Holy Grail, the cup that Christians believed was used by Jesus Christ at the Last Supper and was also used to catch his blood at the time of his death. It is also believed that the Grail would bring immortal life to whoever drank from it, which has certainly gained the attention of Adolf Hitler, who dreams of a superior master race to rule the world, and he will do anything to achieve that dream. That is why it is important that Indiana get to the Grail first before the Nazis do but first he must find the man who was once in charge of the operation but has mysteriously disappeared, his own father. The story for Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade is probably one of the most noble adventure films in the genre and though this deals mainly with Christianity, Spielberg manages to keep the focus generally on universal beliefs and the concept of faith itself rather then the individual denominations. He guides the audience through several complex theories and beliefs but directs it out in such a way that even the most clueless of filmgoers will get a general idea of what is behind many of the main actions of the film.
As was said about the Temple of Doom in that the Indiana Jones series isn't afraid to switch supporting characters up and that it usually works well depending on their interaction with Ford remains true for this film. Not all work though, but the mass majority pick up the slack of the less potent additions to the cast. Harrison Ford dons the famous hat and whip once again and gives possibly the best performance in the series, if not on par with Raiders of the Lost Ark. This is all thanks to his absolutely amazing chemistry with Sean Connery, who is best known for his role as James Bond. The two talented performers play off each other so well that you would believe they were actually related. Sean Connery still shows that he has what it takes to be a commanding actor despite his old age. Though the feature contains a decent amount of humor within the material itself, additional comic relief comes in the form of Denholm Elliott as Dr. Marcus Brody and John Rhys-Davies as Sallah, who reprise their fantastic roles from the original. The only cast member that just doesn't seem quite right for the series is Alison Doody as Dr. Elsa Schneider, whose lines seem so drulled out and the performance on the whole being quite tacky. Whether that was the intention of the filmmakers or not may not be known but in either case it felt over-the-top and not in the good way that it could have been. It could have been Doody's performance or the role itself but whatever it was it didn't work at all.
Overall, if this is Indiana Jones' last go-around then it is marvelous one at that, mixing everything that made the series so enduring all into one consolidating effort. Historical background, religious content, and memorable characters all come together in a triumphant achievement from the brilliant duo of Steven Spielberg and George Lucas. There is little to complain about with this film but if anything was out of place, beside Alison Doody's performance, it had to be focus taken too much away from the meaning behind the Grail itself. Granted, praise must be given to Spielberg for the film's intention on keeping the audience centered on universal beliefs, but considering you are dealing with serious Christian content, it would have been nice to keep the focus on that but no big foul called for not doing that. Outside of a small dispute, Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade is an absolute must see and the wonderful thing about it is that there is no need to watch the previous two features in order to appreciate the magnificence of Spielberg's vision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2004
My opinion of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade could be deemed slightly biased. It is the first film I ever saw in theaters and it's also the first movie I purchased on video. I even own the same, worn-down, beat-up copy (and look upon it even more fondly than the widescreen edition, for sentimental reasons, of course) (but nothing beats the pristine quality DVD). I think it's fair to say it's this movie that cemented my love of cinema, the high regard I hold for great escapism, which is sorely lacking from today's cinema; movies that should be fun now drag or bludgeon themselves with relentlessly awful scripts or MTV-style direction that turns relatively simple scenes into chaotic blurs. The Last Crusade may only be thirteen years old, but I think I can safely say they don't make them like they used to.
The film stars, of course, Harrison Ford as Indy Jones, the archaeologist/adventurer who's on yet another quest, this time to find his father, who'd been searching for the Holy Grail. Said Dad is played by none other than Sean Connery, whose highly charismatic performance is quick to place this film, acting-wise, above the others in the trilogy. The rest of the film focuses on this ongoing journey between father and son (eventually joined along by Sallah and Marcus Brody), complete with amazing action and stunt sequences, clever humor, and nasty (but fun) surprises.
The script, by Jeffrey Boam, takes a few cues from Raiders of the Lost Ark, but actually improves upon that story by paying more attention to characterization. The delightful opening scene (all three movies really open with a bang, don't they?); which details how young Indy got his scar, whip, hat, and fear of snakes; makes for a better prequel than Temple of Doom (and any of The Adventure of Young Indiana Jones, for that matter).
The story is engrossing because there's a lot of fun clues offered towards the location of the Grail and, thus, there's a lot of engaging little discoveries (love the "X marks the spot" scene). I'm quite certain, like with Raiders of the Lost Ark, the plot has a few holes, but they're fairly hard to notice, and I've seen this movie quite a few times, but maybe it's just my enjoyment of the film clouding that up. Either way, it speaks volumes in favor of Spielberg's direction and the performances.
Given that action and adventure is the series' selling point, you can expect the thrills and wondrous delight of discovery delivered in spades. The action scenes are terrific (and matched well with John Williams' rousing, memorable score), the best being an excellent ten-minute setpiece on board (and in) a Nazi tank in a sensational chase sequence across the desert. I also loved the motorcycle chase and the Zeppelin setpiece, where the heroes go about dispatching of two enemy fighters in unexpected, but quite hilarious, fashion. The climax, complete with frightening booby traps, is a suspenseful venture into the unknown, which is the pinnacle adventure movies aspire to.
The Last Crusade is far more humor-oriented than its predecessors, but part of the movie's effectiveness is that it's able to deliver belly laughs without defusing the tension during the action sequences. Some of the jokes are just brilliant, including one with Indy armed with a Luger in confrontation with a line of Nazis in front of him that's even funnier than the swordsman scene in Raiders (well, to me, at least).
The supporting cast is all-around superb; John Rhys-Davies is back as Sallah, wonderful as ever and displaying a bit more enthusiasm searching for the Grail than he did digging up the Ark of the Covenant. The late Denholm Elliot also returns as Marcus Brody, the most loveable goof of a museum curator. Alison Doody is interesting as Elsa, the blonde bombshell whom Indy falls for; a twist involving her character and her actions towards the climax make her not as one-dimensional as she may initially appear. Julian Glover is the best of the main Indy villains, he's far more menacing than Paul Freeman's Belloq and less over-the-top but equally enjoyable as Amrish Pruri's Mola Ram. I also enjoyed Michael Byrne's performance as the Jones hating Colonel Vogel, who relishes in torturing Indy and his father. When it comes to pure delightfully nasty villainy, Byrne is even more fun to watch than Glover.
Harrison Ford once again slides effortlessly into the role of Jones, but there's a catch. With the addition of Connery as his father, it reveals a personal side to Indy we haven't seen before. It's his rapport with Connery that strikes that spark that separates this from 99% of the genre. They craft an uncannily touching, funny, and genuine bond unlike any duo I've seen. You could call it a buddy picture, but one with genuine heart and emotion, something filmmakers Michael Bay or Jerry Bruckheimer could learn a thing or two about. The Last Crusade is pure Hollywood movie magic at its best and brightest; bring on Indy 4, I say!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2003
By far, "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade" is my favorite film of the trilogy. This movie is just absolutely enjoyable to watch from start to finish. Indy is back chasing a religious artifact that a widespread audience can appreciate, battling the Nazis across the skies and desert, and the woman is not the annoying, scream fest of "The Temple of Doom." In particular, I enjoyed two aspects of this film. First, it provides an explanation for many aspects of Indiana Jones's character. For example, we receive background information of Indy's youth, providing an explanation for why he chose the field of archaeology to begin with. Why does Indiana Jones have Harrison Ford's famous chin scar? Why is he named "Indiana?" Where did he get his hat and bullwhip? All of these questions are answered and fleshed out in this film. Secondly, and more importantly, I enjoyed seeing the interaction between Harrison Ford and Sean Connery. It was very nice to see the father/son relationship and development throughout the movie. In the first two movies, Indy's character is rather flat and uninteresting. In "Last Crusade," however, we finally get to see his character come alive and develop.
On top of all the action in this film, the music score is fantastic and really adds depth to the film. The comedy in this film is also immense; "Last Crusade" definitely has a lot of fun. The scene in which Indiana fends off the Nazis on a motorbike, while his father does nothing but frown is classic and cannot be missed. If you haven't seen this film, just go see it. It's that simple.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2003
...Of a sequel being better than the initial movie of a franchise. "Last Crusade" finishes, (for the nonce,) the trilogy that started with the wildly overrated "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and was continued by the much more promising "Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom". Both sequels are far more entertaining than the original.
It's exactly like the "Batman" franchise....the first one being hyped like crazy as being from the director of a successful previous movie, with the promise of eye-popping special effects and spectacular action, and the succeeding sequels being MUCH better...in fact, offering all the action, humor and thrills that "Raiders" was purported to have!
I was GREATLY disappointed when I first saw "Raiders" and wondered what all the fuss was about. Then I saw "Temple of Doom" and I was hooked! "Last Crusade" continues this new tradition, with the added fillip of having the great Sean Connery playing Indiana's father, Henry.
Cinematography is top notch. Comedy is evident in just about every scene, and, as usual, there's a thrill-a-minute action sequence waiting to start just as one finishes. It's obvious that Spielberg, again, didn't so much direct this movie as tell the gaffers where to aim the lights....the hand of Lucas is everywhere. Again..there's the formula of older hero, younger hero and a feisty love interest. Evil, mystical forces in evidence as the basis for the plot....just like in the Star Wars movies. There are even two HUMAN sidekicks to take the place of droids R2D2 and C3PO....Sullah and Marcus Brody!
However, the screenplay offers some very wry dialogue, especially between Indy and his dad...and there is some excellent acting, particularly from Julian Glover and Allison Doody. There are some ingenious scenes involving Connery and Indy BEYOND just the dialogue, too. However, the big disappointment comes at the end, when Indy finally encounters the Knight that guards the Holy Grail. This part looks like it was ripped out of another movie, like "Excalibur" or "Camelot", and doesn't quite jibe with the rest of the film. It also kind of drags this otherwise good film back to the childish "gee whiz" level of the first Indy movie.
Indy's brief is to find the Holy Grail for Donovan, played by Glover, since the original archeaologist they hired to find it got lost. This person was Indy's estranged dad, played by Connery. On his way to do the assignment, he runs into Allison Doody, playing Dr. Elsie Schneider, who had worked with his dad on the project. He eventually finds out that SHE'S in league with the Nazis and, after a night together with her, before he finds THAT out, he finds out that his dad has ALSO had her, which makes for some nice Freudian confrontations between the two. After this is revealed...the real hijinx start in earnest!
I enjoyed this movie like I've enjoyed no other flick with Spielbuck's name on it...it's so obvious that he wasn't the ONLY name involved, however!
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2003
This entire movie is fun, from start to finish, while never losing it's characters or it's overall theme. This is one trilogy the directors never screwed up on and let "lag". Indy is there and recognizable throughout all three movies, with memorable and often hilarious sidekicks of various ages and nationalities.
Also worth mentioning is the care that the directors took with the plot development, taking place roughly around the time of World War 2. Usually always, searching for the grail and other sacred objects are Hitler and his minions. Hitler was supposedly very interested in the occult, and they take it to a very hilarious level during a particular book burning scene in Berlin, which is perhaps one of my favorite scenes in all the Indiana Jones movies.
In this movie, the supporting characters are particularly memorable. Indy begins the search for his vanished father and when he finds him, the action does not lag. They argue throughout the entire film. Indy is also understandably horrified to find out that they shared a particular love interest which had me rolling on the floor laughing in certain parts.
This movie also treats us to flashbacks of Indy's childhood, (boy scouts) and attempts to explain his fear of snakes and when he first acquired the whip and his famous hat. We see a more vulnerable Indy as he is constantly hilariously and unintentionally taken down a few pegs by his absent minded father.
"I thought we named the dog Indiana?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2003
This entire movie is fun, from start to finish, while never losing it's characters or it's overall theme. This is one trilogy the directors never [fouled] up on and let "lag". Indy is there and recognizable throughout all three movies, with memorable and often hilarious sidekicks of various ages and nationalities.
Also worth mentioning is the care that the directors took with the plot development, taking place roughly around the time of World War 2. Usually always, searching for the grail and other sacred objects are Hitler and his minions. Hitler was supposedly very interested in the occult, and they take it to a very hilarious level during a particular book burning scene in Berlin, which is perhaps one of my favorite scenes in all the Indiana Jones movies.
In this movie, the supporting characters are particularly memorable. Indy begins the search for his vanished father and when he finds him, the action does not lag. They argue throughout the entire film. Indy is also understandably horrified to find out that they shared a particular love interest which had me rolling on the floor laughing in certain parts.
This movie also treats us to flashbacks of Indy's childhood, (boy scouts) and attempts to explain his fear of snakes and when he first acquired the whip and his famous hat. We see a more vulnerable Indy as he is constantly hilariously and unintentionally taken down a few pegs by his absent minded father.
"I thought we named the dog Indiana?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2003
The title really means it. This is in my opinion the greatest action/adventure film ever made. Every film genre- be it action, comedy, horror,etc, has a film within it which stands out as the greatest of its kind. For me, in action films its without a doubt indiana jones and the last crusade. Personally, action/adventure films are my favourite kind of film, and this makes TLC a definite contender for my favourite film ever made.
Compared to its two siblings, The Temple of Doom and Raiders of the Lost Ark, this is the best of the three, only slightly better than raiders but much superior to The Temple of Doom.
The reasons why i think this is such a great film are numerous- for a start, it has probably the best action sequences ever. It opens with a great bang, as we see a young Indy trying to outsmart a gang of thugs on a train, the train being filled with snakes, lions, tigers and the like, and this is a great sequence and gives us more background on the young Indy, something that the first two films more or less failed to do. The film has many great action pieces right form start to finish. Every action set-piece in the film is smart, lively, fun and quite splendid.
The choice of enemy is great too- instead of the primitives seen in Temple of Doom, we go back to raiders, and the enemy is that most odious of foes, the cunning and evil Nazis. These bring the correct malice to the film so it never becomes too tongue-in-cheek to be innefective.
The cast is great too- everyone seems to be very adept at playing their roles, and as for the lead himself, no-one better could be picked for the job. He's tough, clever but not too nasty, and unlike alot of action stars, pulls off the romance and drama quite nicely. You never feel between the action that the film is wearing itself out. Sean connery is great as Indy senior- he just brings so much class to the film.
The plot is that of your typical saturday morning serial- the great action hero trying to save the world from an evil foe. It's basic, but romance works like a charm in this movie and the plot never feels convuleted- it always flows along with the storyline. The one liners in this film are pretty deft too- such as when in the tank, and the man quotes 'the pen is mightier than the sword' after knocking out an evil nazi with standard blue ink.
Plot, cast and action are great about the movie, but what really makes this great is that it has buckets of charm. The proceedings are smooth and fast-paced, and the whole thing feels so classily directed and full of fun that its nigh on impossible not to like this film. You can watch it any time, any where, and it makes such a suitable movie for a huge audience. Great family movie- although the action is quite intense at times and the film is slightly violent, it never becomes too violent for younger moviegoers and is a great film for any age of person.

That's what makes this great too- it can be recommended to anybody. If there is an action directed with better pace, more flair or better set-pieces, than no-one has told me i can tell you. I would recommend this movie masterpiece as a centerpiece to any collection. So, to summerise:
Pros: Fast, fun, lively, action-packed, great cast, good dialogue between characters, entertainment value is very high.
Cons: None that are obvious.
Verdict: Greatness in film. Recommend to anyone who has even a slight interest in films. Can be viewed successively and still retain a high entertainment value. Star rating: 5/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2003
"Raiders" is probably the best Indiana Jones, but "Crusade" is my personal favorite. Lucas and Spielberg regrouped after the underwhelming "Temple of Doom" (a little too violent and way too kiddish for Jones) to craft this action great. Chock full with more Nazis, rousing action sequences, and sarcastic, sometimes tounge-in-cheek humor and noticably more character development than the first two. And seriously, who better to play Indiana Jones' father than Sean Connery? He gives a hilarious, and yet, sophisticated performance that does not fail to make me laugh every time.
The plot to the movie is Indiana goes on the hunt for his father, after he disappears while working on a project to recover the legendary Holy Grail, the cup of Christ, ect. Jones himself gets caught up in the intrigue, ending up helping his fathers assitant (Allison Doody) discover more clues to the grails' wherabouts. Indy eventually learns that his father was captured by Nazis, and that they are planning to make their armies immortal by using the grails' power.
The movie then really picks up, with Indy and father on the run from a ruthless Nazi Colonel (Michael Byrne) on a mission to find the grail before the Nazis do. On the way, they are spectacular action sequences, including a tank chase scene through the desert, a boat chase through Venice and car chase through rural Germany. And with Spielberg behind the camera and his sharp eye for that perfect shot of Indy thrawting another Nazi, well, give me one valid reason not to watch time and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse