Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Adventure
Although I enjoy most of the Indiana Jones series this one is probably my favourite . It is full of suspense, even though you know what it coming. It is also a move that a famiy (with older children) can all enjoy.
Published 2 days ago by bookworm

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What - no Oscar???
As everybody knows, Raiders of the Lost Ark is a well made action movie. If you want to park your brain and relax after a hard day's work, this is what the doctor will prescribe as a safe cure. Yet, I only give it three stars.
One star is deducted for the political incorrectness and insensitivity in the opening sequence, where the grave robbing hero sends a bunch of...
Published on April 8 2002 by Eric Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Adventure, July 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although I enjoy most of the Indiana Jones series this one is probably my favourite . It is full of suspense, even though you know what it coming. It is also a move that a famiy (with older children) can all enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "An army which carries the Ark before it is invincible", May 17 2014
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
XXXXX

"Tanis development proceeding. Acquire headpiece, Staff of Ra. Abner Ravenwood, U.S."

The above secret German cable is the motivation for this fantasy adventure film (from a story by George Lucas and Philip Kaufman, directed by Steven Spielberg). For if the Germans acquire the headpiece, they will be able to locate the lost Ark of the Covenant with its mysterious powers. (The Ark of the Covenant is a chest that contains the stone tablets in which the Ten Commandments are inscribed.)

It's up to Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) to locate the Ark before the Germans do. Dr. Jones is Professor of Archaeology, expert on the occult, and obtainer of rare antiquities. Jones' trademark when he's in the field is his bullwhip and Fedora (a type of hat).

This movie could very well be the greatest adventure film of all time. The viewer is treated to one cliff hanger after another. As well, the acting and special effects are good. (This is Alfred Molina's acting debut.)

What I especially liked was the blend of humor, adventure, and drama. Also, the music by the great John Williams is unforgettable.

Photography was in France, Tunisia, Hawaii, and studios in England.

The title of this movie was originally "Raiders of the Lost Ark" but was later changed for marketing purposes.

This film originated from George Lucas' desire to create a modern version of the serials of the 1930s and 1940s.

The budget for this movie was eighteen million dollars. It has grossed almost three-hundred and ninety million worldwide!

Finally, the DVD itself (released in 2008) has six extras. I found most of them interesting.

In conclusion, I would recommend that you have your seat belts on when you view this film. Why? Because you're going to be taken on a non-stop action-adventure!!

(1981; 1 hr, 51 min excluding end credits; wide screen; 31 scenes)

<<Stephen PLETKO, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark, April 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter asked for this DVD for her birthday. This is one of the best Indiana Jones DVD's and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrison Ford makes history come to life, Oct. 13 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is the first in a series of fun to watch action packed movies based on what an archeologist should be. Being a first you will not notice the pattern of the film unless you are used to Saturday matinees.

We hit the deck running on this one as we see Indiana Jones making a John Wayne type of entrance. So much that you do not notice the dubious looking character next to him Statipo (Alfred Molina). Until he says "Give me the Idle and I will give you the whip."

Now settled down, after his near miss with the natives, Harrison Ford is a professor (Indiana Jones) teaching the fact that archeology is a search for facts not some thrill ride.

That very afternoon he is confronted by some government agents. It seems that his old professor Abner Ravenwood has disappeared. They picked up some radio transmissions that contained the name of Abner and a city Tannis. Immediately Indiana Jones knows that the Nazis (natural bad buys) are looking for the Ark of the Covenant (which can be used as a weapon of unspeakable power) and somehow he must beat them to it for the sake of the world.

He is helped by an old love interest Marion (Karen Allen) and rivaled by an old nemesis Dr. Rene Belloq (Paul Freeman).

Does it really exist?

How can he beat them to it?

Why is he on the outs with Abner?

Hold on for a thrill a minute and don't eat any bad dates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How's your Heart?, Aug. 19 2010
By 
Kenneth Jackson (Dundas, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My family and I saw this movie many years ago. I bought the movie because of the happy memories we still share about it. It is a wonderful, action packed, edge of seat movie at the end of which I realized I had been holding my breath much of the time. There is a terrifying scene near the beginning in which helpers get pinned to the tunnel wall by razor sharp spears and "Indie" (the hero) is pursued down the tunnel by a bone crushing .... Well, you gotta see it if you have not already. Just be prepared for a severe test of your bladder control! I saw the movie when I was a lot younger. I saw it again when I bought it just recently. I am happy to report that, despite being much older, my bladder is still in good shape!

The "ark" which Indie seeks is the ancient Ark of the Covenant in which the Hebrew people carried the two stone tablets on which the finger of God had written the Ten Commandments in the presence of Moses. The Ark has great powers and Nazi archaeologists want to seize it to defeat Germany's enemies. Indianna Jones saves the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and action-packed film!!!!!!!, June 26 2004
By 
Shane "Shane" (Smithville,TN USA) - See all my reviews
If you're a fan of 30's and 40's serials,adventure films,Spielberg's work,or Harrison Ford, this is the movie for you!!!!!! This film has so many amazing scenes your jaw literally drops.the film also has some great acting,especially John-Rhys Davies(Gimli of The Lord of the Rings) as Sallah and Harrison Ford as our hero,Indiana Jones.Overall,you will love this film.It's worth checking out!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Return Of The Great Adventure..., May 28 2004
"Either of you guys ever go to Sunday School?" - Indiana Jones brings Eaton & Musgrove's church attendence records into question in "Raiders of the Lost Ark".
From the director of "Jaws" and the creator of "Star Wars" comes the adventure film that all others in its genre are held up to, "Raiders of the Lost Ark". After twenty-three years and counting, I can honestly say that the film has yet to be outmatched (sure there have been good action/adventure films since "Raiders", including its own sequels, but I haven't seen a film that has had an indeliable, definitive impact that "Raiders" has left in a long time, possibly since the original "Star Wars")
Hired by the U.S. Government, archeologist/adventurer, Indiana Jones is on a race against evil to retrieve the lost Ark of The Covenent, the chest that contains the original stone tablets of the Ten Commandments. The ones that Moses brought down from Mount Harab and smashed. When was the last time YOU went to Sunday School!? Along the way Indiana meets up with an ex-girlfriend of his, Marion Ravenwood, outraces and dukes it out with legions of Nazis, and has plenty of close calls including a truck chase, The Well of Souls and its snakes (& Indiana's deathly phobia of them), a slugfest with a mechanic and his flying wing, and the opening of the Ark itself (lets just say GOD isn't to happy when mortals decide to open the Ark & sift through its contents).
An absolute modern-day classic. Why? "Raiders"' opening, from the Paramount logo to the natives chasing Dr. Jones, the bar fight, the basket chase, The Well of Souls, the truck chase (that alone gets 5 stars), the opening of The Ark in all its glory, John Williams' Oscar nominated score, I could go on all day long, but, you get the drift. What gives the film its drive (and where the sequels fail) is the urgency & danger of retrieving the Ark and the competitiveness between Indiana Jones and the Frenchman, Renee Belloq (the film imposes, early on, that these two have been competitors since there college days).
I got this on cassette for Xmas 1984 and I burnt the tape out. Thank God for DVD.
Nominated for 8 Oscars including Best Picture, Director (Steven Spielberg), Original Score and winning 4 of those awards including Best Sound & Visual Effects. The American Film Institute ranks "Raiders" as one of the top 100 films of all-time and Indiana Jones as one of the top cinematic heroes second only to Atticus Finch from "To Kill A Mockingbird".
The truck chase wasn't directed by Spielberg (he did the close-ups afterwards), but was helned by second unit director, Norman Reynolds. Tom Selleck was originally cast to play Jones but had to back out due to contractual agreements with Universal and CBS for "Magnum P.I." (I think it would have been a different film. I saw a "Raiders" screen test with him and Sean Young and he came off very obnoxious). Danny DeVito was offered the role for Sallah but declined due to scheduling conflicts with "Taxi". The scene where the Nazi officer was supposed to shoot Sallah was filmed but couldn't be used, becuase of black smoke from burning tires in one take, and in another actor John-Rhyes Davies getting sick and filling his jallaba (and he didn't care one bit).
"Raiders of the Lost Ark" is one truly great adventure worth taking over & over again. No matter what George Lucas calls it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Moose Hole - 'Raiders' Dig Up a Classic, Feb. 21 2004
Few classics in the history of motion pictures can be as easily recognizable for their theme music alone as Raiders of the Lost Ark and remain enduring beyond that identifiable element. When the feature was originally released in 1981, it certainly had a lot of potential going for it. Rising director Steven Spielberg showed potential with such hits as Jaws and Close Encounters with the Third Kind but lack-luster features like 1941 and The Sugarland Express hindered him from being a break-out commodity in Hollywood just yet. Added to the mix was the creative talents of another rising film-maker, George Lucas, who had just come off one the biggest motion picture phenomena of all time, Star Wars. Paramount executives must have been biting at the bit to see what these two creative geniuses could cook up but even they had to question their choice of relative unknown actor Harrison Ford as the lead role. But despite relative criticism, both Spielberg and Lucas believed they had the perfect choice after witnessing the former carpenter in American Graffiti and Star Wars. The real judgment would be determined by the movie-going public and whether or not they would endure a two-hour feature about a man with a hat and a whip.
The story centers on the adventures of a head-strong paleontologist as he searches for one of the most spiritual artifacts in the history of the world. There is no paleontologist in the world like Indiana Jones. He's seen it all from booby traps to a gigantic rolling boulder to spear-throwing natives. All in the name of archeology and maybe a little love here and there throughout his exhilarating exploits. But this new venture may be the most challenging of them all. The United States government, in their efforts to battle the Axis-powers during World War II, enlists Mr. Jones to search for the Ark of the Covenant, the sacred holding structure many believed contained the original Ten Commandments that were brought down from the mountain by Moses thousands of years ago, before the Nazis get to it first. Along his journey, he meets up with his ex-girlfriend Marion, who holds an essential piece to the puzzle in finding the Ark, but things become more complicated as the Nazis are in full pursuit. Indiana must get to the Ark before the Nazis do or else Hitler will control an unstoppable army that will eventually conquer the world. The story for Raiders of the Lost Ark doesn't seem all that complicated, or some can make the case not all that original, but looks can be deceiving. From the thrilling opening sequence to the mysterious conclusion, Raiders is one of the most entertaining and enthralling comedy/action adventures ever developed for the silver screen. It is all the little things in this film that make the big picture all the more enduring for viewers.
Whoever said Harrison Ford may have been wrong for the role of Indiana Jones may have had some merit in their comment back in 1981, but now adays that comment would be shot down so fast it wouldn't be funny. Though at the time the young actor had relatively light acting experience, Ford proves that he can measure up to any other in the role of high risk-taking adventurer. It is Ford's hilarious reactions to situations, most notably a particular moment during the chase through the marketplace, combined with his amazing ability to transition himself into key fight sequences that make him an essential casting decision in this feature. This may be a difference in time periods but for some audience members, Karen Allen's performance as Marion may be a little too Tom-boyish to be considered sexy. It might possibly have been more risqué back then but it isn't so much now. Not entirely her fault but the change of the times.
Overall, Raiders successfully brings to the screen one of the most charismatic and enduring action adventure heroes in cinematic history and does so in triumphant style. The wonderful thing about the film is that the filmmakers are able to blend humor into well-needed areas of the overall action oriented flick, though at times it seems they try too hard to get laughs across. The special effects were magnificent during the film's initial release and are still quite interesting today, though to a lesser degree. Unlike the special effects of later films like Terminator 2: Judgment Day, the special effects of Raiders of the Lost Ark don't have the enduring effect they once had but that doesn't make the film cheesy or seem aged. The bottom-line analysis of this film has to be based on the Indiana Jones series as a whole in that this feature is a wonderful first entry and deserves to be ranked highly but stands behind the last entry in the series on overall entertainment value. This doesn't, however, make the film less of an enduring classic or less of good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The mother of all adventure movies!, Dec 30 2003
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
Yes folks, this is the one movie that started it all and became a pop culture phenomenon. This is the story of a Arceologist "Indiana Jones" ( Harrison Ford) who is on a mission to seek an ancient relic called " The Lost Ark of Conveant" from the evil nazis who want it.
A plain and simple masterpiece all the way with great direction by Steven Spielburg and great producing by George Lucas. This movie offers humor, action, adventure, violence, special effects and not to mention heart all the way. It's just perfect especially in the recent DVD set that is now out, this movie belongs in every filmgoer's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Snakes. Why does it have to be snakes?, Dec 3 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Will anyone who's seen this film EVER forget that line? Our intrepid hero has a flaw, a weakness, an Achilles heel: snakes. He really, really, really doesn't like them. And, oh boy, what a snake scene ensues!
Indiana Jones, vintage 1981, was a Spielberg/Lucas combo that catapulted Harrison Ford into the big time. He plays an archaeologist whose quests find him frequently running from one evil spawn or another. Set in 1936, Dr. Jones (H. Ford) lands in a Nazi plot to use the powers of the Ark of the Covenant to win the war. Karen Allen is cast as the obligatory dame who can land a solid punch and easily drink most men into oblivion.
Great tongue-in-cheek fun throughout. There's never a moment's doubt that Good will triumph over Evil, but it's sure fun to watch how it all plays out. Also fun to watch are Harrison Ford's facial contortions as he's "just making it up as he goes along."
Wonderful. If you've never seen it, watch it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews