Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Chilling, Above Average Suspense Thriller
"The Bone Collector," based on Jeffrey Deaver's best-selling novel, is a gothic suspense thriller that takes the viewer below the streets of New York City, to places dark and chilling, where an evil serial killer does his dirty deeds. Creepy!!
Police detective Lincoln Rhyme, (Denzel Washington is wonderful in this role - but isn't he always?), is considered...
Published on July 19 2004 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great film for a rainy night at home
You've read previous reviews with plot synopsis so I won't bore you further. The 16x9 film transfer and DTS audio track are really very good on this dvd. It's a very well crafted mood piece which will transport you back and forth from modern day NYC to a more primitive and creepy New York of the early 1900s. On occasion it takes on the feel of a Sherlock Holmes mystery...
Published on May 31 2003 by w.brown


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great film for a rainy night at home, May 31 2003
By 
w.brown (Frisco, Tx. United States) - See all my reviews
You've read previous reviews with plot synopsis so I won't bore you further. The 16x9 film transfer and DTS audio track are really very good on this dvd. It's a very well crafted mood piece which will transport you back and forth from modern day NYC to a more primitive and creepy New York of the early 1900s. On occasion it takes on the feel of a Sherlock Holmes mystery. A classic it is not. A really good mystery movie it is. Very well acted, it deserves a good look and possibly a place in your collection. Did I say it has a really good DTS soundtrack?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Chilling, Above Average Suspense Thriller, July 19 2004
"The Bone Collector," based on Jeffrey Deaver's best-selling novel, is a gothic suspense thriller that takes the viewer below the streets of New York City, to places dark and chilling, where an evil serial killer does his dirty deeds. Creepy!!
Police detective Lincoln Rhyme, (Denzel Washington is wonderful in this role - but isn't he always?), is considered to be THE genius of forensic science. His books on the subject are mandatory study at the Police Academy. During an investigation, four years before, Rhyme was involved in a terrible on-the-job accident which left him a quadriplegic and bedridden. Attached to life sustaining machines, he is only able to move one finger and his head and neck. He is subject to seizures that threaten to leave him a vegetable. A very angry man, he is bored and, at times, suicidal. Still an official member of the force, his former colleagues visit him constantly and involve him in difficult cases. A new, troubling case forces them to seek his help, yet again.
Rookie cop, Amelia Donaghy (Angelina Jolie), works with the city's troubled youth. By chance she discovers the half-buried body of a powerful New York City businessman, near a railroad track. She, almost intuitively, knows what to do to protect the forensic evidence. Sending a witness off to buy a disposable camera, she takes photos of the crime scene before a rainstorm can wash away the evidence. She then, single-handedly, stops a train to preserve valuable clues. Rhyme decides she has natural forensic talent and demands she be placed on the case. So she reluctantly joins his team. Donaghy does the leg work, connected by a headset to Rhyme, while he instructs her. The two puzzle over clues and work the case from his bedside. And the leg work is brutally grim. This killer, intelligent and demented, thinks up some awful ways to commit murder. The crime scenes are elaborately set-up and clues are purposefully left that would stump the most avid puzzle addict. The gruesome crimes remind me of those in the movie "Seven."
The mystery is intriguing and the forensic work absolutely fascinates. The chemistry between Rhyme and Donaghy is palpable. This is more than a student-mentor bond, although it takes them a while to get the relationship off the ground. He is cranky and imperious - she is just plain ornery. Amelia brings him to life again and he stops contemplating euthanasia. In turn, he brings new energy to Amelia's life and forces her to open up. Queen Latifa (as Rhyme's nurse) and Luis Guzman (as a fellow cop ands friend) are show stealers.
This is no "Silence of the Lambs," but it is good entertainment. The camera gives the ambiance a dark and brooding look and provides some interesting angles. Often predictable, there are still surprises and the growing closeness between the detective and the cop is very well done and subtle. Although "The Bone Collector" is not a "must see," it is certainly an exciting way to spend a rainy night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good dvd and lot of good memories about it I just adore it and recommanded it to all my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bone Collector, July 7 2013
By 
Dee - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A must see for Jeffrey Deaver (the author) fans. Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie do a great job. Read the book too for the complete experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfy client ! :-), May 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I get my DVD well before the time limit in a short delay since I order it. It was well wrapped and protected.
The case is in good condition and the DVD is in very good condition too.
I will not hesitate to order more in the futur.
Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Bone Collector - A fairly respectable thriller!, March 6 2004
By 
K. Wyatt "ssintrepid" (Cape Girardeau, MO United States) - See all my reviews
"The Bone Collector" is a good but somewhat predictable thriller that has the good fortune of a good casting director. Don't get me wrong about this movie, it is good, it just isn't one of those super thrillers that catches the imagination which is somewhat evidenced by a fair to midland run in the theaters and on the DVD racks. One major note of caution when watching this thriller; if you're a videophile such as myself and can easily match voices with faces, watching the trailer for this movie will easily give away the killer and somewhat spoil the movie.
Denzel Washington, as usual, performs brilliantly in this film as he does in most films he stars in. I think that when I purchased and watched this particular movie some time ago that it had been the first film that I'd watched that had the ever beautiful and alluring Angelina Jolie in it. I hate to admit it but at that time and upon a second viewing now, her performance in this film is somewhat lackluster which, having watched several of her other movies, is somewhat disappointing, but then again, the role she's taken for this film may have had a lot to do with her performance as her character is a somewhat subdued character in the first place.
Director Phillip Noyce may best be known for such films as "Clear and Present Danger," "The Saint" and "Patriot Games" over this particular film but I would note that he most likely did the best with this film that he could considering the overall predictability of the script.
The Premise:
Denzel Washington plays Lincoln Rhyme, one of the best known forensics detectives who a few years earlier suffered an accident and is now bedridden and seriously considering suicide but for the help of his full time nurse Thelma who is played quite well by Queen Latifah. Angelina Jolie plays Amelia Donaghy who is a street cop that stumbles across a particularly gruesome crime scene and handles it quite admirably until the rest of New York's finest shows up. The detectives handling the case take the evidence to Lincoln for his opinion and he seeks Amelia's assistance in handling the case as he suddenly finds himself leading the entire investigation from his bed and there is a killer out there that continues to murder people and leaving clues...
What follows from there is a respectable thriller of a movie that does somewhat suffer at the hands of predictability which keeps it one notch below some of the bigger thrillers of the last few years. Despite the minor predictabilities I would still recommend this film to any and all who enjoy a "good" thriller. {ssintrepid}
Special Features:
-Spotlight on Location
-Feature Commentary with Director Phillip Noyce
-Dolby and DTS Audio Tracks
-Production Notes
-Cast and Filmmakers
-Theatrical Trailer
-Universal Showcase
-DVD-ROM Features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THe Bone Collector, July 24 2010
By 
John Tim Jackson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THis movie was fantastic. I have seen it before, but now I own it. I can see it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you liked Silence of the Lambs,Seven or Copycat,, Feb. 1 2008
This review is from: The Bone Collector (DVD)
you should love this top notch thriller.Angelina Jolie and Denzel
Washington are the headliners and are in fine form,but the supporting
cast is also superb.this thriller(Like Copycat)has elements of Silence
of the Lambs and Seven but,like Copy cat,it is its own movie.the
suspense and tension are through the roof on this one.it's also very
disturbing.it didn't unnerve me as much as Copycat,but it's pretty
close.this one also has some twists,and again some may figure things
out quickly,but i still thought they were good twists.if you like
Silence,Seven,or Copycat,you should like this one.i would give this a
perfect ten,but like i said,it didn't quite unnerve me as much as
Copycat,which i gave a perfect 5/5.for me,The Bone Collector is a 4.9/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars My opinion: Waste of time!, April 1 2004
By 
F. Brown "onesix" (Asheville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Shallow characters and a story with many holes. Judge for yourself, if you must...I want the time I wasted watching this BACK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, Dec 26 2003
One reviewer states that their are undertones of "Seven" in this movie and I think that's an understatement. This movie has the dark mood, vengeful plot, and murky lighting of "Seven," but is not nearly as good.
I will first acknowledge that I have never been impressed by Angelina Jolie, but it was this movie that really made me unimpressed by her and gave me reason to wonder about the otherwise redoubtable Denzel Washington too.
This is a dark, grotesque movie, with unrealistic and stagy murders. The denoument is a joke, with a character that probably had five minutes screen time in the film as the killer. By the way, the clues to who the killer is are all in the opening credit sequence, something that I find annoying in the extreme. You should not miss out on a what is apparently a crucial part of the film just because you had to wait in line for popcorn.
I am saddened that I spent any money at all on this film (at least I went to a discount theatre). If you must see it, rent it, don't buy it. You won't want it sullying the rest of your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bone Collector [Blu-ray] [Import]
Bone Collector [Blu-ray] [Import] by Bone Collector (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 21.45 CDN$ 7.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews