Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE STORY OF ARTHUR BEFORE HE BECAME KING...
This 1963 adaptation of the children's classic book of the same name, which was written by Terence H. White and first published in 1938, tells the story of a young King Arthur. The plot of the book provides the underpinnings for this animated film. In the film, Arthur is a twelve year old squire to the numbskull son of his guardian. Naive and genuinely nice, he is known...
Published on June 22 2008 by Lawyeraau

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pan and Scan
It's been reformatted folks - you don't get the full picture. There's nothing in the published specs to tell you that (as the early Disney animateds were originally 1.33:1), but you're missing 25% of the picture here. Wish I'd noticed the itty bitty print on the back before I broke the seal.
Published on March 21 2001 by K. Bowden


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE STORY OF ARTHUR BEFORE HE BECAME KING..., June 22 2008
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
This 1963 adaptation of the children's classic book of the same name, which was written by Terence H. White and first published in 1938, tells the story of a young King Arthur. The plot of the book provides the underpinnings for this animated film. In the film, Arthur is a twelve year old squire to the numbskull son of his guardian. Naive and genuinely nice, he is known by the nickname "Wart". Merlin, the wizard of all wizards, takes him under his wing, seeking to educate young Arthur before he enters into legend. Wart has no clue what fate holds in store for him, when he goes to London to perform his duties as a squire. Little does he know about the sword in the stone and the legend that surrounds it. Is he in for a surprise!

This film is not as well known as other Disney animated films and has never had the acclaim of some of the others. Yet, it provides solid entertainment. The animation, as it is with all Disney animated films, is excellent, despite lacking the elegance of some other Disney animated classics. My favorite scene is that involving the evil sorceress, Mad Madam Mim, a scene that I simply loved. It is a scene that is totally funny, whimsical, and action packed. Having never seen this film before, I was pleasantly surprised by it. The seventy nine minutes that the film lasted passed all too quickly. Moreover, it is a film that the whole family may enjoy.

The 45th Anniversary edition comes loaded with many bonus features. My favorite feature was the inclusion of two classic cartoons. Both cartoons selected for inclusion follow the medieval theme of the film. The first cartoon, "Knight for a Day" dates back to 1946 and features "Goofy" as a medieval squire. With his master out of commission due to a mishap, Goofy takes his master's place at a joust that is to decide who will win the hand of the Princess. The second classic cartoon "Brave Little Tailor", dates back to 1938 and features "Mickey Mouse", who is deemed by his King to be the official giant killer, when Mickey overstates his fighting ability. Asides from a bucketful of money, if Mickey is successful in routing the giant, he will win the hand of Princess Minnie. I totally loved these two cartoons. To me, they turned this DVD into a must buy DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I once thought, July 12 2008
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
As other reviewers have duly noted, this film (first released in 1963) is based on the first of four parts of T.H. White's The Once and Future King (1958), focusing on Arthur's birth, childhood, and youth before he became king of England. The film has been reissued as a 45th anniversary edition. It features the well-selected voices of Sebastian Cabot (Sir Ector/Narrator), Karl Swenson (Merlin), Rickie Sorensen (Arthur/"Wart"), Junius Matthews (Archimedes), and Alan Napier (Sir Pelinore). Frankly, I was underwhelmed when I first saw it many years ago and had little patience with the antics. While seeing it again recently, I found the film much more entertaining and frequently charming.

In our family, a film's "acid test" for grandchildren is for them to want to see it again, immediately. After I watched it with several of the younger ones, they requested that but agreed, instead, to check out "Merlin's New Magical Academy Game," passing on the other bonus features. I would not rank The Sword in the Stone among the "classic" animated features produced by Disney (e.g. Bambi, Beauty and the Beast, Dumbo, Pinocchio, and Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs) and Pixar (e.g. Finding Nemo, Ratatouille, Toy Story, Toy Story 2, and WALL-E) as well as DreamWorks' Antz and Shrek. However, how many animation features do?

Perhaps there are other grandparents and parents who also saw The Sword in the Stone years ago, as did I, and are not inclined to have a copy available for children to see. I urge them to reconsider because it possesses a unique "magic" of its own. I think they will also enjoy the bonus features. Hopefully this reissued version will attract the interest and gain the appreciation the film clearly deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sword In The Stone (blu ray): enchanting movie with soft image, but more superior than the DVD in all aspects., Aug. 7 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

This 50th Anniversary Edition of The Sword In The Stone was Walt Disney’s 18th animated feature and the last animated film released before Walt Disney’s death. It arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.75:1 encode. This 1963 animated feature was released on DVD as Gold Collection (2003) and 45th Anniversary Edition (2008), and both had 1.33:1. For the first time, the picture finally appears as widescreen! Colours have been bolstered and black colour deepened. But unfortunately, there was excessive noise reduction, wiping off a lot of the grain and details, resulting in a very soft flat image with loss of sharpness and lack of pop in the colours. (Another prime example of excessive DNR was Unversal’s Predators). But don’t despair. After watching the HD version, I took out my 2003 Gold Collection DVD. The picture here in 1.33:1 was even worst with duller colours and softer images, immediately noticeable on the colours and sharpness of the opening credits. Although this current transfer cannot be compared to other Diamond Editions such as the Lion King, Bambi, Peter Pan, Lady and the Tramp, all with vibrant saturated colours that pop, nevertheless, it is much superior than the DVD version. The technique in the drawing reminded me of Winnie the Pooh era, a totally different method compared to those more modern techniques. Nevertheless the picture was still very enjoyable and enchanting, especially when you introduce this to your young children. (4/5)

AUDIO:

For the first time, this 1963 movie comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio lossless track, which is a significant improvement over previous Dolby Digital 5.1 track. Voices are clean and clear on the whole, with minimal hiss, and effects are bright and well-prioritized, despite some presumably unavoidable flatness and tininess. There is minimal rear speaker or subwoofer activity. I would have preferred a lossless track of the original mono. The music score by George Bruns was nominated for an Oscar for Best Music, Score of Music – Adaptation or Treatment, in 1964, but lost to Andre Previn’s Irma La Douce. When I watched the primitive menu of the 2003 Gold edition, there was no offering of any choice for sound – I guess it just defaunted to Dolby Digital, and the sound in the DVD was much inferior than that of this lossless version. (4/5)

TRIVIA:

This is the first Disney animated feature with songs by Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman, who was responsible for songs from Mary Poppins, The Jungle Book, Winnie the Pooh, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, and the famous theme-park song “It’s A Small World (After All).

Although Walt Disney never knew it, he himself was character designer Bill Peet's model for Merlin. Peet saw them both as argumentative, cantankerous, playful and very intelligent. Peet also gave Merlin Walt's nose.

Arthur was voiced by three different boys - Rickie Sorensen, Richard Reitherman and Robert Reitherman. The changes in voice are very noticeable in the film because of the way Arthur's voice keeps going from broken to unbroken, sometimes in the same scene. One of the easiest noticed is in the last scene in the throne room when Arthur asks in his "changed voice", "Oh, Archimedes, I wish Merlin was here!" Then, the camera cuts farther back and Arthur shouts in his "unchanged voice," "Merlin! Merlin!" Pay attention to see if you also notice the above difference.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Sword In The Stone remains one of Disney’s lower profile animated features, even fifty years after it was released. This movie is one of my beloved favourite Disney films, and my wife’s favourite one. Unfortunately, the video suffered through unnecessarily excessive noise scrubbing, removing a lot the details and grain. The movie is still very enchanting and lovely to watch, and both video and audio are much more superior than the DVD version. For now, this is the best version of this enchanting movie available, and is still highly recommended.

One little shopping tip for blu ray discs, it is wise to scan the website on a regular basis. I have an Excel spreadsheet listing all the movies or CDs that I like to purchase, plus their prices. For major releases, the initial price is usually the highest, and as the release date draws closer, the price may drop. In this case, the original price was $30.74. But suddenly it dropped to $24.99 and I immediately ordered it. Now the price has gone back up to $29.97. Opposite is true for non-major release. Here, the initial announced price is usually the lowest. Shop wisely and you can save a few dollars. I hope this shopping tip is helpful to you.

Finally, get this blu ray version, and watch it with your young children. They will all glue to the TV and this movie will enchant a new generation of youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pan and Scan, March 21 2001
By 
K. Bowden "Zodgilla" (Richmond, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's been reformatted folks - you don't get the full picture. There's nothing in the published specs to tell you that (as the early Disney animateds were originally 1.33:1), but you're missing 25% of the picture here. Wish I'd noticed the itty bitty print on the back before I broke the seal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD MOVIE, Oct. 24 2013
Sword in the Stone is a wonderful movie, that i have loved when i was young and that i'm still loving. ! In Blu-ray it's even more beautiful !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Defective Blu-ray disc, Sept. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Blu-ray disc freezes up in several places. I was very disappointed and expected a much better product from Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sword and the Stone, Aug. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you for a promt delivery.
I have been slowly collecting Walt Disney movies, and other classic children's movies.
This one is one of my favorites.
Christine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Technically, it was great. Colours... sound....the kids really enjoyed it and everything worked without any glitch. It was a good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lesser classic worth seeing, Jan. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
It wasn't Disney's best, but there are so few stories for boys in Disney's canon, that I found this a useful addition to our animated film library for our son.

Great to have found it and got it so easily via Amazon.

Paul B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Jan. 6 2013
By 
Vicki Rigsby "Toby" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition) (DVD)
Who could not find this film wonderful to watch. My great niece will have many hours of enjoyment watching this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10b4b900)

This product

Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition)
Sword in the Stone (45th Anniversary Edition) by Wolfgang Reitherman (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 27.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews