Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best coming-of-age film of all time
Based on a novella by Stephen King, Stand by Me tells the tale of four friends in the summer of 1959 who go in search of the body of a missing boy their own age in the thick woods surrounding their small hometown of Castle Rock. There’s the mild-mannered Gordie (Wil Wheaton), tough guy Chris (the late great River Phoenix), loose-cannon Teddy (Corey Feldman), and...
Published 20 months ago by Jamie MacDougall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Mighty Mouse is a cartoon. Superman's a real guy."
Rob Reiner's "Stand By Me" is a celebration of those youthful adventures that eventually transform into cherished memories as the years go by. It is also a touching tale centered around the strong ties of friendship and the eventual loss of innocence one experiences when one comes of age. Definitely unusual themes when you consider the original source material...
Published on June 19 2004 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best coming-of-age film of all time, Nov. 6 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stand By Me [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import] (Blu-ray)
Based on a novella by Stephen King, Stand by Me tells the tale of four friends in the summer of 1959 who go in search of the body of a missing boy their own age in the thick woods surrounding their small hometown of Castle Rock. There’s the mild-mannered Gordie (Wil Wheaton), tough guy Chris (the late great River Phoenix), loose-cannon Teddy (Corey Feldman), and clumsy Vern (Jerry O’Connell). Complicating their search is the fact that the town’s toughest gang, lead by Ace Merrill (Kiefer Sutherland), is also searching for the body.

Stand by Me is a beloved 1986 film about growing up, friendship and courage that is all the more powerful for the outstanding performances of its four young lead actors. As they set out on their trek down the train-tracks they are forced to pull together and exhibit a strength they never knew they had. And when it’s all over and they emerge from the woods, they’ve discovered more about themselves, each other and the world as a whole. It’s a tale that you can tell is very close to director Rob Reiner’s heart as it is very lovingly told and offers up a great soundtrack and breathtaking scenery.

Stand by Me has never looked better and offers up great video & audio quality. Fine detail and the woodsy colors in and around the small town of Castle Rock all look especially great. Special features include a 25th anniversary picture-in-picture commentary/reunion (a Blu-ray exclusive) with director Reiner and actors Wheaton and Feldman, an audio commentary by Reiner, ‘Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand by Me’ documentary (37 min), and a music video (3 min).

Regardless of what year you were born or what decade you grew up in, Stand by Me is a timeless coming-of-age film that will tug at your heart and take you back to your own childhood memories. The film has never looked better and its special features should delight both new and old fans alike. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up for your collection. It’s a rare type of film in that it only gets better with time. Highest Recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best friendly film, Feb. 28 2005
By 
Eric Chagnon (St-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
When I was 12 ( I'm 21), I fell in love for a movie called Now and then, starring Christina Ricci, Rosie O'Donnell, Demi Moore and more...It was a coming-of-age movie. So, on the box of the VHS, it was written : The best coming-of-age since Stand by me. It made me curious about this flick, but I didn't any chances to watch it, until last May. I was working (in a Video Store), when I saw the vhs box of the movie...And when I watched it, I immediately felt in love with this beautiful movie. I really think it's the better coming-of-age movie that I've seen in my life. I just bought the DVD and woaw, again, it's a great movie. The performances of the 4 boys are remarquabe, especially Wil Wheaton and River Phoenix. I will watch this movie again and again and again. You can't be tired of Stand by me. And I don't know what to say about the end of this movie.It makes me cry each times that I see it. The story is wonderful. When I'm listening this movie, I forget all my problems. It's a film you can't miss.It's a masterpiece !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great nostalgic story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, June 8 2014
By 
Andrea Hoornweg (Courtice, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is definitely a classic. Watched it as a kid, and still love it now. One of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far best movie ever done., March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great young actors and brings you back to a worry free simple time.Recommend watching this movie to bring the kid out of you and enjoy life like you once had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Reiner's Best Film, Sept. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stand By Me is a story of the coming of age of 4 teenage boys on a quest to find the body of another teenager who has gone missing & is rumored to have been struck by a train. the boys pack up their bedrolls, sneak out of their homes and so the trek begins. Well acted by Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Cory Feldman and Jerry O'Connell, this film is superb in every way. Keifer Sutherland co-stars as the dominating and cruel friend of Vern's (Jerry O'Connell) older brother who is also on his way with his gang of punk friends to find the body of the missing boy. Wonderfully acted by all the cast, the film is brilliantly directed by Rob Reiner and narrated by Richard Dreyfuss, this is simply the best novel by Stephen King and Rob Reiner's finest work. A wonderful film flor anyone who was a teenager in the 50s, the old rock and roll is music is played throughout the film which only ads to the atmosphere of the movie. Get this movie and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the reason why i chose this rating is cause this is a great movie and its one of my fave movies ever to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Les vrais amitiés!, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
L'un des meilleurs film que je n'ai jamais vue!

Ce film raconte le passage difficile de l'enfance innocente à l'adolescence où l'ont découvre toute les misères et les défis que la vie nous réserves.

Ce film démontre les vrais valeurs que forme les VRAIS amitiés, la véritable confiance mutuel que l'on développe les uns pour les autres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film can also be used as a document., June 21 2013
By 
Gilles Brousseau (montreal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The film is a classical and a nice item for collection.. A very good study on adolescence. Scenes are well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New DVD Release Is the Definitive Version, Sept. 4 2000
By A Customer
I'm not going to write a synopsis of the plot here or tell you how great the movie is. You already know that. If you are going to buy this movie on DVD and have never seen it, plan to watch the bonus documentary included on the new DVD release first, "Walking the Tracks," a behind-the-scenes look at the making of film as told by Rob Reiner, Stephen King, Wil Wheaton, Corey Feldman and Jerry O'Connell. You'll hear Wil explain why Gordie doesn't get his brother's Yankee cap returned, what Jerry O'Connell really thought of Kiefer Sutherland, and how Rob Reiner made two of the cast members weep during the train trestle scene! The docu footage appears to have been shot on the late 1990s or even early 2000, and it's wonderful to see these people together again (River Phoenix, who died in 1993, is not part of the documentary, but is referred to by just about everyone being interviewed). The DVD format has the advantage of letterbox format (don't worry--you won't get a shrunk and stretched-looking movie . . . the widescreen format for this movie is superb, and it will make you toss your old VHS copy in the trash five minutes into the movie). The sound is good as it gets, and you'll also have subtitle options (watch dialogue to the flick in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, Tai, or Korean). Overdubbed voice options include French, Spanish, Portuguese, and of course, the original dialogue in English. The best part for me was watching the movie with English subtitles, which made me realize for the first time what some of the dialogue was (including some put downs my ears could never quite figure out--"wet end" and "whoremaster," among others). But far and away, the reason you must buy this DVD is to listen to Rob Reiner's personable director's commentary as the film plays. It's an option, so you can still watch and listen to the complete movie in its original format, but if you've already memorized the scenes because you've seen this movie countless times, listen to Rob's (apparently one-take and continuous) comments about each scene. He's also very funny, and his anecdote about the scene in which Ray Brower is found by the tracks is hilarious, despite the somber tone of this section of the movie. Other perks: the long-lost video of "Stand by Me," featuring singer Ben E. King, River Phoenix and Wil Wheaton (the song was originally a #4 hit in 1960 and was re-released in the fall of 1986, peaking at #9--Rob Reiner makes a comment about the song going to #1 both times, but he's not correct). Some other treats round out the DVD, like bios of each star and scene selection. Don't wait another minute. Buy/rent a DVD player if you don't already have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stand By Me [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import]
Stand By Me [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) [Import] by Rob Reiner (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 21.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews