summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars212
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$25.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 21, 2013
Stand By Me is a story of the coming of age of 4 teenage boys on a quest to find the body of another teenager who has gone missing & is rumored to have been struck by a train. the boys pack up their bedrolls, sneak out of their homes and so the trek begins. Well acted by Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Cory Feldman and Jerry O'Connell, this film is superb in every way. Keifer Sutherland co-stars as the dominating and cruel friend of Vern's (Jerry O'Connell) older brother who is also on his way with his gang of punk friends to find the body of the missing boy. Wonderfully acted by all the cast, the film is brilliantly directed by Rob Reiner and narrated by Richard Dreyfuss, this is simply the best novel by Stephen King and Rob Reiner's finest work. A wonderful film flor anyone who was a teenager in the 50s, the old rock and roll is music is played throughout the film which only ads to the atmosphere of the movie. Get this movie and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2000
I'm not going to write a synopsis of the plot here or tell you how great the movie is. You already know that. If you are going to buy this movie on DVD and have never seen it, plan to watch the bonus documentary included on the new DVD release first, "Walking the Tracks," a behind-the-scenes look at the making of film as told by Rob Reiner, Stephen King, Wil Wheaton, Corey Feldman and Jerry O'Connell. You'll hear Wil explain why Gordie doesn't get his brother's Yankee cap returned, what Jerry O'Connell really thought of Kiefer Sutherland, and how Rob Reiner made two of the cast members weep during the train trestle scene! The docu footage appears to have been shot on the late 1990s or even early 2000, and it's wonderful to see these people together again (River Phoenix, who died in 1993, is not part of the documentary, but is referred to by just about everyone being interviewed). The DVD format has the advantage of letterbox format (don't worry--you won't get a shrunk and stretched-looking movie . . . the widescreen format for this movie is superb, and it will make you toss your old VHS copy in the trash five minutes into the movie). The sound is good as it gets, and you'll also have subtitle options (watch dialogue to the flick in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Chinese, Japanese, Tai, or Korean). Overdubbed voice options include French, Spanish, Portuguese, and of course, the original dialogue in English. The best part for me was watching the movie with English subtitles, which made me realize for the first time what some of the dialogue was (including some put downs my ears could never quite figure out--"wet end" and "whoremaster," among others). But far and away, the reason you must buy this DVD is to listen to Rob Reiner's personable director's commentary as the film plays. It's an option, so you can still watch and listen to the complete movie in its original format, but if you've already memorized the scenes because you've seen this movie countless times, listen to Rob's (apparently one-take and continuous) comments about each scene. He's also very funny, and his anecdote about the scene in which Ray Brower is found by the tracks is hilarious, despite the somber tone of this section of the movie. Other perks: the long-lost video of "Stand by Me," featuring singer Ben E. King, River Phoenix and Wil Wheaton (the song was originally a #4 hit in 1960 and was re-released in the fall of 1986, peaking at #9--Rob Reiner makes a comment about the song going to #1 both times, but he's not correct). Some other treats round out the DVD, like bios of each star and scene selection. Don't wait another minute. Buy/rent a DVD player if you don't already have one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2012
Based on a novella by Stephen King, Stand by Me tells the tale of four friends in the summer of 1959 who go in search of the body of a missing boy their own age in the thick woods surrounding their small hometown of Castle Rock. There’s the mild-mannered Gordie (Wil Wheaton), tough guy Chris (the late great River Phoenix), loose-cannon Teddy (Corey Feldman), and clumsy Vern (Jerry O’Connell). Complicating their search is the fact that the town’s toughest gang, lead by Ace Merrill (Kiefer Sutherland), is also searching for the body.

Stand by Me is a beloved 1986 film about growing up, friendship and courage that is all the more powerful for the outstanding performances of its four young lead actors. As they set out on their trek down the train-tracks they are forced to pull together and exhibit a strength they never knew they had. And when it’s all over and they emerge from the woods, they’ve discovered more about themselves, each other and the world as a whole. It’s a tale that you can tell is very close to director Rob Reiner’s heart as it is very lovingly told and offers up a great soundtrack and breathtaking scenery.

Stand by Me has never looked better and offers up great video & audio quality. Fine detail and the woodsy colors in and around the small town of Castle Rock all look especially great. Special features include a 25th anniversary picture-in-picture commentary/reunion (a Blu-ray exclusive) with director Reiner and actors Wheaton and Feldman, an audio commentary by Reiner, ‘Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand by Me’ documentary (37 min), and a music video (3 min).

Regardless of what year you were born or what decade you grew up in, Stand by Me is a timeless coming-of-age film that will tug at your heart and take you back to your own childhood memories. The film has never looked better and its special features should delight both new and old fans alike. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up for your collection. It’s a rare type of film in that it only gets better with time. Highest Recommendation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
L'un des meilleurs film que je n'ai jamais vue!

Ce film raconte le passage difficile de l'enfance innocente à l'adolescence où l'ont découvre toute les misères et les défis que la vie nous réserves.

Ce film démontre les vrais valeurs que forme les VRAIS amitiés, la véritable confiance mutuel que l'on développe les uns pour les autres.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2002
This 1986 film directed by Rob Reiner is, without a doubt, the best film adaption of any piece of work from horror maestro Stephen King. However, this isn't the usual King/horror story. It's a magical journey back to youth and the fun adventures you'd have as a kid. Not to mention the bonds you develop with your closest childhood friends. The movie takes place in the 1950's where a group of friends decide to go on an overnight adventure to find the dead body of a boy who was hit and killed by a train. During their journey, the young lads have a few of their own scary encounters. The young guys are all played very realisticly by Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Corey Feldman, and the incredibly slimmed down Jerry 'O' Connell. Along the way, they encounter the town bully, played wonderfully by Kiefer Sutherland. The movie is narrarated by an adult Gordy(Wheaton's character), who is voiced, and played, by Richard Dreyfuss. I have always thought Dreyfuss had a great voice, and it is put to great use here. It's a special movie that will rekindle fond memories of your own childhood. Most people might not of gone on such a big and odd journey as these guys, but I'm sure almost anybody can relate to that special time in life. Reiner did a great job. Watch out for a cameo appearence by John Cusack. A great American classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2001
Such a movie like Stand By Me only comes once in a lifetime. Luckily, it is captured by Rob Reiner's excellent direction and the four boys' incredible acting. The story, based on a Stephen King short story, revolves around Gordie(Wil Wheaton), Chris(River Phoenix), Teddy(Corey Feldman), and Vern(Jerry O'Connell). Having heard about the disappearance of Ray Brauer, they discover from Vern that his brother ran across the body, but could not tell the police because he was in a stolen car. Eager to claim fame, the boys set off on a long trek to find the body and become famous. Throughout this trip, they learn more about themselves and each other than they could ever imagine. Vern's brother tells the leader of his gang Ace the whereabouts of the body, so they too set off for the body. This comedy/drama is simply incredible. I grew up watching this movie. Wil Wheaton is brilliant as Gordie, the would-be writer. The late River Phoenix gives an unforgettable performance as Chris. Corey Feldman plays the wild and crazy Teddy with great effect, and Jerry O'Connell is hysterical as Vern. Kiefer Sutherland is also excellent as Ace, while John Cusack makes a good cameo performance as Gordie's deceased brother Denny. Rob Reiner directs with a keen and knowing eye, giving the blend of humor and drama just the right touch. Fantastic Movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2001
Yes, "Stand By Me" is a very good movie. I am only 14, so I can't say that it brings me back memories of my childhood. But this is still a great movie. It's about four 12-year-old boys who go on a 30-mile hike in search of a dead body. The boys cuss, smoke, tell tall tales, and stick together as a team. Let's just say that things get a little dicey, however, when the knife-wielding hoods of the town begin to follow the boys. This movie is very funny (I can't stop laughing after the pie-eating contest, even if it was a little ribald), but it's also a touching story about friendship, too. All in all, this is a wonderful movie.
"Stand By Me", however, is rated R. In general terms, it is rated R for plenty of inappropriate, rude, and vulgar behavior. These include crude language (e.g. "Why don't you go home and .... your mother some more?!"), smoking, offensive humor, and perilous situations, all of which involve 12-year-old kids. This is why I rated it 4 stars. I highly recommend it for fathers and no-less-than-14-year-old sons. I wouldn't want to put any crazy ideas into the minds of any younger kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2000
To say "Stand By Me" is a classic, is to be modestly talking about the film. In my opinion, it's more than a classic, it's a legend. It tells an unforgettable story of four friends who set off on a journey to find a missing body of a dead teen. Along the way is the real journey of the movie. It's mainly a story of teenage boys hanging out and growing up at the same time. On their way to find the dead body, they will encounter conflict and have even more good times.
"Stand By Me" has more unforgettable sequences than just about any other drama movie. You'll never forget some of them such as the story that Gordie (Wil Wheaton) tells to his friends about a pie eating contest and when they all encounter leeches. And of course, one of my all time favorites from any movie, the scene where Gordie and Vern (Jerry O'Connell) are on a high rise train track when a train is coming from behind them. Kiefer Sutherland puts on a great performance as the boys' main enemy. River Phoenix also puts on one of his best performances before his death a few years ago.
"Stand By Me" is one of my top ten favorite movies of all time and I know a lot of people who feel the same way about the movie. It's a classic in every sense and I recommend it to anybody no matter what kind of movies you like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2000
Stand by Me is one of those movies that reminds you of the joys of being a kid. It reminded me a lot of the fun parts of my childhood.
The movie deals with four boys going on an adventure to find a dead body, since it is based on the Stephen King novella,"The Body." The four boys are really different from each other, but they form a bond that will always exist. I think that it is great at the end when Richard Dreyfus in a small cameo as the adult Gordie says that he will never really have the same kind of friends as he did when he was a kid. To some degree, I believe that many people can relate to this feeling.
River Phoenix(Chris Chambers), Wil Wheaton(Gordie LaChance), Corey Feldman(Teddy Duchamp), and Jerry O'Connell(Vern Tessio) are great as the four buddies who travel together in search of the dead body. They relay a true sense of companionship as the young friends.
Some of the highlights include Gordie's pie eating contest story, the mad dash for Gordie and Vern to get to the other side of the railroad bridge, and the scene where Gordie stands by Chris and tells Ace(the older bully) to leave or there will be another dead body.
If you ever want to go back and relive some of the adventures of your childhood, then you don't want to miss this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 1999
I remember I first saw this movie when I was about eight years old, and whenever the title popped up in my head I thought of "the dirty movie." It is true that there is a lot of bad language. But that shouldn't stop anyone from enjoying the movie. A couple years down the road, when I watched it again, I totally fell in love with it. It is a story about an adventure of four true friends. As someone said earlier, these boys, like any others their age, want to be *that* cool. But when the four of them are together, sometimes they forget that and break down, letter their weaker side show. Each boy cries once in the movie. But their friends, especially Chris, are understanding and comforting. (Maybe with the exception of Vern, who thinks singing "The Ballad of Paladin" is the proper thing to do while someone is crying)
Whether or not you see the movie, I think you should defineately read the novella "The Body," part of the book "Different Seasons." This book also contains two of King's other stories that were made into movies. In "The Body" you get so much more of the feelings - and King also sums up the story better in the book. After seeing the movie you'll wonder "DID Ace ever get back at the four boys for stealing his fame?" and the book will give you your answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse