Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Another Soap Opera
I am old enough to remember Soap when it came out in the late 70s. It was groundbreaking TV that tackled such issues as homosexuality, religion, infidelity, racial issues, and all kinds of stereotypes with a comedic bent. The characters are original, quirky and represent the good and not so good in all of us. After all of these years, the series stands up well and the...
Published on May 3 2009 by Lee Admirals

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars soap
all the discs freeze,have tried them on 3 players,didn't freeze that much on the third one, very fustrating to try to watch.
Published 22 months ago by mike bertrand


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Another Soap Opera, May 3 2009
By 
Lee Admirals (Victoria, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
I am old enough to remember Soap when it came out in the late 70s. It was groundbreaking TV that tackled such issues as homosexuality, religion, infidelity, racial issues, and all kinds of stereotypes with a comedic bent. The characters are original, quirky and represent the good and not so good in all of us. After all of these years, the series stands up well and the talent and timing of the cast is well worth watching. The quality of the DVDs is good. Only one problem - watching one episode is like eating potato chips - you can't stop at just one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated, but just a scream, Feb. 26 2010
By 
D. Bertram (Richmond Hill, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
If you loved the initial broadcast this collection of the whole series is great. The episodes go like candy, a great snowy/rainy day time filler. We were amazed at how relevant some of the plots were still today. You do have to get past the 70's/80's looks and style, but funny is indeed still funny. Wonderfully acted, directed and most importantly written. We loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For when you just need a good laugh., Aug. 28 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
Having vague memories of watching this series years ago, I thought I would buy it and save for a rainy day, couch kind of thingy day. Well that day came recently and out came the Soap discs. They were just as funny as I remembered. I guess they are not for everyone, but if you have a good sense of the ridiculous and a quirky idea of fun, this is for you. This series is a great way to while away the hours of a rainy day. No blood and guts, bad language or violence, just good old fashioned comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop watching !!!!!!, Oct. 13 2009
By 
J. Patenaude (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
First off, I must admit I was a big fan of the serie...
In this "format" I was able to watch 2 or 3 episodes in a row.
This was my father's favorite show and and I remembered how much he laughed...
Thanks for the memories !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great show from the late 70s, Dec 12 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
This DVD set of Soap is a must-buy for anyone who was a fan of the show in the late 70s/early 80s. See Billy Crystal when he was a young actor in his first prominent role and you can see what a great actor he would become in later years. The acting by all the performers in this show were all great. This is definitely a set that you will watch over and over. I know I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soap - A fantastic show with a sub-par release, Aug. 31 2013
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
*Be advised. I did not purchase this DVD set from Amazon.ca and thus I am not reviewing their service, but the product itself.*
Soap was and will always be a fantastic sitcom, a parody of the ever popular soap opera. The 4 season show is filled with zany plot lines and hilarious cliff hangers, with a good group of characters, and a cast composed of excellent actors. The show itself deserves 5 stars, but the DVD release, put out by the dreaded Sony Entertainment in 2008, falls far from wonderful.

PROS:
*All episodes are included on 12 discs.
*The video quality (for the most part) is good (but not great.)
*The mono audio is generally clear.
*Some hour long episodes are included full and intact, running approx. 49 minutes.
*A rather good price.

CONS:
*Two or three episodes are the syndicated versions, which run approx. 22 min instead of 24 to 25 minutes.
*Some hour long episodes have been cut into two-part episodes (which generally run only 23 minutes each, which leads me to believe they have been edited.)
*Some episodes (most in season one and many in season 4) do not included the 'last time on Soap' recap segments.
*The quality is not the best, especially in season 4. The image is generally a tad blurry, but this is do to the age of the program and the fact that it was videotaped (not filmed.)
*There are few bonus features. Season 2 includes a short featurette with the show's creators, and a another copy of the first episode (which is entirely unneeded). The only other 'features' are previews for other DVD sets.
*The packaging is atrocious. The 12 discs come stacked up on each other, without protection, in a sort of plastic spindle (the type of plastic spindle blank CDs come on.) I recommend purchasing alternative cases or paper sleeves or envelopes to better protect the discs. All this is included in a flimsy cardboard case.
*No episode listing or descriptions.

To be honest, despite the various cons, I would recommend purchasing this set if you are interested in an innovative and ground-breaking television show from the last 1970s. Despite it's short run and cliff-hanger finale, Soap will always remain an excellent and hilarious, topical show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Laughing Good Time, Jan. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
Soap was ahead of its time. Topics referred to in the series are still relevant today-for instance, gays having/adopting children.

The dry humor and physical comedy leaves nothing to be desired, and I can't think of a better cast. If you pay close attention, you will see many actors who went on to become noteworthy stars in movies and television.

Overall, money well worth spent, and a gift that keeps on giving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah television comedy at its best, Jan. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
Absolutely great! This is television comedy at its best there is no comparison! Worth every minute of time spent watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set!, July 4 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
Nice to have the whoile series in one set! I can throw away all my fuzzy VHS-TV-taped copies now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My dad loved it, Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soap: The Complete Series (DVD)
So my dad was talking about this show like 5 years ago and I found it here for 40 bucks. I gave it to him for Christmas, he loved it, and its actually a great show. Anyone who likes shows like arrested development will love this show. Also you should google the history of this show, that's a good story in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soap: The Complete Series
Soap: The Complete Series by Rod Roddy (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 144.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews