Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botswana magic
The characters in Alexander McCall Smith's popular detective books absolutely come to life in this HBO TV series, as does the country of Botswana. Singer/poet Jill Scott is the perfect combination of sweetness and strength that is Precious Romotswe, the number one lady detective. Her prim and proper secretary/assistant detective is played wonderfully by Anika Noni Rose...
Published on Dec 5 2009 by Wanda Martin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars great
great, please do more shows
Published 1 month ago by ej


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botswana magic, Dec 5 2009
By 
Wanda Martin (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The characters in Alexander McCall Smith's popular detective books absolutely come to life in this HBO TV series, as does the country of Botswana. Singer/poet Jill Scott is the perfect combination of sweetness and strength that is Precious Romotswe, the number one lady detective. Her prim and proper secretary/assistant detective is played wonderfully by Anika Noni Rose. Anthony Minghella, the Academy Award winning director of The English Patient and The Talented Mr. Ripley, has done a beautiful job on this, his final project. The gorgeous cinematography make the people and country of Botswana shine. As an added bonus there is the author's film diary that explains how each story was written, information on the country of Botswana, as well as footage of the making of the No. 1 Detective Agency. This is positively the best made series of films (for the big screen quality is unmistakable) I have ever seen that was also adapted from stories I have loved to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting story, Aug. 2 2010
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The adults in our household loved these stories. We found that they followed the books very closely, and that the characters are very realistic. The music is uplifting. A great show for all to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming -- just what you'd expect, Dec 2 2010
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
If you love the quirky, charming and folkloric nature of the books you'll love this series. I so enjoyed seeing the characters brought to life and each one is cast perfectly. You'll recognize many of the plots plus there are new characters and themes to enjoy. I watched the DVD over several weeks during the spring and I'm ready to see it all again now that winter's coming. If you find the DVD a bit pricey, look for second-hand, as I did. I have no regrets with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 1 Ladies Detective Agency HBO Series review, June 27 2013
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The main character-Precious, is perfectly suited to exactly who you envision while reading the books. I found the setting of Botswana exotic and intriguing. Precious never once misses an opportunity to praise Botswana above all the other African countries, nor does she get tired of defending her larger size by claiming she has 'a traditional build'. The stories sneak in a little education as each one subtly contains a topic or two relating to the culture or issues of Botswana. Extremely well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars # 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The filming of Africa was very well done. The story line followed the original books which are some of my favorites. It is too bad that it could not have been continued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
I love this series of stories every much as the books. Jill Scott is perfect in this role. Wish there were more available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book and series I have read to date. Makes u laugh, Dec 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
Excellent book and video series. Makes u fall in love with Africa and makes u smile a lot! I would recommend this book to one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, Real, Funny and Touching, Sept. 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
After reading the books years ago, we did not expect to be so gripped by the series or the characters, but fell for them all again on screen. What a terrific series, and how refreshing not to be exposed to the graphically visual violence that typifies so much of the on screen productions today. The characters were wonderful, the plots were wonderful, and we think there should have been a continuation of the series; what a delightful experience and an educational one, seeing Botswana that way on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FEEL TV AT ITS BEST, Aug. 9 2012
By 
jenny loo "Jenny Loo" (Waterloo Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this tv series totally encapsulates Alexander McCall Smiths books. With a few additional characters to increase comedic relief (ie. the hairdresser next door) , the story lines follow the books almost exactly. Loved seeing Africa like this in a show- stunning- with glorious snippits of native animals. A must see if you have read the series or not! Hope they make more seasons :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed the series, July 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
I really enjoyed the series. I loved the polite raport in the dialogue and the wonderfull colourfull characters.Quirky, and real. It was a lovley trip to Botswana!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

#1 Ladies Detective Agency
#1 Ladies Detective Agency by Anthony Minghella (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 74.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews