Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botswana magic
The characters in Alexander McCall Smith's popular detective books absolutely come to life in this HBO TV series, as does the country of Botswana. Singer/poet Jill Scott is the perfect combination of sweetness and strength that is Precious Romotswe, the number one lady detective. Her prim and proper secretary/assistant detective is played wonderfully by Anika Noni Rose...
Published on Dec 5 2009 by Wanda Martin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars great
great, please do more shows
Published 5 months ago by ej


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botswana magic, Dec 5 2009
By 
Wanda Martin (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The characters in Alexander McCall Smith's popular detective books absolutely come to life in this HBO TV series, as does the country of Botswana. Singer/poet Jill Scott is the perfect combination of sweetness and strength that is Precious Romotswe, the number one lady detective. Her prim and proper secretary/assistant detective is played wonderfully by Anika Noni Rose. Anthony Minghella, the Academy Award winning director of The English Patient and The Talented Mr. Ripley, has done a beautiful job on this, his final project. The gorgeous cinematography make the people and country of Botswana shine. As an added bonus there is the author's film diary that explains how each story was written, information on the country of Botswana, as well as footage of the making of the No. 1 Detective Agency. This is positively the best made series of films (for the big screen quality is unmistakable) I have ever seen that was also adapted from stories I have loved to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming -- just what you'd expect, Dec 2 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
If you love the quirky, charming and folkloric nature of the books you'll love this series. I so enjoyed seeing the characters brought to life and each one is cast perfectly. You'll recognize many of the plots plus there are new characters and themes to enjoy. I watched the DVD over several weeks during the spring and I'm ready to see it all again now that winter's coming. If you find the DVD a bit pricey, look for second-hand, as I did. I have no regrets with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting story, Aug. 2 2010
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The adults in our household loved these stories. We found that they followed the books very closely, and that the characters are very realistic. The music is uplifting. A great show for all to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!!!, Oct. 20 2009
By 
K. Cloak (Victoria BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
This was the best video we've watched! Excellent family entertainment - great stories - can't wait for the next season!!!
Bought a copy for my Mom. The #1 Ladies Detective Agency rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Text to television excellence, Oct. 1 2010
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
Pure joy! My husband and I have read the entire #1 Ladies Detective Agency series and were delighted with the television production. Lots of liberties are taken with the text so purists may be disappointed. The additon of the gay hairdresser, the scrambling of cases and the combining of various characters all work well adding humour and increasing the pace of events. Jill Scott is a perfect Mma Ramotswe...a joyous,compassionate, intelligent African woman of traditional build.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No 1 Ladies Detective Agency HBO Series review, June 27 2013
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The main character-Precious, is perfectly suited to exactly who you envision while reading the books. I found the setting of Botswana exotic and intriguing. Precious never once misses an opportunity to praise Botswana above all the other African countries, nor does she get tired of defending her larger size by claiming she has 'a traditional build'. The stories sneak in a little education as each one subtly contains a topic or two relating to the culture or issues of Botswana. Extremely well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars #1 Ladies Detective Agency - a real treat., Dec 30 2009
By 
Nancy Gleeson "Library Witch" (Langley, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
After enjoying all of the books, I've been waiting to get my hands on the movies. The portrayal of the characters in#1 Ladies Detective Agency is great, the scenery interesting, and the music, especially the singing is wonderful. I feel like I'm right there in Africa. I originally hesitated to buy this as I thought it was very expensive for a movie but then I realized it was all the episodes that have been produced so far. It's a treat to be able to watch a new episode every night or so and to try to remember which book it's taken from. Occasionally some minor details are changed but for the most part they follow the books very closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The books come alive, Dec 28 2010
By 
Bob Anderson (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
I know some people do not share this opinion but I found the actors well-cast for portraying the characters close to how I imagined them when I read the books. There is some griping about the authenticity of the accents but since I don't know what the accents should sound like, it all sounds good to me. It can't be that bad since the author himself (Alexander McCall Smith) says that it was like watching his creations come to life. He had special praise for the work of the lead character Mma Ramotswe as played by Jill Scott. Anika Noni Rose is worth the cost all by herself. The rest of the cast adds that much more value. All in all, I found these episodes very entertaining and hope there will be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars # 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
The filming of Africa was very well done. The story line followed the original books which are some of my favorites. It is too bad that it could not have been continued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: #1 Ladies Detective Agency (DVD)
I love this series of stories every much as the books. Jill Scott is perfect in this role. Wish there were more available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

#1 Ladies Detective Agency
#1 Ladies Detective Agency by Anthony Minghella (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 74.98
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews