Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the PC version :)
First let me start off by saying that I have both the PC and PS3 versions.
And I can tell you that the console version is so much better than its PC counterpart.

Here are a couple of reasons why:

- No "always online" requirement.
- No "auction houses" (Thank God)
- Online play, of course, but also up to 4 player local cooperative play...
Published 6 months ago by PeZat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Diablo 3
Good its a game adventure for anyone like adventure game also the creatures are pretty awesome in the game its fun
Published 4 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the PC version :), Sept. 25 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
First let me start off by saying that I have both the PC and PS3 versions.
And I can tell you that the console version is so much better than its PC counterpart.

Here are a couple of reasons why:

- No "always online" requirement.
- No "auction houses" (Thank God)
- Online play, of course, but also up to 4 player local cooperative play. (Which is awesome!)
- Controls! Blizzard did a great job of converting the mouse and keyboard to controller.
- Much better loot system, less junk and drops are a bit more tailored to the class you're playing.

Overall Diablo III is a great gaming experience. It has a compelling story, great gameplay and a lot of replay value.
So if you skipped the PC version because of all the bad press, well I think taking another look at the console version is definitely worth it.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diablo Goodness Without The Need to be Connected!, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this game. It has so many elements that made me fall in love with the first two games. I really wanted to buy this on PC as soon as it came out, but the need to have to be connected to the net to play put me off. This X-Box version was the answer! Gameplay is great, as is the storyline. Being able to play multi-player on one console is a huge seller for me too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEWS ARE FOR PC VERSION WTF??, Sept. 8 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
BUYERS TAKE HEED: The reviews here are for the pc version. Look around on the internet and you will find many positive reviews for the console version which is a huge improvement over pc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Heard about it from a friend and the game is really great,have not stop playing since I received it.Thanks for the awesome game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Diablo 3 players, April 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo 3 (Computer Game)
Crusader is a tank. Great addition to Diablo 3. Great level design and boss battle. Adventure mode is the best thing to happen to this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars THE DEVIL IN THE CORPORATION, Dec 14 2013
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Diablo 3 (Computer Game)
Even if I was a great fan of the original Diablo and D2, I was late in deciding to take D3 on. It was a combination of factors, from the bad reviews the game kept getting, to the constant servers errors I kept hearing about and to me being too busy to take up such a time-eater. However, I came across it at a great discount and, on an impulse, decided to give it a try. Three weeks of (casual) gameplay later this is what I think.

DIABOLICALLY GORGEOUS
The game is beautiful to look at and a visual pleasure to play in. The environments are meticulously rendered and yet they loose none of their details when zoomed in or acted upon. Blowing up tree trunks or exploding bodies of enemies is both fun and physically accurate. Sure, some heads or pieces of wood can be seen to spin for too long, but that is part of the game's appeal, right? You are become Death, the destroyer of Worlds!

YOUR CHORD SOUNDS FAMILIAR
The sounds are better than the music but they are both quite well made. What I found strange was that, at least once, throughout Act I, the background music clearly reminded me of the main theme from Baldur's Gate. Let's chalk this one off as ...tribute.

GRINDING BUILDS CHARACTER.
The bad news is that it builds exactly the same kind of character for everyone. There are no choices when leveling up. Everything eventually gets unlocked for you and you only get to choose what 4 skills to use and which runes to combine with each one. Your strength, dexterity, intelligence and vitality get automatically increased, depending on your class. No more making a tank out of a ranger I am afraid. And this is where the game looses its first star.
The fact that you get to have a sidekick that does practically little more than keep the mobs occupied until you dispense of them, does not help either.

CULTURAL PHOBIAS DO NOT A GOOD STORY MAKE
Yes, the story plot is infantile, disrespectful to the original games (I will refrain from spoiling it) and it offers very little help in immersing into the game world. It is unfortunate because, BLIZZARD has proved in the past that they can produce games with a very good back-story, such as Starcraft II.
However, this a game franchise that is heavily invested on the Judeo-Christian culture of the Devil. Just read the name on the box! So, taking away demonic pentagrams and most religious symbols (some crosses can still be found) fools no one. Because once you go down that road and then decide to backup, you should make sure not to step on yourself and trip. As in: if a golden-eyed Fallen Angel (Hello!) is helping you fight Diablo, are you sure who is the Devil and who is not?

LOOT. LOOT NEVER CHANGES.
Well designed and clearly labeled items make all the difference in the world. I would love for Borderlands 2 items to have such a clear Damager-Per-Second (DPS) number to make comparisons easier. Pair this with an inventory that is big enough and free of the need to play item-Tetris in (all items take up either one or two vertical squares) and you have yourself almost loot haven. Almost because you still get too many unusable items, mostly because of class restrictions.
You can stash such items in your common stash to share with your other heroes (on the same BattleNet account) but make sure to find the necessary...700,000 gold to pay for all the extra stash space. Hint: use the Auction House while you still can.
The only thing I found missing is the ability to add sockets to magical items and enchant regular ones.

THE AUCTION HOUSE: BRILLIANT! (WHEN IT WORKS)
I am going to go against the current here but here it is: I found the Auction House a brilliant idea. Well designed and decently executed. I am going to be sad to see it go on March, as announced. I can only hope they change their mind before then.
In all honesty, I am currently a Demon Hunter at Nightmare difficulty. And I have heard the complaints that it is impossible to finish Inferno without Real-Money Auction House (which is clearly not how it is supposed to work) but up to Nightmare, using the Auction House is the only way to get enough money to be able to do the enhancements you want, craft or buy the items you covet and unlock the precious extra stash space you need.

CHAINS IN NEED OF BREAKING
I withheld the second star because of the always-online requirement. Because it is indeed a hassle and a hindrance (just try pausing in town for longer than half and hour and see what happens). Yes, the game does offer some gameplay features (namely, the Auction-House) to compensate for the inconvenience but they all give way to anger and frustration whenever BlLIZZARD's servers go down and you are unable to play a Single-player game for days at a time(!). Take away the Auction-House, however, and the always-online requirement becomes a severe and now unjustified hindrance!

THE ORIGINAL SIN
No, D3 looses its third and final star for being both short and boring at times. There, I said it. Yes, it is a well balanced eye-candie, with tons of loot, problematic character development yet the gameplay feels like at chore at times and it is over before you know it. I even found Act I (the one offered for free as a demo) to be better designed and longer than the rest.

It is like that old Woody Allen joke: two old ladies are complaining about their retirement home catering. "The food was awful, barely edible", "I know", her friend replied, "and such small portions!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars beware!, Dec 4 2013
Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo 3 (Computer Game)
I ordered this game and got "The starter edition" which means no on-line multiplayer. I had to pay an additional amount to Blizzard and eat up a 8 GB download to get the "real" edition. Nowhere on the box or the item desc does it say it's not the full edition. It's still a great game but I don't buy a game on optical media only to be told to get the real version online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Diablo 3, Nov. 21 2013
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good its a game adventure for anyone like adventure game also the creatures are pretty awesome in the game its fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's Gauntlet but without the labyrinth, Sept. 14 2013
By 
braindata (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
For the console version, there is no sign-on to Blizzard servers for DRM protection. The usability of the console version is so much greater than what is reported for the PC one.

The similarity to the classic four-player arcade game Gauntlet has to be stated because for the most part you're simply fighting a crapload of enemies. Like every 10m or in every unvisited spot on the map there are enemies waiting to come at you. Loot, gold, and health potions are gathered along the way and they give you some motivation to continue the grind. The repetition can't be understated and when playing solo this can be a lonely and anxious experience. Minding your skills and inventory are the only breaks from the monotony. The good thing is that like in other RPGs the more you acquire and process the better you become so the fights should get quite interesting later on.

I've played a few fantasy action RPGs recently so I think I can rank them according to fun: The most fun by far is Dragon's Crown. Its adventures last only 10 minutes and the co-op matchmaking is seamless; In the middle is Diablo III because the action is rapid but it also feels like an accomplishment to finally reach a goal, though the isometric perspective looks old-school and uninteresting; And at the end is Dragon's Dogma, which is a shame because it really could have been the best. But DD has so much promise at the beginning and yet it becomes punishing and unrewarding to the point where it's no longer fun to play.

At the time of this review I have only invested a couple of hours in Diablo III, or half of the first act, but I believe I have a sense of the game style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Feb. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diablo 3 (Computer Game)
This is an excellent sequel to the previous Diablo games.

you will get lost in the story, challenges and loots it provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfab3144)

This product

Diablo 3
Diablo 3 by Blizzard (Mac OS X Intel, Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
CDN$ 44.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews