Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hypnotic at times
Wonderful collaboration of musicians and singers. All his hits are here, 'only the lonely', 'dream baby', 'blue bayou', 'running scared', 'in dreams', 'crying', 'it's over', 'pretty woman' etc. You can see the admiration from the crowd and people on stage for this legend. This dvd was a beautiful gift to his fans before his death. The black and white was a nice touch...
Published on Oct. 9 2004 by Frank

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Price
This blue ray actually was in my wish list, was getting around to buying it. For some reason the price went from around less than $30.00 to $138.57 + shipping and handling. whats going on, is it made of gold, a incredibly rare collectors item, i would never ever buy a blue ray as expensive as this.
Published 3 months ago by Christian Schilte


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hypnotic at times, Oct. 9 2004
By 
Frank (Maple, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Wonderful collaboration of musicians and singers. All his hits are here, 'only the lonely', 'dream baby', 'blue bayou', 'running scared', 'in dreams', 'crying', 'it's over', 'pretty woman' etc. You can see the admiration from the crowd and people on stage for this legend. This dvd was a beautiful gift to his fans before his death. The black and white was a nice touch as it gives the concert a nostalgia look. The performers contribute nicely to the concert but allow Orbison to be centre stage. Roy's music timing is flawless. Thought I might get sick of hearing 'pretty woman' after so many times but I was wrong, this live version gave it life. The only problem I had was I found the dvd a little expensive ($34. Cdn), but shop around. This dvd is still worth it. The sound is unbelievable. Get this dvd and let the violins, his words and voice melt your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great BD with great sound, Oct. 18 2009
By 
G. Rajan "Amazon shopper" (Markham, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roy Orbison: Black and White [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Even if you are not a Orb fan, you will love this BD and if you just turned up the DTS soundtrack, you will love it even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!, Feb. 13 2009
By 
Mcfarlane Donald (Toronto Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roy Orbison: Black and White [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you are a real Roy Orbison fan you have to have this Blue Ray DVD in your collection. Not only does he do virtually all of his hits he has assembled an incredible group of musicians to help him out. It wasn't his last concert but pretty close. I just can't say enough about this performance, it's fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish there was a sixth star!!, Oct. 28 2013
By 
Steve Gourdeau (Kingston, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow, what a concert. All in b&w and the sound is simply awesome. I like Orbison but was not a die hard fan. However, this DVD/cd combo has to grab you , no matter your musical taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word, AMAZING, Dec 14 2008
By 
Robert Sutherby (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roy Orbison: Black and White [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just a year before his death in 1989, Roy Orbison, riding on the coattails of substantial success with The Traveling Wilburys and simultaneously working on the great album "Mystery Girl" (released posthumously in 1989), gathered together a few dozen of his musical best friends and put off a dynamite show.

Orbison's haunting vocals did not flag one bit through the years, and this concert pays testament to this fact. Absolutely stellar cast backing him up: Bruce Springsteen, Elvis Costello, kd Lang, Jennifer Warnes, Tom Waits et. al. I will leave the rest to guess. :-)

I saw this concert on PBS recently and very much look forward to watching it in Blu-Ray. I should probably mention it is filmed in black and white, hence the title. I'm happy they made this choice, it lends such a great atmosphere to the whole event. Camera work varies from rock steady to shaky hand held but the main thing is the music, which if you're a fan of Roy Orbison at all, you'll be impressed by these great live renditions.

PS Keep an ear out for one of the most bizarre keyboard solos ever, by a very caught-off-guard Tom Waits, it's priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best I've seen!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tunes by great artists!, May 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An amazing documentary of great musicians playing Roys tunes. Definitely a keeper for your collection of music documentaries. This DVD demonstrates the respect musicians have for RO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Price, April 8 2014
This review is from: Roy Orbison: Black and White [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This blue ray actually was in my wish list, was getting around to buying it. For some reason the price went from around less than $30.00 to $138.57 + shipping and handling. whats going on, is it made of gold, a incredibly rare collectors item, i would never ever buy a blue ray as expensive as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin Roy, March 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like Roy Orbison this is definitely one for the collection. Da di dum da di dum..just filling word requirement...DONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love it, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD made my husbands day and he just loves it. Great sound and the bonus inside included a CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roy Orbison: Black and White [Blu-ray]
Roy Orbison: Black and White [Blu-ray] by Tony Mitchell (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 167.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews