Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The best CD
A wonderful compilation of hits and singers. Andrea Bocelli and Katherine McPhee are the best!
Published 13 days ago by Christie Callea

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HIT MAN David Foster & Friends
This is a 2 disc package, but on the one I got from Amazon, only one CD has music. The other reads blank. Since it's opened I can't return it, so I'll go back to buying from the local store again. As far as the album goes, it's fantastic...a great combo of terrific artists and songs. Too bad the packaging was faulty.
Published on April 10 2010 by Lulu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The best CD, Aug. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
A wonderful compilation of hits and singers. Andrea Bocelli and Katherine McPhee are the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Show, Nov. 12 2008
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Pros: Video and Sound: Top Notch
Cons: After all is said and done you realize just how much of a shmaltz-meister Foster is (and he admits it too)and so this video never really gets moving. I will say that he is one of the best shmaltz-meisters around.

In no particular order

Love Theme from St. Elmo's Fire - David Foster, Kenny G
Kenny G is fine as long as he isn't given the chance to play
too many notes and this works because David knows this too and didn't let him solo too much.

David Foster: Can't Help Falling in Love. Fun and Jazzy.
Entertaining and much better than Boccelli trying to sing it seriously in english

Beauty/Man in Motion [DVD] - Michael Johns
Fine Performance

Mornin'/After the Love Has Gone [DVD] - Brian McKnight
I love David's sophisti-jazzy pop stuff and Mcknight handles it well

Somewhere [DVD] - Katharine McPhee (The Streisand arrangement) beautiful voice except when she tries to get into power territory then you find yourself thinking "leave this one to Barbra"

Through the Fire [DVD] - Reneé Olstead
Adequate vocal but not much separating her from numerous fine female vocalists in theis genre

Hard to Say I'm Sorry/You're the Inspiration/Glory of Love - Peter Cetera
Another highlight of the show. Although I was never happy about Foster's role in turning a legendary rock band (and singer) into a Top 40 schmaltz band you can't deny the talent this guy has. No-one else sounds like him. Just listen to the guy who tries to fill in for him in Chicago's current tours and you will hear what I mean.

Got to Be Real [DVD] - Cheryl Lynn...
Great vocal. More fun to dance to than to listen to

Wildflower [DVD] - Blake Shelton. Nice to hear a countrified version but doesn't come anywhere near the original.

Love Look What You've Done [DVD] - Boz Scaggs
Jo Jo [DVD] - Boz Scaggs
A highlight of the show. Typical excellence from this master performer and musician

Chocolate Legs [DVD] - Eric Benet
The guy can sing but this could easily have been left out

Amapola [DVD] - Andrea Bocelli
Excellent as always

Because We Believe [DVD] - Andrea Bocelli
Very nice but do we need to hear it AGAIN?

Prayer [DVD] - Andrea Boccelli, Katharine McPhee
Same as 17. except it was a pleasure to see and hear Mcphee in the Charlotte Church role

Video/Because You Loved Me [DVD] - Celine Dion, David Foster
This one filmed when David crashed on Dion's Vegas show. If you have Celine's Vegas show, nothing new here

I Swear [DVD] - Babyface, Kevon
Some nice vocals here

Feeling Good [DVD] - Michael Bublé
Always entertaining although if you have Michael's DVD nothing new

Home [DVD] - Michael Bublé, Blake Shelton
Very amusing with Michael cutting up with Blake but honestly I am not nearly as smittten with Blake Shelton as Foster seems to be.

Save the Last Dance [DVD] - Michael Bublé
See 22.

I Have Nothing/I Will Always Love You [DVD] - Charice
Okay, so who's behind the curtain REALLY singing. Her vocal ability defies her age although she doesn't bring anything new to the material so you are really just left with what amounts to a freak of nature at the moment. But I am sure she will find her own way eventually

Alla Luce del Sole [DVD] - Josh Groban
Bridge Over Troubled Water [DVD] - Josh Groban, Brian McKnight
You Raise Me Up [DVD] - Josh Groban
Except for the addition of Mcknight if you have Josh's recent video nothing new here. Remarkable voice as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation, March 6 2009
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This DVD/CD combination is possibly the best "concert" DVD that we have purchased. My spouse and I have played it many times with the sound level on high. Amazing voices and instruments from the cast of talented singers/musicians. In the company of OUR friends, we have played the DVD and they loved it also. After viewing the DVD, we bought more to give out as memorable and enjoyable gifts. If you are a fan of Andrea Bocelli, I highly recommend the DVD "Under the Desert Sky".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a variety show!, July 31 2011
By 
Kate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
From the powerful voice of Charisse to the sultry country voice of Blake Shelton, this show is worth its weight in gold, but then this is David Foster we're talking about. A true genious when it comes to recognizing and delivering talent. It's a concert in two parts, so allow yourself lots of time or have a couple of entertaining evenings. The lineup of performers is more than can be mentioned here, but they include Celine Dion, Katherine McPhee, Brian McKnight, Michael Buble, Josh Grobin,etc.,etc. This purchase is worth the price as you not only get the full DVD concert but also a CD with a few of the selections from the concert. Glad to have it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best of the best, Aug. 14 2010
By 
Linda A. Nordby "searcher41" (North Vancouver BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Hitman with David Foster and friends has to be one of the best DVD/CD that I have in my collection. This is my third purchase of this product for friends as gifts from Amazon. I love it, they love it and you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hit Man: David Foster & Friends, Nov. 12 2009
By 
Mary E. Kidd "Maryella Kidd" (Fairhope, Alabama) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This is the best musical video I have seen and heard in years. David Foster is a musical genius. It is hard to pick out certain performers, but I particularly enjoyed Michael Buble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, July 18 2009
By 
P. lai (MARKHAM, ONTARIO Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
The DVD is fantastic. CD only got few songs. They all packed in a CD case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HIT MAN David Foster & Friends, April 10 2010
By 
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This is a 2 disc package, but on the one I got from Amazon, only one CD has music. The other reads blank. Since it's opened I can't return it, so I'll go back to buying from the local store again. As far as the album goes, it's fantastic...a great combo of terrific artists and songs. Too bad the packaging was faulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Foster & Friends, March 1 2009
By 
J. Norton-Smythe (Unionville, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
All the "friends" + Foster's music make this a very enjoyable program if you can mute during the times David Foster is speaking. He is all about himself and doesn't present as very bright. Musically, I love him and he has genuity, but his personal life is quite gross. After reading his book with all the crude language and admissions of womanizing, I am fascinated that someone who can be so beautiful musically, can be so gross personally. It's quite schizophrenic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD)
Hit Man: David Foster And Friends (CD+DVD) by Various Artists-Reprise (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews