Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ZZ TOP GOES OVER THE TOP!
I've read a lot of press releases for bands over the years and there have been times when I wondered if the writer was talking about the same band that I was listening to, and it seemed like the bio sheet was full of bravado and prone to exaggeration, using 'catch phrases' that were stretching the truth a bit. However, the one for this band's new DVD is dead on with it's...
Published on July 21 2008 by Paul S. Power

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow starter
Takes the boys a while to get started, especially Gibbons, but once warmed up the show picks up quite a bit. Beard is rock solid and anchors the music perfectly. The visuals are great, but the sound really is lacking. Bad definition between the guitar and bass giving the impression Hill is superfluous at times. But it's a good show and worth watching. They play most of...
Published on Nov. 11 2009 by D. Marois


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow starter, Nov. 11 2009
By 
D. Marois (Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
Takes the boys a while to get started, especially Gibbons, but once warmed up the show picks up quite a bit. Beard is rock solid and anchors the music perfectly. The visuals are great, but the sound really is lacking. Bad definition between the guitar and bass giving the impression Hill is superfluous at times. But it's a good show and worth watching. They play most of their classic tunes. Rent it if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ZZ TOP GOES OVER THE TOP!, July 21 2008
By 
Paul S. Power "Music Reviewer" (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
I've read a lot of press releases for bands over the years and there have been times when I wondered if the writer was talking about the same band that I was listening to, and it seemed like the bio sheet was full of bravado and prone to exaggeration, using 'catch phrases' that were stretching the truth a bit. However, the one for this band's new DVD is dead on with it's descriptive terms; "Southern Fried Sizzle", "Fuzz Toned Hard Rock" and "Barnburner of Blues and Barrelhouse Boogie". That sums up ZZ Top to a T and I doubt anyone could come up with better. With their customized-and at times-fur-covered guitars, hot rod cars, top hats, cowboy boots and, of course, the beards, ZZ Top blasted their way into the world of rock and roll and has lasted for going on 40 years now, incredibly with the same line up of musicians. But then again, why tamper with perfection? A lot of us knew ZZ Top when they were in their 'dirty boogie' days of the early 1970's with "Tush" and we followed them through their commercially mega-successful 1980's and never once lost love of or respect for this dynamic trio. It's a toss up as to which is longer-their careers or their beards!
This DVD brilliantly captures the band's sizzling-hot live show, with 17 songs performed, including "Got Me Under Pressure", "Sharp Dressed Man", "Pearl Necklace", "Legs", "Rough Boy", "Cheap Sunglasses" and of course "Gimme All Your Lovin" and "Tush". Billy Gibbons and Dusty Hill do their patented, synchronized guitar sway as drummer Frank Beard (yep, the guy with the shortest beard) effortlessly keeps the beat behind a drum kit tricked out with shocks, struts and a necking knob on the cymbal stand. For me, the best part of the DVD is when they play a scorching hot version of "Blue Jean Blues". This song has been my favorite ZZ Top song of all time and it brings up an interesting point; there are people out there that know ZZ Top only from their top 40 hits and don't realize just how blues-oriented the band really is, as this DVD attests to. That's not to say that rock and roll is left in the wings, this concert rocks hard!
Bonus features include a card game between the band members as they discuss the band's history, a behind the scenes look at concert day and photo shoot and most importantly, a live performance of Jimi Hendrix's "Foxy Lady". If I had to pick a two-word phrase to describe this DVD, it would be "totally awesome", or maybe "wickedly hot"! Heck, it's both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
Very good concert. Show was exceptional and it was good to see one of bands from my youth. If you like hard rock, then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ZZ boys are Classic!!!!, Dec 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
An absolute blast to hear these guys still dish it out! Grab a few beverages and crank it up! Very simply done, no busty women as would expect from the past video era or from the lyrics from most of ZZ's collection but a good way to catch them at a live show! Worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes - runs out of steam near the end, July 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
Great old tunes to start the DVD (waitin for the bus/Jesus just left Chicago/La Grange/ etc). Billy's voice is still great (in his own style) Dusty's voice has worn a bit. The picture quality is great as well as the sound. Good high energy video!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crystal clear picture, muddy sound, poor editing, Feb. 14 2009
By 
James R. Parrett "jimp1005" (toronto, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
This could have been a great DVD. The picture clarity is spectacular in HD. Too bad, the one or two second edits rob the performance of any continuity. You never get a sense you are there. It's just a bunch of cut ups. Worse than that is the sound, which is missing dynamics and juice. It's just one wall of tinny noise. Besides that, I liked the performance and ZZ Top is a hoot. Such a waste. Technically, this DVD is not up to the band's caliber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVE is the WORD, March 27 2010
By 
B. Konopski (Thunder Bay, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ZZ Top - Live From Texas (DVD)
The BOYS rock thru all their hits with ease with a real gutsy sound that is actually better than the studio records. Their unique sound and look along with some classic moves on stage bring the audience into a frenzy. Even I didn't realize just how good they are til I saw this DVD. Billy Gibbons played with the late Jimi Hendrix and his guitar playing on Foxey Lady was note for note (Jimmi taught him). A must have for all the rock/boogie/blues music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ZZ Top video, Jan. 10 2010
By 
David A. Cochrane "The Hitman" (Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZZ Top: Live from Texas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
All the hits are here and the sound and picture are dynamite. These guys aren't theatrical but it's more than made up for with the sound they get from only 2 guitars and a drummer. If you like the Top this is the video for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Musicians and Entertainers, Sept. 20 2009
By 
Duncan Ritchie (Greely, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ZZ Top: Live from Texas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It takes only three guys (base, guitar and drums) to create all the rich music of ZZ Top. In some ways their music is simple but in other ways is very complex; either way this is a great video to watch (and watch again). They do all the favorites and more. The video quality is crystal clear and focuses primarily on the band. Easy to see the three musicians and their skills. The sound is very clear but there is no real use of the back speakers of the 5.1 surround just low background concert noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, Sept. 11 2014
This review is from: ZZ Top: Live from Texas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
POOR SOUND QUALITY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ZZ Top: Live from Texas [Blu-ray]
ZZ Top: Live from Texas [Blu-ray] by Milton Lage (Blu-ray - 2008)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews