summer vpcflyout Furniture boutiques-francophones Music Deals Store sports All-New Kindle Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 10, 2007
I got this with some trepidation because I was not so thrilled with how Season 2 ended and Season 3 began. I felt the series lost something at that point. Sure, it was still gritty and had a quality unlike other shows in the genre but it felt like it had lost some direction and was floundering. (Note, I live in Japan so I am not up on most of Season 3 so I could be surprised yet.)

Anyway, the series had lost me somewhat but I still wanted to see more and I was intrigued by "Razor". Exploring the Pegasus and her crew seemed like an interesting angle. Well, I have to say it was.

"Razor" was something of a return to the First Season of BSG and part of the Second. It returned to strong storytelling, hard edged characters and drama, a look at why some of the various crew members were doing what they were doing, and excellent camera work.

All in all, this is a very good DVD to get.

Now, I'd love to see a show about Admiral Adama when he was in the First Cylon War. All those old Cylon Centurions and ships would be great to see again.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2007
This is a fantastic film. It was made for TV and is a stand-alone "episode" of the re-imagined BSG. I was dying for a BSG fix; I don't have cable and just couldn't get my hand on season 2.5, let alone see any of the season 3 episodes. Once I discovered this film, I immediately purchased it and made my wife watch it. The story is told in such a way that a person does not need to be a BSG junkie to understand what's going on. It captures the "essence" of the series and successfully gives a person an understanding of what's happened without having to see every episode from the mini-series on. It incorporates a new character specifically for the film and she's a great character to base a story on indeed.

If you are trying to be sneaky and get your partner into BSG with the goal of being able to buy the rest of the series on DVD (hehehehehehe), then buy this DVD right now. Unless your partner has no appreciation for story-telling whatsoever, s/he will get sucked into the BSG universe.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
Razor is a great movie that fills in some amazing gaps.

I am rating this low for one reason. There is a better deal. Before you buy this consider buying season 4. It contains both razor and season 4.5 and is the price of buying just one.

You don't lose any special features so the experience is the exact same.

Great deal to buy season 4.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2007
Razor lives up to the high standards set by earlier seasons of the show. It weaves a complicated but rewarding tale through flashbacks and yet more flashbacks, providing context to the earlier episodes dealing with the "Pegasus". This is the story of Lt. Kendra Shaw, introduced here, who finds herself in extraordinary circumstances, and is forced to make difficult decisions in difficult times. Razor also gives us a thrilling glimpse of the first Cylon war, seen through the eyes of a young Bill Adama, complete with old style Cylons.

The DVD has a fair amount of extra footage that was not in the broadcast version, amounting to about 13-14 minutes total. There is enough here to justify a second watch, and Battlestar fans shouldn't miss it. I also wouldn't count on it being part of the season 4 dvd set, and at any rate, those dvds may not be out for a long, long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Firstly, an important note: If you're looking at getting this while buying the rest of the seasons, then don't as it is included as disk one of season four anyway.

This extended episode is a bit of an oddity as it doesn't fit in with the chronological narrative as it left-off at the end of season three. It is a re-telling and expansion of the excellent season two `Pegasus' episodes from a different perspective. As a stand-alone episode it does its job very well, providing us with some background for the Machiavellian Admiral Cain while introducing a new story-line pertaining to Cylon mysticism and Starbuck's destiny.

If, for some reason, your season four set doesn't include `Razor' then it is worth getting if you're an ardent fan, but it doesn't really contain anything crucial to the overall story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2008
Wasn't at all sure what to expect from this, but it didn't disappoint. Very nicely fills in some background information that is important to the overall story line, yet still interesting for those who haven't watched any Galactica. Quite a few shocking scenes, keeping you at the edge of your seat, combined with great acting and writing makes this DVD a winner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
this was a tragedy in the familiar mode; a strong yet fatally flawed warrior, a ronin really, regains her honour and saves the day. Good stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
It was good. Although I wish the set was a little bit cheaper to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
The whole cast is Canadian for the most part! &! made in Canada! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
Great Love It!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse