Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outland
Classic Sci-Fi spin on High Noon, with a great cast lead by Sean Connery (need I say more). Saw it on the big screen when it was first out, still holds up well. Only real concerns was what's up with the future and shotguns. Otherwise the disk is good, nothing fancy, but well worth it.
Published 22 months ago by David James Clare

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'High Noon', set on a moon of Jupiter
I sought out this movie because I heard CBC's Jesse Wente name it among his 'Top Five Movie Remakes' films, in the same company with 'The Magnificent Seven'. He claimed it was a remake of 'High Noon', the Gary Cooper western classic. So I went online and found a used copy. My wife and I watched it together and for the first quarter of the film it is a stretch to see the...
Published on July 10 2009 by SGM


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'High Noon', set on a moon of Jupiter, July 10 2009
By 
SGM "Fan in the Saddle" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
I sought out this movie because I heard CBC's Jesse Wente name it among his 'Top Five Movie Remakes' films, in the same company with 'The Magnificent Seven'. He claimed it was a remake of 'High Noon', the Gary Cooper western classic. So I went online and found a used copy. My wife and I watched it together and for the first quarter of the film it is a stretch to see the connection to High Noon. As the film progressed, it became evident that it is, indeed, the same story. Just set in a mining colony on a moon of Jupiter instead of a small western town. Post-Bond Connery is great, even though one wonders why his character set about baiting the bad guys so soon after his arrival in the mining colony. This film is engaging and intriguing. The future, as seen in 1981, holds up not too badly once you get past all the Cathode Ray Tube (CRT) displays. Almost a hundred years ago, futurists visualized the citizens of the late 20th century whizzing about in their own personal flying machines - made of sticks and fabric, like the very first flying machines that the futurists of the day could not see beyond. Well, the future doesn't hold any CRT displays, and doubtless there will be viewers who will pick other holes in the Outland sets. Nevertheless, this is a very good film, worth watching for its storyline and Sean Connery's performance, as well as Peter Hyams' directing. Too bad about the letterbox widescreen presentation. It's too small, and when zoomed in, the sets are just right to create annoying moiré interference patterns. You'll have to play with the zoom setting to minimize these. I think this film will be worthy of re-mastering in a new HD DVD, but it may take a resurgence of interest in Peter Hyams' films, or in Sean Connery's career before that happens. For now, in my opinion this older DVD production is worth finding and watching. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outland, Sept. 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Outland [Import] (DVD)
Classic Sci-Fi spin on High Noon, with a great cast lead by Sean Connery (need I say more). Saw it on the big screen when it was first out, still holds up well. Only real concerns was what's up with the future and shotguns. Otherwise the disk is good, nothing fancy, but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'High Noon' in space? Not really, April 14 2012
By 
I'm a big fan of 'High Noon' and when I heard that this movie was a) a remake of it b) directed by Peter Hyams I had to get it. I was intrigued how it would be updated to set it in space... except the 'High Noon' connection is more tenuous than I was led to believe; it's really only the last part of the film.

Like a lot of Hyams work it feels dated now, the special effects in particular. All the model shots, for example, have been filmed too fast; they needed more frames to give a sense of scale. This is mystifying because it was made post 'Star Wars'. Indeed the influence of 'Star Wars' and especially 'Alien' is felt throughout. I guess the production didn't have enough money. That said, it uses its budget wisely and by repeating the various sets over and over (from different angles and with a variety of lighting) you get the sense of a big colony - a trick I guess was learnt from Ridley Scott.

One thing limited budget can't excuse is the script. In places the dialogue is toe-curlingly stilted. The characters also lack depth and there's very little in the way of motivation for either O'Neill or Lazarus. Although the last line is neat, the ending is rather inconclusive.

Despite all this there are some virtuoso moments. The chase through the colony is exhilarating - a perfect example of mobile camerawork in an age when that was easier said than done.

Not a classic - but an interesting curio and worth a watch for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Like A Space Western, Nov. 8 2003
By 
Luis M. Ramos "Soundtrack and Film Freak" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Director Peter Hyams appeared to have been inspired by the Western drama "High Noon" when he made this movie. Indubitably "Outland" presents the ingredients of a cowboy movie. The town is represented by a mineral colony on Io -a moon of Jupiter -in spite of the fact that they are in outer space and, if you go out, you might take the chance to explode your guts inside out because of the gravity. The town's people don't help anybody who goes against the powerful conglomerate. And then there is the sheriff in the body of Sean Connery.
Connery plays Marshal William O'Neill, a law man who believes in truth and justice in a "town" where those things are unaccounted for. Unfortunately he goes against the powerful general manager of the mining corporation (Peter Boyle) under the suspicion that his company is giving some poweful drug to the workers who, later, end up dead. The manager decides to hire assassins to have O'Neill killed, and the clock -just like in "High Noon" -is ticking.
This movie is quite a treat. The claustrophobic settings are very adequate for the plot development. However, this movie sometimes goes slow in the middle, but the suspense catches up with the viewer for the climax.
It's too bad this DVD does not have documentaries, so I'm waiting for the release of a special edition. Anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars outland sci-fi movie, July 20 2013
By 
Eric Woodall "crazy cat" (montreal,qc ,canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i always loved that movie wich is across between a sci-fi and s detective movie ,Sean Connery is pretty good as a marshall on a space station stuck with stange death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-Fi, July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good copt to replace my VCR copy. Love my collection. Love Sean Connery even in this fictional film in space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Outland - Sean Connery but its still derivative, June 24 2013
By 
Bryan Brodie (Burlington, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not a bad movie, nice in blue ray even if it is a space western - which is to say this is "High Noon" in space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Space Western, April 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Basically a shoot 'em up in space. Fairly simple plot, entertaining if you are the kind of person who can push aside any expectation of depth. After the atrocious DVD release of this movie, the blu ray is a welcome relief to the eyeballs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty shouldn't mean grainy, Jan. 27 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This western in space works well, reminiscent of such movies as "High Noon" and "The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly". I would have liked to given it a 4 star rating but had to hold back because of the grainy nature of the video. I remember seeing this in the theater and don't recall the gritty feel of the video. At times the pictures are clear and crisp, then at other times, usually the darker lit scenes, that grainy quality crept in. Still, it's a satisfying 'western' where the marshall wins out and goes to meet his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Exactly Out of This World, June 29 2010
This review is from: Outland [Import] (DVD)
This film is a mess on dvd, with dirt and frequent artifacting marring the image. By no means a classic, but a film of this size and scope from the Eighties should look a heck of a lot better than this. Sturdy performances elevate director Hyams' lunar HIGH NOON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outland [Import]
Outland [Import] by Peter Hyams (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 6.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews