Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Largo vive el nuevo sonido*
Coldplay moves away from their usual radio-friendly soaring anthems, but still score big with their fourth studio album, which is filled with rich instrumental passages, as in the very first track "Life in Technicolor".

The second track "Cemeteries of London" reminds me of soundtrack music from those old spaghetti westerns, but with deep and introspective...
Published on June 17 2008 by Amanda Richards

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting album but not much depth
Every album Coldplay has put out has improved on their previous efforts until Viva La Vida. On their new album they try many different styles and, while some of it works, just as much of it doesn`t work. After the third listen, I find myself growing tired of a lot of it and I`m sure it will be off my mp3 player before the end of the month. My only advice is to buy it...
Published on June 11 2008 by Trev


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Largo vive el nuevo sonido*, June 17 2008
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
Coldplay moves away from their usual radio-friendly soaring anthems, but still score big with their fourth studio album, which is filled with rich instrumental passages, as in the very first track "Life in Technicolor".

The second track "Cemeteries of London" reminds me of soundtrack music from those old spaghetti westerns, but with deep and introspective lyrics:

"God is in the houses and God is in my head... and all the cemeteries in London...
I see God come in my garden, but I don't know what he said,
For my heart it wasn't open..."

Third track "Lost" is a plaintive song, minus a clearly defined chorus, but not missing it for a moment.

This is the point where the album really takes off. Chris Martin's vocals stand out from the muted but beautiful background melody of "42", and then it kicks up a notch by the end. The next two tracks are two-fers, each approximately 7 minutes of classic Coldplay. "Lovers in Japan" flows into the introspective "Reign of Love", and then "Yes" leads in the hidden (mostly instrumental) track "Chinese Sleep Chant". On "Yes", Chris Martin reaches deep down into his vocal range, and pulls out some of his lowest notes ever.

This brings us to the best (and most radio friendly) track on the album. The title track "Viva La Vida" comes closest to mainstream, and is an instant favorite on the first listen. Hot on its heels comes the other single "Violet Hill" which features a guitar solo in the middle before Martin comes back in to ask, among other things, "If you love me, Won't you let me know? "

The short ten-track album closes with "Strawberry Swing" and the melancholy "Death and All His Friends".

Slower, darker and more meditative, yes
Mainstream, no
Brilliant, definitely

Amanda Richards, June 17, 2008

*supposed to mean "Long live the new sound", but I'm open to correction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rich, Militant and Decadent, June 18 2008
By 
momo_adachi (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
It seems strange that both of Coldplay's latest efforts, this album and 'X & Y', were both released as summer blockbuster albums. The wintery darkness and rainy day melancholy that Chris Martin and his band do best seems strange when placed on the shelf with easier, breezier summertime artists such as Rihanna and Weezer. Nonetheless, this sweet, loaded offering by one of the biggest bands in the world right now, doesn't need a timely release date to be successful.

The first single from 'Viva La Vida', the absolutely brilliant "Violet Hill" (perhaps the band's best debut single to date) was the first clue that this album would not only meet, but surpass any Coldplay fans' expectations. The second single 'Viva La Vida' proved that Coldplay is a little more versatile than U2-style guitar riffing and lush, long, rainy day musical interludes. The rest of the album? Well, although not versatile as you may have heard or as 'different', 'Viva La Vida' has its shining moments of grandeur and heartfelt meaning.

It seems as though once again, Martin is attempting to blend his own angry, revolutionary political agenda with his sweet symphonic melodies, much like he did with both 'X & Y' and 'Rush of Blood to the Head'. What Martin lacks however, and the reason that this album is far from perfect, is a story to tell, both musicall and lyrically. While the music is good, it seems that its own sense of self seems somehow lost. What are they advocating for? Viva La Vida's own politics seem too complex and I missed the lyrical content of 'Rush of Blood', which seemed focused on love, soul-searching and the human soul rather than a collective call for revolution. In addition, while some of the songs are like nothing I've ever heard before, especially from Coldplay(the driving key riff of 'Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love' for example, and the downhome folky feel of 'Strawberry Swing'), some of the songs, such as the digital wall of sound number '42' sound like Radiohead, while the big chorus of 'Cemetaries of London' is remarkably reminiscent of U2. It isn't wrong to wear your influences on your sleeve, but some tracks being more experimental than others makes for, at times, a jarring and inconsistent effort.

Because of the glaring moments of sheer brilliance and that I think Coldplay is one of the few bands that will be remembered in 20,30, 40 years as true artists with style and longevity, this album is definitely worth buying, but if you are new to Coldplay, don't judge them based on this album. Perhaps start with 'Rush of Blood' first, a far better, more heartfelt, distinctive masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most diverse album to date... but is that a good thing?, Aug. 7 2008
By 
Guy Rogers (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
Has it all gone `pete tong' for Coldplay ? There are instrumental tracks, long 7 mins tracks, tracks that change tempo and tone half way through. This is certainly their most experimental album.

It's as though they raided their own album collection and referenced different styles that they liked i.e. 42 has piano riffs like john lennon's - imagine, lovers in japan is like 80's pop, yes - take's off nico's venus in furs.

It's an album that's not as easy to get into as their previous ones, but good never the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting album but not much depth, June 11 2008
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
Every album Coldplay has put out has improved on their previous efforts until Viva La Vida. On their new album they try many different styles and, while some of it works, just as much of it doesn`t work. After the third listen, I find myself growing tired of a lot of it and I`m sure it will be off my mp3 player before the end of the month. My only advice is to buy it if you must have it, or wait and listen to it first if you aren`t sure. I think my money is better spent elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 11 2008
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
I don't know much about music, but I can assure you that Coldplay's new CD is absolutely incredible. I was lucky enough to hear a preview of the whole thing, and it is just as epic as everyone has been saying it is....there is a reason this is the most anticipated album in the history of music.
Chris Martin had said that making this album was like bringing their music from black and white into colour. He was right...they have grown out of their shell and come up with entirely new ideas and sounds, and have hit the jackpot when it comes to quality. When you hear it, you can tell that the band had in mind that the possibilites for this CD were endless. They have let themselves run free with ideas and come up with music that is both inspirational and beautiful.
Whether you are a die-hard Coldplay fan or rather new to jump on the bandwagon, I promise you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's Not To Like?, Nov. 12 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
Don't listen to the haters. Coldplay is a good band and Viva La Vida is a great album. Haters gonna hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, March 2 2010
By 
Alan Wong "AlthePal" (vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Chris Martin and his music. This one is greatly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Coldplay, Oct. 22 2009
By 
Dave_42 "Dave_42" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
Coldplay's fourth studio album, "Vida la Vida or Death and All His Friends", was released on June 11th, 2008 and was an immediate success both with the critics as well as with the public. The album went to #1 in numerous countries, and eventually won the Grammy award for the Best Rock Album. Though a relatively short album for these days, only 47 minutes, it is nonetheless large in message and scope. Some have criticized it because it lacks an edge, which often great albums have, but in spite of that, or perhaps because of it, it is noteworthy. In any case, it is true to what the group has always been.

It opens with "Life in Technicolor" a very pleasant instrumental introduction to the album which sets the tone for the whole album. There is a longer version of the song that has lyrics titled "Life in Technicolor II" which appears on the 2008 EP "Prospekt's March". "Cemeteries of London" is a beautiful song, with intriguing lyrics. "Lost!" follows along the same lines as a slow melodic piece. "42" starts off along the same lines, but then transitions into a higher-energy piece. "Lovers in Japan/Reign of Love" continues to play to the strength of the band, with a strong melody and interesting lyrics, the first half having a good driving rhythm, and then transitioning into a very slow a melodic second half.

"Yes" opens up the second half of the album and is another example of how the band can produce similar pieces, and yet make them sound completely different. There is a hidden piece at the end of "Yes" called "Chinese Sleep Chant". The title track "Viva la Vida" is next, and is a piece destined to be around for a long time as a classic. "Violet Hill" is next, the first anti-war piece from the group. "Strawberry Swing" is next, a nicely crafted piece which leads well into the closing piece. "Death and All His Friends" is a nice simple closing to the album, though it doesn't actually close the album as there is a hidden instrumental piece called "The Escapist" which forms a nice bookend with the opening "Life in Technicolor".

Coldplay is Chris Martin (lead vocals, keyboards, guitar), Johnny Buckland (lead guitar), Guy Berryman (bass guitar), and Will Champion (drums, backing vocals, other instruments). "Viva La Vida" is a very melodic and thoughtful album, which is well-crafted musically and lyrically. From their start, Coldplay was a highly thought of musical group and this is their best album to date, and that wasn't an easy goal to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Viva la Vida - better with every listen, July 7 2008
By 
M. Easton "Learning to Listen" (Canada Eh?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
I bought and listened to Vida the first time and thought about 3 of the songs were great, the rest were ok. Then the more I listened to it the more the rest of the songs popped out and became there own. I have listened to it about 6-8 times now and find it is very deep, engaging and still has that addictive melodic feel that only coldplay has. I would recocmend it to any Coldplay fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Coldplay Ever, June 25 2008
Ce commentaire est de: Viva La Vida Or Death and All (Audio CD)
Been a fan of Coldplay from the get-go. This is my favorite disc of theirs so far. Was listening to it while waiting in a parking lot this afternoon and a few pedestrians came over to ask who it was I was listening to on the radio (I'd had my iPod plugged into my car). I was listening to Strawberry Swing at the time. Gave them a sample of every track (three people) and they're all eager to buy. It's tough today, the way radio is lately, to catch your favorite bands. I think the record companies decide who we should listen to vs. DJs these days so huge marketing budgets on the record company side dictate what's playing on our air waves/who we're exposed to band wise. You get one blogger with an attitude spouting off his opinion and it might discourage you from checking it out. Very same blogger pushes their favorite musician/group - you check it out - it's not to your liking. Cut through all of the noise and check this disc out for YOURSELF on iTunes if you wanna take a listen to their tracks (you can have a listen to any music there no charge) and decide for yourself. My guess is you'll agree it's a keeper - I love it, love it, love it! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viva La Vida Or Death and All
Viva La Vida Or Death and All by Coldplay (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews