biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Learn more vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars230
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2004
Art Deco details abound in the "chainsaw" scene. Look at that bathroom! Classical Art Deco!!
The art direction certainly showed class.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2003
this is one of the worst movies ever made, pacino is a disgrace to actors.
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2004
I started to watch this movie & thought it might be going somewhere. I was very wrong, NO PLOT WHATSOEVER. Pacino's on drugs the whole movie then kills his best friend then, dies in the end. END OF STORY!!What do people see in this movie........ NOT VERY IMPRESSED> YUCK!!
0Comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2004
The 1980's was a horrible decade, too much greed and the clothes
and music was cheesy, distasteful, and horrible to the maximum.
Thier were great movies, but they seemed to be overshadowed by
plotless and stupid grade B action flicks like Rambo, Delta Force, and the flicks of Chuck Norris and Van Demme. I hated
most teen flicks of that decade which include The Lost Boys, and
St. Elmo's Fire. This is not even a film, it is a sorry excuse
for excess. Why do people love this flick so much, and whoever
says it's better than The Godfather has bitter taste in films.
This has no plot or character development, plus Al Pacino's Cuban accent sounds so phony, it sounds as If it's a Saturday
Night Live sketch. Michelle Pfieffer is beautiful looking, but
she wastes her talents with this garbage as does co-stars Mary
Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Robert Loggia, Steven Bauer, and F. Murray Abraham. I am not a big fan of director Brian De Palma,
in fact he is overrated especially compared to filmmaker greats
like Martin Scorsese, Robert Altman, Akira Kurosawa, Alfred
Hitchcock, Steven Spielberg, Orson Wells, Joel and Ethan Coen,
Charlie Chaplin, and Howard Hawks (Who directed the 1930's version of the same name Scarface a.k.a. Shame Of A Nation, only
the main character there is a bootlegger). I symphatsize with the characters Al Pacino plays usually like his Michael Corleone
character in Francis Coppola's Godfather Films, Frank Serpico, and Sonny Wortzik in Sidney Lumet's Dog Day Afternoon, and to
another extent Carlito Brigante in Carlito's Way (Also by director De Palma, and producer Martin Bregman), but here his
arrogant mobster character Tony Montana is such a perverted jerk
and an over-the-top slob that you can't symphatsize with him.
Five star classics like Martin Scorsese's Raging Bull, The Godf-
ater Films, Arthur Penn's Bonnie And Clyde, Sam Peckinpah's The
Wild Bunch, and the original Scarface originally titled Shame
Of The Nation deserve to be remembers as excellent five star
classics for they feature bad characters but deep inside you can
symphatsize with them, for their character elements have
restrained emotions, emotional depth, and convincing elements
that make you feel for those characters. Scarface contains none
of these. Here the character of Tony Montana is such a cartoon,
and he lacks character depth and you can't care about him, you
just want to wait for the end when he gets his just deserts. You
want to see Brian De Palma's best film see The Untouchables and
Carrie. You want Al Pacino's best performance see The Godfather
Films, Heat, Donnie Brasco, Dog Day Afternoon, and Serpico. You
want Michelle Phieffer's best performance see Dangerous Liasions
and Age Of Innocence. You want Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio's best performance see The Abyss. You want Robert Loggia's best
performance see Prizzi's Honor. You want F. Murray Abraham's best performance see Amadeus. You want Steven Bauer's best performance see Traffic. In closing the 1980's is a horrible
horrible decade. The 21st century is an awesome awesome decade.
Thank God were living in the 21st century where everything is
great including nice people, the internet, DVD's, great movies,
great music, and great and better HBO TV.
0Comment2 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2006
THIS MOVIES IS SO GOOD!! and im not sayin it in the stupid gangsta way becuz they are obsessed with "montanas last stand", no this movies is so good, there are a lot of lessons to be learned from it, also an INTENSE feeling of nostalgia, kinda hard to explain, ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME!!
0Comment0 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2004
I Hate The 1980's, The clothes were cheap, the music was cheesy,
and their was too much greed. These are the three reasons why the 1980's was terrible. This is a pointless remake that cares
more about gratuitous violence rather than believable humane characters and a coherent plot. Al Pacino's Cuban accent is so
embarrasingly laughable and phony that it looks more like a Saturday Night Live sketch rather than true Hollywood acting.
You can't feel any sympathy for his mobster character Tony Montana, he is such an arrogant greedy jerk, who treats women in
such a distasteful manner especially his scenes with Michelle Phieffer and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, who plays his sister.
Hollywood five star classics like Raging Bull, The first two Godfather films, and The Wild Bunch are great films that deal with anti-heroes, but you symphatsize with the characters in those films, for they are more than just violence, they have a great deal of substance which includes believable and humane characters, and a considerable amount of plot. This is not even a gangster film, this is not even an anti-drug film, this is a piece of garbage that should not have been made this way. The 1980's was horrible in music, clothes, and personality concerning greed, their were better movies in that decade than this piece of trash. Thank God I live in the new millenium and not in the stupid 1980's which had no internet and DVD players.
The millenium is great for we have technology that's awesome like the internet and DVD players, which the 1980's did not have. If you want director Brian De Palma's best see The Untouchables and Carrie, you want screenwriter Oliver Stone's best film see Platoon and Born On The 4th Of July, in which he was a director by then, you want Al Pacino's best film see Francis Ford Coppolla's The Godfather And The Godfather Part II,
you want Michelle Phieffer's best film see Stephen Frears Dangerous Liasions and Martin Scorsese's The Age Of Innocence, you want Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio's best film see James Cameron's The Abyss, trust me you will be way better off. Despite the fact the 1980's had great films, it had it's share of bad films and the music, clothes, and greed of the 1980's were horrible. I hate the 1980's.
0Comment0 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2010
wow,what a disappointment.i had high hopes for this movie.i had heard it was great.and it was directed by Brian De Palma with a screenplay by Oliver Stone.not to mention it's rated #161 of the top 250 on IMDb so far,so good,right?wrong.for me,this is a decent movie but nothing more.it never really engaged me.i wasn't bored necessarily,but i wasn't overly interested either.the acting did very little for me,except for Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio,who i thought was exceptional as Gina Montana.there were some good actors here,but i feel they were wasted. Al Pacino wasn't really impressive.also,this was supposed to be controversial movie,but i have seen a lot worse in terms of both violence and language.anyway,i would certainly not place this movie in my top 250 movies of all time.it doesn't have the impact of the original 1932 version.for me,Scarface is a 2/5
0Comment0 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2011
Not even thirty seconds in, and it's obvious Al Pacino's SCARFACE is acutely unaware it's been positioned as a future camp classic: outrageously over-the-top Al, affecting an uproariously exaggerated Cuban accent and playing a character whose every other word begins with "F," delivers a go-for-broke performance that best approximates a freebasing Daffy Duck. Decked out in garish polyester suits that would make Tony Manero blush, Pacino annunciates every line of Oliver Stone's trashy script as if someone has slipped a freshly-fired horseshoe down his hot designer pants; it would be another eleven years before Rod Steiger would showcase an even more embarrassing Cuban accent in 1994's THE SPECIALIST.

Released in the midst of a particularly fallow period of Pacino's career (his comedy AUTHOR! AUTHOR! wasn't half as funny as his Civil War epic, REVOLUTION) SCARFACE serves as a reminder that even the finest of actors have their "off" days. Pacino and director Brian DePalma would fare far better with CARLITO'S WAY a decade later.
0Comment0 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2004
This movie is overrated and Al Pacino's performance is too phony. See The Godfather films instead.
0Comment0 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2004
The 1980's as I said many times before was a horrible horrible
decade. The clothes were cheap, the music was cheesy, and worst
of all their were too many mean spirited people. I originally
planned to write this review back on August 2nd 2003, but I lost
track of time, but now I am going to insult this piece of junk
to the maximum. Their was only one good thing about the 1980's,
that was the films, I do not mean those stupid Rambo flicks or
grade b junk starring Chuck Norris or Van Demme or those stupid
teen comedies. However, every decade has great films, so for the
most part the 1980's was really awful. TV in the 1980's was stupid also. Al Pacino's phony Cuban accent is laughable to the
extreme, like it came from a Saturday Night Live sketch, also like the 1980's itself, their is no one to symphatsize with.
I am so glad I live in the 21st century, I am growing up in a time of the internet, DVD players, Playstation 2. The 1980's was
a piece of junk, their was no internet, DVD players, or Playsta-
tion 2, which was awful. It feels great to live in the 21st
century and not a terrible decade like the stupid 1980's. This
movie is stupid. I have always hated the 1980's, in that original review of Gangs OF New York, what I meant was the 1980's made great films just like any decade, but do not get the
wrong idea, I hate the 1980's, it is a worthless, terrible, and
pointless decade. Long live the 21st century and the awesome
technology, the 21st century has to offer. The 1980's is truly
a horrible and terrible decade. I am so glad I live in the 21st
century.
This review was originally supposed to be written on August 2nd
2003, but instead it is written on July 10th 2004.
0Comment1 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse